BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Viasat Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Viasat's service. To see if broadband Internet from Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) is available in your area enter your zip code below.

3.16 Stars  1691  Reviews
3.16 out of 5 stars

Call to Order Internet:

Setup new Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) internet service or view available internet plans

(844) 912-2812 View Plans & Pricing

Provider Availability:

Want to see if Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) is available in your area?

Call to Order Internet:

Setup new Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) internet service or view available internet plans

(844) 912-2812 View Plans & Pricing

Very Pleased

5.00 Stars

on September 23, 2019

We installed Viasat one month ago at our cabin in northern AZ. We are using about 6GB per 24 hour period, which gives us 10 days a month or 120 days a year, for about $1200 per year, which equates to $10 per 24 hour period of usage. Since cable is not an option, I am pleased. Obviously, if we lived there full-time, we would run out of good speeds after the 10th day of the month and would have to look at a more expensive plan ( and still come up a little short). But for part-time use, I am very pleased. Our use includes streaming, heavy surfing, emails, and phone calls. I completely understand why full-timers are not happy but the options in remote areas are very limited. For us, it has been far better than dial-up or hot spots.

“I was wrong”

5.00 Stars

on September 17, 2019

First, I want you to know I wrote a kind of rough review of Viasat not too long ago. But to make a long story short, the mess-up was my fault. I could not get the internet on all of my WiFi devices. It would work if I would run an Ethernet cable from my router to my TV. But my 15-year-old grandson figured it out. I was putting the password in OK all but one letter. It was an l and I kept seeing it as an I, the letters are very small on the bottom through of the router. Anyway he went through and straightened out all my WiFi units, especially my TV, Viasat is not the piece of Junk I called it, it is one fine rural internet, a lot faster, way more dependable than my last carrier by far. So if you ever get Viasat and can’t get it to work, don’t fly off the handle at them, call your Grandkids! Thanks, Viasat for a great WiFi System.

Unreliable and slow internet even on clear days

2.00 Stars

on August 28, 2019

Service seems to be getting worse with the internet going in and out and speeds slow and nowhere near the advertised 30Mbps! Technology’s getting better yet our service is still flakey even in good weather! Promised better service soon with/when new satellite are added but never happened.

Excellent

5.00 Stars

on June 28, 2019

I was skeptical about Satellite internet but surprisingly, it is great! We live way out and don't even get phone signal but Viasat is very very good!

Great! I Would Highly Recommend!

5.00 Stars

on April 23, 2018

My experience with Exede was amazing. It just did not work well with our previous ISP because of how far away we were from their tower so we decided to try Exede and it works great. We were guaranteed high-speed internet and we got high-speed connection. If you're shopping for an internet service provider these are the people I would highly recommend.

Good first week

2.00 Stars

on May 16, 2020

Good download with their Silver plans for the first few days until you reach your plan's limit. After that, forget watching anything that requires a download. YouTube or Netflix is out of the question. Good for Facebook on your phone but that’s it.

Throttled at 100GB

2.00 Stars

on April 21, 2020

We are in our first month and I am not happy. We hardly get even a quarter of the max speed advertised, half the month it hasn’t worked, and right at 100GB, they throttle us to a speed of .25Mbps which isn’t even enough to browse the internet. All of this for $150 a month. Not worth the money at all. I’m about to pay the $15 termination fee,

Terrible Internet

1.00 Stars

on February 12, 2020

Worse internet I’ve ever seen. They will promise you everything then when you can’t even open a website and you want to cancel, they want to charge you. Keep looking, don’t even think about going with Viasat.

Consistently reliable, very impressed

5.00 Stars

on February 10, 2020

We live in the mountains outside of Denver, CO and we were skeptical when first buying our house because our only option was to get satellite internet. I work from home so need consistent internet connection and you always hear terrible stories about people that have satellite internet! We ended up going with Viasat and I'm SO glad we did! We've been on Viasat's Gold plan for a year and half now and I am so impressed! Even with the severe weather we get up here, the connection rarely goes out. If it does go out, it's back up quickly, or we just have to brush snow off the dish and it's good to go. About 6 months ago, I noticed the internet was working more slowly than normal. I didn't even have a chance to call Viasat to ask because they called me and said that they noticed our connection was running slow. They sent someone out here for free and had him re-adjust the dish. Everything worked just fine after that! Never do you have a company call YOU to tell you there is a problem and offer to fix it for free! We've had zero issues with streaming things like Netflix and overall I'm impressed with the speed. Everything isn't instant but if I can get my IT job done at home, you know it can't be too bad! I do recommend going with a higher speed plan and it is expensive so be prepared to adjust your budget. But if you live in a place with limited internet options, Viasat is worth the price. My only downside would be the slowness in the upload speed. Sharing your screen or FaceTiming with people is fine from this side, but the recipient doesn't get a clear picture and the screen is frozen a lot. If I need to provide a training session for work, I definitely have to find a place in town to work from that day. All to do with the signal needing to leave the satellite I'm sure, but a quicker upload speed is the only thing I would change. Everything else has been great and I find myself impressed on a regular basis with how reliable everything has been. Thanks Viasat for allowing our family to live in our dream home while not having to sacrifice the ease and convenience of this essential need!

Viasat Speed

4.00 Stars

on February 09, 2020

We have been using Viasat since June 2018. We have had very few problems. The service is as fast as any who serve our rural area. The price is high compared to service in areas that have more competition. It will be interesting to see what the price structure is once Elon Musk gets Starlink operational in our area. At the present time, I recommend Viasat. I don't like the 2 year commitment but they are not alone in having that part of the contract.

Best for satellite

4.00 Stars

on January 27, 2020

Via-sat has always been very efficient and polite when I’ve had to contact them. I just don’t understand why satellite is so much higher than cable and there has to be a contract. I would definitely upgrade if I wasn’t going to be stuck in another 2 year contract. We’re on the highest data plan now and many things start buffering when we get to just 75Gb, but overall Via-sat is still the best for the money for the mountain that we live on, although it is very expensive compared to cable in town and cable is a LOT more unlimited.

Prioritized Data = No Data

2.00 Stars

on January 14, 2020

I get a decent speed but nothing compared to fiber while within my 100GB of data limit but once I go over, it is like having no internet at all. I cannot do anything. Here is their verbiage: "After 100GB of data usage, we may prioritize your data behind other customers during network congestion." They prioritize it enough where you cannot do anything on it. No trial period either. Once you sign up with them, you are locked into a 24-month agreement, and to get out, you have to pay $15 per month remaining in your contract. And, they are expensive. Triple the cost of DSL or Fiber because if you are even looking at Viasat, you have limited options.

Slow speed, high latency, soft data caps

2.00 Stars

on January 10, 2020

Very slow, they say up to 25Mbps, but actual is around 4Mbps, as it is satellite the latency is terrible and makes doing any browsing, gaming, voice communication, or working incredibly slow to the point of being next to unusable. 800ms latency is typical. This gets worse depending on the weather. There is also a soft data cap which if you exceed makes all of the above even worse. In addition, the cost is about three times that of any other service. The only good thing they have is that it is available when there is no other option. How there is no other option in today's day and age is unfathomable, but that's another topic. All in all, it's appalling, but at least it's the internet if you can't get broadband or DSL.

Slow Internet

2.00 Stars

on December 21, 2019

It's just been two weeks since we set up Viasat Internet but I have already called Customer Care twice to complain about the internet being slow. Customer Care we spoke to just said there is a lot of traffic today that’s why the internet is very slow. I’m very disappointed with their service.

Good service for rural Kansas

4.00 Stars

on December 21, 2019

I am very pleased with service from Viasat. I pay for 12 mbps and get up to 18 on average, able to stream Netflix and on demand with no buffering. I have multiple cameras and smart home devices all connected with no problems. Highly recommend Viasat for rural areas. We are unable to get DSL or cable where we live in the country in rural Kansas, tried the cell phone hotspots but they too were slow and unreliable.

Reliable

3.00 Stars

on December 21, 2019

Viasat has been really reliable for me even though I'm in high desert area.

Up and Down Service

2.00 Stars

on December 17, 2019

Being with this company is like being on a rollercoaster ride. At first, when they were Exede, they needed A LOT of improvement. Then Viasat came and everything was great for a period of time. Now customer service is bad and I pay $160 for internet that only works in the daytime hours. Great...

Good service for "fringes" without a choice like we have!!

4.00 Stars

on December 08, 2019

Sometimes, rarely, Viasat gets overwhelmed and speeds suffer immensely, but, luckily that is not common, I rather use Viasat, even with three times the price of their competitor. If you live in the fringes and can afford it, I recommend Viasat.

Unlimited package is NOT Unlimited

2.00 Stars

on November 15, 2019

I have the premium internet package (unlimited) which costs $160 per month. It has never worked properly or consistently since I moved to northern VA in April 2019. They sent a technician once who blamed the issues on a tree in my backyard. I have made half a dozen calls to technical support to no avail. They have explained that once I hit my data limit each month, which I always do because I do not have cable and I stream everything, I am moved to a lower speed (throttling). I work from home and downloads and uploads are excruciatingly slow. I cannot enjoy Hulu, Amazon Video, Youtube or Netflix without constant pauses and error messages. Since this service is via satellite, I expected problems when there is bad weather but I certainly did not expect this. I am currently looking for another provider.

Reliable Connection So-Far !

4.00 Stars

on November 07, 2019

The installation went smoothly, initial startup via ethernet was good but WiFi connection was not smooth and it's difficult to get customer service help on the phone. Finally got in touch with customer service, he walked me through the process. If you're going to be a customer service agent, you should at least be willing to serve your customers. Thanks, job well done!

Fast but UNRELIABLE.

3.00 Stars

on September 20, 2019

I’ve had the 100Mbps service for months and it is fast when the service is not down which is too often. Still, it’s better than the others.

Speeds have become slower

2.00 Stars

on September 15, 2019

Had Viasat for 4 years. I used to be able to stream Netflix, Amazon Prime, and others in the evening but now I can’t. Speeds often below 1.0 Mbps. They say that burst speed is 12.0 but I rarely hit 12.

Speeds good but unreliable and "throttles"

3.00 Stars

on July 05, 2019

The actual speeds are fine. However, once you go over your data limit of 40GB (lowest option), they randomly cut you off to prioritize people who have not gone over priority. We often stream at under 360p and it counts towards our limit. Overall, it's better than the other but not by much. Honestly, I wouldn't use ViaSat again at this point unless I absolutely had to.

Fantastic, if you understand the terms

4.00 Stars

on June 27, 2019

I have a Business Unlimited 35 Mbps plan that does all that it is advertised, 75Gb per month of priority daytime internet. Long lag time, yes. Limited throughput, yes. Able to allow me to work from home as an IT Director managing hundreds of servers, yes. Exede has delivered what they promised and I could not be more pleased, unless cable or FIOS become available.

Better than our previous cellular provider

4.00 Stars

on May 09, 2019

I have only had it for a month but I have been pleasantly surprised. I have the Unlimited Silver 25 plan and we burned up the 100 GB of priority data within 2 weeks (pent up demand). By the end of the month, we had used about 350 GB. I average 15Gb/s DL speed which is respectable, even once we got past our priority data. Coming from a different cellular provider that was slower than the dial-up I had in 1997, it's a breath of fresh air. I avoided satellite for many years but the newer birds they have in the sky are getting it done pretty well. I'd recommend to anyone with no other options.

Unstable internet

2.00 Stars

on May 09, 2019

The only time I have good internet is when there are clear skies. If it is cloudy, rainy, windy, snow, sleet, overcast, then it buffers about every 45 seconds. It usually takes about 3 hrs. to watch a 60 minute show. Wish I didn't have a contract.

Excellent

5.00 Stars

on May 06, 2019

Hughes Sat Failed. Am not wired for optics. Wi-Fi supports computer, cells, 4 Tv,s. Pretty good usage being in the country surrounded by hills

A great help in a remote area

4.00 Stars

on May 06, 2019

I see a lot of negative reviews. It's satellite and not wired device. It has delays (latency) and data caps. I understood the shortcomings of satellite service and accept them for what they are. I've been using the service for 3 years now and I work from home. I wish I could keep my plan (50 gig ) and upgrade to more speed.

A HAPPY CUSTOMER FOR MANY YEARS!

5.00 Stars

on May 01, 2019

I have been with VIASAT (formerly Exede) for many years. When I signed up, I reviewed the policies, rules and all information about this ISP service: They are spelled out to the letter. My monthly data allowance is 10 GB. I never get involved with Facebook, YouTube, Twitter or any social media. I never stream movies or music. People use and misuse the internet, not seeming to prioritize even about their own security. My usage is to check e-mails, visit a few specific online shops I have been affiliated with for years, bargain hunt and occasionally do research. I appreciate my ISP. Why? Because from Customer Service to Tech Support, they are excellently professional and compassionately understanding. Through my ISP I can research vintage products of interest made in W. Germany, Spain and throughout the world. I can keep up with the latest happenings in America through honest and reputable sources not covered or often overlooked by or through the typical television media. All of this and more, from my country acres. There have been times when storms came through that affected satellite service, but I am not about to blame VIASAT for the weather. I had a data usage issue. After a lot of research, I subscribed with a well-known VPN service for the first time. It didn't take me long to experience what a VPN service doesn't tell you. VPNs manage not to tell you just how much of the ISP monthly data allowance they consume. I lost 2/3 of my monthly data allowance, eaten up by the VPN, each month for two months. I did a test and uninstalled the VPN, and my data usage came back to the typical normal. There is a lot that research does not uncover, left up to be discovered by the actual experience. I quit that VPN because I am not paying my ISP for a monthly data allowance or plan, and a VPN for eating up most of it each month. VIASAT was with me throughout this two-month ordeal and I can't say enough about how great their Customer Service and Tech Support is! I am thankful for VIASAT and all of the opportunities of quality it has brought my way. I don't think anyone bellyaching and complaining about any ISP, would ever opt to prefer going without one in this day and age. There is everything positive to be accomplished when people are able and willing to reach out for, appreciate and achieve a reasonable understanding based upon honest-to-goodness consideration. Thank You VIASAT, and know that this customer truly appreciates you! Best regards.

Pretty good!

4.00 Stars

on April 25, 2019

I just moved to an address with no internet access. I struggle for weeks trying to figure out what to do and after reading reviews and getting a referral, I chose Viasat. Their install was not as prompt as I would have liked but the internet is great. It was installed on a rainy, cloudy day, but the connection was comparable to DSL or even high speed internet. I can do business, check social media, or stream with no problems. It does everything I need. However, I've only had the service for two weeks so time will tell.

Service would be decent if not for the upper end cap

2.00 Stars

on April 17, 2019

Having used the service for over a year, I wouldn't have too much negative to say except for the throttle down of their so-called unlimited service of 150 GB. Once this occurs, you are basically unable to do anything, including surfing websites. They may claim they throttle it down during peak times but I have found once you are throttled down, it's basically until your service month resets. They would do a lot for their customers if they offered true unlimited service for the hefty price tag they charge for their service.

A local Catoosa civilian’s experience

4.00 Stars

on March 06, 2019

The download and the internet are great especially out here. But the upload is just so bad compared to the download. Especially when you got WiFi for gaming. I’m going above 600 ping constantly. It’s great for watching YouTube and browsing but definitely not for gaming.

They were great for about 18 months

4.00 Stars

on February 02, 2019

I live out in the country where there haven't been any good options for internet service. That was until about 18 months ago when I signed up for Viasat (formerly Exede) for the second time after having nothing but problems with my wireless carrier's internet service. I bought the "Unlimited Silver 25" plan for $150/month + taxes and everything was great. I was promised that I wouldn't be throttled until I used up 150 GB of data, which I never did. Everything stayed great until a couple of weeks ago when they changed their terms of service so that people with the "grandfathered unlimited" plans like the one I had got to go back of the line whenever there was any network congestion, i.e., anytime in the evening or on weekends. Now I get maybe 2 Mbps at best on evenings or weekends, rather than the up to 25 Mbps I was getting before. I understand that they need to make money, but punishing their old customers so they "upgrade" to plans with lower caps and higher prices is really not a good way to do business. Now it's back to looking for an alternative...

They came straight out after I paid for the installation

4.00 Stars

on January 14, 2019

The service is great been working great no problems overall value worth the money

Satalite speed test

5.00 Stars

on January 04, 2019

Customer service is good and organized if you have a concern. They make sure that it is a quick service and I have no problem with our internet service.

Works great

4.00 Stars

on November 16, 2018

Works great, I love it. The top package is awesome -- you can do just about anything with it as long as you're responsible. I have friends that have the middle package and they love it. Seems the middle package is The Sweet Spot for pricing and speed. The technician was also great. very helpful and took his time to explain a lot of things.

Always online fast speeds

4.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

The system works very well always online and fast speeds, the only thing is the price compared to Unlimited cell phone service, it's expensive.

Im happy with it

4.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

I don't get all the negative reviews. I haven't ever had any of those issues. Only break in service is during extreme weather, well I knew that was part of the territory anyway. My test speeds, if done late at night, are almost always higher than advertised, and during busy times, average a bit lower, again, I expect this. The only negative thing about satellite internet, ANY brand of satellite internet, is the darn latency times. You get used to it I guess though. It's like driving two different types of cars, both are fast cars, buy one handles quicker than the other, best way I can describe it.

Fantastic Speeds all the time

4.00 Stars

on August 09, 2018

I subscribed to a 12Mbps plan and rarely go under 15Mbps. Sometimes I get 21Mbps on my 12Mbps plan. The trick is to have a hot NIC (Network Interface Card). This makes a huge difference because even though you may have a 1Gb NIC, it may not handle the local source's (Satellite Modem) transfer characteristics. At least 90% of ViaSat subscribers could have faster speeds with a better NIC, even as an add-on device (PCI, PCIe, USB). Most customers that complain have junk computers that couldn't handle a fast connection no matter where it came from.

Awesome Sauce

5.00 Stars

on July 31, 2018

This is the greatest internet & home phone service I have ever had. Easy to set up and clear voice on phone. Bundling is the way to go here. I love the price and tech support. You can't bet it, so try it!

Too slow

4.00 Stars

on November 24, 2017

Customer service is great. Though I need faster speed, what we have is reliable. I have been with Exede for at least 10 years.

As expected

5.00 Stars

on November 18, 2017

No issues.

Best satellite provider in my area

3.00 Stars

on July 20, 2017

It's satellite but It's the best one out of the bunch. Unlike the other providers, Exede simply throttles you after you go over your monthly data cap while also offering you uncapped free data in the early hours. They call it "Liberty Pass". At throttled speeds, I get roughly 5-10mbps during peak hours. Again, It's satellite, so expect the usual limitations like latency/ping and low speeds compared to a wired ISP.

Exede review

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

Limited high speed internet allowance. We burn through our monthly allowance (10 GB) within a week, then have unusable speed for remainder of month.

Okay, no streaming.

4.00 Stars

on July 03, 2017

Liberty Pass is a good option for a no-internet area. The problem is you pay for 12 GB's. When it's all used up, the pass they give is slow. Also the plan is $69 for 12 GB and you can't stream with that small amount. It meets all my internet needs except streaming.

Better than dialup

3.00 Stars

on May 28, 2017

I got the best plan for my internet habits but not for my internet needs. Online Gaming makes me not like Exede.

Exede internet

Alice Seymour on March 04, 2017

Exede is great except for the data cap. If my granddaughter watches a lot of Youtube videos, my internet slows to a crawl and I can't do anything, I can't watch Netflix because the data gets used up. Just wish there was no data cap and it was a little cheaper for what you get. Thank you.

Best High Speed Internet - Anywhere

5.00 Stars

on December 21, 2016

If your looking for High Speed Internet Service, w/ virtually 100% reliability, look no further! I have had this service for over 3 years, now. One outage only 6 minutes. Local Dealer; Outstanding Customer Service from Local & National. Some areas with Phone Service, Call. Several plans Residential, Business. Virtually Anywhere! HSI High Speed Internet did/does it all; Just call Janis at 928 961-4614

Exede

4.00 Stars

on November 10, 2016

If you're in a remote area where the only broadband service available is satellite internet, then Exede can be more cost-effective (e.g., EXEDE12 10GB, with unlimited data during overnight "free zone" period).

service

4.00 Stars

on October 26, 2016

I am with excede through Dish and MBPs are limited to 10 @ $50 a mo, can buy 5 more mbps at $20! EXPENSIVE!!!! they slow down my service when I reach more than 256 or something like that. I now run my phone& tv & computer on this and it is not enough. Not happy. They should offer more mbps

Not for gamer

3.00 Stars

on September 15, 2016

Plain and simple, if you're a gamer, nope not for you, if not, then it's great.

Good service, don't like data limits or pricing.

3.00 Stars

on August 22, 2016

Priced too high and cap on data is not good. Speed is fine, reliability is great.

Exede and me

5.00 Stars

on June 20, 2016

I'm very happy with Exede except I don't have enough data to watch Netflix. I'm over limit because I want to watch Orange is the New Black. I can only watch it between midnight and 5 am. Why can't I get unlimited data?

Works Great

4.00 Stars

on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, no problems!

Stable but Expensive, Relatively Slow, and Capped

4.00 Stars

on May 03, 2016

Reliable service, except during a storm, but that doesn't last long. About 5Mbps download / 0.5 Mbps up. Largest package 60 GB/month, so not good for streaming video. 650 ms latency, so VoIP not good, but usable. $130/mo. But, in 5 yrs, no outages lasting more than 1 hour.

Overall

5.00 Stars

on March 29, 2016

I have been with Exede for 18 months and overall I am very satisfied, typical with satellite internet is it is very expensive, 10 Mbps goes fast at $60.00 a month.

Fast most of the time

4.00 Stars

on January 20, 2016

It's fast most of the time but the ping is in the 700s. They do offer new data plans like the "Liberty Plans" which means you get at least 12mbps, but I get around 20Mbps for your priority data. After you use all your data, your data is slowed to 5Mbps. Still good enough for Netflix. The only problem is the ping and then it would be amazing.

Caps

4.00 Stars

on January 14, 2016

Great service but 10 GB /month cap is way too limiting.

Exede is least expensive satellite provider

4.00 Stars

on January 12, 2016

Happy with everything about Exede except the low data allowance.

Not good

2.00 Stars

on December 28, 2015

Fine for basic email and web browsing but limited downloads. You can't watch movies etc.

Good service, but data limits

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

The speed is great and works well from the cabin in the woods, but the data cap will allow maybe to stream movies a month.

Floyd VA

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

Limited internet, when you reach your allowed amount you drop to low speed internet. For the price, it should be unlimited. To save data and watch Netflix or movies off the web, best to watch between 12 to 5 am.

Pretty good for Satellite internet

4.00 Stars

on August 19, 2015

I can't complain too much. The customer service for most part has helped me out and because I don't have many options because of location, they are the best at what they do. The only thing I would change is data allowance because I have young ones now who love to use the web and use sites like YouTube and that burns through data. So if they released plans for higher data like I have been hearing, then I would give them 5 stars.

Monthly data cap

4.00 Stars

on July 04, 2015

Service is great, price is right. The only limitation is monthly cap. If you are a heavy streamer, you would need to upgrade basic package to avoid monthly cap.

Good service

4.00 Stars

on June 25, 2015

Always had great service. Reason for possible change is we are moving to new area.

Exede Evolution is a lifesaver.

4.00 Stars

on June 19, 2015

I live in a very rural part of Virginia and have no access to traditional (wired) broadband providers. I work from home and have two teenage sons, one of whom takes many online courses from the local college. Exede's Evolution plan works for me. It is affordable and provides adequate caps to provide for a worry-free internet experience We do not stream very much video, but the Evolution Plan will work for simple browsing and email even when caps are exceeded.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Viasat Internet Reviews FAQ

Viasat, formerly known as Exede, is one of the most common satellite Internet options in the US. Our Viasat Internet reviews are all from current customers, including current Viasat customers and “Exede” customers from before the brand name change. Viasat launched a new satellite in 2018, leapfrogging their main competitor HughesNet in terms of speed and data packages.

Can Current Customers Leave Viasat Internet Reviews?

Any current customer of Viasat or Exede can leave a review using the “write a review” button above. We also serve pop-ups to random Viasat customers using our site, to ensure that we get a mix of negative vs positive Viasat reviews.

When you leave your review, please be sure to include helpful and detailed justification for your star rating.

Exede Internet vs Viasat Internet: What’s the Difference?

Exede changed their name to Viasat in 2017, as part of a move to re-brand their consumer-oriented services. The service is essentially the same, although they upgraded their satellite in 2018 to allow quasi-unlimited plans. (Plans that are unlimited, but throttle traffic after 150GB or so).

How Are Reviews Filtered? Why Can’t I See Mine?

We manually approve reviews, and cannot publish reviews that don’t meet our publication standards. Reviews that rant, use all-caps or bad grammar, or fail to include specific reasoning for a good or bad rating will not be approved.

Recurring Issues in Viasat (Exede) Internet Customer Reviews

As noted in the Viasat/Exede reviews above, Viasat suffers from all the regular issues with satellite Internet: reduced speeds, low bandwidth, high latency, and long contracts. These are unfortunate issues, but basically standard for rural Internet. Most customers that use Viasat Internet live in areas where DSL and other wired options are non-existent. This means that while Viasat has it’s share of issues, it’s better than nothing — and in their defense, the new satellite upgrade has improved the service for streamers and Netflix viewers significantly.

Viasat Internet Star Ratings

As of 2020, we've collected 8,863 ratings of Viasat Internet from current customers. 35.3 percent of those customers indicated that they would recommend Viasat's services. Keep in mind, many of these reviews were collected before the 2018 launch of increases speed and unlimited data plans.