BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

HughesNet Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of HughesNet's service. To see if broadband Internet from HughesNet is available in your area enter your zip code below.

2.50 Stars  3561 Reviews
2.50 out of 5 stars

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new HughesNet internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 216-3127 View Plans & Pricing

Provider Availability:

Want to see if HughesNet is available in your area?

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new HughesNet internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 216-3127 View Plans & Pricing

Not a speedy or reliable service!

3.00 Stars

on October 18, 2019

Just moved from Memphis to Big Sandy, and the internet service is pretty bad! It seems to do okay during the day, but at night or very early morning, the page keeps going around and around - trying to load (haven't figured that one out yet)! Videos hesitate every three to five seconds, though at times, I have not problems. All in all, I wouldn't recommend and I'm looking into Viasat exede to get details on that. May keep until contract is up, then I'm definitely going to try something new/better.

I LOVE Hughesnet!!

5.00 Stars

on April 04, 2019

Got my wifi installed in 2 days from the date I ordered it. Fabulous customer service, very courteous & polite technician. Fast speed. I'm very satisfied with my HughesNet!

Perfect for me

5.00 Stars

on March 17, 2019

I have read many of the reviews and have had the service for well over 2 years. I never had an issue and can watch video perfectly. I have also noticed some of these reviews when HughesNet has never priced things the way many in here have claimed. I have paid $52 for two years on a 10 GIG plan. I have watched tons of videos and never had any buffering, at all. Never had a problem.

Feel bad I left a bad review before...my bad...was using it wrong!

5.00 Stars

on January 15, 2019

I feel bad because I left a bad review...turns out I was not using it correctly...I was not on the Gen 5 address. Very frustrating...then I figured it out...very fast speeds for Facebook..and I also like to play Euchre on Facebook. Experience has been great! Also much more affordable than what we had before.

Finally - Internet and VoIP That Works Where We Live

4.00 Stars

on November 21, 2018

We live in the sticks. After being with Verizon for many years, we have very low internet expectations. We don't stream anything that doesn't come out of a faucet. We just want to use email, browse the web, and have a VoIP phone service that works. Verizon was ok for a few years, but with each change in technology our signal got weaker/slower. Then, early in 2008 our cell phones suddenly became almost useless, and the Home Fusion was not much better than dial-up speeds. We switched to HughesNet Gen5. Installation only took about an hour. The technician set everything up and was gone. We bought a limited data plan, but when we run over the service still works, it just gets slower. Here's where our experience with Verizon pays off. Even the slowest upload/download speeds provided by HughesNet are more than double what we were able to get from Verizon. If you live in town and have more options, there may be something better. Where the only options are cellular or satellite HughesNet Gen5 gets a big THUMBS UP from us.

Excellent customer service

3.00 Stars

on February 19, 2020

I've never have had satellite internet before. Unfortunately, after I had Hughesnet installed, I figured out very quickly that was not for me. They do NOT have a 30 day grace period but their customer service was absolutely amazing, especially Josh. I let them know that satellite just doesn't work for what I need and they were able to release me from my contract . I would recommend them to anyone looking for great customer service. Keep in mind though that they typically don't have any trial period, the early termination fee starts at install.

If you love buffering....

1.00 Stars

on December 29, 2019

Then you'll love Hughes Gen 5! I am a current customer waiting for my contract to be up. Have NEVER received the speed promised. Cannot watch anything without buffering.

HughesNet Review

1.00 Stars

on December 17, 2019

Slow to no Internet. I called several times to complain about slow internet, only to get a quote for a higher price rate. Finally cancelled the service but I was charged a $300 cancellation fee. Currently being harassed on a daily basis by phone & emails. Horrible service.

Sales person

5.00 Stars

on December 03, 2019

Mr. Wayne Sirois came to our house to set-up HughesNet for us. I would recommend his work to everyone, very mannerly and polite. He was fast and courteous. I highly recommend his work

Wouldn't recommend to anyone who lives on the earth

1.00 Stars

on October 28, 2019

Was only with them for 4 months sense day 1 I've had a issue with my services not working properly. Never could I get them to fix the issue and them charged me early termination because they couldn't fix the problem but still wanted me to pay$83 a month for service I can't use and get mad when I say I don't want the service any more

Email issues

Marshall Rick Carmack on October 28, 2019

I have had Hughesnet for over 20 years. It used to have great customer service, but that has changed. There customer service is very poor at best now. I have been haveing email issues for 3 weeks. The first call on a Sunday was not resolved to the point that I had email again until 9 days later. Then it did not last and I am back trying to get email again. First tier customer service is worthless and once you get to second tier they may get to it in a couple of days.

Internet service on South Lakeshore Ransom Canyon, TX

2.00 Stars

on October 28, 2019

Internet service on South Lakeshore is very inconsistent with very wide swings of speed. Internet speed is much faster on North and East Lakeshore because they have a different provider. South Lakeshore internet speeds are much, much slower And more variable.

Very very very very slow internet and I will be switching to another provider.

2.00 Stars

on October 27, 2019

Very slow internet and not enough data for the price. I will be switching to viasat or I will get at&t back whether I have to pay a termination fee or not. I will be returning the equipment asap. Thank you.

Avoid Hughesnet if you can

1.00 Stars

on October 27, 2019

The cost is to high for the service they provide. Unreliable during storms and slow. The wifi disconnects from my satellite receiver after 1 or 2 days. Cant do updates to Nintendo switch and playstation 4. I have to go somewhere else to update gaming software because the internet runs slow afterwards or just wont update at all. Watching shows online - we dont even try because how slow it takes to upload.

5g only works 6 inches from modem

2.00 Stars

on October 27, 2019

My Hughes net modem only broadcasts 5g about 6 inches from the modem. It took almost 2 hours on the phone to get them to send me a new modem and the 2g comes and goes!

Fraudulent Claims About Internet

1.00 Stars

on October 24, 2019

We live in a remote area with limited internet options. We chose Hughes Net after I spoke with a salesperson who assured us that their 10gig package would be plenty for us. I will say, the man who can and installed the dish and equipment was super competent and friendly. From there it has been downhill the past 14 months. The internet speeds are so slow that even when we are throttled back after exceeding our 10 gigs per month, there is no noticeable difference in the speed. Prior to Hughes Net we used a cell phone for a hot spot and accessed the internet that way. We never exceeded 4 gigs per month. I am perplexed as to how, with no additional devices and minimal change in our browsing habits, we exceed their 10 gigs within 10 days every month. We cannot even watch a short You Tube video the download speeds are so slow. I recently filed a complaint with the FCC about Hughes Net. This was after four attempts to phone and one attempt to email Hughes Net for customer service. I never received a response. Hughes Net responded to the FCC and stated in all capital letters that they do not guarantee any minimum speed or minimum service and I should have read the fine print. I do feel that their sales rep misrepresented their services. It is impossible to reach anyone at Hughes Net at this time by phone. Their 24/7 “help like” disconnects me every time. You are probably better off nailing a tin can to a pole for internet than paying through the nose for Hughes Net.

Poor on line speed

1.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

When I talked to salesperson, I told them that I was unhappy with my current Internet service. The salesperson told me this would be great for streaming movies. When I tried to use it I ran out of data. When you call customer service they try to sell you more data. Truth be told even if you got there best data program, you still couldn't stream movies very many times. This whole program is set up to tell you this system will do anything you ask them for, then when you are trying to quite service, you have to pay a huge disconnect fee. I am totally dissatisfied but am stuck with a system that is worse than dialup. Do yourself a favor and stay away. Can't wait until I can get out from under this useless contract.

Fails 100% at providing signal

1.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

I can watch tv in 3 minute intervals and then it buffers for 20 minutes. There is never a good time for signal. But they want 500.00 to cancel.

Need to be reported to Better Business Bureau

1.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Terrible service. Internet went out. Took a week to get a service call. Unacceptable. Have you on the hook with bogus contract. In order to return their equipment, you have to pay someone to take down the radio off the roof or do it yourself, or they charge you AGAIN. Worst experience ever. Service is same as a cell phone service but worse!

Sucks

1.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

This stuff just doesn't work, we were told we would get 25Mbps and I can’t even get 900Kbs. I use my data to watch YouTube if I use the WiFi I have to watch it in 144p. My 1 bar Lte is better then full bar WiFi. My family can’t even watch a movie on directv we have to plan one day ahead to record so we can watch it the next day.

internet service

2.00 Stars

on October 22, 2019

When looking for internet in 2018, customer service said 10gb would be enough for what my husband and i use internet for. We do emails, youtube, facebook, online banking, stream movies tv shows, browsing the web,. So not true. I upgraded to 20gb and sometime after that in 2019 was told to do your business and not much else. What a bunch of scam Hugesnet is. Can't wait for April of 2020 to get rid of Hugesnet. Would be rid of them now if i could. What a waist of money. What good is there internet if you can't use it. Now i see why they get bad reviews. Good thing we have another option when this worse internet is done.

Poor service and no help

1.00 Stars

on October 22, 2019

We also could not get any other service. We called and they came quickly, did some meter test and sold us a package that seemed like a good deal. They assured us that the signal was strong. Our service is terrible! Slow! Capped all the time and we never watch movies or stream. We called and they told me they would send instructions how to self check. It did not help. The local office is always closed and no one answers the number. Every time I call the help line they say they are checking and the. Come back online and say our reception is great. It is not! If you call them, ask for a trial period. Hook up the internet and see if you get a sustained signal or a signal that goes more than 20 feet from the dish. Check it out before you sign anything. I am not sure we can wait until our contract expires. This service is so below par!

Worst company for internet ever!!

1.00 Stars

on October 21, 2019

I bought a house in the middle of no where and had few options for internet service. Reluctantly I decided on Hughesnet; at twice the price and far lower gigs and speed than the internet I had when I lived in town. When the service was installed I was asked to sign that he had indeed been here and hooked up the equipment, that was ALL I was told. I've had hughesnet for 5 months, all of which I have had no ability to play any apps other than netflix and even that stopped to buffer every few minutes. I've tried to be patient with them but this has gotten ridiculous. They tried to charge me 150 for a service repair from the wind knocking my dish out of alignment. After telling them I was going to cancel my service they offered to waive that fee but the service has been so bad I decided to take my business elsewhere. When calling again to cancel service I was met with a very rude man telling me I was breaking a contract I NEVER signed up for. He then informed me that the page I signed from the installation was the contract which was NOT what I was told!!! Now they're trying to charge me $340 for breaking a contract. I was told at the beginning that this was a month to month no contract and now I'm told they're going charge me a ridiculous amount for the worst internet ive ever had in my life!?!?!? I'm ready to go to court over this. I do NOT recommend anyone to hughesnet no matter what your situation or location. Their internet isn't worth a dollar. Please take your business elsewhere, I certainly did...!

Do not waste your money on Hughes Net

1.00 Stars

on October 21, 2019

Horrible internet. After 6 at night cannot use hardly at all. Took 3 days to download 80 pics. Cannot watch Netflix on it. Company will not address problems

Slowest internet and tricky sales tactics

2.00 Stars

on October 19, 2019

I got this service due to the land line internet only offering 5 MPS in the area. Highes net claimed 35MPS. Was told by the sales team I would be able to stream multiple devices at the same time... wrong. Could only stream the tv at about 480P and it would cut out mid show... and dont try to access the internet at the same time! Switched to Centrylink that's only 5 MPS and I can stream 1080P and browse the internet at the same time... The 35MPS is a lie. Paid a huge cancellation fee as well to get out of it. Terrible company and terrible service.

This should be illegal

1.00 Stars

on October 17, 2019

They put a hard data cap on how much you are allowed per month but that doesn't even matter since you never get the speed advertised. This is the worst ISP in America by FAR. Once you have hit your data cap, they offer "token" that cost even more than your monthly plan and still have a data cap. Never use this service, you are better off using your mobile phone as your only internet source. Current mobile data speed is 13/mbps Hughesnet data speed is 1/mbps I wish nothing more than this company to go bankrupt.

Terrible do not get hughesnet

1.00 Stars

on October 17, 2019

Everything about hughesnet is terrible, the signal, the data consumption, and worst of all the customer service representatives. I do not recommend them to anayone, for people who do not have any other choice try a hotspot.

Worthless!

1.00 Stars

on October 17, 2019

Had HughesNet for over a month, watched 1 movie, still buffering the 2nd one! Biggest waste of money I’ve ever spent

Misled

1.00 Stars

on October 16, 2019

Before subscribing, I verified over and over with the rep about streaming. I’ve been gone for twelve days, haven’t touched my data and I can’t watch a show, load a web page or even send a picture over WiFi. Plugged into the router or through my phone. I spend more time troubleshooting this “service” than actually using it. I give up.

Death comes faster.

1.00 Stars

on October 16, 2019

Our only option. Promise: "Guaranteed" 32Mbps. Not fast, but not bad. Actual: 0.6-0.8 Mbps when you want to do anything after work. I called many times....you know what the answer is? Basically use the service when no one else is....so, I can stream Netflix at 2am, but not at 8 PM. WTH!?! An EXTREME disappointment. They SUCK. I got the unlimited plan on my phone to run my house internet and canceled them. Wasted the install money. Don't do it if you're considering. If they are your only option; you should move. Trust me.

Pleasantly suprised

4.00 Stars

on October 04, 2019

Our modem/router went out randomly a couple of days ago...the power and internet lights were on but none others. We called the first night and the customer service rep wasn’t very helpful...Ran a few tests and said a technician needed to come out for $125. We weren’t ready to pay that so we tried a few more things but it still wasn’t connecting to the internet. We called again the next night, got a very helpful customer service rep. He ran a few tests, had us try different things on multiple devices but still no luck, we needed the $125 service tech to come out. However, the customer service rep was able to waive the fee and even got the technician scheduled the next day to come out! After reading all about HughesNet's horrible reviews, I was expecting the worst but it was actually turned out really great!

24 months commitment trap

2.00 Stars

on September 29, 2019

PROS: They want to help you but they are helpless to increase speed. The only thing they can offer is to increase your 10GB quota as a gift for not leaving them but remember there are good unlimited plans in the market. Good during a natural disaster because it connects via satellite. CONS: 24 months contract which is not mentioned during the initial purchase/installation process. You will be charged $400 for early termination. There's also a 10GB quota limit and then speeds slowed. Not good for Internet-based TV.

Decent Speed / Bad Support

2.00 Stars

on September 27, 2019

Don't know what other reviewers expect with Sat broadband and speed. Though not at speeds of cable, the speed is okay for rural, no ISP areas. We work from home in the IT field and the service suffices for our needs. Performing speed tests from time to time, we average around 25 - 30mbps down, 2 - 5mbps up. We also have their voice service. Being that we do work from home, we have 2 services here, and both have the same 50GB/month and voice (2 lines) to conduct customer calls with. Now, the fun. We've had issues with the phone of 1 service from the get-go. We've tried different wires, sets, etc but the calls keep dropping. We've called HughesNet multiple times to get it fixed. Each time they ask and tell us the absolute worst we've ever heard (phones not supported if using jacks, etc). The last time we called, the agent on the call rebooted the 2nd service we have here, interrupting things we were doing for our customer. Honestly, they are okay as long as you DO NOT need their customer service. We are seriously just using them until someone else better comes along. They really do have decent services, just their customer service needs to be completely overhauled.

My HughesNet Experience

5.00 Stars

on September 13, 2019

You guys are the greatest! Not only are you one of the only high speed internet/satellite providers that offers coverage in my area, you guys provide a fairly good price for families like mine who have low income at the present time who can't afford way overpriced rates that alot of other high- speed internet networks charge, that only the wealthy can afford. You guys are a blessing & I hope we are always able to continue to afford HughesNet forever because you are by far my favorite & number one choice.

Latency issues

2.00 Stars

on July 25, 2019

Download speeds are pretty good, but the latency well exceeds 850ms. Anything over 100ms is too high. This means that you will get buffering while streaming. I was not told this when I signed up. I would recommend that you get Hughes only if there is absolutely no alternative, no DSL, no cable or any other service. On a positive note, I found customer service to be courteous, friendly and accommodating.

Customer service

Marie Prielipp on July 19, 2019

I am 83 years old and what a pleasant day your service tech gave me today. I was trying to print out my last billing statement and was running into all kinds of difficulties. Thanks to a most wonderful employee, she spent all the time I needed without rushing me so that I could print out my statement. I can't thank her and your company for having such a wonderful employee. I hope they are all that way. Thank you all.

Nobel prize

5.00 Stars

on July 03, 2019

Your employee named Matthew from Florida is what this is about. You need to give that man a Nobel Prize, a massive raise, and every HughesNet employee could mimic his customer service. He not only did everything he could to help me, but he listened. He listen to every word I said when I explained my situation. Do you know how many people do not do that? When I call someone and talk to them about business I can tell by the way they answer the phone if they care and if they are really here to help me. And that's what Matthew did. He listen, he understood, which in and of itself is dramatic. I deal with business people and the General Public in a mass amount on a daily basis and Matthew has every single one of them beat with his customer service. And just so you know I do not know Matthew, I've never met him. We are not related. If you don't give that man a raise I'm going to be pissed.

Remember what you Have!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

5.00 Stars

on May 07, 2019

Any problem I have had , Hughesnet has come through for us.!! Always we have people coming, from other internet service , saying you have out dated dish, and here comes the pitch, If your internet is good, leave it be. Or befor you change, check on the service , what people are saying about the providers. And are hughesnet are number one with us.......

Hughesnet is the best

5.00 Stars

on February 19, 2019

I have been reading the bad reviews on this website. First of all, Hughes does not bill people $150 when most plans are $84.98 for a 20 Gig Plan. Someone posted a 20 Gig was $150. Some others have posted made claims that are totally fictitious. These are clearly not Hughesnet customers. Yes, sometimes you might get a $99 lease setup fee as of last year. The only way you will pay $150 is if you have a $99 setup fee on the promotion. Hughesnet goes by Promotion to Promotion and none of the agents has the ability to go against the promotion. Not to mention, Hughesnet is not in competition with other companies in your area. You are not obligated for service because if you fail the required Credit check then you are not obligated to have the service. I am posting this response because quite a few of these people have never had the service. For the record. I am an employee.

Fair provider

4.00 Stars

on February 05, 2019

It's a good provider if you live in the extreme rural area but they only throttle it to 1mbps not 1 to 3mbps

Amazing Customer Service

4.00 Stars

on October 22, 2018

Customer Service is one of the best thing HughesNet has to offer.

HughesNet is great!

5.00 Stars

on July 03, 2018

Everyone is saying it sucks. But I’ve had it for like two weeks and it loads Netflix, youtube etc. Idk how it works when it’s rainy but mines been working good. We only pay $65 for unlimited.

Decent Service

4.00 Stars

on June 13, 2018

HughesNet is a decent service when you don't have ground-based internet available. The data caps can be an issue for people but the data is enough for me. I don't stream and I have all of my devices set to not use data unknowingly so the data lasts the entire month for me. I also don't leave my modem on when I'm not using the service. I unplug it. My speeds are great, exceeding their advertised speeds by a good amount, though I know they aren't great for everyone. The built-in WiFi is no frills but it works well and has decent range. I choose to use my own router with the service though. Their phone customer service ranges from adequate to terrible, with it leaning toward the latter for most. The support through their support community, however, is very good. Much better than phone, chat or email. Overall, it's a decent service. If you have ground-based service available, like cable or fiber, definitely go with that, but if you don't and you can get by without a lot of streaming, HughesNet may work for you. It does for me. I've been a HughesNet customer for 13.5 years.

Hughes Is a good Service

4.00 Stars

on June 08, 2018

HughesNet has been a good service since I have been with them for the past 7 months. I only had to talk with Customer Service once and they talked to me like I knew what she was talking about and ended the conversation. In reality, I have no idea what happened. Speed is good at times, but the past month of May I have noticed that my computer has been very slow and internet was sluggish opening sites. And during these issues noticed that my lights on my modem have been going on and off instead of staying on. Overall they are ok.

Snail speed internet

2.00 Stars

on June 08, 2018

We have HughesNet service and it is slower than dial-up. We have been downloading a game of 58 MB for 2 days now and it only finished up to 29 MB. I would not recommend this internet service to anyone. I can't wait till we are out of contract with this company. Customer service is good but they have poor internet service.

Customer service

5.00 Stars

on June 07, 2018

Very happy with the customer service I received from Hughes Net!

Great service

5.00 Stars

on June 03, 2018

Honestly, it's Satellite Internet. Let's be real, it's no fiber optics, or Cable, but in my area, it gets the job done. Was told online games wouldn't work when I ordered, I said okay and didn't think any of it. Was told that they maximize your bandwidth, and I use about .5 gig's for every hour I stream any Netflix. I get on average anywhere from 20-35Mbps download, and 2-5 upload. They have done me good so far.

HughesNet-Not so Bad

4.00 Stars

on December 28, 2017

I was worried about HughesNet reading the poor reviews. I've had it a little over two weeks, through some of the worst weather in memory, and it has been steady. No breaks in service. Speeds consistently around 20-25 Mbps and most importantly, everything has been constant. Recommended if it's your best option. One million times better than AT&T DSL.

Hughes upgraded to Gen5 and its fast

4.00 Stars

on June 15, 2017

Hughes upgraded to Gen5 and its fast. Hughes really hits the bar now. I used to hate hughes but now it is fast. I shut off Directv and watch netflix only now

What good service ,here on time. Annd done on time.

5.00 Stars

on May 12, 2017

Very curtis very and help ful. Thank you for such fast service.

It's all I could get

5.00 Stars

on February 26, 2016

They have been great though I would tell anyone

Excellent

4.00 Stars

on October 21, 2015

We have had nothing but excellent internet service with HughesNet

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

HughesNet Internet Reviews FAQ

HughesNet service has evolved quickly in recent years, with the new Gen 5 satellite launch resulting in increased speed and bandwidth for customers across their service area. The HughesNet Internet reviews shown on this page are from current HughesNet customers, and IP-verified to ensure authenticity.

HughesNet Ten 4 vs Gen 5 Reviews

The reviews shown on this page have all been collected after the Gen 5 upgrade. Of all the customers we’ve collected input from, 25.0% said they would recommend HughesNet services. That said, HughesNet is often only choice in rural areas, and thousands of addresses were unable to get broadband internet speeds before HughesNet's Gen 5 upgrade.

HughesNet Service Problems and Strengths

HughesNet reviews we’ve aggregated tend to focus on two complaints: low speeds and high prices. Unfortunately, this is true if you compare satellite Internet from HughesNet to wired fiber or cable from providers like Xfinity or Fios. However, this isn’t really a fair comparison, since satellite is mostly used as a solution for “off the grid” areas that can’t get those traditional wired services. Without satellite, the options for rural areas is generally DSL, or nothing. HughesNet reviews reflect the issues with their services fairly, but they’re really issues with rural Internet in general — not HughesNet specifically.

How Are Featured HughesNet Reviews Sourced and Validated?

We filter HughesNet reviews submitted to us to remove those that are offensive, incomprehensible, or fail to provide useful information for potential HughesNet customers. We only show reviews that include specific information to back up the star rating left by the reviewer. All HughesNet reviews shown here are customer reviews, and do not represent an expert or scientific analysis of HughesNet speeds, pricing, and services.