HughesNet Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of HughesNet's service. To see if broadband Internet from HughesNet is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup HughesNet Service

HughesNet

1.40 Stars  1082  Reviews
1.40 out of 5 stars

5 Star
0.8%
4 Star
1.3%
3 Star
5.0%
2 Star
23.2%
1 Star
69.7%

Leave a Review For HughesNet

Are you a current or former HughesNet customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Slow and insufficient data

2.00 Stars

on March 29, 2018

I have been a Hughesnet subscriber since Gen3, and upgraded to Gen4 and Gen5 as they became available. I really can’t tell much difference in the speed of each Gen upgrade. For many years my data allowance was 10Gb and with one user in my household it lasted 2-3 weeks. There are now three users in my household, so I increased my data allowance to 20Gb.last year when I upgraded to Gen5. Well, the 20Gb lasts less than 2 weeks. That is not acceptable, especially when the speed is only marginally faster with data as opposed to without data.

HughesNet

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

The only upside I've found with HughesNet is that I almost never lose service except during the worst thunderstorms. They are slow. They have ridiculous data caps 20 GB a month for $150. If I didn't live in a valley surrounded by trees I would use absolutely anything else. Their customer service is poor to put it lightly. I have had to hang up and call back several times because I couldn't understand the person I was talking to. If you have any option other than satellite internet go with that. Once my contract is up I'm going back to dial up.

Horrible

2.00 Stars

on June 08, 2018

If you just need internet browsing, check Facebook or email, speed is great! But don't think you can download a season of TV series without it going over your data cap. Also if you plan to use it with any type of VPN connection of VoIP.. Don't do it! Horrible lag times and it is pretty much useless. Oh yeah, $75 a month for basic lowest package... again if you have to use a VPN tunnel to work from home it does not work. You will curse out your computer and you will hate every minute of your internet...

Great internet if you only need it for a week

2.00 Stars

on March 07, 2018

Great coverage, but my internet is gone within a couple days to two weeks tops. Lost my 20 GB of internet in 2 days and they said I used like. 35 GB on my bonus time. We never use the bonus time cause that's at 2am till 7am. Not happy!!

BBB needs to straighten this company out or shut them down.

1.00 Stars

on March 20, 2018

I have had this company for close to 9 months and only on a few occasions has the speed reached even close to what they advertise. This of course only happened while on the phone with a representative as they worked to correct the speed. They have even changed out the router and the dish with no change in service quality. They also advertise "No Data Limits" even though they limit your data and once you reach that limit they limit the speed until the next billing cycle. Oddly enough the 1-3 Mbps Limit on speed is roughly the normal speed for this company anyhow. I am normally between 1 and 6 Mbps even at the beginning of a new cycle.

Terrible

2.00 Stars

on January 09, 2018

Expensive, terrible service. The only reason we use HughesNet is because we have no other option. It is not fast and they cap your download which makes it impossible to watch videos, movies or even update software. If you go over your limit you have to purchase tokens to be able to even load a simple webpage. The worst part is that we easily spend well over $100 a month!

Works good but...

3.00 Stars

on January 04, 2018

Overall the service works pretty well, but we run out of data generally within the first week of the month and are then stuck with the slower speed which makes it impossible to watch any online videos. Web surfing becomes fairly painful as well and email is about the only thing that functions ok after reaching your data limit. I upped the data limit to 30 GB a month and it lasts a bit longer but still generally run out of data by the two week point. I was told that 20 GB was plenty for an average family. My kids don’t even play online games and we still run out of data. We don’t stream any movies because we never have enough data. The equipment works well but the price for the service is ridiculous. $70 a month for basically one week, maybe 10 days of usable internet each month.

HughesNet overall service for working from home or internet browsing

2.00 Stars

on February 18, 2018

Needing to work from home as well as spending 2 days per week on home school assignments, it is near impossible to get work done without the internet service constantly buffering causing delays to uploading or downloading or frequent loss of work. Worst possible method to work from home. If trying to stream online games, music, or videos forget about it, unless you can download the content and play or watch later. Can't wait to switch to broadband/fiber as soon as it is available in my area.

Do yourself a favor and don’t get HughesNet

1.00 Stars

on July 05, 2018

Slowest internet. You’re limited to how much data you use. Even if you have 10+ Gb of internet left, everything will lag.

HughesNet

2.00 Stars

on August 12, 2017

The good news, if you use HughesNet between 2am and 8am you could be pleased with their service. The bad news, during peak usage hours of 6pm and 11pm, you will be very frustrated as either they throttle speed to 1.6 Mbps (nowhere near 25 Mbps advertised) or the Gen 5 satellite cannot handle the traffic congestion. I switched from another provider to HughesNet because my previous provider was so expensive. However the service was super fast. There are more choices for rural wireless internet coming every few months and I will be watching for a better internet service provider.

Complicated Data Use Plans

2.00 Stars

on November 20, 2017

On an average, we have a ping rate of 845-125ms, a download rate of 20-10mbps, and an upload rate of 4-5mbps. It works really well about three days a month. There are two people in our home, no gamers, and only evening/ weekend occasional streaming as we have DirecTV. We use our cell phone data plans as suggested by HughesNet support to avoid data usage. We are also locked into a 2 year contract, so that is cool. To get out of the contract we must pay $587 dollars. When we inquired about cancelling we found out we have a home phone line we are paying them for too. Not sure what the number is and why we have it but we are paying for it.

1.00 Stars

on November 25, 2017

You are set a certain limit and once you meet that limit, it will slow down to the speed of the old days of broadband.

HughesNet

1.00 Stars

on November 13, 2017

If more than one person is using Wifi here, it blows. We have to go to an inconvenient area of our house, where the HughesNet monitor is, unplug everything, wait a minute, plug everything back in, wait approximately 5 minutes, then get back online and try again, just one person at a time. It's not an unlimited service. It's more than $100 for 50 Gigs per month. Upload speed is really slow. Download speed is average. Not much of a choice when you need to get your internet via a satellite dish. :(

Not recommended

2.00 Stars

on January 11, 2016

This provider is not recommended at all for anyone who actually wants to use their Internet for anything, it is literally faster to use an EDGE connection on your mobile device than to buy this service. At peak hours (2am-8am), this service gets as fast as 6Mbps download and .15mbs upload. My children would like to play on their consoles but even connecting directly to the modem won't allow them to connect to any online servers much less play the actual game. I have the best non-business plan and I still get only 50MB a month in data with another 50 during peak hours. They do not offer an unlimited package on data, so we run out halfway through the month, and since it's satellite, we can't get more, so our speed drops to about .15mbs download and .05 upload. They have a really nice customer service but they can't help. I really feel as though you'd be better off using unlimited mobile phone data with a mobile hotspot and they are about the same price, depending on your provider.

Data limits and weather outages.

2.00 Stars

on March 26, 2018

HughesNet is okay for a satellite service but has the usual problems: data limits (just watching a few videos on Youtube will use up your monthly allowance) and of course it goes out during any rain or heavy clouds. Sure wish we could get DSL here in the Silver Lake Area!

Last resort at most

1.00 Stars

on January 23, 2018

Over priced and unreliable. When I signed up they didn't tell me there's a data cap of 50 GB and that's for the "gaming" package.

If I had another choice...

2.00 Stars

on November 17, 2017

Right out the gate, let me say that HughesNet gets the job done. I'm in between major areas out in the country, and I have internet. That's about as positive as I'll get. The main issue I have with them is the data cap. My wife and I pay ~$90 a month enjoy high speed internet for at best 20 days out of the month. After that, we have reached our data cap are throttled down to 120kbs. This is fine for the two times a day I check my email, but beyond that, it is simply not good enough to browse the internet with any semblance of efficiency. The other issue is the ping rate. My ping is well over a second making online gaming, formerly my hobby when I lived in an area with good internet, nigh impossible. That can't be helped due to the speed of light and the fact that satellites are hundreds of miles in the sky, but it is one more reason why I say that if I had another choice, I would NEVER choose HughesNet. I gave the Customer Service a 3 because I haven't used it, so maybe it's fine. I gave their speed a 2 because it's adequate for half the month, but the ping is awful. Reliability would be higher were it not for the crippling data cap. Value would be a zero if there were an option, so go ahead an pretend I put zero. I would not exchange money for this service if I had another choice. It's literally worth no dollars.

My Hughesnet experience

3.00 Stars

on November 16, 2017

Satellite internet is all that's available in our area and truthfully it's better than nothing. We do a lot of video streaming and usually use our allotted usage in two days, then our speed is cut from 30 Mbps to around 1 Mbps. I can't understand why there's a 95 per cent drop in speed, to me it's just their legal way of saying unlimited usage. I wish they weren't allowed to drop speeds over 60 or 75 per cent. Oh, you can get tokens to increase your speed, but you have to pay out your nose. I could live with 10 Mbps or even 5 Mbps, but 1 Mbps to 1.5 Mbps is ridiculous. It will have to do until something better comes along and when it does, I'm out of here!

Only as a last resort

2.00 Stars

on November 03, 2017

Polite words cannot describe satellite internet. Very weather dependent, does not support voice over IP, extreme data limitations. In some cases you will be happier with dial-up internet.

Not a Full service ISP

3.00 Stars

on April 15, 2018

If I knew I would have to use & pay for HughesNet's modem/wi-fi Router and pay an additional fee to receive support, I would have never signed on! Other than that, HughesNet is a decent ISP.

Does not deliver promised speed

2.00 Stars

on August 22, 2018

My usual experience with streaming videos is incredibly disappointing and frustrating. At over $116 per month, I expect promises to be kept, I have never been able to watch a Netflix, Hulu, or YouTube video without numerous playing restarts. My last Netflix experience was today, (no rain or bad weather) when I had to restart the movie, no exaggeration here, over 20 times before I finally gave up 3/4 of the way through the video. Awful service, does not live up to the hype!! Don't be fooled.

Decent Internet for poorly covered areas

4.00 Stars

on February 06, 2018

Decent Internet with surprisingly fast download speeds albeit with high latencies. Pages and streaming very slow to get started but once they start, good speed is held. Upload speeds good enough, though slow. Due to high latency, VPN usage is almost useless.

Data limited

2.00 Stars

on November 21, 2016

Signal strength is ok, but even on the highest data rate plan, we used our entire monthly data allowance in 2 days. No Netflix or on-demand movies were used. Find another option. Once you use your data for the month they throttle down your speed to a crawl.

Data caps render the service unusable

1.00 Stars

on December 29, 2015

Hughesnet has a business model that is dependent on a captive audience that has no other option for Internet connections. Speed: Due to this, the company is allowed to provide speeds that are unusable for most services. The only thing a user could do is browse basic websites without media. Data Caps: Lower speeds would be passable if not for the issue of a data cap. The standard plan only offers 10GB a month for $60 which is comparable to a phone Internet provider. This cap makes it impossible to do anything online that a large majority of the population is able to do, video streaming, music streaming, voice/video calls, essentially anything that isn't black text on a white screen. They offer additional data from 2 am - 8 am but it is unreasonable to assume that anyone will be awake during that time. (Un) Reliability: An additional issue to account for is that the service will not be available during storms. Also the speed is never anywhere to what is quoted. (Currently measured at .11Mbps / quoted 1.5Mbps) Overall, avoid this company if at all possible. The same applies to all other satellite Internet companies due to identical business models.

Does not provide consistent great internet connection. Constantly goes down.

1.00 Stars

on July 20, 2017

Unfortunately, they are the only provider in our area... they do not have an unlimited plan... and when it rains... the internet does not work. They recommended for us to wake up at 2 am and record movies to watch later. Would be great if they had other options.

Subpar Speed & Data / Terrible Customer Service!

1.00 Stars

on June 18, 2018

Living in a rural area, unfortunately, HughesNet is our only viable option. Reality - it's unavoidably slow because the distance of sending data back and forth from the orbiting satellite and because you will use your allowed data long before your month is up. Once you reach your data cap, speeds slow significantly to dial-up levels. Buying more data adds to an already expensive plan. Plans are considerably more expensive than cable or DSL service and contracts are long (24 months) and expensive to terminate early! Customer service is terrible. Recently, I called in as a brand new customer because the internet speed was very slow right from the beginning. The agent was able to assess our problem within their system and I found out the satellite dish was misaligned and that I was only receiving 55% of the signal. I assumed it was installed improperly. When I asked, I was told I should have used their app to test the speed and it was my responsibility to call sooner. However, I was never told to watch for this at time of installation. In addition, with the agent on the line, I accessed the app only to be told it was not accurate nor reliable. It showed I had used all my data, but they showed I had used very little because of the poor signal. Considering I was a new customer, and reasonably thought the dish was installed improperly and poor service for over a month, I requested a discount. The agent asked if I experienced any bad weather, to which I responded honestly that we had a couple of rainstorms (none of which would have caused damage). They then used my response against me and insisted the dish became misaligned due to the storm and wasn't their fault. In the end, they offered a paltry $10 discount and additional 3 GB of data. The agent was very direct, argumentative, unwilling to consider other options and overall just a jerk!

Bad service

1.00 Stars

on August 07, 2018

I had internet with HughesNet for a month and two days. The first month ran of internet before the month was over then it reset on the fifth and by the seventh, I had no more data. All we watched was two movies and done three modules on the computer. It cost me $64.00 to watch a movie and do homework n two days. Now they are charging me $400.00 termination fees.

The worst ever

1.00 Stars

on August 07, 2018

I am a teenager who is forced to use this internet, but I am tech savvy and know a lot about crap. This is the worst. Where should I start? Probably the latency. I know all satellite internet has bad ping, and I get around 800ms average (for the non tech-savvy people out there, less than 70 is good). I have gotten up to 20 SECONDS OF PING though! Next are the speeds. They are atrocious. Game updates are terribly slow, averaging 60kbps, which, if you do the math, is 416 times worse than advertised speeds. The max speed I've ever gotten on this crap is 5.9Mbps (around 3 in the morning, when no one else who has HughesNet is using it) I somehow update my games at that time, I just have to let them run overnight. Updates that should take me 3 minutes (this is during the day), according to my friends, take me 11+ hours (I have video proof)! I have to use a hotspot whenever I'm gaming. For the nontech savvy people, I have only experienced HD video twice in a year (on youtube and Netflix) I would talk about the data cap thing, but A. this review is getting long and B. there are almost no differences between the speeds after the data caps seeing that the average speeds I get are way under 3mbps. The way I see my situation for this internet is like an island with a whole bunch of rotten (emphasis on rotten) apples. Those apples are the only available ISPs in my area (in the country), and they are my only source of internet/food. I want to grow up to be in something in the computer department and the irony of my internet situation is stupid.

Just horrible

1.00 Stars

on August 25, 2018

I got kids who would love to watch an occasional movie on Netflix but can't because the service is so slow! They told me with our 20Gb of service each month we would be able to use Netflix to watch TV on 2 TV's without an issue but it was a lie. We pay $75 a month so my kids only get to watch 4 movies a month and my husband and I only watch TV a couple times a week. When we got it we let both TV's run watching Netflix for 5 days then suddenly we weren't able to watch anything the rest of the month! So we have to now have a TV schedule who gets a turn every week to watch just little TV, it's unreal! It's just not worth the money. When it rains, it stops working also. And yeah it may be free from 2AM-8AM but what normal working family with school kids are up that time to watch anything?? Nothing about this provider is reliable or worth the money! My knowledge D's have never had to in their 10 yes of life n we finally promise then they would have it and it makes a parent sad to say sorry we're in a contract the next 2 yrs n paying for TV u can't watch! The only reason we ever got this Service Is bc it's the only service we could get in our location. I wish we never did it. DVD player is better than Hughesnet anyway. If u have options for a provider please be smart.

Beware! Not reaching guaranteed speeds.

1.00 Stars

on June 25, 2017

HughesNet has never been able to provide me the guaranteed speeds on uploads. I used to get better than average download speeds of 12-20 Mbps. Of late, my download speeds are 2-3.8 Mbps with uploads speeds of 0.75 - 0.27 Mbps. I've called the company numerous times about my upload speeds, with no rectification. I've been sent to multi-layers of tech service where they can't solve the problem and send me off to someone else who has to get back to me. Of course, no one ever does. I've had a couple of outstanding employees try to help me but no one has been able to solve my problem. Now that I am getting below average download speeds as well, I'm looking for another carrier.

Don’t Do It!

1.00 Stars

on September 05, 2018

This is the only service I can get since I live in a rural area. I pay almost $200 a month for service that is slow and completely unreliable. Stream a video? Most days we have 2-3 lag times during a 45-minute show. It’s so slow one of our devices regularly tells us a web page can’t load because the server stopped responding and working from home is a nightmare because there’s never internet when I need to get anything done. I use the data packages on my phones for web surfing and streaming video a lot because they get service even when my home does not.

Horrible.

1.00 Stars

on July 10, 2018

The download speed is inconsistent, I use my pc via Ethernet, and it constantly disconnects and reconnects. The upload is ok, but nothing to brag about, but being a serious gamer who couldn't get internet for months, I was desperate for what I could get. The previous provider gave me a constant 15-30 Mbps Down, and a not so good 1.3 Mbps Up, but my ping was almost constantly under 50. But with Hughesnet my ping is never under 900. It is unbearable, but since this is the only thing available in this area... I'm outta luck if you are given an option between Hughesnet and Literally anything else... Take the other option..

Extremely slow

1.00 Stars

on July 19, 2018

We have had Hughes Net since the first of the year. We were told that the 20 Gig plan would meet our needs and in less than 2 weeks, 20 Gigs were gone. We moved and the tech was unhappy that he had to mount the dish on a pole, and said it was the best service we could get. New billing cycle started on the first of the month and by the time the day was done, we had blown through the 20 Gigs. Want to leave, yet early termination fees will be taken from our debit card. Don't think so! Would not recommend this company to anyone!!

Expensive/Slow Speed

1.00 Stars

on June 25, 2018

I would give it zero stars, but the site doesn't allow it. We live in a rural area of Ohio. We've had the service for three months now and it's terrible. We recently tried to download an On Demand movie and it took two attempts before it worked. When it finally downloaded, our usage monitor on the Internet service remaining showed only 44% usage left for the entire month. This one download used up 54% of our monthly data! Unfortunately, we are lockedinto the service for 2 years!!!! Do not get this service if you can avoid it!!

Extremely slow, constant signal interruption.

Luz on November 16, 2017

I need a good internet. This one is limited, extremely slow and the signal is not good. I need to turn the power off several times a day to get the good speed...and have it work.

High latency, poor bad weather performance

2.00 Stars

on June 25, 2018

1) The installer was helpful and skilled. Gave his phone number. I called him after experiencing repeated dropouts during minor rain conditions - "Unplug your modem for 15 minutes and try again, everything appears to e functioning normally". 2) Recently called Customer Service, went through the usual rigamarole to get to Tech Support and they did not have much. Essentially said the same thing as the installer with the advice to keep the laptop within 10 feet of the modem. 3) Now summer conditions in the desert; clear, hot and dry. Experiencing long latencies while surfing; speedtest.net (and reCAPTCHA robot utility) frequently timeout when trying to connect - long latency! - but eventually shows 6.23 Mbps download which is acceptable to me if not close to their advertised speed. 3) Expensive with a 2-year contract. One other new choice out there may be better.

Very slow!!!!!

2.00 Stars

on July 22, 2018

Terrible internet service. Very slow. Streaming shows buffer every 10-60 secs. Pay $70/mo for very slow speeds. And you go over data very quickly and they slow it down to where you can’t watch it. If you have any option go with the other company.

Snail speed internet.

2.00 Stars

on June 08, 2018

We have HughesNet service. It is as slower than dial-up. We have been downloading a game of 58 MBs for 2 days now and are up to 29 MBs I would not recommend this internet service to anyone. I can't wait till we are out of contract with this company. Customer service is good but they have poor internet service.

If you have a choice don’t buy

2.00 Stars

on August 05, 2018

If you afford another provider it’s likely better than the poor service provided by HughesNet. It’s fine just loading websites and streaming Netflix or Hulu but if you want to play games on it I suggest a different provider.

Hughesnet

2.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

2 iPhones, 2ipads, and a Mac blow through the 20 GB plan in 2 weeks just with updates. No streaming , no gaming , nothing. Had to unplug Alexa and Roku, still blew through the data limit. Degraded to 1Mbps, couldn’t upload a photo to WeChat and have an internet phone call at the same time. Even at full speed, new websites took very long to load. Initially used the service for 3 months, they charged me $385 to cancel. Terrible company.

Dissatisfied

2.00 Stars

on November 09, 2018

I have had the service for 1month and I wish I never signed on! To watch a 30-minute program, it takes 2 hours to watch in between all the stopping and loading. Also, I have rented movies from Vudu and still waiting for them to load, which never happens. I have called customer service and they upgraded my service but still, I spend all my time waiting for any program to load. I am so dissatisfied with this company, I want out!

Anything but this service

1.00 Stars

on November 06, 2018

The overpriced plans with data caps don't go very far. The customer service is appalling. In my case, streaming of a movie rarely worked without lots of buffering and degradation of the video quality, even though the data is used at a rate of about 1GB per hour. My data would sometimes "disappear" in chunks of 2-5 GB, even when I wasn't home (example: when my 20 GB plan would renew, it would start at 18 GB). In the likely event that you will be dissatisfied with the service, you will be locked into a two-year contract with early termination fees of $400 for internet and $240 for voice. You will also have to retrieve the equipment from your roof yourself and send it back. If you have cell access in your area, you should be able to find an internet provider without a data cap.

Not good, especially for gamers

2.00 Stars

on November 04, 2018

The speed is horrific. You can barely load a video on YouTube. I would not recommend this WiFi.

Stay away

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

I have never had a data limit before and had no idea how much I was using. I told the HughesNet saleslady what my normal uses and she assured me that 10GB would be plenty so I signed up. After three months I discovered that I need more data and they gave me another 10GB for an additional $10. This is still not enough and I am not going to pay $140 for 50GB. I am now planning to go with a local internet provider with medium speed download and unlimited data. The download speeds they show are often between 25-40Mbps but it does not translate to performance at the computer which is usually hesitant and jerky. Now, I have to pay them $400 to get out of the contract. Oh well, better than throwing good money after bad.

Amazing Customer Service

4.00 Stars

on October 22, 2018

Customer Service is one of the best thing HughesNet has to offer.

Slow internet/uses up data

2.00 Stars

on October 16, 2018

10 days into our service month and we are already out of data. Don't stream movies don't use Netflix or any of those type of services. Was told we used 11GB in one day but couldn't tell me how. Service is slow.

Horrible

1.00 Stars

on October 15, 2018

Almost impossible to watch Youtube, continues to buffer every few words. Time of day or night makes no difference. Good weather or bad weather makes no difference. I would never recommend HughesNet to anyone. I am really disappointed.

Really Slow!

Kenneth Morris on October 12, 2018

I regret getting this service. Really slow, streamed video usually needs to buffer every minute or two when it's running at its fastest speeds. Video quality is also very poor. This service requires a 2-year contract that has large penalties to get out of. If you have 4G cell data in your area you will be much better off utilizing the data from that over getting this service. Don't believe what they're saying about the internet speeds either.

Better Than Nothing

2.00 Stars

on October 11, 2018

I went from fast, unlimited internet to slow, limited HughesNet that I pay over $20 per month for more. It is better than nothing. However, it is not “super fast” like they advertise. It’s slow and nearly impossible to stream even a short video clip without buffering. Also, we really don’t use it that much, but we often seem to get very low on data and have to really cut back to keep from running out. Can’t figure out why that happens. If they are going to have data caps and slow service, in my opinion, the service should be cheaper, not higher. I’m hoping there are more rural options soon.

WiFi constantly dropping!

2.00 Stars

on September 28, 2018

On my computer that is wired to the HughesNet modem only have to play around with settings about once a week, should not even have to do that! With my laptop many times, no actually most of the time, can't even check email as it drops the wifi signal even though it has a strong signal, have reset network on laptop several times a night until I just get too tired and frustrated with it! It should NOT be like this. Customer service is a joke, called right after I got this service, they told me they would correct the time used and of course never did!

Stay Away

1.00 Stars

on September 26, 2018

They advertise 25Mbps down. I got 1 to 8, average very low. The VOIP phone had dropouts because of slow speed. I had to go to my cell. Trying to stream was impossible because it had to buffer every 10 seconds or so. Loading a site took forever with frequent timeouts.. This service is unusable where there any alternatives. If you like dial-up, you’ll love Hughesnet. I have had it a few weeks hoping this was a glitch. I canceled today and will be charged $625.00 even though the service never met advertised speed and phone was unusable.

GREAT if you never use it!

1.00 Stars

on September 20, 2018

We have phone and internet. Data caps go ridiculously fast because connection is so bad you have to constantly refresh, reconnect or re-download almost everything, even basic updates. Constant weird behavior of internet, forget using commercial VPN, you cant change router password, expensive, disrupted by any clouds. The phone is even worse. Latency is really bad. Goes to voicemail after a ring, but if you're on the other end, it rings like 6 or more times (I called myself from other state many many times. Forget about IoT or simple devices like Alexa. Constantly have to monitor phone wifi use, tablet wifi, or anything touching the wifi (which is sloooow and laggy). It is about on par with old phone modem dial-up.

Lousy service takes forever to load

1.00 Stars

on September 19, 2018

HughesNet is slow and not reliable at all, the least storm causes it to go down. Takes forever to load, almost as bad as dial-up.

Get dial up, save the aggravation

1.00 Stars

on September 19, 2018

Install tech was lazy and didn’t want to put equipment in an optimal place. Customer service takes your call then says they will call you back in 48 hours! But they never have still to this day after calling multiple times. Service is terrible, never getting the 25Mbps download speed even on crystal clear days with no wind. Data caps then throttling, all while being the most expensive service on the market. This product is not worth considering. I’m in the industry and because of my remote location, they got me by the short hairs. Too bad they leave such a black eye in the ISP community. I can’t wait for my contract to be up.

Rip-off

1.00 Stars

on September 12, 2018

I have been with HughesNet for 1 month and it is a rip-off. They set us up with a 20GB plan that they said was the best for a family and know that would be good for us. Guess what, on day 1 after the first cycle all the data is gone in 10 hours with only 1 person home. Gave them a call all they say is we will give you 2 GB for your trouble and you have 50 GB free between 2 am and 8 am. Worst mistake I ever made was even thinking about giving them a chance. Now stuck in a contract for 22 more months or pay 400 to cancel early.

Their largest plan runs out mid month. Internet is slow and phone service through them is unreliable.

1.00 Stars

on September 08, 2018

I was so excited to start with Hughes Net. Their customer service advised they would be able to support our internet needs knowing the size of our home and our internet requirements. We signed up for both their internet and phone service. I've now had them for 13 months. Our internet lags all the time. If we are watching Netflix on their "DVD quality, to supposedly stream faster" it downloads and kicks us off the internet all the time. We have Gen 5 / 50 GB, their largest plan. Only 3 people use the internet, our Tv's are hooked up also. I've tried calling them from our home phone, but their internet quality is so poor it always disconnects. I start every phone call with them with "please call me back, the phone service you provide us isn't reliable". They tell me it's against their policy to call back. So, I've driven 20 minutes away from my home (where cell signal is consistent) to call them and try to get out of this plan. Anyone considering HughesNet needs to be fully aware that they will say anything to get you in that 2-year contract and what they offer is an awful internet. It may also cost you an extra $75 per month if you want an additional 30 GB of data, which still wouldn't be enough for my family.

Terrible service

1.00 Stars

on September 06, 2018

We have had HughesNet internet service for little over a month and it has been terrible. We live outside the city limits so our ONLY option was HughesNet or either use the data from our cell phone and create hotspots. 1. The service is very slow, to the point my daughter and I use our cell phone data when doing anything on our phones. We really only use HughesNet for Netflix and even then, there are constant interruptions while watching a show that we have to consistently restart Netflix and restart the show we were watching. 2. I called HughesNet on Sept 6, 2018 in an attempt to get the problem fixed. Customer support had me do a “speed test” and said that the test results were “within the range” of being normal download speeds. Her solution for streaming Netflix was to buy a fire stick or other device instead of using my dish network box, who happens to be a provider for HughesNet. I was also informed that in order to get better speeds, I would basically need to have the other devices that were currently connected to the internet disconnected. Who in the hell does that? “Hey turn off your WiFi devices because I want to use the internet “. Complete garbage. When I realized this phone was pointless, I asked her if I get to schedule an appointment for a technician to come out and physically take a look at my problem....yes for a fee of $125.00. 3. If you are in a situation like myself, do not waste your time with this provider as you will also be stuck in a 2-year contract with terrible service. Once my contract is over, I WILL cancel HughesNet.

Don't do it!

Morgan on September 02, 2018

This was the last resort for us. I had to have WiFi because of my cell phone carrier. This is the worst internet I’ve ever had. It doesn’t work half the time, the customer service is horrible and you run out of your “high speed” data within a couple of days. If my husband and I are both connected to the WiFi, it runs so slow. Very overpriced and unreliable.

Internet speed is soooo slow

1.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

We pay for the Highest speed and GBs they offer, which cost us almost $130 a month and their internet is so slow, constantly buffering, every few seconds. I think they throttle the service.

Same issue. Slow internet.

1.00 Stars

on August 30, 2018

First 6 months of HughesNet were great, then speeds got super slow. Modem kept having errors. Called customer service 4 times, each time they reboot modem and clear error codes and it works for about 10 minutes then it goes right back to same issue. Slow internet. Can't watch videos, can't even download a page in less than 15 seconds. Customer service won't send a technician out, and won't let me talk to a manager. I pay $90 a month, and I signed a contract stating I would have high speed Internet in return. They won't hold up their end of the contract. I am still in my high speed allowance and not throttled down.

Not worth the money

2.00 Stars

on August 30, 2018

The service is ok for internet browsing, but that's about it. It will not stream movies or videos as advertised. When we try to download movies we get a statement that our service broadband is not good enough. Now we just use our cell phones for hotspots, but we are stuck in a HughesNet contract.

Speed Tests usually run great, real life use ... not so much

2.00 Stars

on August 25, 2018

We've been a Gen 4 customer for five years. At first, it was marginally okay, but since then it has declined substantially and I hear Gen 5 is no better. We pay $105/month for 50GB/month peak time and 50GB night time and we usually use 30GB of each per month. We stream no video except YouTube occasionally and I download all my big files at night. If you run a speed test on Ookla, etc it will come back 25Mbps download and 3Mbps upload almost every time, but in real life practice you will get maybe 3Mbs download and 1Mbps upload and most big downloads performed during the day will fail. HughesNet must monitor connections and when a speed test is performed it boosts the throughput. Sometimes I run sequential speed tests while I'm downloading a file and it will boost the speed of the download. It is definitely NOT worth the money, but it's all that is available where we live, so we deal with it. If I had a choice, I would NOT choose HughesNet

If I only knew....

2.00 Stars

on August 24, 2018

When we thought about getting HughesNet we were asked how much we use the Internet, for what purposes and how many people in the house. We were told that 20GB would be enough for our needs. We went through the 20GB in FIVE DAYS! The speeds aren't that good and it slowed way down after that. We pay $80 a month for 5 days of "high speed" internet. I called to inquire about the plan above the 20GB plan it was 50GB for $130!!! NO WAY we're going to do this. I've been talking to others who can get cable and they pay $40 a month and have large plans or unlimited. If I only knew I would've never signed up for HughesNet. There are other satellite companies out there. Might be worth it to cancel our contract.

Our service was awful

Lori Hucek on August 21, 2018

Our service was absolutely awful. I had the middle plan, I believe 25 Gb. Well, when data was used they would turn my speed down. I had less than dial-up for my speed 622 kbps. I called and they said that was their practice. Never was told about that. I would literally call every day.... whatever they would do would be fine while on the phone with me and I would hang up and it would be right back. I could not connect what so ever. I called to cancel and they told me I would have to pay a penalty. For what? I never could get connected in the six months I had the service.

Decent as a last resort.

3.00 Stars

on August 15, 2018

HughesNet is decent if you have your devices set up to work with it. I don't stream, though I do watch Youtube videos a bit. I have my computers set up to use as little data as possible. I also don't have my DirecTV receiver connected, as it can chew through data, even if I never watch anything On Demand. My 20GB per month is plenty, and I've never gone over my monthly data limit. If I have large files I download them late at night, during the Bonus Zone. My speeds are very good. Usually, in the low to mid 40Mbps range during off-peak usage time periods and usually in the high teens to high twenties during peak usage time periods. My service is fairly reliable, but it does drop out during heavy rain, mimicking my DirecTV service. The price is high, but the cost to provide it is high. The phone support is abysmal, but the support community is very good. Overall, I'm fairly satisfied with the service. It can't compete with ground-based services, and if I had cable or fiber available, I'd go with one of them. But, I don't, so it is what it is. It's worked well for me for nearly 14 years.

Customer service

2.00 Stars

on August 03, 2018

Customer service is all that was helpful to me.

Don't Do It!!

K Wineman on July 14, 2018

Describe my experience. One word sums it up... Horrible. I canceled after @ 40 days. I live out in the country & was getting poor service from my original ISP. I called Hughes Net & had a long conversation regarding their service. The system did not perform as advertised. I had issues with speed (they say 25Mbps). It never lived up to that. Even when it worked properly, there was a lag when playing online games (they said it was due to beaming the signal up & back to the satellite. I never really noticed the increased speeds when I was online. Plus they have data plans.... we had the mid-tier $79.99 package & blew through our data in 4 days. Forget about streaming movies, TV, etc... I gladly canceled & paid the $400 early cancellation fee. Unless you have no other option...save a headache & choose anyone besides HughesNet.

HughesNet is great!

5.00 Stars

on July 03, 2018

Everyone is saying it sucks. But I’ve had it for like two weeks and it loads Netflix, youtube etc. Idk how it works when it’s rainy but mines been working good. We only pay $65 for unlimited.

Decent Service

4.00 Stars

on June 13, 2018

HughesNet is a decent service when you don't have ground-based internet available. The data caps can be an issue for people, but the data is enough for me. I don't stream, and I have all of my devices set to not use data unknowingly, so the data lasts the entire month for me. I also don't leave my modem on when I'm not using the service. I unplug it. My speeds are great, exceeding their advertised speeds by a good amount, though I know they aren't great for everyone. The built in WiFi is no frills, but it works well and has decent range. I choose to use my own router with the service, though. Their phone customer service ranges from adequate to terrible, with it leaning toward the latter for most. The support through their support community, however, is very good. Much better than phone, chat or email. Overall, it's a decent service. If you have ground-based service available, like cable or fiber, definitely go with that, but if you don't, and you can get by without a lot of streaming, HughesNet may work for you. It does for me. I've been a HughesNet customer for 13.5 years.

Hughes Is a good Service

4.00 Stars

on June 08, 2018

HughesNet has been a good service since I have been with them for the past 7 months. I only had to talk with Customer Service once and they talked to me like I knew what she was talking about and ended the conversation. In reality, I have no idea what happened. Speed is good at times, but the past month of May I have noticed that my computer has been very slow and internet was sluggish opening sites. And during these issues noticed that my lights on my modem have been going on and off instead of staying on. Overall they are ok.

Customer service

5.00 Stars

on June 07, 2018

Very happy with the customer service I received from Hughes Net!

Great service

5.00 Stars

on June 03, 2018

Honestly, it's Satellite Internet. Let's be real, it's no fiber optics, or Cable, but in my area, it gets the job done. Was told online games wouldn't work when I ordered, I said okay and didn't think any of it. Was told that they maximize your bandwidth, and I use about .5 gig's for every hour I stream any Netflix. I get on average anywhere from 20-35Mbps download, and 2-5 upload. They have done me good so far.

Limited data caps

2.00 Stars

on February 06, 2018

Speed is useable and not too big of a problem until you run out of your allotted data for the month. We pay an awful lot of money to get a 75 GB/Mo. allowance. It's not enough for today's Internet usage norms. We run out within a week and a half after our allowance resets and spend the rest of the month limping along with the crippled speeds. I need the internet for work and this is really not acceptable. Unfortunately, it's the only option here.

A Lot Like Copper Line

1.00 Stars

on January 11, 2018

HughesNet is usually slow during the day and even slower after 5 pm. Fairly often my screen will freeze up and I'll have to reboot. With them, I feel like I'm back in the '90's when everyone was using land lines and if you had a big download you had to do it after midnight or it would stall and abort.

HughesNet-Not so Bad

4.00 Stars

on December 28, 2017

I was worried about HughesNet reading the poor reviews. I've had it a little over two weeks, through some of the worst weather in memory, and it has been steady. No breaks in service. Speeds consistently around 20-25 Mbps and most importantly, everything has been constant. Recommended if it's your best option. One million times better than AT&T DSL.

HughesNet

3.00 Stars

on October 05, 2017

Supposed to be 25Mbps but it can't handle 2 cell phones. Can't always get internet radio stations. Keeps going out. Checked speed several times and one time the speed was less than 10Mbps.

So so service

2.00 Stars

on August 15, 2017

I don't have much of a choice for internet where I am at. I'm very limited in data and speeds. I can deal with the slower speeds if they gave a reasonable amount of data. If I can find another isp that has better rates/plans I would switch in an instant

Don't get it (online gamers)

2.00 Stars

on August 04, 2017

If you're looking to play online, it won't happen. The internet is fine, everything works on it but the latency (ping) its gonna be crazy bad which means you're gonna lag like crazy.

Less than

2.00 Stars

on June 17, 2017

Better than dial up, but other than that, speed is not good, and high speed seems to elapse within a few weeks, even with limited use.

Decent provider

4.00 Stars

on March 25, 2017

Always works unless there is bad weather. If you use lots of social media or watch a lot of videos you will most always run out of data. When you do, web pages and email still works well normally. Token packages are available for additional data in a variety of price ranges.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

HughesNet Internet Reviews FAQ

HughesNet service has evolved quickly in recent years, with the new Gen 5 satellite launch resulting in increased speed and bandwidth for customers across their service area. The HughesNet Internet reviews shown on this page are from current HughesNet customers, and IP-verified to ensure authenticity.

HughesNet Ten 4 vs Gen 5 Reviews

The reviews shown on this page have all been collected after the Gen 5 upgrade. Of all the customers we’ve collected input from, 24.8% said they would recommend HughesNet services. That said, HughesNet is often only choice in rural areas, and thousands of addresses were unable to get broadband internet speeds before HughesNet's Gen 5 upgrade.

HughesNet Service Problems and Strengths

HughesNet reviews we’ve aggregated tend to focus on two complaints: low speeds and high prices. Unfortunately, this is true if you compare satellite Internet from HughesNet to wired fiber or cable from providers like Xfinity or Fios. However, this isn’t really a fair comparison, since satellite is mostly used as a solution for “off the grid” areas that can’t get those traditional wired services. Without satellite, the options for rural areas is generally DSL, or nothing. HughesNet reviews reflect the issues with their services fairly, but they’re really issues with rural Internet in general — not HughesNet specifically.

How Are Featured HughesNet Reviews Sourced and Validated?

We filter HughesNet reviews submitted to us to remove those that are offensive, incomprehensible, or fail to provide useful information for potential HughesNet customers. We only show reviews that include specific information to back up the star rating left by the reviewer. All HughesNet reviews shown here are customer reviews, and do not represent an expert or scientific analysis of HughesNet speeds, pricing, and services.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC