Mediacom Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Mediacom's service. To see if broadband Internet from Mediacom Cable is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Mediacom Service

Mediacom Cable

1.98 Stars  119 Reviews
1.98 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.5%
4 Star
4.2%
3 Star
12.6%
2 Star
38.7%
1 Star
30.3%

Leave a Review For Mediacom Cable

Are you a current or former Mediacom Cable customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Great Speeds

5.00 Stars

on December 14, 2015

Signed up for Mediacom after having a very slow and nonfunctioning DSL connection. Had to wait for them to run a line to my area but all in all well worth getting cable connection. Right from start have had a 58 Mbps download and 6 Mbps upload consistently. What I signed for is 50 Mbps/5 Mbps so am receiving a little higher rate. Have only had 2 calls to support and the connection was fixed quickly. Both times it was in their plant so no one needed to come to house.

Great performance, Fishy pricing

4.00 Stars

on March 09, 2016

I have been satisfied by the uptime and performance of Mediacom broadband for many years. The pricing strategies are not straightforward (which is a complaint I have for this whole industry).

Worst Service Ever

2.00 Stars

on November 28, 2017

I have been with Mediacom as there is no other alternative. My modem needs to be reset three times daily. The modem has been changed, used Mediacom modems as well as personal with no improvement. Customer service is ok but internet speed of 100 gives you 15, 20 if lucky and speeds of 60 give you 8, 10 if lucky. Stuck in quick sand.

Too expensive

4.00 Stars

on December 16, 2017

Due to financial concerns I am thinking about dropping my cable service and keeping internet. I was told my internet would be $89/mo. That is ridiculous since I have a friend that pays $49. I don't use the phone but am paying for it. If I could get it for $49 I would be happy. I have also been losing service on a regular basis and have to go back and unplug the modem.

Great ISP

1.00 Stars

on April 15, 2018

I haven't had Mediacom before and was so surprised at how satisfied I am with this cable company. I would recommend it to anyone.

Mediacom bad

1.00 Stars

on March 05, 2018

Over 2 years now, bad connection speeds, slow, high ping. I have been kicked from gaming because of high ping and slow speeds. Mediacom will fix temporarily, then go down again and again and again. Cannot get them to fix permanently.

Poor customer service

3.00 Stars

on February 26, 2018

Service is fine as long as it is working. If there is a problem, it has proven difficult to get it fully addressed on 2 separate occasions.

Mediacom 1Gb not here yet

3.00 Stars

on August 02, 2017

Price high for the speed available, slows down during prime time, works fine for streaming all the time.

Not good

2.00 Stars

on July 15, 2017

I am a gamer, and when my mother purchased internet service from Mediacom, she asked if it would be strong enough for me to play video games and her to watch Netflix at the same time. The man said yes, so we believed him. After having it for almost 3 months. I hated it, and my mother didn't want to change providers. So basically my family has been living under a rock because we can't connect to anything, not even Google. Also, when the power goes out, Mediacom goes out for at least 1 day which they don't even compensate you for. If you are planning on getting this service, think again.

Inconsistent speeds.

1.00 Stars

on August 02, 2016

The internet service is great during the day (non-peak hours); however, evening or slight peak hours diminish from 80-90% (100 Mbps to 1 Mbps). Service tends to try to blame these fluctuations on the modem or wireless connection in the home wireless. However, the correlation between time of day and speed is very clear and consistent, despite an upgrade in Modem. That is not suggestive of a "in home" problem.

Review

4.00 Stars

on October 02, 2015

The speed is very good but customer service is very bad.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC