Rise Broadband Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Rise Broadband's service. To see if broadband Internet from Rise Broadband is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Rise Broadband Service

Rise Broadband

1.77 Stars  324 Reviews
1.77 out of 5 stars

5 Star
1.4%
4 Star
5.1%
3 Star
11.9%
2 Star
32.5%
1 Star
49.1%

Leave a Review For Rise Broadband

Are you a current or former Rise Broadband customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Slow and Sporadic service

2.00 Stars

on November 19, 2017

My service is sporadic and slow! I’ve called and they just tell me to reboot my router. I cannot stream video - no Netflix, anything! It’s very frustrating! I do not recommend them!

Really, stay away if at all possible.

2.00 Stars

on November 27, 2017

After purchasing their 15 Mbps plan, I average download speeds of around 1-2 Mbps, with no actual download occurring because of how unstable their service is. Either it's registering 0 Mbps, roughly 500 Kbps, or it claims 5 Mbps when there isn't any data downloading. I've had customer service out half a dozen times working on it and trying to get better service, but they eventually give up with little to no increase in service experience. From what I understand, they run as many customers as possible through as few dishes as possible, causing every user to experience slow speeds. While we have internet, it takes me 2+ days of constant downloading to do anything over 25 GB. That's how unstable it is.

Internet on the ole' frontier

2.00 Stars

on December 26, 2017

Summary: The result of too little competition in the telecom space, to the detriment of no one but the customers. Customer service: Initial turn-up required a week waiting period for a tech to become available. While their staff are not rude or mean, they are immovable in their stance and unwilling to investigate any challenge or concern further than their pre-ordained process guide provides. Subsequent calls for service are difficult as there is no 'technical support' option on their call menu, only Billing, Account Changes, and Disconnects. Should you need technical support, they will be unable to assist further than asking for you to reboot your router before insisting further assistance is not possible without a truck roll. On each occasion where they agreed to send a technician, the estimated time to service is 7-14 days. Tech repair results in only marginal (and temporary) improvement. Speed: Speed advertised is 20 Mbps, however we have never achieved any more than 3 to 6 Mbps, despite excellent 'line of sight' to their tower. There are times where the service feels oversubscribed, delivering little more than dial-up performance. Reliability: Service quality deviates greatly depending upon time of day (presumably due to number of users). Service issues are not solved quickly, requiring a 1-2 week wait for technician availability to come on-site and service. Value: It is hard to consider this a value in any way given the inconsistency of service, slow response to repairs, and inability to meet even 60% of the advertised speed despite 'ideal' conditions. Other providers are stated to offer a more reliable and consistent product in the area, however at double the monthly cost. Final notes: My previous residence was served by several large telecoms (CenturyLink, Spectrum, Comcast, and Verizon). Competition was great as it meant we had a 100mbps service that was impeccably reliable and only cost $39.99/mo. Peyton, CO feels like the old frontier, with services few and far between, and when available, they come at a high cost for what they are.

Horrible

2.00 Stars

on May 30, 2017

Great techs, but the service/bandwidth was horrible. I NEVER got the speed I paid for. Really, what else is there to say? They put too many users on a tower, and you can't get above 2 Mbps uploaded/less than 3 Mbps download at 8:30am. (daytime!) Forget trying to get any bandwidth after 7pm. This went on for the entire last year of my contract. Called, complained, got a new router, moved to a different tower over the last year of the contract.... still no bandwidth. Finally I am free and hopeful the next service provides the bandwidth what I actually buy.

Not reliable

2.00 Stars

on September 21, 2017

The service goes out at least once per day. It was out a couple of weeks ago for about a week, and we still have to pay for the whole month. Always losing connections.

Unreliable

2.00 Stars

on May 17, 2016

I have sporadic broadband speed throughout the day. Most of the time it is slow.

Low speeds, lack of competence

1.00 Stars

on June 13, 2016

I have had Rise Broadband service for about 9 months. I have the 5 Mbps package. Apparently, the access point is full at about 35 users, so my effective speed is usually under 1.5 Mbps. Only in the middle of the night does it get anywhere near 5 Mbps. Also, there have been constant technical issues with the tower our dish is pointed at. So, every time there is a storm (or no apparent reason) our speeds run below 0.5 Mbps for days or weeks on end. I really wish there were other good options, but I can't find anything faster or better in this area. By the way, I end up using our cell phone data some of the time, especially during outages, which costs more. They have given me several credits, but I just want good, functioning internet.

Inconsistent speeds and data caps

2.00 Stars

on November 04, 2017

I have a 350 GB data cap. Which sounds like a lot but is really easy to go over. If you go over, it's $3.50 for every 10 GB over. Of course you can pay more for the 500 GB one but why not offer unlimited? Also I have the fastest speed available to me which is 15 Mbps. That is not fast. I can barely watch Netflix with it sometimes. Rise needs to step up their game. We live in the age of internet of things. Where everything from your light bulb to cellphone is connected. Also I pay for 15 Mbps but often only get 2 or 5 Mbps.

Poor Service

2.00 Stars

on December 11, 2017

Poor Service. First 6 months never went over the 350 GB. Just computer surf and watch TV. Now all of a sudden I keep going over limit. Nothing changed. Can't play interactive games or anything else, can't afford the overage fee of $3.50 per 10 GB- Looking for unlimited usage.

Their internet speed is getting slower instead of faster.

2.00 Stars

on November 19, 2016

When we first started using Rise, it was fairly fast (3-4Mbs) it has now slowed down to maybe 1Mbps. I think they have overloaded their towers and can't handle faster speeds.

Needs work

2.00 Stars

on September 25, 2016

Have had techs over before and was pretty good for a short time but now if kids are up, I can't get even a radio stream.

Unpredictable

2.00 Stars

on June 20, 2015

Goes down often in good or bad weather. Flaky service throughout the day. 200 Gb monthly cap, not sufficient to handle modern-day family internet use.

Increasing Price

2.00 Stars

on October 20, 2016

We were very satisfied the first several years however our monthly service charge has been raised three times to the extent that we are now forced to change service providers.

Rise Broadband is great, if you have good line of sight with their equipment

4.00 Stars

on June 30, 2017

We used Rise Broadband (previously Sky Beam) for several years. Worked great until this year. We live in a valley in Loveland and the trees in our neighborhood (and a mile from our house) are now too tall, causing interference and making the signal weak. Customer service is awesome and reliability was great until now. If you do not live in a valley would suggest you try Rise Broadband.

Unless you happen to live in just the right spot with no trees and on top of a hill, then the service is not good

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

Unless you happen to live in just the right spot with no trees and on top of a hill, then the service is not good. Constant in and out service, slow speeds. Communication regarding changes is non-existent. Avoid if possible.

Rise Broadband is Awful!

Dennis London on October 15, 2018

Been a customer of theirs for two years, not by choice but only because I have no other alternative in my semi-rural area. Service is very inconsistent, hit and miss. One day it works great; the next day it sucks. When you have problems with it, don't bother calling customer service/technical support. You will be placed on hold for an hour or more, listening to repeated recorded "Your call is important to us. Your call will be answered by the next available representative."

Horrible

1.00 Stars

on January 03, 2016

Working from home, streaming movies, or gaming is almost impossible. I constantly lose connection to the internet during the evening hours. It is progressively getting worse to where I am now seeing packet drops/disconnects during the afternoon hours. It is extremely frustrating to where it is basically useless for work or gaming. My old 56k modem was more reliable. I have called Rise Broadband support at least 5 times in the past few months. While the tech is friendly, nothing gets resolved (they have even admitted there is an issue and that the tower is extremely busy).

Very slow speeds, unreliable connectivity

Traci Kline on January 03, 2018

Rise Broadband cannot deliver what they promise when you're signing up. We cannot work from home without internet disruptions in service. Their speeds are SO slow.

Ok Internet, Good Service

2.00 Stars

on December 29, 2015

Our internet is spotty and goes out often (like weekly). We upgraded modem/routers and that hasn't helped. Service is great but we can't keep our internet running long enough to make an impact.

Good during clear days

3.00 Stars

on December 27, 2015

It's raining outside and my bandwidth is slowed to 10 from 20Mbps, but the worst part is my ping (around 300). I can browse the net ok but don't try to game with a ping that high or you will suffer.

Rise Broadband has all these reviews for a reason. It’s so Awful.

2.00 Stars

on September 07, 2018

If you’re considering getting Rise broadband as your Internet source, read these reviews first. There are this many bad reviews for reason. The speeds aren’t that bad. Every now and then you’ll get the speed that you’re actually paying for. For the most part, you’re going to have connection issues, equipment issues, and customer service issues. This month alone I’ve had Rise broadband customer service installers and technical support out here six times. I took off work six times just to get Internet working on my connection. I know the installers by their first name. And there’s nothing special about my location or my house that would cause any problems at all. It’s just how this company runs its business I guess. The equipment is not the best and for better results connection, you’ll need your own equipment. Buy your own router that’s for sure, do not use supplied router. After a lot of frustrating phone calls and installer set up, the Internet is working but only in small intervals. It cuts in and out constantly you really can’t do anything but send an email. And if that wasn’t enough, you will get a random $40 fees you have to call and contest because it has nothing to do with your account. Please read the reviews.

Has never let me down

5.00 Stars

on May 25, 2017

I have had them for 3yrs. Unlimited internet, Never any throttling. I run 3 Roku units, 3 smart TVs, 2 laptops, iPad, Xbox and use it for cell phone/wifi calls, all with no problems. And I have never lost service due to weather.

Fairly saitsfied

4.00 Stars

on April 10, 2015

They fixed it when it was needed, and they have had few outages in the years I have had it, overall I'm fairly satisfied with the service.

Not Reliable

2.00 Stars

on August 23, 2017

MANY connection interruptions. When the modem that they provided failed, I had to wait DAYS for a replacement. If you rely on a solid connection, like I do, Rise is NOT recommended.

Slow download speeds, expensive locked contract

2.00 Stars

on November 06, 2017

The company does not offer unlimited usage. Cost is high if we go over our plan which happens nearly monthly. I got locked into a 2-year contract. I'm not happy with the plan we are on.

Rise Broadband

1.00 Stars

on June 26, 2018

This service is unreliable. Every day at 4 pm our internet speed drops dramatically. I am paying for 20 Mbps plan and only get 2. I do not recommend this company.

Intermittent-Genarally SLOW-Unrealiable

2.00 Stars

on July 14, 2018

Rise Broadband has a lot of work to do lately. Good for basic web surfing when it’s up and running. Speeds are often in the sub 1Mbps range both down and up. Never see my 20 Mbps speeds I pay for, generally, 2-5 Mbps is typical both ways if you're lucky. When it gets into the 400 to 600 Kbps range it’s like pulling teeth without a local anesthetic. Steaming movies from Netflix or DirecTV on demand is often impossible. Customer Service is good at apologizing but nothing seems to have changed over the last several months...even though their technicians are working hard on the problem every day.

Not bad.....

4.00 Stars

on September 14, 2016

A little pricey, but great connection and speed.

Not very fast but pretty reliable.

3.00 Stars

on March 02, 2017

Been with them for 5 years and only ever get about 2.4 to 3 Mbps download and around 1.5 to a max of 2 uploads... Not too quick on upgrading equipment. Looking for a provider that can keep up with the times.

350 Gb a month not enough for my family

3.00 Stars

on January 29, 2016

I keep asking for a plan with more GBs they say not in my area. Instead, I have to pay $3.50 for every 10 GB of usage over their limit. They have no remedy just tell me to lower the quality of my picture.

Awesome - Best Value.

4.00 Stars

on October 17, 2016

I have been very pleased with Rise Broadband. The reliability has been better than anticipated and there was only one network failure that was quickly rectified, unlike DSL / Cable providers that I've had multiple outages / issues with over the years. The next time I move, I'll be looking for Rise Broadband as my first option.

Rise Broadband falls short

2.00 Stars

on October 18, 2017

We try to run a business from home and the reliability with Rise is awful!! They have been out to our home several times, changed the equipment out, moved it around and no improvement. We've upgraded to their 50 Mbps plan and we still don't have a phone 90% of the time. And WiFi sinks every night.

Rise has been rock steady

4.00 Stars

on August 04, 2017

Has been very good and consistent for over a year but please get faster speeds like you have in other parts of the country.

Three times faster at half the cost!

5.00 Stars

on November 17, 2015

Three times faster at half the cost and 1000% more reliable than others. Competition is a great thing for the consumer! Go Rise!

Horrible service at a high rate

1.00 Stars

on September 21, 2018

While they advertise a 10Mbps speed, I never get more than 4Mbps. Between the hours of 4 pm to 10 or 11 pm, I don't even get Mbps speeds. I get Kbps speeds. Like right now, 190 kbps. I have screen shots of my tests. It's useless! And $70 a month? Outrageous!

Poor customer service and slow internet

1.00 Stars

on October 17, 2018

Over the last month, service has slowed to a crawl, 0.2Mbps. Their response has been slow and it has been completely down for days. Their customer service is poor, they can offer no solutions or compensation to their customers. You truly feel your patronage is unappreciated.

Too often service is down or super slow

2.00 Stars

on October 04, 2018

I have had Rise for over a year. They continue to have many days each month of super slow speeds or service interruptions. When it is working, it is good. It is my only choice for my area so I am held captive. Look elsewhere if you have another choice.

Slow, but reliable

3.00 Stars

on March 17, 2017

Speeds aren't so great, and data cap is frustrating. Upgrade to a business account for unlimited, but speed still is an issue.

Upgrade

4.00 Stars

on October 16, 2017

Rise is a good company . For my area not as much because their tower is not capable of upgrading my plan and if I go over I still have to pay charges that double my bill.

Rise Review

4.00 Stars

on July 22, 2018

I have had no problems, service works fine and its so cheap compared to others.

Horrible service for unreasonably high bill

1.00 Stars

on November 06, 2018

I live in a rural area and at the time I moved here my options were either Rise Broadband or HughesNet. I chose to try Rise Broadband due to the decent prices. But after getting the service, my internet was very slow, cannot even stream Netflix without constant issues. I asked for an upgrade and they said due to my area 15 Mbps is all I could get. When my 2-year contract came up, my bill went up over $30. I then found out there was finally another option for internet service and I could get 60 Mbps for $20 less than Rise Broadband. When I went to cancel my Rise service, I was told even though my bill just came out 3 days prior, they would not credit back any money, nor would they reduce my speed to the lowest one for the month to save money (not sure if it even does get any lower). I will never do business with them again.

Forget Streaming Capability

1.00 Stars

on October 20, 2018

I have had this service thru 3 company buyouts. Rise Broadband will stream movies via Netflix etc as long as no one else in the neighborhood is home. After 5 pm and weekends just forget it. If all you want is email capability- it is just fine. No more.

DATA CAPS AND OVERAGE CHARGES

2.00 Stars

on October 15, 2018

Have had Rise Broadband for 1 year and cannot wait for my contract to be up! 350 GB data cap, when I signed up the representative told me over the phone that this will work with gaming and streaming movies. The installation worker even stated that we would have to game or stream movies for 12 hrs a day for almost a month to get close, wrong. From the first month, we have gone over data every single month. We work and our child, is in school, there is no way we can be using 12 hrs a day. We normally make it about half a month before we start being charged $3.50 /10GB. Last month I got a notification and after about $60.00 of charges, I just unplugged the whole router. For two weeks we still received additional charges and we were not using anything, it was unplugged. Just my overage charges for that month were $80.50 making for a $138 total bill for one month. If you are going to be doing any streaming at all, I would not recommend them at all. The only good thing I can say is our service hardly ever, goes down. It may run slow but hardly ever completely down.

Pray for uptime

3.00 Stars

on October 10, 2018

Speeds are pretty good overall, but not consistent and drops are to be expected. Customer service is the worst though! Just spent 35 minutes on hold with no answer and then 5 minutes waiting for “live chat” before closing time. Frustrating that they are so cheap on customer service - my call is not important to them.

Good service - good price

4.00 Stars

on October 02, 2018

We have had great customer service and service has been very good.

Awesome service

4.00 Stars

on August 21, 2018

Just got set up last week, excellent customer service. Tech arrived on time and was good at answering questions. Much faster than our previous ISP.

Rise is ok -

James Casselman on April 13, 2018

You have to say Rise is OK. Certainly system reliability is improving - far less downtime than before

Years of service

5.00 Stars

on January 24, 2016

We have a long history with the service. There has been only one time we had a problem. It was due to a storm. The price has not changed. We are pleased with Rise Broadband.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC