BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

HughesNet Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of HughesNet's service. To see if broadband Internet from HughesNet is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Check Availability

Get in touch with a sales agent or view all available internet plans

Check Availability

(855) 216-3127 View Plans

1.30 Stars  2800 Reviews
1.30 out of 5 stars

5 Star
0.8%
4 Star
0.6%
3 Star
3.1%
2 Star
19.1%
1 Star
76.4%

Leave a Review For HughesNet

Are you a current or former HughesNet customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Do yourself a favor and don’t get HughesNet

1.00 Stars

on July 05, 2018

Slowest internet. You’re limited to how much data you use. Even if you have 10+ Gb of internet left, everything will lag.

Terrible

2.00 Stars

on January 09, 2018

Expensive, terrible service. The only reason we use HughesNet is because we have no other option. It is not fast and they cap your download which makes it impossible to watch videos, movies or even update software. If you go over your limit you have to purchase tokens to be able to even load a simple webpage. The worst part is that we easily spend well over $100 a month!

BBB needs to straighten this company out or shut them down.

1.00 Stars

on March 20, 2018

I have had this company for close to 9 months and only on a few occasions has the speed reached even close to what they advertise. This of course only happened while on the phone with a representative as they worked to correct the speed. They have even changed out the router and the dish with no change in service quality. They also advertise "No Data Limits" even though they limit your data and once you reach that limit they limit the speed until the next billing cycle. Oddly enough the 1-3 Mbps Limit on speed is roughly the normal speed for this company anyhow. I am normally between 1 and 6 Mbps even at the beginning of a new cycle.

HughesNet

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

The only upside I've found with HughesNet is that I almost never lose service except during the worst thunderstorms. They are slow. They have ridiculous data caps 20 GB a month for $150. If I didn't live in a valley surrounded by trees I would use absolutely anything else. Their customer service is poor to put it lightly. I have had to hang up and call back several times because I couldn't understand the person I was talking to. If you have any option other than satellite internet go with that. Once my contract is up I'm going back to dial up.

Slow and insufficient data

2.00 Stars

on March 29, 2018

I have been a Hughesnet subscriber since Gen3, and upgraded to Gen4 and Gen5 as they became available. I really can’t tell much difference in the speed of each Gen upgrade. For many years my data allowance was 10Gb and with one user in my household it lasted 2-3 weeks. There are now three users in my household, so I increased my data allowance to 20Gb.last year when I upgraded to Gen5. Well, the 20Gb lasts less than 2 weeks. That is not acceptable, especially when the speed is only marginally faster with data as opposed to without data.

Great internet if you only need it for a week

2.00 Stars

on March 07, 2018

Great coverage, but my internet is gone within a couple days to two weeks tops. Lost my 20 GB of internet in 2 days and they said I used like. 35 GB on my bonus time. We never use the bonus time cause that's at 2am till 7am. Not happy!!

Horrible

2.00 Stars

on June 08, 2018

If you just need internet browsing, check Facebook or email, speed is great! But don't think you can download a season of TV series without it going over your data cap. Also if you plan to use it with any type of VPN connection of VoIP.. Don't do it! Horrible lag times and it is pretty much useless. Oh yeah, $75 a month for basic lowest package... again if you have to use a VPN tunnel to work from home it does not work. You will curse out your computer and you will hate every minute of your internet...

Not recommended

2.00 Stars

on January 11, 2016

This provider is not recommended at all for anyone who actually wants to use their Internet for anything, it is literally faster to use an EDGE connection on your mobile device than to buy this service. At peak hours (2am-8am), this service gets as fast as 6Mbps download and .15mbs upload. My children would like to play on their consoles but even connecting directly to the modem won't allow them to connect to any online servers much less play the actual game. I have the best non-business plan and I still get only 50MB a month in data with another 50 during peak hours. They do not offer an unlimited package on data, so we run out halfway through the month, and since it's satellite, we can't get more, so our speed drops to about .15mbs download and .05 upload. They have a really nice customer service but they can't help. I really feel as though you'd be better off using unlimited mobile phone data with a mobile hotspot and they are about the same price, depending on your provider.

1.00 Stars

on November 25, 2017

You are set a certain limit and once you meet that limit, it will slow down to the speed of the old days of broadband.

Don’t Do It!

1.00 Stars

on September 05, 2018

This is the only service I can get since I live in a rural area. I pay almost $200 a month for service that is slow and completely unreliable. Stream a video? Most days we have 2-3 lag times during a 45-minute show. It’s so slow one of our devices regularly tells us a web page can’t load because the server stopped responding and working from home is a nightmare because there’s never internet when I need to get anything done. I use the data packages on my phones for web surfing and streaming video a lot because they get service even when my home does not.

If I had another choice...

2.00 Stars

on November 17, 2017

Right out the gate, let me say that HughesNet gets the job done. I'm in between major areas out in the country, and I have internet. That's about as positive as I'll get. The main issue I have with them is the data cap. My wife and I pay ~$90 a month enjoy high speed internet for at best 20 days out of the month. After that, we have reached our data cap are throttled down to 120kbs. This is fine for the two times a day I check my email, but beyond that, it is simply not good enough to browse the internet with any semblance of efficiency. The other issue is the ping rate. My ping is well over a second making online gaming, formerly my hobby when I lived in an area with good internet, nigh impossible. That can't be helped due to the speed of light and the fact that satellites are hundreds of miles in the sky, but it is one more reason why I say that if I had another choice, I would NEVER choose HughesNet. I gave the Customer Service a 3 because I haven't used it, so maybe it's fine. I gave their speed a 2 because it's adequate for half the month, but the ping is awful. Reliability would be higher were it not for the crippling data cap. Value would be a zero if there were an option, so go ahead an pretend I put zero. I would not exchange money for this service if I had another choice. It's literally worth no dollars.

Last resort at most

1.00 Stars

on January 23, 2018

Over priced and unreliable. When I signed up they didn't tell me there's a data cap of 50 GB and that's for the "gaming" package.

HughesNet

1.00 Stars

on November 13, 2017

If more than one person is using Wifi here, it blows. We have to go to an inconvenient area of our house, where the HughesNet monitor is, unplug everything, wait a minute, plug everything back in, wait approximately 5 minutes, then get back online and try again, just one person at a time. It's not an unlimited service. It's more than $100 for 50 Gigs per month. Upload speed is really slow. Download speed is average. Not much of a choice when you need to get your internet via a satellite dish. :(

Works good but...

3.00 Stars

on January 04, 2018

Overall the service works pretty well, but we run out of data generally within the first week of the month and are then stuck with the slower speed which makes it impossible to watch any online videos. Web surfing becomes fairly painful as well and email is about the only thing that functions ok after reaching your data limit. I upped the data limit to 30 GB a month and it lasts a bit longer but still generally run out of data by the two week point. I was told that 20 GB was plenty for an average family. My kids don’t even play online games and we still run out of data. We don’t stream any movies because we never have enough data. The equipment works well but the price for the service is ridiculous. $70 a month for basically one week, maybe 10 days of usable internet each month.

Data limits and weather outages.

2.00 Stars

on March 26, 2018

HughesNet is okay for a satellite service but has the usual problems: data limits (just watching a few videos on Youtube will use up your monthly allowance) and of course it goes out during any rain or heavy clouds. Sure wish we could get DSL here in the Silver Lake Area!

Only as a last resort

2.00 Stars

on November 03, 2017

Polite words cannot describe satellite internet. Very weather dependent, does not support voice over IP, extreme data limitations. In some cases you will be happier with dial-up internet.

HughesNet

2.00 Stars

on August 12, 2017

The good news, if you use HughesNet between 2am and 8am you could be pleased with their service. The bad news, during peak usage hours of 6pm and 11pm, you will be very frustrated as either they throttle speed to 1.6 Mbps (nowhere near 25 Mbps advertised) or the Gen 5 satellite cannot handle the traffic congestion. I switched from another provider to HughesNet because my previous provider was so expensive. However the service was super fast. There are more choices for rural wireless internet coming every few months and I will be watching for a better internet service provider.

My Hughesnet experience

3.00 Stars

on November 16, 2017

Satellite internet is all that's available in our area and truthfully it's better than nothing. We do a lot of video streaming and usually use our allotted usage in two days, then our speed is cut from 30 Mbps to around 1 Mbps. I can't understand why there's a 95 per cent drop in speed, to me it's just their legal way of saying unlimited usage. I wish they weren't allowed to drop speeds over 60 or 75 per cent. Oh, you can get tokens to increase your speed, but you have to pay out your nose. I could live with 10 Mbps or even 5 Mbps, but 1 Mbps to 1.5 Mbps is ridiculous. It will have to do until something better comes along and when it does, I'm out of here!

Complicated Data Use Plans

2.00 Stars

on November 20, 2017

On an average, we have a ping rate of 845-125ms, a download rate of 20-10mbps, and an upload rate of 4-5mbps. It works really well about three days a month. There are two people in our home, no gamers, and only evening/ weekend occasional streaming as we have DirecTV. We use our cell phone data plans as suggested by HughesNet support to avoid data usage. We are also locked into a 2 year contract, so that is cool. To get out of the contract we must pay $587 dollars. When we inquired about cancelling we found out we have a home phone line we are paying them for too. Not sure what the number is and why we have it but we are paying for it.

HughesNet overall service for working from home or internet browsing

2.00 Stars

on February 18, 2018

Needing to work from home as well as spending 2 days per week on home school assignments, it is near impossible to get work done without the internet service constantly buffering causing delays to uploading or downloading or frequent loss of work. Worst possible method to work from home. If trying to stream online games, music, or videos forget about it, unless you can download the content and play or watch later. Can't wait to switch to broadband/fiber as soon as it is available in my area.

Subpar Speed & Data / Terrible Customer Service!

1.00 Stars

on June 18, 2018

Living in a rural area, unfortunately, HughesNet is our only viable option. Reality - it's unavoidably slow because the distance of sending data back and forth from the orbiting satellite and because you will use your allowed data long before your month is up. Once you reach your data cap, speeds slow significantly to dial-up levels. Buying more data adds to an already expensive plan. Plans are considerably more expensive than cable or DSL service and contracts are long (24 months) and expensive to terminate early! Customer service is terrible. Recently, I called in as a brand new customer because the internet speed was very slow right from the beginning. The agent was able to assess our problem within their system and I found out the satellite dish was misaligned and that I was only receiving 55% of the signal. I assumed it was installed improperly. When I asked, I was told I should have used their app to test the speed and it was my responsibility to call sooner. However, I was never told to watch for this at time of installation. In addition, with the agent on the line, I accessed the app only to be told it was not accurate nor reliable. It showed I had used all my data, but they showed I had used very little because of the poor signal. Considering I was a new customer, and reasonably thought the dish was installed improperly and poor service for over a month, I requested a discount. The agent asked if I experienced any bad weather, to which I responded honestly that we had a couple of rainstorms (none of which would have caused damage). They then used my response against me and insisted the dish became misaligned due to the storm and wasn't their fault. In the end, they offered a paltry $10 discount and additional 3 GB of data. The agent was very direct, argumentative, unwilling to consider other options and overall just a jerk!

Same issue. Slow internet.

1.00 Stars

on August 30, 2018

First 6 months of HughesNet were great, then speeds got super slow. Modem kept having errors. Called customer service 4 times, each time they reboot modem and clear error codes and it works for about 10 minutes then it goes right back to same issue. Slow internet. Can't watch videos, can't even download a page in less than 15 seconds. Customer service won't send a technician out, and won't let me talk to a manager. I pay $90 a month, and I signed a contract stating I would have high speed Internet in return. They won't hold up their end of the contract. I am still in my high speed allowance and not throttled down.

Not a Full service ISP

3.00 Stars

on April 15, 2018

If I knew I would have to use & pay for HughesNet's modem/wi-fi Router and pay an additional fee to receive support, I would have never signed on! Other than that, HughesNet is a decent ISP.

Expensive/Slow Speed

1.00 Stars

on June 25, 2018

I would give it zero stars, but the site doesn't allow it. We live in a rural area of Ohio. We've had the service for three months now and it's terrible. We recently tried to download an On Demand movie and it took two attempts before it worked. When it finally downloaded, our usage monitor on the Internet service remaining showed only 44% usage left for the entire month. This one download used up 54% of our monthly data! Unfortunately, we are lockedinto the service for 2 years!!!! Do not get this service if you can avoid it!!

Bad service

1.00 Stars

on August 07, 2018

I had internet with HughesNet for a month and two days. The first month ran of internet before the month was over then it reset on the fifth and by the seventh, I had no more data. All we watched was two movies and done three modules on the computer. It cost me $64.00 to watch a movie and do homework n two days. Now they are charging me $400.00 termination fees.

If I only knew....

2.00 Stars

on August 24, 2018

When we thought about getting HughesNet we were asked how much we use the Internet, for what purposes and how many people in the house. We were told that 20GB would be enough for our needs. We went through the 20GB in FIVE DAYS! The speeds aren't that good and it slowed way down after that. We pay $80 a month for 5 days of "high speed" internet. I called to inquire about the plan above the 20GB plan it was 50GB for $130!!! NO WAY we're going to do this. I've been talking to others who can get cable and they pay $40 a month and have large plans or unlimited. If I only knew I would've never signed up for HughesNet. There are other satellite companies out there. Might be worth it to cancel our contract.

The worst ever

1.00 Stars

on August 07, 2018

I am a teenager who is forced to use this internet, but I am tech savvy and know a lot about crap. This is the worst. Where should I start? Probably the latency. I know all satellite internet has bad ping, and I get around 800ms average (for the non tech-savvy people out there, less than 70 is good). I have gotten up to 20 SECONDS OF PING though! Next are the speeds. They are atrocious. Game updates are terribly slow, averaging 60kbps, which, if you do the math, is 416 times worse than advertised speeds. The max speed I've ever gotten on this crap is 5.9Mbps (around 3 in the morning, when no one else who has HughesNet is using it) I somehow update my games at that time, I just have to let them run overnight. Updates that should take me 3 minutes (this is during the day), according to my friends, take me 11+ hours (I have video proof)! I have to use a hotspot whenever I'm gaming. For the nontech savvy people, I have only experienced HD video twice in a year (on youtube and Netflix) I would talk about the data cap thing, but A. this review is getting long and B. there are almost no differences between the speeds after the data caps seeing that the average speeds I get are way under 3mbps. The way I see my situation for this internet is like an island with a whole bunch of rotten (emphasis on rotten) apples. Those apples are the only available ISPs in my area (in the country), and they are my only source of internet/food. I want to grow up to be in something in the computer department and the irony of my internet situation is stupid.

Beware! Not reaching guaranteed speeds.

1.00 Stars

on June 25, 2017

HughesNet has never been able to provide me the guaranteed speeds on uploads. I used to get better than average download speeds of 12-20 Mbps. Of late, my download speeds are 2-3.8 Mbps with uploads speeds of 0.75 - 0.27 Mbps. I've called the company numerous times about my upload speeds, with no rectification. I've been sent to multi-layers of tech service where they can't solve the problem and send me off to someone else who has to get back to me. Of course, no one ever does. I've had a couple of outstanding employees try to help me but no one has been able to solve my problem. Now that I am getting below average download speeds as well, I'm looking for another carrier.

Our service was awful

Lori Hucek on August 21, 2018

Our service was absolutely awful. I had the middle plan, I believe 25 Gb. Well, when data was used they would turn my speed down. I had less than dial-up for my speed 622 kbps. I called and they said that was their practice. Never was told about that. I would literally call every day.... whatever they would do would be fine while on the phone with me and I would hang up and it would be right back. I could not connect what so ever. I called to cancel and they told me I would have to pay a penalty. For what? I never could get connected in the six months I had the service.

Snail speed internet.

2.00 Stars

on June 08, 2018

We have HughesNet service. It is as slower than dial-up. We have been downloading a game of 58 MBs for 2 days now and are up to 29 MBs I would not recommend this internet service to anyone. I can't wait till we are out of contract with this company. Customer service is good but they have poor internet service.

Horrible.

1.00 Stars

on July 10, 2018

The download speed is inconsistent, I use my pc via Ethernet, and it constantly disconnects and reconnects. The upload is ok, but nothing to brag about, but being a serious gamer who couldn't get internet for months, I was desperate for what I could get. The previous provider gave me a constant 15-30 Mbps Down, and a not so good 1.3 Mbps Up, but my ping was almost constantly under 50. But with Hughesnet my ping is never under 900. It is unbearable, but since this is the only thing available in this area... I'm outta luck if you are given an option between Hughesnet and Literally anything else... Take the other option..

Extremely slow

1.00 Stars

on July 19, 2018

We have had Hughes Net since the first of the year. We were told that the 20 Gig plan would meet our needs and in less than 2 weeks, 20 Gigs were gone. We moved and the tech was unhappy that he had to mount the dish on a pole, and said it was the best service we could get. New billing cycle started on the first of the month and by the time the day was done, we had blown through the 20 Gigs. Want to leave, yet early termination fees will be taken from our debit card. Don't think so! Would not recommend this company to anyone!!

Does not provide consistent great internet connection. Constantly goes down.

1.00 Stars

on July 20, 2017

Unfortunately, they are the only provider in our area... they do not have an unlimited plan... and when it rains... the internet does not work. They recommended for us to wake up at 2 am and record movies to watch later. Would be great if they had other options.

Data caps render the service unusable

1.00 Stars

on December 29, 2015

Hughesnet has a business model that is dependent on a captive audience that has no other option for Internet connections. Speed: Due to this, the company is allowed to provide speeds that are unusable for most services. The only thing a user could do is browse basic websites without media. Data Caps: Lower speeds would be passable if not for the issue of a data cap. The standard plan only offers 10GB a month for $60 which is comparable to a phone Internet provider. This cap makes it impossible to do anything online that a large majority of the population is able to do, video streaming, music streaming, voice/video calls, essentially anything that isn't black text on a white screen. They offer additional data from 2 am - 8 am but it is unreasonable to assume that anyone will be awake during that time. (Un) Reliability: An additional issue to account for is that the service will not be available during storms. Also the speed is never anywhere to what is quoted. (Currently measured at .11Mbps / quoted 1.5Mbps) Overall, avoid this company if at all possible. The same applies to all other satellite Internet companies due to identical business models.

Horrible

1.00 Stars

on October 15, 2018

Almost impossible to watch Youtube, continues to buffer every few words. Time of day or night makes no difference. Good weather or bad weather makes no difference. I would never recommend HughesNet to anyone. I am really disappointed.

Internet speed is soooo slow

1.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

We pay for the Highest speed and GBs they offer, which cost us almost $130 a month and their internet is so slow, constantly buffering, every few seconds. I think they throttle the service.

Don't do it!

Morgan on September 02, 2018

This was the last resort for us. I had to have WiFi because of my cell phone carrier. This is the worst internet I’ve ever had. It doesn’t work half the time, the customer service is horrible and you run out of your “high speed” data within a couple of days. If my husband and I are both connected to the WiFi, it runs so slow. Very overpriced and unreliable.

GREAT if you never use it!

1.00 Stars

on September 20, 2018

We have phone and internet. Data caps go ridiculously fast because connection is so bad you have to constantly refresh, reconnect or re-download almost everything, even basic updates. Constant weird behavior of internet, forget using commercial VPN, you cant change router password, expensive, disrupted by any clouds. The phone is even worse. Latency is really bad. Goes to voicemail after a ring, but if you're on the other end, it rings like 6 or more times (I called myself from other state many many times. Forget about IoT or simple devices like Alexa. Constantly have to monitor phone wifi use, tablet wifi, or anything touching the wifi (which is sloooow and laggy). It is about on par with old phone modem dial-up.

Lousy service takes forever to load

1.00 Stars

on September 19, 2018

HughesNet is slow and not reliable at all, the least storm causes it to go down. Takes forever to load, almost as bad as dial-up.

Does not deliver promised speed

2.00 Stars

on August 22, 2018

My usual experience with streaming videos is incredibly disappointing and frustrating. At over $116 per month, I expect promises to be kept, I have never been able to watch a Netflix, Hulu, or YouTube video without numerous playing restarts. My last Netflix experience was today, (no rain or bad weather) when I had to restart the movie, no exaggeration here, over 20 times before I finally gave up 3/4 of the way through the video. Awful service, does not live up to the hype!! Don't be fooled.

Pleasantly suprised

4.00 Stars

on October 04, 2019

Our modem/router went out randomly a couple of days ago...the power and internet lights were on but none others. We called the first night and the customer service rep wasn’t very helpful...Ran a few tests and said a technician needed to come out for $125. We weren’t ready to pay that so we tried a few more things but it still wasn’t connecting to the internet. We called again the next night, got a very helpful customer service rep. He ran a few tests, had us try different things on multiple devices but still no luck, we needed the $125 service tech to come out. However, the customer service rep was able to waive the fee and even got the technician scheduled the next day to come out! After reading all about HughesNet's horrible reviews, I was expecting the worst but it was actually turned out really great!

24 months commitment trap

2.00 Stars

on September 29, 2019

PROS They want to help you, but they are helpless to increase speed, the only thing they can offer is to increase your 10GB quota as a gift for not leaving them, remember there are good unlimited plans in the market. good during a natural disaster because it connects via satellite. CONS 24 months contract which is not mentioned during the initial purchase/installation process you will be charged $400 for early termination. 10GB quota limit and then speeds slowed Not good for Internet-based TV.

Decent Speed / Crappy Support

2.00 Stars

on September 27, 2019

Don't know what other reviewers expect with Sat broadband and speed. Though not at speeds of cable, for rural, no ISP areas, the speed is okay. We work from home in the IT field, and the service suffices for our needs. Performing speed tests from time to time, we average around 25 - 30mbps down, 2 - 5mbps up. We also have their voice service. Being that we do work from home, we have 2 services here, and both the same 50GB / month and voice (2 lines) to conduct customer calls with. Now, the fun. 1 service, we've had issues with the phone from the get-go. We've tried different wires, sets, etc and the calls keep dropping. We've called Hughesnet multiple times to get it fixed. Each time they ask and tell us the absolute worst we've ever heard (phones not supported if using jacks, etc). The last time we called, the agent on the call rebooted the 2nd service we have here, interrupting things we were doing for our customer. Honestly, they are okay as long as you DO NOT need their customer service. We are seriously just using them until someone else better comes along. They really do have decent services, just their customer service needs to be completely overhauled.

My HughesNet Experience

5.00 Stars

on September 13, 2019

You guys are the greatest! Not only are you one of the only high speed internet/satellite providers that offers coverage in my area, you guys provide a fairly good price for families like mine who have low income at the present time who can't afford way overpriced rates that alot of other high- speed internet networks charge, that only the wealthy can afford. You guys are a blessing & I hope we are always able to continue to afford HughesNet forever because you are by far my favorite & number one choice.

Not for homeschooling

1.00 Stars

on September 04, 2019

I got HughesNet because there is no other option. They said it would be plenty of data on the 20 GB plan. Upped it to 30 GB halfway through the first month. Still not even close to enough. We run out the first week. We don't play video games or do hardly any video streaming, just online school for 3 kids. We use cell data on our phones. I can't understand why they have such limited plans.

Latency issues

2.00 Stars

on July 25, 2019

Download speeds are pretty good, but the latency well exceeds 850ms. Anything over 100ms is too high. This means that you will get buffering while streaming. I was not told this when I signed up. I would recommend that you get Hughes only if there is absolutely no alternative, no DSL, no cable or any other service. On a positive note, I found customer service to be courteous, friendly and accommodating.

Customer service

Marie Prielipp on July 19, 2019

I am 83 years old and what a pleasant day your service tech gave me today. I was trying to print out my last billing statement and was running into all kinds of difficulties. Thanks to a most wonderful employee, she spent all the time I needed without rushing me so that I could print out my statement. I can't thank her and your company for having such a wonderful employee. I hope they are all that way. Thank you all.

Just better than nothing

1.00 Stars

on April 30, 2019

My wife and I live in a secluded area in Colorado. The only internet available is HughesNet. We have the 20GB plan which lasts less than two weeks using only email and web surfing which takes forever to load a webpage. If we try to stream TV using Sling or other internet plans, it constantly buffers and makes movie watching unbearable. Would only recommend if no other internet options are available.

At least it's internet

Ron on April 12, 2019

Usually pretty slow connections. Sunny days are much better than cloudy days, might as well stay off the internet on a cloudy day! Customer service was useless when I called to report connectivity issues because on their end it showed 47Mbps per second even though it was 47Mbps per second of nothing on my end. They did not send a technician to my house and I still have horrible internet.

I LOVE Hughesnet!!

5.00 Stars

on April 04, 2019

Got my wifi installed in 2 days from the date I ordered it. Fabulous customer service, very courteous & polite technician. Fast speed. I'm very satisfied with my HughesNet!

Perfect for me

5.00 Stars

on March 17, 2019

I have read many of the reviews and have had the service for well over 2 years. I never had an issue and can watch video perfectly. I have also noticed some of these reviews when HughesNet has never priced things the way many in here have claimed. I have paid $52 for two years on a 10 GIG plan. I have watched tons of videos and never had any buffering, at all. Never had a problem.

Not good

James Fay on March 02, 2019

I have the 10 GB plan with equipment and fees, it's around 70 dollars a month and for that, you can watch maybe 2 or 3 movies on Hulu, search the internet a little. After about a week after the new cycle starts, it will slow down and basically, it's not worth having. Some of it might not be their fault but nowadays when you surf the net for sports news whatever, they have video ads that start with you clicking on them, some apps are mostly in video format for news and weather, Facebook and other media start videos automatically. Yes, you can turn it off in the settings on Facebook but who knew. So I guess you can pay a ridiculous price for 50 GB or have a week of service. Worst internet service I have ever had.

The worst Internet I have ever had

M. Fears on February 27, 2019

It started off well, then they saturated our rural area with HughesNet, after that my speed was terrible. They kept telling me I had 25 Mbps download speed, the best I ever got was 4 Mbps and usually it was 1-2 Mbps. I was taking Graphic Arts classes online so I had to rely on video classes. It was terrible trying to get through my classes with the constant buffering on the video classes. It got to the point I would have to work well into the wee hours of the morning so it won't buffer as much. The buffering started on day 1 of my renewed data. Not once did they come out to check on why I was having so much trouble, probably because they already knew. I am sure one of the problems was too many accounts in our rural area caused my problems with speed and disappearing data. I lost data when I wasn't even on my computer. It is the very worst internet provider there is.

It has it's ups and downs..

3.00 Stars

on February 27, 2019

I have no complaints about the internet itself and the speed, but the customer service depends on what time of day you call. The morning crew seems to have it together a little more, they are very helpful and know what is going on. The afternoon, evening crew, however, are very rude, they find a solution on their own with their own made-up situation and call it a days work. My internet was down and the rep. just said we'll you have to call back when the weather clears up. I told him it was cleared up and he just kept arguing me asking if I was 100% satisfied, of course not. The morning rep actually took the time to look at the forecast, set up an appt. with me based off of that and I actually got the help I needed.

Very disappointed

1.00 Stars

on February 26, 2019

The first three months were great. After that, things got very slow, to the point that watching TV was more like having poor cellular service. Every 3-4 seconds it would buffer. HughesNet customer service blamed apps like Amazon and Netflix. This isn't the case at all. When I called to speak with someone, I was told the "Tech Support Experts" would contact me within 3 business days. I have yet to hear from an expert. This has happened three times. I have stopped calling asking for help. My contract runs out this September. Right now, I have 98.9% available data but the message on my screen reads Internet Connection Error. I will not renew my contract and would rather have no internet than what we have.

Disappointed

2.00 Stars

on February 23, 2019

HughesNet speed using Gen 5 can't compare to cellular in rural areas. Data limits are ridiculous for today's consumer, there's no way you can use movie streaming, nor do you have the bandwidth for smart accessories. Billing is a moving target - they've raised my rates multiple times - call them if you have the time and no other option and they'll find a way to "help", but painful. Chat online is an option, but constantly put you off for supervisor approval and/or tell you they can't help with "that" and make you call 800#. If you have cellular as an option, go for it!!!!

20 GB of data gone in 3 days

2.00 Stars

on February 20, 2019

There are two of us, two cell phones and two computers that use this service, both of us are gone most of the day, neither of us is excessive users, we watch one movie on Friday night (4/month), that is it. Our data is given to us on the 27th, and it is always gone in three days, no matter what we do. I have shut down the router the day of our data credit and it makes no difference, the tech came out about two weeks after installation and said that our system was using someone else's data, which he himself said was impossible, our link had been working perfectly until then, after that, it all went to pot. We have not had any success with support, they said everything was just made up and that we were using all this data. as soon As my contract is up, I am gone!

Big Mistake

2.00 Stars

on February 18, 2019

This is for non-techies, of which I am one. My wife and I are retired, stream maybe 2 hours per day on average with little other use except for the occasional document download. Our 10-GB plan lasts for 2 to 3 days before we go into degraded (and I mean 20 minutes for a 15 second commercial degraded) service. HughesNet's 50-GB plan will get us through maybe half the billing period. You do the math! Can't wait until my contract runs out!

No videos allowed

1.00 Stars

on February 09, 2019

Customer service is very hard to understand, and they can't do anything to correct the issue. This is the slowest internet I’ve ever encountered and you can’t watch more than 2 movies a month before you run out of data. They also advertise unlimited data, and that’s incorrect. With just 2 movies, the data speed goes from around 1-6Mbps to 0.35Kbps. So overall, don’t get this service unless you're willing to pay $80 a month for two movies.

Bait and switch

2.00 Stars

on February 06, 2019

Promised unlimited high-speed data. If you stream 2 movies, it will use up your high-speed data. They downgrade the speed slower than dialup. You still get data but at a lower speed. But if you will buy “tokens”, you can get the speed back. Their goal is for you to spend about $120 per month to really get high speed. If they had told us that from the start, we would not have signed up. Now we are locked into a 2-year contract. I suggest you don’t make the same mistake we did.

Very inconsistent

2.00 Stars

on January 25, 2019

We have data that is very inconsistent, afternoons and evening time is the worst. I guess when they have the most users. We go through 20GB in 10 days. 2 working adults with unlimited data on phones. No gaming, watch several Netflix shows a week and basic computer usage couple of hours per day most. Bought this service when I was offered the chance to work from home one day per week. I end up going to the local library most days because service is too slow. I recently put data tester on phone. Often well below 1.5 Mbps, that's the speed you'll get once data runs out.

Feel bad I left a bad review before...my bad...was using it wrong!

5.00 Stars

on January 15, 2019

I feel bad because I left a bad review...turns out I was not using it correctly...I was not on the Gen 5 address. Very frustrating...then I figured it out...very fast speeds for Facebook..and I also like to play Euchre on Facebook. Experience has been great! Also much more affordable than what we had before.

Last Resort Internet

1.00 Stars

on January 15, 2019

Signed up planning on using it for School, VoIP, Video Calling, and watching videos. We went through the 20 GB of High speed in 5 days and never knew that it was high speed. Video calling is not recommended which they didn't say at the outset. Videos are constantly buffering and we eventually used my phone as a hotspot. The cancellation fees must be where they make their money because it was $325 to cancel after 4 months and I can't see why anyone would stay with them unless there are no other options. Customer service people were very kind about telling me the experience I was having is as good as it gets and there was no way around the cancelation fee. Video calling was fuzzy and audio was slow enough that it worked better to call on the phone rather than talk to them over the video call. It is slow. There is a lag. Videos constantly buffer. Video calls don't work very well. Doing slow speed internet stuff worked fine. Email, web searches, etc.

Do not use this service

2.00 Stars

on January 13, 2019

I signed up with HughesNet in December of 2017. I did a two-year contract. Well, it is now January of 2019 and I canceled my service and had to pay an early termination fee of $235. The internet service was very slow. I pretty much had to call them to fix a problem every month. I was paying $80 a month for basically slow service. This service is not worth the money. If you like to stream movies and shows, all it will do is buffer. The only positive thing I have to say is that the customer service people were very nice and helped me the best they could. Unfortunately, the internet service is completely worthless.

Misleading

2.00 Stars

on January 04, 2019

Do you think you can't get Internet where you live? Well, you can! Yeah, you can but, the data caps will kill you. When we first got the Gen 5 it was actually around 85 Mbps for the first month, before the caps went into place. Then, we got 60-80 Mbps for the first 1 or 2 days of the billing cycle and then around 350 Kbps for the rest of the month. So, basically like having dial-up. HughesNet needs to step up to The Real World and understand that real people, especially families, use far more data than they are being allowed. I give HughesNet some kudos since they did manage to get a system in place that can deliver some good Internet speed (I had tried them through all their "generations" and was very unimpressed (until Gen 5) but, with the data limits in place, I will sell my house and move to the city and get cable before I renew my contract with them.

HughesNet experience

2.00 Stars

on January 04, 2019

My experience with HughesNet was not pleasant. I was told it was ok for online gaming. It's not even ok for Netflix or a cell phone. Not good for a gamer. We live in rural West Tennessee and I ask specifically if HughesNet would be faster enough for an online gamer and the salesman assured me it would be. Might be slower at certain times he said. My experience was it buffered Netflix movies so much you couldn't keep interest. A kindle and cell phone were the same, about like dial-up service.

Problems

Michael on December 12, 2018

I have HughesNet and it works well now but I had lots of problems. I called them every day saying it wasn't working and they kept running a speed test on their end and telling me it should be working fine then the next question they asked me was 'hows the weather there?' I would tell them it's fine. So I said you need to send me someone out here and it took 5 days to have someone come to our house. He got here and did his test, found out that it was the radio arm that was not transmitting right so he replaced it. Now it works fine after not having internet for almost 20 days. They only take $10.00 off my bill.

Dissatisfied

2.00 Stars

on November 09, 2018

I have had the service for 1month and I wish I never signed on! To watch a 30-minute program, it takes 2 hours to watch in between all the stopping and loading. Also, I have rented movies from Vudu and still waiting for them to load, which never happens. I have called customer service and they upgraded my service but still, I spend all my time waiting for any program to load. I am so dissatisfied with this company, I want out!

Anything but this service

1.00 Stars

on November 06, 2018

The overpriced plans with data caps don't go very far. The customer service is appalling. In my case, streaming of a movie rarely worked without lots of buffering and degradation of the video quality, even though the data is used at a rate of about 1GB per hour. My data would sometimes "disappear" in chunks of 2-5 GB, even when I wasn't home (example: when my 20 GB plan would renew, it would start at 18 GB). In the likely event that you will be dissatisfied with the service, you will be locked into a two-year contract with early termination fees of $400 for internet and $240 for voice. You will also have to retrieve the equipment from your roof yourself and send it back. If you have cell access in your area, you should be able to find an internet provider without a data cap.

Not good, especially for gamers

2.00 Stars

on November 04, 2018

The speed is horrific. You can barely load a video on YouTube. I would not recommend this WiFi.

Stay away

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

I have never had a data limit before and had no idea how much I was using. I told the HughesNet saleslady what my normal uses and she assured me that 10GB would be plenty so I signed up. After three months I discovered that I need more data and they gave me another 10GB for an additional $10. This is still not enough and I am not going to pay $140 for 50GB. I am now planning to go with a local internet provider with medium speed download and unlimited data. The download speeds they show are often between 25-40Mbps but it does not translate to performance at the computer which is usually hesitant and jerky. Now, I have to pay them $400 to get out of the contract. Oh well, better than throwing good money after bad.

Amazing Customer Service

4.00 Stars

on October 22, 2018

Customer Service is one of the best thing HughesNet has to offer.

Slow internet/uses up data

2.00 Stars

on October 16, 2018

10 days into our service month and we are already out of data. Don't stream movies don't use Netflix or any of those type of services. Was told we used 11GB in one day but couldn't tell me how. Service is slow.

Really Slow!

Kenneth Morris on October 12, 2018

I regret getting this service. Really slow, streamed video usually needs to buffer every minute or two when it's running at its fastest speeds. Video quality is also very poor. This service requires a 2-year contract that has large penalties to get out of. If you have 4G cell data in your area you will be much better off utilizing the data from that over getting this service. Don't believe what they're saying about the internet speeds either.

Better Than Nothing

2.00 Stars

on October 11, 2018

I went from fast, unlimited internet to slow, limited HughesNet that I pay over $20 per month for more. It is better than nothing. However, it is not “super fast” like they advertise. It’s slow and nearly impossible to stream even a short video clip without buffering. Also, we really don’t use it that much, but we often seem to get very low on data and have to really cut back to keep from running out. Can’t figure out why that happens. If they are going to have data caps and slow service, in my opinion, the service should be cheaper, not higher. I’m hoping there are more rural options soon.

WiFi constantly dropping!

2.00 Stars

on September 28, 2018

On my computer that is wired to the HughesNet modem only have to play around with settings about once a week, should not even have to do that! With my laptop many times, no actually most of the time, can't even check email as it drops the wifi signal even though it has a strong signal, have reset network on laptop several times a night until I just get too tired and frustrated with it! It should NOT be like this. Customer service is a joke, called right after I got this service, they told me they would correct the time used and of course never did!

Stay Away

1.00 Stars

on September 26, 2018

They advertise 25Mbps down. I got 1 to 8, average very low. The VOIP phone had dropouts because of slow speed. I had to go to my cell. Trying to stream was impossible because it had to buffer every 10 seconds or so. Loading a site took forever with frequent timeouts.. This service is unusable where there any alternatives. If you like dial-up, you’ll love Hughesnet. I have had it a few weeks hoping this was a glitch. I canceled today and will be charged $625.00 even though the service never met advertised speed and phone was unusable.

Get dial up, save the aggravation

1.00 Stars

on September 19, 2018

Install tech was lazy and didn’t want to put equipment in an optimal place. Customer service takes your call then says they will call you back in 48 hours! But they never have still to this day after calling multiple times. Service is terrible, never getting the 25Mbps download speed even on crystal clear days with no wind. Data caps then throttling, all while being the most expensive service on the market. This product is not worth considering. I’m in the industry and because of my remote location, they got me by the short hairs. Too bad they leave such a black eye in the ISP community. I can’t wait for my contract to be up.

Rip-off

1.00 Stars

on September 12, 2018

I have been with HughesNet for 1 month and it is a rip-off. They set us up with a 20GB plan that they said was the best for a family and know that would be good for us. Guess what, on day 1 after the first cycle all the data is gone in 10 hours with only 1 person home. Gave them a call all they say is we will give you 2 GB for your trouble and you have 50 GB free between 2 am and 8 am. Worst mistake I ever made was even thinking about giving them a chance. Now stuck in a contract for 22 more months or pay 400 to cancel early.

Their largest plan runs out mid month. Internet is slow and phone service through them is unreliable.

1.00 Stars

on September 08, 2018

I was so excited to start with Hughes Net. Their customer service advised they would be able to support our internet needs knowing the size of our home and our internet requirements. We signed up for both their internet and phone service. I've now had them for 13 months. Our internet lags all the time. If we are watching Netflix on their "DVD quality, to supposedly stream faster" it downloads and kicks us off the internet all the time. We have Gen 5 / 50 GB, their largest plan. Only 3 people use the internet, our Tv's are hooked up also. I've tried calling them from our home phone, but their internet quality is so poor it always disconnects. I start every phone call with them with "please call me back, the phone service you provide us isn't reliable". They tell me it's against their policy to call back. So, I've driven 20 minutes away from my home (where cell signal is consistent) to call them and try to get out of this plan. Anyone considering HughesNet needs to be fully aware that they will say anything to get you in that 2-year contract and what they offer is an awful internet. It may also cost you an extra $75 per month if you want an additional 30 GB of data, which still wouldn't be enough for my family.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

HughesNet Internet Reviews FAQ

HughesNet service has evolved quickly in recent years, with the new Gen 5 satellite launch resulting in increased speed and bandwidth for customers across their service area. The HughesNet Internet reviews shown on this page are from current HughesNet customers, and IP-verified to ensure authenticity.

HughesNet Ten 4 vs Gen 5 Reviews

The reviews shown on this page have all been collected after the Gen 5 upgrade. Of all the customers we’ve collected input from, 24.8% said they would recommend HughesNet services. That said, HughesNet is often only choice in rural areas, and thousands of addresses were unable to get broadband internet speeds before HughesNet's Gen 5 upgrade.

HughesNet Service Problems and Strengths

HughesNet reviews we’ve aggregated tend to focus on two complaints: low speeds and high prices. Unfortunately, this is true if you compare satellite Internet from HughesNet to wired fiber or cable from providers like Xfinity or Fios. However, this isn’t really a fair comparison, since satellite is mostly used as a solution for “off the grid” areas that can’t get those traditional wired services. Without satellite, the options for rural areas is generally DSL, or nothing. HughesNet reviews reflect the issues with their services fairly, but they’re really issues with rural Internet in general — not HughesNet specifically.

How Are Featured HughesNet Reviews Sourced and Validated?

We filter HughesNet reviews submitted to us to remove those that are offensive, incomprehensible, or fail to provide useful information for potential HughesNet customers. We only show reviews that include specific information to back up the star rating left by the reviewer. All HughesNet reviews shown here are customer reviews, and do not represent an expert or scientific analysis of HughesNet speeds, pricing, and services.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2019 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC