Rise Broadband Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Rise Broadband's service. To see if broadband Internet from Rise Broadband is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Rise Broadband Service

Rise Broadband

1.93 Stars  192  Reviews
1.93 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.3%
4 Star
5.1%
3 Star
16.6%
2 Star
35.4%
1 Star
40.6%

Leave a Review For Rise Broadband

Are you a current or former Rise Broadband customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Rise Broadband is great, if you have good line of sight with their equipment

4.00 Stars

on June 30, 2017

We used Rise Broadband (previously Sky Beam) for several years. Worked great until this year. We live in a valley in Loveland and the trees in our neighborhood (and a mile from our house) are now too tall, causing interference and making the signal weak. Customer service is awesome and reliability was great until now. If you do not live in a valley would suggest you try Rise Broadband.

Poor Service

2.00 Stars

on December 11, 2017

Poor Service. First 6 months never went over the 350 GB. Just computer surf and watch TV. Now all of a sudden I keep going over limit. Nothing changed. Can't play interactive games or anything else, can't afford the overage fee of $3.50 per 10 GB- Looking for unlimited usage.

Internet on the ole' frontier

2.00 Stars

on December 26, 2017

Summary: The result of too little competition in the telecom space, to the detriment of no one but the customers. Customer service: Initial turn-up required a week waiting period for a tech to become available. While their staff are not rude or mean, they are immovable in their stance and unwilling to investigate any challenge or concern further than their pre-ordained process guide provides. Subsequent calls for service are difficult as there is no 'technical support' option on their call menu, only Billing, Account Changes, and Disconnects. Should you need technical support, they will be unable to assist further than asking for you to reboot your router before insisting further assistance is not possible without a truck roll. On each occasion where they agreed to send a technician, the estimated time to service is 7-14 days. Tech repair results in only marginal (and temporary) improvement. Speed: Speed advertised is 20 Mbps, however we have never achieved any more than 3 to 6 Mbps, despite excellent 'line of sight' to their tower. There are times where the service feels oversubscribed, delivering little more than dial-up performance. Reliability: Service quality deviates greatly depending upon time of day (presumably due to number of users). Service issues are not solved quickly, requiring a 1-2 week wait for technician availability to come on-site and service. Value: It is hard to consider this a value in any way given the inconsistency of service, slow response to repairs, and inability to meet even 60% of the advertised speed despite 'ideal' conditions. Other providers are stated to offer a more reliable and consistent product in the area, however at double the monthly cost. Final notes: My previous residence was served by several large telecoms (CenturyLink, Spectrum, Comcast, and Verizon). Competition was great as it meant we had a 100mbps service that was impeccably reliable and only cost $39.99/mo. Peyton, CO feels like the old frontier, with services few and far between, and when available, they come at a high cost for what they are.

Not reliable

2.00 Stars

on September 21, 2017

The service goes out at least once per day. It was out a couple of weeks ago for about a week, and we still have to pay for the whole month. Always losing connections.

Slow and Sporadic service

2.00 Stars

on November 19, 2017

My service is sporadic and slow! I’ve called and they just tell me to reboot my router. I cannot stream video - no Netflix, anything! It’s very frustrating! I do not recommend them!

Inconsistent speeds and data caps

2.00 Stars

on November 04, 2017

I have a 350 GB data cap. Which sounds like a lot but is really easy to go over. If you go over, it's $3.50 for every 10 GB over. Of course you can pay more for the 500 GB one but why not offer unlimited? Also I have the fastest speed available to me which is 15 Mbps. That is not fast. I can barely watch Netflix with it sometimes. Rise needs to step up their game. We live in the age of internet of things. Where everything from your light bulb to cellphone is connected. Also I pay for 15 Mbps but often only get 2 or 5 Mbps.

Horrible

2.00 Stars

on May 30, 2017

Great techs, but the service/bandwidth was horrible. I NEVER got the speed I paid for. Really, what else is there to say? They put too many users on a tower, and you can't get above 2 Mbps uploaded/less than 3 Mbps download at 8:30am. (daytime!) Forget trying to get any bandwidth after 7pm. This went on for the entire last year of my contract. Called, complained, got a new router, moved to a different tower over the last year of the contract.... still no bandwidth. Finally I am free and hopeful the next service provides the bandwidth what I actually buy.

Fairly saitsfied

4.00 Stars

on April 10, 2015

They fixed it when it was needed, and they have had few outages in the years I have had it, overall I'm fairly satisfied with the service.

Ok Internet, Good Service

2.00 Stars

on December 29, 2015

Our internet is spotty and goes out often (like weekly). We upgraded modem/routers and that hasn't helped. Service is great but we can't keep our internet running long enough to make an impact.

Not bad.....

4.00 Stars

on September 14, 2016

A little pricey, but great connection and speed.

Needs work

2.00 Stars

on September 25, 2016

Have had techs over before and was pretty good for a short time but now if kids are up, I can't get even a radio stream.

Awesome - Best Value.

4.00 Stars

on October 17, 2016

I have been very pleased with Rise Broadband. The reliability has been better than anticipated and there was only one network failure that was quickly rectified, unlike DSL / Cable providers that I've had multiple outages / issues with over the years. The next time I move, I'll be looking for Rise Broadband as my first option.

Unreliable

2.00 Stars

on May 17, 2016

I have sporadic broadband speed throughout the day. Most of the time it is slow.

Really, stay away if at all possible.

2.00 Stars

on November 27, 2017

After purchasing their 15 Mbps plan, I average download speeds of around 1-2 Mbps, with no actual download occurring because of how unstable their service is. Either it's registering 0 Mbps, roughly 500 Kbps, or it claims 5 Mbps when there isn't any data downloading. I've had customer service out half a dozen times working on it and trying to get better service, but they eventually give up with little to no increase in service experience. From what I understand, they run as many customers as possible through as few dishes as possible, causing every user to experience slow speeds. While we have internet, it takes me 2+ days of constant downloading to do anything over 25 GB. That's how unstable it is.

Has never let me down

5.00 Stars

on May 25, 2017

I have had them for 3yrs. Unlimited internet, Never any throttling. I run 3 Roku units, 3 smart TVs, 2 laptops, iPad, Xbox and use it for cell phone/wifi calls, all with no problems. And I have never lost service due to weather.

Rise has been rock steady

4.00 Stars

on August 04, 2017

Has been very good and consistent for over a year but please get faster speeds like you have in other parts of the country.

Not Reliable

2.00 Stars

on August 23, 2017

MANY connection interruptions. When the modem that they provided failed, I had to wait DAYS for a replacement. If you rely on a solid connection, like I do, Rise is NOT recommended.

Unless you happen to live in just the right spot with no trees and on top of a hill, then the service is not good

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

Unless you happen to live in just the right spot with no trees and on top of a hill, then the service is not good. Constant in and out service, slow speeds. Communication regarding changes is non-existent. Avoid if possible.

Low speeds, lack of competence

1.00 Stars

on June 13, 2016

I have had Rise Broadband service for about 9 months. I have the 5 Mbps package. Apparently, the access point is full at about 35 users, so my effective speed is usually under 1.5 Mbps. Only in the middle of the night does it get anywhere near 5 Mbps. Also, there have been constant technical issues with the tower our dish is pointed at. So, every time there is a storm (or no apparent reason) our speeds run below 0.5 Mbps for days or weeks on end. I really wish there were other good options, but I can't find anything faster or better in this area. By the way, I end up using our cell phone data some of the time, especially during outages, which costs more. They have given me several credits, but I just want good, functioning internet.

Increasing Price

2.00 Stars

on October 20, 2016

We were very satisfied the first several years however our monthly service charge has been raised three times to the extent that we are now forced to change service providers.

Their internet speed is getting slower instead of faster.

2.00 Stars

on November 19, 2016

When we first started using Rise, it was fairly fast (3-4Mbs) it has now slowed down to maybe 1Mbps. I think they have overloaded their towers and can't handle faster speeds.

Not very fast but pretty reliable.

3.00 Stars

on March 02, 2017

Been with them for 5 years and only ever get about 2.4 to 3 Mbps download and around 1.5 to a max of 2 uploads... Not too quick on upgrading equipment. Looking for a provider that can keep up with the times.

Slow, but reliable

3.00 Stars

on March 17, 2017

Speeds aren't so great, and data cap is frustrating. Upgrade to a business account for unlimited, but speed still is an issue.

Years of service

5.00 Stars

on January 24, 2016

We have a long history with the service. There has been only one time we had a problem. It was due to a storm. The price has not changed. We are pleased with Rise Broadband.

Unpredictable

2.00 Stars

on June 20, 2015

Goes down often in good or bad weather. Flaky service throughout the day. 200 Gb monthly cap, not sufficient to handle modern-day family internet use.

350 Gb a month not enough for my family

3.00 Stars

on January 29, 2016

I keep asking for a plan with more GBs they say not in my area. Instead, I have to pay $3.50 for every 10 GB of usage over their limit. They have no remedy just tell me to lower the quality of my picture.

Good during clear days

3.00 Stars

on December 27, 2015

It's raining outside and my bandwidth is slowed to 10 from 20Mbps, but the worst part is my ping (around 300). I can browse the net ok but don't try to game with a ping that high or you will suffer.

Three times faster at half the cost!

5.00 Stars

on November 17, 2015

Three times faster at half the cost and 1000% more reliable than others. Competition is a great thing for the consumer! Go Rise!

Very slow speeds, unreliable connectivity

1.00 Stars

on January 03, 2018

Rise Broadband cannot deliver what they promise when you're signing up. We cannot work from home without internet disruptions in service. Their speeds are SO slow.

Rise Broadband falls short

2.00 Stars

on October 18, 2017

We try to run a business from home and the reliability with Rise is awful!! They have been out to our home several times, changed the equipment out, moved it around and no improvement. We've upgraded to their 50 Mbps plan and we still don't have a phone 90% of the time. And WiFi sinks every night.

Intermittent-Genarally SLOW-Unrealiable

2.00 Stars

on July 14, 2018

Rise Broadband has a lot of work to do lately. Good for basic web surfing when it’s up and running. Speeds are often in the sub 1Mbps range both down and up. Never see my 20 Mbps speeds I pay for, generally, 2-5 Mbps is typical both ways if you're lucky. When it gets into the 400 to 600 Kbps range it’s like pulling teeth without a local anesthetic. Steaming movies from Netflix or DirecTV on demand is often impossible. Customer Service is good at apologizing but nothing seems to have changed over the last several months...even though their technicians are working hard on the problem every day.

Rise Broadband

1.00 Stars

on June 26, 2018

This service is unreliable. Every day at 4 pm our internet speed drops dramatically. I am paying for 20 Mbps plan and only get 2. I do not recommend this company.

Rise is ok -

1.00 Stars

on April 13, 2018

You have to say Rise is OK. Certainly system reliability is improving - far less downtime than before

Slow download speeds, expensive locked contract

2.00 Stars

on November 06, 2017

The company does not offer unlimited usage. Cost is high if we go over our plan which happens nearly monthly. I got locked into a 2-year contract. I'm not happy with the plan we are on.

Upgrade

4.00 Stars

on October 16, 2017

Rise is a good company . For my area not as much because their tower is not capable of upgrading my plan and if I go over I still have to pay charges that double my bill.

Horrible

1.00 Stars

on January 03, 2016

Working from home, streaming movies, or gaming is almost impossible. I constantly lose connection to the internet during the evening hours. It is progressively getting worse to where I am now seeing packet drops/disconnects during the afternoon hours. It is extremely frustrating to where it is basically useless for work or gaming. My old 56k modem was more reliable. I have called Rise Broadband support at least 5 times in the past few months. While the tech is friendly, nothing gets resolved (they have even admitted there is an issue and that the tower is extremely busy).

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC