Exede Internet Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Exede Internet's service. To see if broadband Internet from Exede Internet is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Exede Internet Service

Exede Internet

2.12 Stars  206 Reviews
2.12 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.4%
4 Star
9.2%
3 Star
14.1%
2 Star
30.1%
1 Star
29.6%

Leave a Review For Exede Internet

Are you a current or former Exede Internet customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Pretty good for Satellite internet

4.00 Stars

on August 19, 2015

I can't complain too much. The customer service for most part has helped me out and because I don't have many options because of location, they are the best at what they do. The only thing I would change is data allowance because I have young ones now who love to use the web and use sites like YouTube and that burns through data. So if they released plans for higher data like I have been hearing, then I would give them 5 stars.

Stable but Expensive, Relatively Slow, and Capped

4.00 Stars

on May 03, 2016

Reliable service, except during a storm, but that doesn't last long. About 5Mbps download / 0.5 Mbps up. Largest package 60 GB/month, so not good for streaming video. 650 ms latency, so VoIP not good, but usable. $130/mo. But, in 5 yrs, no outages lasting more than 1 hour.

Best satellite provider in my area

3.00 Stars

on July 20, 2017

It's satellite but It's the best one out of the bunch. Unlike the other providers, Exede simply throttles you after you go over your monthly data cap while also offering you uncapped free data in the early hours. They call it "Liberty Pass". At throttled speeds, I get roughly 5-10mbps during peak hours. Again, It's satellite, so expect the usual limitations like latency/ping and low speeds compared to a wired ISP.

You will pay

4.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

The internet connection is good but when you run our of data it is just as slow as dial up. I have the old 15 GB plan with unlimited data between 12 midnight and 5 am and I pay 79.99 each month. The newer plan you get a little more gigs during the day but the free internet time is cut down to between 3 am and 6 am. I keep that plan because my son will use the internet late at night. For 79.99 I could get unlimited internet all day in the city. Our service has been very reliable, only cutting out in very heavy cloud cover to the south of us. Another new plan they have is 150 GB for $150. If I am going to pay $150, I would like to have unlimited. So you will pay an arm and a leg for Exede (Viast) because they know you don't have any other choice.

Exede Evolution is a lifesaver.

4.00 Stars

on June 19, 2015

I live in a very rural part of Virginia and have no access to traditional (wired) broadband providers. I work from home and have two teenage sons, one of whom takes many online courses from the local college. Exede's Evolution plan works for me. It is affordable and provides adequate caps to provide for a worry-free internet experience We do not stream very much video, but the Evolution Plan will work for simple browsing and email even when caps are exceeded.

Too slow

4.00 Stars

on November 24, 2017

Customer service is great. Though I need faster speed, what we have is reliable. I have been with Exede for at least 10 years.

Good service, don't like data limits or pricing.

3.00 Stars

on August 22, 2016

Priced too high and cap on data is not good. Speed is fine, reliability is great.

Exede internet

1.00 Stars

on March 04, 2017

Exede is great except for the data cap. If my granddaughter watches a lot of Youtube videos, my internet slows to a crawl and I can't do anything, I can't watch Netflix because the data gets used up. Just wish there was no data cap and it was a little cheaper for what you get. Thank you.

Exede is okay, but not enough.

4.00 Stars

on June 03, 2017

I've had Exede for a few years now, and while it's the best I could get my hands on out where I live, it's far from perfect. I don't have tons of money to spend, so I only have a 10 gig plan, and it tends to go fast, but thankfully they give you a late night free zone which for me tends to last from midnight to 5 AM. Sadly the plan I have no longer exists, and the only plans offered only give you 3 hours for a late night free zone. I lose my service sometimes when it rains. I and at random if the weather is bad for them up north where their main ground station is, then I end up losing it that way as well along with every other customer. If anything better ever comes to my area, I will jump at it... but for now, it's the best that I feel I can get. As of this writing, they have sent a new satellite into orbit called Viasat 2 which once operational should allow for more robust plans, or so they claim. From what I am hearing that means plants that give you 150 gigs for 100 dollars a month... that's still too much money for very little in my opinion. I live in a small sub-division called Big Thicket Retreat and it's in Votaw, more people move out here all the time.. and it shocks me to no end that we still have nothing better out here. I can only dream of better, but until better comes. Exede is at least better than Hughes Net. So if you can get Hughes Net, I say go for it! But if you can get better... then get better. I know I will once better come here.

Exede internet

4.00 Stars

on December 29, 2015

Amount of data you are allowed is not enough in today's technical world. I exceed my allotment every month in the first two weeks. I do not play games, stream music or movies would love to take advantage of Netflix and my free prime movies if I could.

Exede is least expensive satellite provider

4.00 Stars

on January 12, 2016

Happy with everything about Exede except the low data allowance.

Fast most of the time

4.00 Stars

on January 20, 2016

It's fast most of the time but the ping is in the 700s. They do offer new data plans like the "Liberty Plans" which means you get at least 12mbps, but I get around 20Mbps for your priority data. After you use all your data, your data is slowed to 5Mbps. Still good enough for Netflix. The only problem is the ping and then it would be amazing.

Overall

5.00 Stars

on March 29, 2016

I have been with Exede for 18 months and overall I am very satisfied, typical with satellite internet is it is very expensive, 10 Mbps goes fast at $60.00 a month.

Needs improvement

1.00 Stars

on February 28, 2018

Internet isn't very good. Would not recommend. Has a very high ping an I can't play games or voice chat.

Poor internet service.

2.00 Stars

on February 22, 2018

We have had this service for more than a few years now and the service and reliability has been rapidly declining in the past 2 years. We pay for 12 Mbps for $70.00 per month and we run out before the second week of each month every month! Then, we are put on Liberty Pass for the remainder of the month which is worse than dial up! This has even happened when we are away on vacation and nobody's home using it! We are now faced with the decision of doing without internet or continuing to be frustrated while paying this outrageous price for next to nothing of a service as we live rural and have very few choices in providers. We don't even download large files, movies, or anything that would account for this. I would not recommend this provider as we are about done with such shoddy service ourselves.

Not worth the trouble

1.00 Stars

on December 14, 2017

Since day one of a two year contract, I find the the service goes down multiple times a day. I am so tired of calling the so called customer service. For the past two days, every time I check, I am getting less than 0.5 Mbps download speed and less than 1 Mbps upload. I am in the process of looking for a replacement provider. I would not reccomend Exede Internet to anyone.

Too Slow

2.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

I pay for 10mbps but only got 2-3Mbps on average. Customer service was always nice but not very helpful. All I was ever told was I had a great connection and I was using the internet during peak times. For the money I pay now I can get A LOT faster speeds through another provider.

Poor Customer Service

3.00 Stars

on September 20, 2017

Speed is fine, reliability is very good, but if you ever need to communicate with anyone at Exede about your account, you might as well be trying to contact the "Man In The Moon". The Exede website is bad and you will never get a person to answer a phone call.

Exede review

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

Limited high speed internet allowance. We burn through our monthly allowance (10 GB) within a week, then have unusable speed for remainder of month.

Okay, no streaming.

4.00 Stars

on July 03, 2017

Liberty Pass is a good option for a no-internet area. The problem is you pay for 12 GB's. When it's all used up, the pass they give is slow. Also the plan is $69 for 12 GB and you can't stream with that small amount. It meets all my internet needs except streaming.

Better than dialup

3.00 Stars

on May 28, 2017

I got the best plan for my internet habits but not for my internet needs Online Gaming makes me not like Exede.

Data limits in today's world make satelite internet service almost useless

2.00 Stars

on March 24, 2017

Well $120.00 a month for 18 Gb and $10.00 per Gb after that along with inherent weather issues make satellite a bad choice, in my opinion, and forget it if you intend to view video online or if more than 1 person uses much internet in your home, I "upgraded" to their higher speed modem/router advertised as 25Mbps and real-world speed test was 11.2 Mbps often times slows to a crawl.

As a last resort it's not bad

2.00 Stars

on January 27, 2017

Low latency for satellite service since they are LEO. ~$70/mth for a 5GB hi-speed + unlimited "faster than modem" speed Bonus is unmetered/unthrottled overnight (3am-8am) I can get around 45Mbps during that time frame. Reliability is as good as your view of the Southern sky. It's susceptible to rain fade, but mine is dialed in pretty tight so it has to be a pretty heavy storm to cut out. If you have a copper or fiber connection option do not use satellite. I have no choice, it's this or a ridiculously expensive 4G plan.

Exede

4.00 Stars

on November 10, 2016

If you're in a remote area where the only broadband service available is satellite internet, then Exede can be more cost-effective (e.g., EXEDE12 10GB, with unlimited data during overnight "free zone" period).

Service is ok

3.00 Stars

on October 04, 2016

Ok service, slow due to weather.

Not for gamer

3.00 Stars

on September 15, 2016

Plain and simple, if you're a gamer, nope not for you, if not, then it's great.

If your only option is satellite go with Exede, if not, stay away from sattelite isps

2.00 Stars

on July 29, 2016

We ordered Exede satellite internet because there was nothing else. CONS: The 10 GB ($60 plan) data cap is always used up in days when Exede throttles the speed to dial up speeds. Don't expect to be able to game with this either. PROS: Customer Service is always helpful and has the solution most of the time. Some plans have a time zone (ours being from 12am-5am) when usage is unlimited and speeds aren't throttled even if you've gone over the cap, which is great for when you have big downloads. Not so great if you work early. You'll need a router with Exede's modem.

Exede Data Cap Hurts

3.00 Stars

on July 23, 2016

Due to low data caps and severe throttling it is impossible to live in the 21st century rapidly growing streaming world of the internet. If you are satisfied with just searching the web without using flash video or video enabling apps then you will like Exede.

Exede and me

5.00 Stars

on June 20, 2016

I'm very happy with Exede except I don't have enough data to watch Netflix. I'm over limit because I want to watch Orange is the New Black. I can only watch it between midnight and 5 am. Why can't I get unlimited data?

Works Great

4.00 Stars

on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, no problems!

Caps

4.00 Stars

on January 14, 2016

Great service but 10 GB /month cap is way too limiting.

Not good

2.00 Stars

on December 28, 2015

Fine for basic email and web browsing but limited downloads. You can't watch movies etc.

At least I'm online

4.00 Stars

on November 27, 2015

So I'm comparing this to the other satellite options, if you can get cable/DSL, I would suggest doing so instead of satellite. I like it better than the old HughesNet. The biggest thing is that I get unlimited data usage from 12am-5am... So it's not too bad, just still limited with weather conditions and all the normal stuff that comes with satellite. But hey ... at least I'm online.

Exede Internet

3.00 Stars

on November 02, 2015

Exede is a good service, they are having growing pains but my internet needs far exceed their capacity or any Satellite providers capacity. And as time goes on, my signal grows weaker especially at 3 PM in the afternoon when schools out & all kids use phones. I have experienced this with all providers outside San Antonio. I use internet for stock market and can not even use this service now for trading. It is great but no longer reliable for trading. I am moving to San Antonio for a retirement home and a better connection and will call Exceed for their recommendation on providers or inquire if they have cable connections there. Below would probably be all 4 stars if I was regular internet user.

Good service, but data limits

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

The speed is great and works well from the cabin in the woods, but the data cap will allow maybe to stream movies a month.

Floyd VA

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

Limited internet, when you reach your allowed amount you drop to low speed internet. For the price, it should be unlimited. To save data and watch Netflix or movies off the web, best to watch between 12 to 5 am.

Exede through Dish

4.00 Stars

on July 11, 2015

Great to have this service in the country, but data caps are ridiculous for money paid each month. Looking for something unlimited. Too bad fiber optic isn't coming to rural areas very quickly.

Monthly data cap

4.00 Stars

on July 04, 2015

Service is great, price is right. The only limitation is monthly cap. If you are a heavy streamer, you would need to upgrade basic package to avoid monthly cap.

Good service

4.00 Stars

on June 25, 2015

Always had great service. Reason for possible change is we are moving to new area.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC