Viasat Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Viasat's service. To see if broadband Internet from Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Check Availability

Get in touch with a sales agent or view all available internet plans

Check Availability

(844) 574-8209 View Plans

1.61 Stars  865 Reviews
1.61 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.2%
4 Star
3.9%
3 Star
6.2%
2 Star
28.3%
1 Star
59.4%

Leave a Review For Viasat Internet (formerly Exede)

Are you a current or former Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Not worth the trouble

1.00 Stars

on December 14, 2017

Since day one of a two year contract, I find the the service goes down multiple times a day. I am so tired of calling the so called customer service. For the past two days, every time I check, I am getting less than 0.5 Mbps download speed and less than 1 Mbps upload. I am in the process of looking for a replacement provider. I would not reccomend Exede Internet to anyone.

Awful Internet Service

2.00 Stars

on October 02, 2018

We've had Viasat for only a few weeks. Keeping them is just not worth it. We started out with a basic plan which was terrible, and I upped it to their highest package ($200/mth) and we still have a mediocre connection. Our son likes to play online multi-player games, and it's completely impossible. (He was attempting to download a game today and the download time is predicted at 25 days.) Unworkable for our household. I'm disappointed and I wish I had done more research before trying Viasat.

Poor internet service.

2.00 Stars

on February 22, 2018

We have had this service for more than a few years now and the service and reliability has been rapidly declining in the past 2 years. We pay for 12 Mbps for $70.00 per month and we run out before the second week of each month every month! Then, we are put on Liberty Pass for the remainder of the month which is worse than dial up! This has even happened when we are away on vacation and nobody's home using it! We are now faced with the decision of doing without internet or continuing to be frustrated while paying this outrageous price for next to nothing of a service as we live rural and have very few choices in providers. We don't even download large files, movies, or anything that would account for this. I would not recommend this provider as we are about done with such shoddy service ourselves.

If your only option is satellite go with Exede, if not, stay away from sattelite isps

2.00 Stars

on July 29, 2016

We ordered Exede satellite internet because there was nothing else. CONS: The 10 GB ($60 plan) data cap is always used up in days when Exede throttles the speed to dial up speeds. Don't expect to be able to game with this either. PROS: Customer Service is always helpful and has the solution most of the time. Some plans have a time zone (ours being from 12am-5am) when usage is unlimited and speeds aren't throttled even if you've gone over the cap, which is great for when you have big downloads. Not so great if you work early. You'll need a router with Exede's modem.

If you have other choices use them

2.00 Stars

on June 14, 2018

Like many that have left reviews here, I live just outside of the "dependable" zone of internet providers. There is no way Viasat is recording my usage correctly - I was away on business for four days and no one in the house I apparently used 13 GB. They throttle you to .02 so it's basically useless, but you "technically" have service. I have had it for three months and have had to switch plans (Upgrade) and reboot at least twice a week. I will say that the people I have talked to on the phone have been pleasant and responsive. Hopefully, Viasat will be bought by a legitimate communications company who will gouge me each month, but at least provide me the ability to stream more than four shows a week.

Worst internet I have had in 15 years of internet....

1.00 Stars

on June 19, 2018

I have had this internet for a year and a half now and have had more issues than I haven't. Read the fine print people. I am lucky if I am getting 5 to 6 Mbps during off "peak" hours. A lot of times it's usually around 3. And in "peak" times I am getting less than 1 Mbps. They think this is acceptable but it is not. I have spent more hours on the phone with their "customer service" than I actually have done anything I wanted to when I actually have time to get on the computer. I would not recommend. If you have any other choice than Viasat go with that.

Too Slow

2.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

I pay for 10mbps but only got 2-3Mbps on average. Customer service was always nice but not very helpful. All I was ever told was I had a great connection and I was using the internet during peak times. For the money I pay now I can get A LOT faster speeds through another provider.

Not good

2.00 Stars

on December 28, 2015

Fine for basic email and web browsing but limited downloads. You can't watch movies etc.

Exede review

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

Limited high speed internet allowance. We burn through our monthly allowance (10 GB) within a week, then have unusable speed for remainder of month.

Poor Customer Service

3.00 Stars

on September 20, 2017

Speed is fine, reliability is very good, but if you ever need to communicate with anyone at Exede about your account, you might as well be trying to contact the "Man In The Moon". The Exede website is bad and you will never get a person to answer a phone call.

Data limits in today's world make satelite internet service almost useless

2.00 Stars

on March 24, 2017

Well $120.00 a month for 18 Gb and $10.00 per Gb after that along with inherent weather issues make satellite a bad choice, in my opinion, and forget it if you intend to view video online or if more than 1 person uses much internet in your home, I "upgraded" to their higher speed modem/router advertised as 25Mbps and real-world speed test was 11.2 Mbps often times slows to a crawl.

You will pay

4.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

The internet connection is good but when you run our of data it is just as slow as dial up. I have the old 15 GB plan with unlimited data between 12 midnight and 5 am and I pay 79.99 each month. The newer plan you get a little more gigs during the day but the free internet time is cut down to between 3 am and 6 am. I keep that plan because my son will use the internet late at night. For 79.99 I could get unlimited internet all day in the city. Our service has been very reliable, only cutting out in very heavy cloud cover to the south of us. Another new plan they have is 150 GB for $150. If I am going to pay $150, I would like to have unlimited. So you will pay an arm and a leg for Exede (Viast) because they know you don't have any other choice.

Exede internet

Alice Seymour on March 04, 2017

Exede is great except for the data cap. If my granddaughter watches a lot of Youtube videos, my internet slows to a crawl and I can't do anything, I can't watch Netflix because the data gets used up. Just wish there was no data cap and it was a little cheaper for what you get. Thank you.

Slow streaming

2.00 Stars

on August 26, 2018

The streaming service is very slow or nonexistent. Unable to use the internet during peak hours starting at 08:00 pm to 10:30 pm. Cannot watch Netflix or Amazon Prime and I'm paying for the subscription.

Dial Up was faster than Viasat

Vincent on September 02, 2018

Once I've used up my 150 Gigs, during their peak times I can only get an average of .26 Mbps for download speeds. It can take 3 minutes just to open a simple web page and there is no chance of streaming a movie. I'd cancel my service but I'm stuck with a two-year contract.

Exede Data Cap Hurts

3.00 Stars

on July 23, 2016

Due to low data caps and severe throttling it is impossible to live in the 21st century rapidly growing streaming world of the internet. If you are satisfied with just searching the web without using flash video or video enabling apps then you will like Exede.

Exede internet

4.00 Stars

on December 29, 2015

Amount of data you are allowed is not enough in today's technical world. I exceed my allotment every month in the first two weeks. I do not play games, stream music or movies would love to take advantage of Netflix and my free prime movies if I could.

Good service, don't like data limits or pricing.

3.00 Stars

on August 22, 2016

Priced too high and cap on data is not good. Speed is fine, reliability is great.

Not for gamer

3.00 Stars

on September 15, 2016

Plain and simple, if you're a gamer, nope not for you, if not, then it's great.

Stable but Expensive, Relatively Slow, and Capped

4.00 Stars

on May 03, 2016

Reliable service, except during a storm, but that doesn't last long. About 5Mbps download / 0.5 Mbps up. Largest package 60 GB/month, so not good for streaming video. 650 ms latency, so VoIP not good, but usable. $130/mo. But, in 5 yrs, no outages lasting more than 1 hour.

Not worth the money

1.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

This service is absolutely poor. I would suggest getting a cell phone hub instead of satellite. We have not been able to watch Netflix let alone enough speed to play X-Box or PlayStation. System gives you so many gigs of data but doesn't tell you when it is out - they just slow the service down anytime they want to. I honestly can say even at their “faster speed” I cannot tell a difference from slow to fast. I would not recommend this service, if I could give it zero stars I would have. Unfortunately, you cannot just cancel the service as they lock you into a two-year contract.

Horrible customer service and service period

1.00 Stars

on September 19, 2018

We recently bought a house in the country, we decided to get Viasat for Internet. This was the worst choice and decision that we made. Constant satellite outage, horrible Internet service when it was working. I was asked what we use our service for and I told them that we stream video service and I was told the package that I got would be perfect for it. However, videos would never play or constantly buffer. When I called and complained I was basically told that there was nothing they could do and in so many words to go fly a kite. It wasn’t until I finally was fed up after only having the service for two months and paying $114 per month then I decided to cancel. At this point then and only then I had customer service trying to offer me adjustments in order to keep service. One would think that even with a contract agreement that if the customer service and the service was this horrendous, they would waive early termination fees especially when you’ve only had service for two months. I’ve been a police officer for 17 years and I pride myself on professionalism, and this company has no idea what professionalism is let alone customer service. Highly not recommended.

Terrible internet speed, most expensive.

1.00 Stars

on February 08, 2019

I live in an area where there are few internet options. From the day it was installed, I could not stream any video, Netflix was pixelated, and all others were constantly buffering. There is a very high ping rate (distance away from whatever you need to provide service). Web pages were very slow to load and I could not even stream music. When I called in, the only solution was to sell me more data bringing up the cost of the plan to nearly $170. In my opinion, a contract is a two-way obligation, you provide a service and you get paid. After four months, I disconnected and finally found a fixed wireless carrier. They would not forgo the contract charges, stating that I did not adequately document my concerns (I would have had to call them every day). Very Expensive and awful service.

Best satellite provider in my area

3.00 Stars

on July 20, 2017

It's satellite but It's the best one out of the bunch. Unlike the other providers, Exede simply throttles you after you go over your monthly data cap while also offering you uncapped free data in the early hours. They call it "Liberty Pass". At throttled speeds, I get roughly 5-10mbps during peak hours. Again, It's satellite, so expect the usual limitations like latency/ping and low speeds compared to a wired ISP.

Worst internet service I have ever had and I am old

1.00 Stars

on November 07, 2018

Service goes in and out through out the day. Lots of buffering so forget downloading a movie. Too expensive for what you get. Customer service is terrible.

Pretty good for Satellite internet

4.00 Stars

on August 19, 2015

I can't complain too much. The customer service for most part has helped me out and because I don't have many options because of location, they are the best at what they do. The only thing I would change is data allowance because I have young ones now who love to use the web and use sites like YouTube and that burns through data. So if they released plans for higher data like I have been hearing, then I would give them 5 stars.

Exede through Dish

4.00 Stars

on July 11, 2015

Great to have this service in the country, but data caps are ridiculous for money paid each month. Looking for something unlimited. Too bad fiber optic isn't coming to rural areas very quickly.

Exede Evolution is a lifesaver.

4.00 Stars

on June 19, 2015

I live in a very rural part of Virginia and have no access to traditional (wired) broadband providers. I work from home and have two teenage sons, one of whom takes many online courses from the local college. Exede's Evolution plan works for me. It is affordable and provides adequate caps to provide for a worry-free internet experience We do not stream very much video, but the Evolution Plan will work for simple browsing and email even when caps are exceeded.

Floyd VA

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

Limited internet, when you reach your allowed amount you drop to low speed internet. For the price, it should be unlimited. To save data and watch Netflix or movies off the web, best to watch between 12 to 5 am.

Needs improvement

1.00 Stars

on February 28, 2018

Internet isn't very good. Would not recommend. Has a very high ping an I can't play games or voice chat.

Worst than dial up

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

I have had this internet service since they were called Wildblue, over 5 years now. The ONLY reason I still pay is that it's all we can get where I live. We have had nothing but problems. The cost is simply ridiculous for the lack of internet they provide. $75 a month for super slow speeds, so much down time it isn't funny, resetting the modem on a weekly basis, and never having internet when I need it. I rely 90% on my cell service due to ViaSat doing absolutely nothing. Speeds so slow I can't even run my wireless printer. Can't even load YouTube in 360, Netflix does nothing but buffer. Online gaming, Hulu, Prime, and Shudder are impossible. And their claim to fame is viewing emails and web pages? Guess what, it takes forever to do both of those even before you hit their data cap.

Service Has Been Going Down Hill For A While Now

2.00 Stars

on September 08, 2018

I have the max plan with boost 25Mbps speed and I'm lucky if I get 5Mbps most of the time. I constantly have to reset my system and then Viasat tells me that it is just the pipeline congestion. Problem is I pay over $100 per month for what I could get for $30 per month from the local cable company. They just have to run the wires down the road for me, but I'm about to ask them because I'm so frustrated with Viasat/Exede. I would not advise picking up Viasat.

Too slow

4.00 Stars

on November 24, 2017

Customer service is great. Though I need faster speed, what we have is reliable. I have been with Exede for at least 10 years.

As a last resort it's not bad

2.00 Stars

on January 27, 2017

Low latency for satellite service since they are LEO. ~$70/mth for a 5GB hi-speed + unlimited "faster than modem" speed Bonus is unmetered/unthrottled overnight (3am-8am) I can get around 45Mbps during that time frame. Reliability is as good as your view of the Southern sky. It's susceptible to rain fade, but mine is dialed in pretty tight so it has to be a pretty heavy storm to cut out. If you have a copper or fiber connection option do not use satellite. I have no choice, it's this or a ridiculously expensive 4G plan.

Good service

4.00 Stars

on June 25, 2015

Always had great service. Reason for possible change is we are moving to new area.

Caps

4.00 Stars

on January 14, 2016

Great service but 10 GB /month cap is way too limiting.

Could care less about their customers

2.00 Stars

on October 22, 2018

I am new to satellite, having moved to a rural area. I was actually pleasantly surprised by the speed. My business is online and I work from home. We run webinars and do conference calls. The technology is certainly capable. Where they drop the ball is their customer service. I initially purchased because I heard about the unlimited plans coming soon. So I signed up, with the understanding those would be opening up. Initially, we were on the 50GB plan, with certain hours during the night as a free zone. Since I work online, the data had to be strictly managed and streaming any kind of video for entertainment is unfortunately not an option. Finally, the "free plans" opened up. However, there is a "priority data" period. The entry level plan at $100 a month allows you 35GB. However, after that, they limit your speed to dial up range. There is also no free zone during the night where you can schedule large file downloads. Since the local installer is the one who set this up, there was no disclaimer read that once you switch to the new plan you cannot switch back. Turns out the old plans were better and the "unlimited plans" are in no way unlimited. So I had to end up going to their max plan to get close to where I was before. For $200, twice what I was paying before, we get 65 GB. As soon as we hit that limit, we get dial-up speeds. It took me 15 minutes to load a webpage. I explained to them the situation but they could care less and would not let me switch back. If I had any other option, I would never stay with this company.

Will be done with this company as soon as my contract is up

1.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

We have been with Exede/Viasat for about a year and a half now. We don't watch many videos but we do play Facebook games. We have the basic plan and run out of data a week or two weeks after we get it every month. For the nearly $75 a month we pay, even after that, we should at least be able to load a page reliably. I just downloaded a VPN and found out that they are blocking us. I would imagine that is to get us to upgrade.

Speed is slow , impossible to use, termination fees!

2.00 Stars

on August 22, 2018

We've tried to use the service but it is way too slow, the speed sometimes drops to 1-2 Mbps compared to the offered speed of 15 Mbps. We didn't notice that the contract says "up to" 15 Mbps so we are supposed to pay a termination fee.

Uses Data while disconnected from power

1.00 Stars

on September 20, 2018

Been a customer for over 3 years. Was great until a few months back when I started running out of data 2 weeks before the billing cycle. Last month I decided to start disconnecting their modem between use. My 10GB still didn't even last a week. When I called they told me I was using Netflix. No sir! How does Netflix get used with no power? I only use the internet to print a few invoices daily and submit payroll once weekly. No streaming, no video/audio, etc, not to mention I am the only one with the password. I asked how data gets used while disconnected from the power. They "gave me" 1GB and told me it would be 5-8 days before I would hear from them. That was gone after I printed 10 invoices. I emailed 2 weeks later and was given suggestions to "cut down on data consumption", which I don't do any, to begin with. Over a month later and still not remedied, already used 3GB this billing and I've been in Wyoming for 2 weeks with it unplugged at home. Will be switching just as soon as I find another provider at my remote location.

Better than our previous cellular provider

4.00 Stars

on May 09, 2019

I have only had it for a month, but I have been pleasantly surprised. I have the Unlimited silver 25 plan and we burned up the 100 GB of priority data within 2 weeks. (pent up demand). By the end of the month, we had used about 350 GB. I average 15Gb/s DL speed which is respectable, even once we got past our priority data. Coming from a different cellular provider that was slower than the dial-up I had in 1997, it's a breath of fresh air. I avoided satellite for many years but the newer birds they have in the sky are getting it done pretty well. I'd recommend to anyone with no other options.

Unstable internet

2.00 Stars

on May 09, 2019

The only time I have good internet is when there are clear skies. If it is cloudy, rainy, windy, snow, sleet, overcast, then it buffers about every 45 seconds. It usually takes about 3 hrs. to watch a 60 minute show. Wish I didn't have a contract.

A great help in a remote area

4.00 Stars

on May 06, 2019

I see a lot of negative reviews. It's satellite and not wired device. It has delays (latency) and data caps. I understood the shortcomings of satellite service and accept them for what they are. I've been using the service for 3 years now and work from home. I wish I could keep my plan (50 gig ) and upgrade to more speed.

A HAPPY CUSTOMER FOR MANY YEARS!

5.00 Stars

on May 01, 2019

I have been with VIASAT (formerly Exede) for many years. When I signed up, I reviewed the policies, rules and all information about this ISP service: They are spelled out to the letter. My monthly data allowance is 10 GB. I never get involved with Facebook, YouTube, Twitter or any social media. I never stream movies or music. People use and misuse the internet in and by their usage preferences, not seeming to prioritize even about their own security. My usage is to check e-mails, visit a few specific online shops I have been affiliated with for years, bargain hunt and occasionally do research. I appreciate my ISP. Why? Because from Customer Service to Tech Support, they are excellently professional and compassionately understanding. Through my ISP I can research vintage products of interest made in W. Germany, Spain and throughout the world. I can keep up with the latest happenings in America through honest and reputable sources not covered or often overlooked, by or through the typical television media. All of this and more, from my country acres. There have been times when storms came through that affected satellite service, but I am not about to blame VIASAT for the weather. I had a data usage issue. After a lot of research, I subscribed with a well-known VPN service for the first time. It didn't take me long to experience what a VPN service doesn't tell you. VPNs manage not to tell you just how much of the ISP monthly data allowance they consume. I lost 2/3 of my monthly data allowance, eaten up by the VPN, each month for two months. I did a test and uninstalled the VPN, and my data usage came back to the typical normal. There is a lot that research does not uncover, left up to be discovered by the actual experience. I quit that VPN because I am not paying my ISP for a monthly data allowance or plan, and a VPN for eating up most of it each month. VIASAT was with me throughout this two-month ordeal and I can't say enough about how great their Customer Service and Tech Support is! I am thankful for VIASAT and all of the opportunities of quality it has brought my way. I don't think anyone bellyaching and complaining about any ISP, would ever opt to prefer going without one in this day and age. There is everything positive to be accomplished when people are able and willing to reach out for, appreciate and achieve a reasonable understanding based upon honest-to-goodness consideration. Thank You VIASAT, and know that this customer truly appreciates you! Best regards.

Pretty Good!

4.00 Stars

on April 25, 2019

I just moved to an address with no internet access. I struggle for weeks trying to figure out what to do and after reading reviews and getting a referral, I chose Viasat. Their install was not as prompt as I would have liked, but the internet is great. It was installed on a rainy, cloudy day, but the connection was comparable to dsl or even high speed internet. I can do business, check social media, or stream with no problems. It does everything I need. Although, I've only had the service for two weeks, so time will tell.

Average speeds

2.00 Stars

on April 17, 2019

I moved into a rural area and my options for internet were limited. I chose Viasat/Exede service, that was the only option in my area. Big mistake. I went with the Unlimited Gold plan at $160 a month. Pricey, but would have allowed me to continue to work from home periodically. Turns out, that number is a unicorn. It may exist for a second or two, but you're never going to capture it. Average speeds were closer to 25 - 30 Mbps and that was spotty at best. Upload speeds are usually below 1 Mbps. When I finally complained, I got a response that from their end, my connection looked great! I had 100% uptime, which is awesome when you need 5 hours to download a half-hour TV show. Tomorrow I will pay what I must to end my contract with Viasat. I've paid for 10 months.

Service would be decent if not for the upper end cap

2.00 Stars

on April 17, 2019

Having used the service for over a year, I wouldn't have too much negative to say except for the throttle down of their so-called unlimited service of 150 GB. Once this occurs, you are basically unable to do anything, including surfing websites. They may claim they throttle it down during peak times, but I have found once you are throttled down, it's basically until your service month resets. They would do a lot for their customers if they offered true unlimited service for the hefty price tag they charge for their service.

Poor service

1.00 Stars

on March 20, 2019

After being told they could provide better service for what I needed, I have not received high-speed internet except for the first 2 days. I understand I would be throttled down and agreed to "around 3.5Mbps" which would still be faster than what I had. Now I can't open a page most days, and Internet freezes or shuts off completely says no internet connection. No help by calling tech support, just keeps saying I am over my 35 GB and it will reset in 4 days.

If you have any other choices, choose the other guy

1.00 Stars

on March 12, 2019

They cap your data, so "unlimited" doesn't mean what you think it means. After a certain point in the month, the internet gets much slower. But twice now, our equipment has quit working properly, making our service slow, sometimes so slow that it's unusable. Both times, getting customer service to do anything at all was a hassle--we're talking hour-long phone calls just to convince them to send someone out. The kicker today was when they told us that the local office would check our system from their office and that they would charge us $95 for this. Eventually, they agreed to send someone out, but they're insisting on the charge for the service call to fix their problem. As soon as we can get internet with anyone else, we'll do so. If we didn't need an internet connection for work, I'd be tempted to turn it off today and go to the library to check my email and download a few videos.

A local Catoosa civilian’s experience

4.00 Stars

on March 06, 2019

The download and the internet are great especially out here. But the upload is just so bad compared to the download. Especially when you got WiFi for gaming. I’m going above 600 ping constantly. It’s great for watching YouTube and browsing but definitely not for gaming.

Not terrible but not good.

3.00 Stars

on March 03, 2019

First of all, if I can find anything decent at all, I will leave Viasat as soon as the contract is over. The speed is very variable - sometimes pretty good, sometimes nonexistent. I like to use a VPN. I currently use PureVPN and it shuts the speed down to less than 1 Mbps so it isn't really practical to use. In fairness, the tech told me that using a VPN with satellite would be dicey. We live in a rural community with very few options so I tried this but in fact, the service we had, though advertising much lower speeds, was actually better at 1/3 the cost. And it only advertised 3 Mbps! It is really my fault. I was seduced by talk of 25Mbps, etc and didn't do due diligence. As others have said, if you have no options, Viasat is probably the least bad of the satellite services from what I have read but I can't imagine anyone with major internet service ever using Viasat.. Overall I am disappointed because it is a very expensive service. I should point out, in fairness, that I haven't contacted customer service so the "star rating" could be anywhere from 1-5. When I am having trouble I just restart the modem which is about all they would tell me to do if past experience is an indication.

Not worth a flip

2.00 Stars

on February 27, 2019

Viasat works great until you reach your data limit which for us is 60GB, we were told when you reach this limit, they may throttle your speed. They do not throttle the speed, they almost cut it off. I just did a speed test and download was .81 Mbps and upload was .18. Don't believe the unlimited thing, it's not true at least for us. If you call them they tell you to unplug the modem for 1-2mins. I've done this 40dozen times, the speed will increase on our billing date which is 9 days away.

Slow internet for the $$$

2.00 Stars

on February 26, 2019

Very slow internet. I would try to stream music and it would just spin. I made a couple of calls but it never really got better. The last phone call I made I got a recording saying we had used up all our internet and would have to wait until the next month. I was already paying $100/month and wasn't about to pay more. I had to pay $230 for breaking the contract. Also found out they leave the satellite in your yard. You have to mail everything else back to them and get rid of the satellite yourself. Nothing but cable for me from now on.

VERY POOR INTERNET

Christian on February 13, 2019

We have had the Bronze 12 plan for about 6 months now. At first, it was very fast but the data also disappeared very fast. Within the first 10 days, our 40 GB allowance was gone with very little gaming or video. After we passed the 40 GB allowance threshold, it became so slow that it is almost useless in the evening. We will leave Viasat ASAP.

Just Not Good Enough

2.00 Stars

on February 02, 2019

Just not very good for what I need it for. I have a kid that lives online gaming, and I have school work that needs to be done. We have the 25 Mbps package and even that is about $90 a month. I find myself at least once a month having to reboot it. Good luck getting services when it is cloudy or raining. The one thing I will say positive is that the customer service has treated me well. We always seem to run out of data after about the first 10 days of the month. If you do decide to go with this internet provider, I would just highly suggest you buy the cheapest plan possible and keep your personal hotspot with your cell phone service on if you plan on doing anything major on your WiFi.

They were great for about 18 months

4.00 Stars

on February 02, 2019

I live out in the country where there haven't been any good options for internet service. That was, until about 18 months ago when I signed up for Viasat (formerly Exede) for the second time after having nothing but problems with my wireless carrier's internet service. I bought the "Unlimited Silver 25" plan for $150/month + taxes, and everything was great. I was promised that I wouldn't be throttled until I used up 150 GB of data, which I never did. Everything stayed great until a couple of weeks ago, when they changed their terms of service so that people with the "grandfathered unlimited" plans like the one I had got to go back of the line whenever there was any network congestion, i.e., anytime in the evening or on weekends. Now I get maybe 2 Mbps at best on evenings or weekends, rather than the up to 25 Mbps I was getting before. I understand that they need to make money, but punishing their old customers so they "upgrade" to plans with lower caps and higher prices is really not a good way to do business. Now it's back to looking for an alternative...

Satalite speed test

5.00 Stars

on January 04, 2019

Customer service is good and organized if you have a concern and make sure that it was a quick service and I have no problem with our internet service.

Works great

4.00 Stars

on November 16, 2018

Works great I love it. The top package is awesome you can do about anything with it as long as you're responsible. Have friends that have the middle package and they love it. Seems the middle package is The Sweet Spot for pricing and speed. The technician was great very helpful and took his time to explain a lot of things.

Service

1.00 Stars

on November 09, 2018

Initially called for setting up, told I was given a military discount. First bill post no discount, same base rate, nothing changed. Upload speeds we're told to be higher but are less than 800kbps, lag time was stated to be 6/10ths, not 6/100th. Installation was rescheduled twice, and customer care does not answer any questions. Unfortunately, this is essentially the only service provider that gets above 30 Mbps download speed.

Always online fast speeds

4.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

The system works very well always online and fast speeds, the only thing is the price compared to Unlimited cell phone service, it's expensive.

Im happy with it

4.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

I don't get all the negative reviews. I haven't ever had any of those issues. Only break in service is during extreme weather, well I knew that was part of the territory anyway. My test speeds, if done late at night, are almost always higher than advertised, and during busy times, average a bit lower, again, I expect this. The only negative thing about satellite internet, ANY brand of satellite internet, is the darn latency times. You get used to it I guess though. It's like driving two different types of cars, both are fast cars, buy one handles quicker than the other, best way I can describe it.

Upload & download speed OK

2.00 Stars

on August 21, 2018

Legacy speed is terrible. Take forever to get connected to the internet through satellite. This service is not worth the money they charge you for just basic service. It's no better than DSL and I live out in the country.

Our opinion of "Viasat" internet

2.00 Stars

on August 19, 2018

It is not uncommon to have NO internet. We cannot watch even a 1/2 hour program on internet without it scrolling every few minutes. We have 12 Gb of data, but even when we haven't used that much it cannot stream without scrolling.

Well wish Id seen these before.

2.00 Stars

on August 16, 2018

Just switched from broadband due to poor reliability. Download seems to be running at 34Mbps and uploads at 1Mbps. There is a pronounced delay on any page access which I guess is due to the fact that the sat is 25k away from my house in CO. The ping is at about 650ms...that won't allow you on many live gaming sites. Unless you're desperate for internet service don't go with satellite. Based on today's speed requirements this seems pretty archaic.

Fantastic Speeds all the time

4.00 Stars

on August 09, 2018

I subscribed to a 12Mbps plan and rarely go under 15Mbps. Sometimes I get 21Mbps on my 12Mbps plan. The trick is to have a hot NIC (Network Interface Card). This makes a huge difference because even though you may have a 1Gb NIC, it may not handle the local source's (Satellite Modem) transfer characteristics. At least 90% of ViaSat subscribers could have faster speeds with a better NIC, even as an add-on device (PCI, PCIe, USB). Most customers that complain have junk computers that couldn't handle a fast connection no matter where it came from.

Unreliable

2.00 Stars

on August 07, 2018

I have Viasat 2 and their highest capacity package at about $200 per month. The package promises speeds of 100. Sometimes I see that and sometimes it drops to less than 20 and sometimes it quits completely. The router/modem often loses the satellite connection and has to be reset. This is poor.

Awesome Sauce

5.00 Stars

on July 31, 2018

This is the greatest internet & home phone service I have ever had. Easy to set up and clear voice on phone. Bundling is the way to go here. I love the price and tech support. You can't bet it, so try it!

Great! I Would Highly Recommend!

5.00 Stars

on April 23, 2018

My experience with Exede was amazing. It just did not work well with our previous ISP because of how far away we were from their tower so we decided to try Exede and it works great. We were guaranteed high-speed internet and we got high-speed connection. If you're shopping for an internet service provider these are the people I would highly recommend.

Okay, no streaming.

4.00 Stars

on July 03, 2017

Liberty Pass is a good option for a no-internet area. The problem is you pay for 12 GB's. When it's all used up, the pass they give is slow. Also the plan is $69 for 12 GB and you can't stream with that small amount. It meets all my internet needs except streaming.

Exede is okay, but not enough.

4.00 Stars

on June 03, 2017

I've had Exede for a few years now, and while it's the best I could get my hands on out where I live, it's far from perfect. I don't have tons of money to spend, so I only have a 10 gig plan, and it tends to go fast, but thankfully they give you a late night free zone which for me tends to last from midnight to 5 AM. Sadly the plan I have no longer exists, and the only plans offered only give you 3 hours for a late night free zone. I lose my service sometimes when it rains. I and at random if the weather is bad for them up north where their main ground station is, then I end up losing it that way as well along with every other customer. If anything better ever comes to my area, I will jump at it... but for now, it's the best that I feel I can get. As of this writing, they have sent a new satellite into orbit called Viasat 2 which once operational should allow for more robust plans, or so they claim. From what I am hearing that means plants that give you 150 gigs for 100 dollars a month... that's still too much money for very little in my opinion. I live in a small sub-division called Big Thicket Retreat and it's in Votaw, more people move out here all the time.. and it shocks me to no end that we still have nothing better out here. I can only dream of better, but until better comes. Exede is at least better than Hughes Net. So if you can get Hughes Net, I say go for it! But if you can get better... then get better. I know I will once better come here.

Better than dialup

3.00 Stars

on May 28, 2017

I got the best plan for my internet habits but not for my internet needs Online Gaming makes me not like Exede.

Exede

4.00 Stars

on November 10, 2016

If you're in a remote area where the only broadband service available is satellite internet, then Exede can be more cost-effective (e.g., EXEDE12 10GB, with unlimited data during overnight "free zone" period).

Service is ok

3.00 Stars

on October 04, 2016

Ok service, slow due to weather.

Exede and me

5.00 Stars

on June 20, 2016

I'm very happy with Exede except I don't have enough data to watch Netflix. I'm over limit because I want to watch Orange is the New Black. I can only watch it between midnight and 5 am. Why can't I get unlimited data?

Works Great

4.00 Stars

on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, no problems!

Overall

5.00 Stars

on March 29, 2016

I have been with Exede for 18 months and overall I am very satisfied, typical with satellite internet is it is very expensive, 10 Mbps goes fast at $60.00 a month.

Fast most of the time

4.00 Stars

on January 20, 2016

It's fast most of the time but the ping is in the 700s. They do offer new data plans like the "Liberty Plans" which means you get at least 12mbps, but I get around 20Mbps for your priority data. After you use all your data, your data is slowed to 5Mbps. Still good enough for Netflix. The only problem is the ping and then it would be amazing.

Exede is least expensive satellite provider

4.00 Stars

on January 12, 2016

Happy with everything about Exede except the low data allowance.

At least I'm online

4.00 Stars

on November 27, 2015

So I'm comparing this to the other satellite options, if you can get cable/DSL, I would suggest doing so instead of satellite. I like it better than the old HughesNet. The biggest thing is that I get unlimited data usage from 12am-5am... So it's not too bad, just still limited with weather conditions and all the normal stuff that comes with satellite. But hey ... at least I'm online.

Exede Internet

3.00 Stars

on November 02, 2015

Exede is a good service, they are having growing pains but my internet needs far exceed their capacity or any Satellite providers capacity. And as time goes on, my signal grows weaker especially at 3 PM in the afternoon when schools out & all kids use phones. I have experienced this with all providers outside San Antonio. I use internet for stock market and can not even use this service now for trading. It is great but no longer reliable for trading. I am moving to San Antonio for a retirement home and a better connection and will call Exceed for their recommendation on providers or inquire if they have cable connections there. Below would probably be all 4 stars if I was regular internet user.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Viasat Internet Reviews FAQ

Viasat, formerly known as Exede, is one of the most common satellite Internet options in the US. Our Viasat Internet reviews are all from current customers, including current Viasat customers and “Exede” customers from before the brand name change. Viasat launched a new satellite in 2018, leapfrogging their main competitor HughesNet in terms of speed and data packages.

Can Current Customers Leave Viasat Internet Reviews?

Any current customer of Viasat or Exede can leave a review using the “write a review” button above. We also serve pop-ups to random Viasat customers using our site, to ensure that we get a mix of negative vs positive Viasat reviews.

When you leave your review, please be sure to include helpful and detailed justification for your star rating.

Exede Internet vs Viasat Internet: What’s the Difference?

Exede changed their name to Viasat in 2017, as part of a move to re-brand their consumer-oriented services. The service is essentially the same, although they upgraded their satellite in 2018 to allow quasi-unlimited plans. (Plans that are unlimited, but throttle traffic after 150GB or so).

How Are Reviews Filtered? Why Can’t I See Mine?

We manually approve reviews, and cannot publish reviews that don’t meet our publication standards. Reviews that rant, use all-caps or bad grammar, or fail to include specific reasoning for a good or bad rating will not be approved.

Recurring Issues in Viasat (Exede) Internet Customer Reviews

As noted in the Viasat/Exede reviews above, Viasat suffers from all the regular issues with satellite Internet: reduced speeds, low bandwidth, high latency, and long contracts. These are unfortunate issues, but basically standard for rural Internet. Most customers that use Viasat Internet live in areas where DSL and other wired options are non-existent. This means that while Viasat has it’s share of issues, it’s better than nothing — and in their defense, the new satellite upgrade has improved the service for streamers and Netflix viewers significantly.

Viasat Internet Star Ratings

As of 2019, we've collected 8,344 ratings of Viasat Internet from current customers. 35.4 percent of those customers indicated that they would recommend Viasat's services. Keep in mind, many of these reviews were collected before the 2018 launch of increases speed and unlimited data plans.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2019 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC