BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Mediacom Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Mediacom's service. To see if broadband Internet from Mediacom Cable is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Check Availability

Get in touch with a sales agent or view all available internet plans

Check Availability

(844) 292-5024 View Plans

1.73 Stars  432  Reviews
1.73 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.5%
4 Star
3.4%
3 Star
9.0%
2 Star
35.0%
1 Star
50.1%

Leave a Review For Mediacom Cable

Are you a current or former Mediacom Cable customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Mediacom bad

Royce Smith on March 05, 2018

Over 2 years now, bad connection speeds, slow, high ping. I have been kicked from gaming because of high ping and slow speeds. Mediacom will fix temporarily, then go down again and again and again. Cannot get them to fix permanently.

Fast but reckless; not a good value for internet

2.00 Stars

on June 17, 2018

If it didn't stutter every minute, it would legitimately be the fastest your money can buy - music downloads like a breeze, movies download so quickly your computer doesn't even know where to put it yet, and games don't lag more than 60 ms; unfortunately, no amount of speed can alter the fact that the connection seemingly rolls a dice every minute to decide if it wants to stay stable or not; if you complain enough, you might get free movies for a month, but other than that, customer service more than likely will leave you on your own. When it works, it's very fast, but I'd like to start streaming again, and due to the fact that the connection blinks every other minute and forces all devices to figure out what just happened, means that I would have to restart the stream in the same manner every time it happens. I even tried reducing my computer's MTU size to 1. Literally just 1 byte of data per packet sent, just to see if it could at least reliably send 1 byte of data a time without any stutters; spoiler alert, it didn't. In fact, two out of the four single bytes sent didn't even make it to google.com when I pinged it, and that's not to say that I am the only one affected by this. My father works IT for a mass corporation and can no longer work at home reliably since he literally loses work every time the internet decides to not work. This "problem" manifests itself in many ways, the most notable ones being: -even though the ping is perfectly fine, i cannot reconnect to games -my dad loses his work -my dad cannot reliably connect to conference calls -my stream freezes -the internet doesn't work for the day or -the internet doesn't work, we don't know if it's for the day or week or month (yeah, it's happened) Overall, I give Mediacom a 5/10 - a barely average rating. If customer service didn't give any consolation prize at all, I would have made my customer service rating a 1/5. Reliability, as I have stated above, is a tragic 1/5. I would rather have stable internet than blazing fast internet in this case. Speed isn't an argument, it's a near perfect score. It is incredibly fast when it decides to work. Value is a 2/5, since stability is what makes fast speeds work, if we look at total speed taking into account the stutters, it's mediocre at best.

Outdated Cable Network

2.00 Stars

on November 25, 2017

I have used Mediacom Cable TV / Internet for years. I do not intend for this review to be a complaining review, simply what I experienced over the years. And presently (Nov 2017) there is no improvement, only higher cost, $179 a month for one step over basic cable and internet at 100 Mbps (which is really 60 Mbps or less at my connection). Paying for 100 Mbps down speeds, rarely seen. Typical speed tests are 60-70% of what you pay for. After work, expect less than 50% average. Do not expect them to automatically refund you when their network goes down (monthly). You have to call, otherwise you pay for zero service provided. Two star service instead of one because they'll typically refund some of your bill when you ask due to continuous outages and bottlenecks. But you shouldn't have to ask. Oh, and Ookla speed test doesn't reflect at all what the consumer experiences. They tell you to test with it and say it's all working. When plugging directly into the router, disconnecting everything else and using the internet, there is still a lag or bottle neck or problem that Mediacom has. Ookla doesn't reflect the customers REAL experience and is therefore not useful. The "internet speed test", when Google searched, does give a real type of result. Always be fair and disconnect other devices on your internal network. You'll find great speeds are achievable when you don't need it (ie. if you live a first-shift life). I have to say the service techs try to pacify customers. I believe they already know they can't fix an outdated network hodge podge of cables running everywhere. Nevertheless, it's about the only option if your living depends on the internet, and you live in Syracuse, IN. Cell wireless is too expensive and slow. Mediacom provides a poor value, medium service quality, and is NOT able to provide you what they sell you 80% or less of the time.

Not good

2.00 Stars

on July 15, 2017

I am a gamer, and when my mother purchased internet service from Mediacom, she asked if it would be strong enough for me to play video games and her to watch Netflix at the same time. The man said yes, so we believed him. After having it for almost 3 months. I hated it, and my mother didn't want to change providers. So basically my family has been living under a rock because we can't connect to anything, not even Google. Also, when the power goes out, Mediacom goes out for at least 1 day which they don't even compensate you for. If you are planning on getting this service, think again.

Mediacom needs to stop

2.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

I have had Mediacom for a while now and the speed is great, my games download fast and I don't have high pings. But everything else is trash, the customer support, trash. Consistency, trash. I am so tired of getting home from a long day to play games and the internet isn't working. If they keep having blackouts like this, they either have to fix it or lower the price. Oh yeah, the price, it would be fine if I could actually use the internet we pay for, it is such a joke that it costs this much for something that doesn't even work half the time.

Worst Service Ever

2.00 Stars

on November 28, 2017

I have been with Mediacom as there is no other alternative. My modem needs to be reset three times daily. The modem has been changed, used Mediacom modems as well as personal with no improvement. Customer service is ok but internet speed of 100 gives you 15, 20 if lucky and speeds of 60 give you 8, 10 if lucky. Stuck in quick sand.

More for less

Nelson Duckwald on June 21, 2018

We cut our services for television from Mediacom eliminating Netflix and Stars, reducing our television to basic and increased our Internet speed to 100kbps. Now I'm at a bill that's higher than the one with more television channels. The internet speed is also rarely 100kbps and flushes all the way to zero frequently.

Too expensive

4.00 Stars

on December 16, 2017

Due to financial concerns I am thinking about dropping my cable service and keeping internet. I was told my internet would be $89/mo. That is ridiculous since I have a friend that pays $49. I don't use the phone but am paying for it. If I could get it for $49 I would be happy. I have also been losing service on a regular basis and have to go back and unplug the modem.

Poor customer service

3.00 Stars

on February 26, 2018

Service is fine as long as it is working. If there is a problem, it has proven difficult to get it fully addressed on 2 separate occasions.

Inconsistent speeds.

1.00 Stars

on August 02, 2016

The internet service is great during the day (non-peak hours); however, evening or slight peak hours diminish from 80-90% (100 Mbps to 1 Mbps). Service tends to try to blame these fluctuations on the modem or wireless connection in the home wireless. However, the correlation between time of day and speed is very clear and consistent, despite an upgrade in Modem. That is not suggestive of a "in home" problem.

Poor reliability.

1.00 Stars

on December 05, 2018

Mediacom internet service is so unreliable that I have to unplug and restart my modem every day. I pay for 100Mbps speeds but average about 7.5. And if the modem has been plugged in more then 8hrs. I have to turn it off and back on to get it to work again.

Unreliable

1.00 Stars

on August 19, 2018

I have actually been with Mediacom for a very long time. We moved almost a year ago and we were extremely happy to find out that we would still be using Mediacom, however that has since changed. I have had to have them come out to fix the internet more in the last 10 months than I did in the previous 7 to 10 years at our previous address. They keep telling me that it is fixed and usually within a week we start having issues again. The service tech is like 100 years old and just does the same thing over and over. All we have is 2 tv’s and our internet and for some reason, he feels we have to have 2 splitters which we don’t. I have talked to several different people in the cable industry and they have all told me that. I am at this point very disappointed in Mediacom and really wish that we had other options (we do for TV) but for internet, they have the best plan just not reliability.

Much less internet speed than advertised

2.00 Stars

on February 27, 2019

We have used Mediacom internet only service for several years. We are paying for 60 Mbps service but we routinely get 9 Mbps. I would say we receive 60 Mbps about 5% of the time. I check at least weekly on the internet speed delivered. When we have had Mediacom technicians at least 4 times come to investigate, there is no improvement. They indicate we may need a new modem or rewiring, even though we have a new modem and wiring.

Great performance, Fishy pricing

4.00 Stars

on March 09, 2016

I have been satisfied by the uptime and performance of Mediacom broadband for many years. The pricing strategies are not straightforward (which is a complaint I have for this whole industry).

Review

4.00 Stars

on October 02, 2015

The speed is very good but customer service is very bad.

Too expensive

1.00 Stars

on August 29, 2019

Initially, my monthly bill was $40 per month. My internet wasn't great but at least it was somewhat affordable. After one year, it was increased to $60 without notification. Furthermore, my quality was still not great. $60 a month only for subpar internet is certainly not worth it. Comparable companies are offering a fixed rate of $45 per month.

Mediacom 1Gb not here yet

3.00 Stars

on August 02, 2017

Price high for the speed available, slows down during prime time, works fine for streaming all the time.

Great Speeds

5.00 Stars

on December 14, 2015

Signed up for Mediacom after having a very slow and nonfunctioning DSL connection. Had to wait for them to run a line to my area but all in all well worth getting cable connection. Right from start have had a 58 Mbps download and 6 Mbps upload consistently. What I signed for is 50 Mbps/5 Mbps so am receiving a little higher rate. Have only had 2 calls to support and the connection was fixed quickly. Both times it was in their plant so no one needed to come to house.

Fairly fast, slightly expensive, good reliability

3.00 Stars

on September 05, 2018

Service interruptions are very rare, and the speeds are at least as fast as what I pay for. There are the occasional glitches, and the modem needs resetting about every 10 days, but overall, it's much better than average for this area.

Review after 15 years of service.

4.00 Stars

on April 26, 2019

I have had Mediacom for 15 years now at the same location. Things have changed from the first years. The first years I was very unhappy with it. Since internet speeds and demands have gone up and technology has developed, I have the 100, soon to be 200 Mbps download package, I really don't care about TV and movies as most people do. Over the years, Mediacom has improved by leaps and bounds. We are having rock solid internet speeds and without hardly ever a problem. Getting good speeds with low ping and lag in the 30 ms range is pretty good enough and the problems encountered with many servers worldwide could be blamed on your local provider if say our gaming speeds aren't up to par as possible. This seems to be the main complaint with the internet along with connectivity. There are many technical problems with the internet that could never cover them all. But Mediacom has totally improved with all the problem areas over the years and I think it will continue to improve. And no, I don't work for them. I would have to give em a 9 out of 10 after all these years.

Fast speeds, but expensive

4.00 Stars

on January 29, 2019

The Internet speed we pay for is 100 down/10 up and we normally get about 95 down/15 up. The speeds are fast and ping is low so, it is great for my family who games a lot. However, the service is very expensive and they can keep their prices high because their only competition's max speed is 7 Mbps down. It is around $180 a month for 100 Mbps Internet, family cable, and unlimited nationwide home phone.

Overall, no real issues.

4.00 Stars

on September 05, 2019

As of September 2019, current customer since 2015. Every once in awhile I have an issue. The main issue I have is they, every once in a while, will do maintenance during the day which causes a loss in connectivity. Losing TV is one thing, but losing internet is another. I work from home and any loss during the day can be a real challenge. That said, this does not happen often and I am usually back up in minutes rather than hours or days. As with everything, some of the technicians are better than others but all I have dealt with have been polite and helpful. Now, CS personnel (CS = customer service), those you call into, can really challenge one's ability to stay calm. They sometimes ask a question and then do not listen to your answer. Overall I would choose Mediacom over all other providers I have used in the past.

Great ISP

Barbara A Odom on April 15, 2018

I haven't had Mediacom before and was so surprised at how satisfied I am with this cable company. I would recommend it to anyone.

Good Cable But Pushy Customer Service

4.00 Stars

on February 07, 2019

I have mixed reviews of Mediacom. On one hand, the price was good, good channel selection, internet connection was ok, and the on-demand features were cool. The local office and installation crew were also helpful and professional. However, we are receiving phone calls almost daily from their 1-800 customer service number after we canceled service. Since there was no local office at new home, we requested that Mediacom send a box so we could return their modems and remotes via FedEx. After the box was mailed, they call us every day and will probably keep calling every day until the box is received by their corporate. I understand they want their equipment back, but this is very annoying. We had no intention of keeping their stuff-leave us alone already, please! That being said, we enjoyed the cable/internet package and the local office was really helpful. Just do something about the calls, please.

Responsive

Melanie Barton Bragg on May 02, 2018

Even when there are outages, which I have experienced with multiple service providers, Mediacom is responsive, polite and carries through on when they say it will be fixed or sooner.

Immediate installation

5.00 Stars

on July 22, 2019

Mediacom provided good coverage the whole time.

Best ISP Out There!

5.00 Stars

on July 09, 2019

A+++ Wonderful service with ultra-fast speeds.

Solid speed and connection

5.00 Stars

on January 28, 2019

In my community, internet reliability is stable. The only time we have outages is during the maintenance window overnight unless something major happens. I have 500 Mbps service and rarely drops to 450 Mbps with a 7 millisecond ping.

Excellent Customer Service

4.00 Stars

on June 25, 2019

I called and originally was disappointed regarding the service provided. Support was phenomenal. Once the request was made, they responded immediately. He was calm and explained everything in detail. He assisted me in understanding why there was an increase in charges on my bill. He is a prime example of a leader. Awesome job!! He made my choice to stay with Mediacom worthwhile. Thanks!

Why do we still have data caps in 2019?

2.00 Stars

on October 17, 2019

Mediacom is the only ISP in my area that provides speeds over 25Mbps, and they know it. With a full house and everyone streaming, we need the speed they provide, and the lower speed alternatives aren’t much less expensive. It’s bad enough I pay over $100 for 100Mbps, where most areas pay close to $50. But they also have data caps at 1,000GB, which gets used real quick when everyone streams. We cut out their cable tv service because streaming is so much cheaper, but to avoid overage charges, we now pay an extra $10/mo to double those data caps! Ironically, this is still cheaper than paying for their cable tv service. This is 2019; there is no excuse for 100Mbps internet to cost anywhere near $100 in the US, and data caps should not exist. Internet speed is relatively fast (speed tests often show slightly above what I pay for), but is constantly being interrupted. Customer Service refuses to compensate when internet goes out.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2019 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC