Viasat Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Viasat's service. To see if broadband Internet from Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Viasat Service

Viasat Internet (formerly Exede)

1.86 Stars  375 Reviews
1.86 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.6%
4 Star
6.7%
3 Star
11.2%
2 Star
32.9%
1 Star
46.6%

Leave a Review For Viasat Internet (formerly Exede)

Are you a current or former Viasat Internet (formerly Exede) customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Not worth the trouble

1.00 Stars

on December 14, 2017

Since day one of a two year contract, I find the the service goes down multiple times a day. I am so tired of calling the so called customer service. For the past two days, every time I check, I am getting less than 0.5 Mbps download speed and less than 1 Mbps upload. I am in the process of looking for a replacement provider. I would not reccomend Exede Internet to anyone.

Poor internet service.

2.00 Stars

on February 22, 2018

We have had this service for more than a few years now and the service and reliability has been rapidly declining in the past 2 years. We pay for 12 Mbps for $70.00 per month and we run out before the second week of each month every month! Then, we are put on Liberty Pass for the remainder of the month which is worse than dial up! This has even happened when we are away on vacation and nobody's home using it! We are now faced with the decision of doing without internet or continuing to be frustrated while paying this outrageous price for next to nothing of a service as we live rural and have very few choices in providers. We don't even download large files, movies, or anything that would account for this. I would not recommend this provider as we are about done with such shoddy service ourselves.

Poor Customer Service

3.00 Stars

on September 20, 2017

Speed is fine, reliability is very good, but if you ever need to communicate with anyone at Exede about your account, you might as well be trying to contact the "Man In The Moon". The Exede website is bad and you will never get a person to answer a phone call.

Not good

2.00 Stars

on December 28, 2015

Fine for basic email and web browsing but limited downloads. You can't watch movies etc.

Data limits in today's world make satelite internet service almost useless

2.00 Stars

on March 24, 2017

Well $120.00 a month for 18 Gb and $10.00 per Gb after that along with inherent weather issues make satellite a bad choice, in my opinion, and forget it if you intend to view video online or if more than 1 person uses much internet in your home, I "upgraded" to their higher speed modem/router advertised as 25Mbps and real-world speed test was 11.2 Mbps often times slows to a crawl.

Not for gamer

3.00 Stars

on September 15, 2016

Plain and simple, if you're a gamer, nope not for you, if not, then it's great.

If you have other choices use them

2.00 Stars

on June 14, 2018

Like many that have left reviews here, I live just outside of the "dependable" zone of internet providers. There is no way Viasat is recording my usage correctly - I was away on business for four days and no one in the house I apparently used 13 GB. They throttle you to .02 so it's basically useless, but you "technically" have service. I have had it for three months and have had to switch plans (Upgrade) and reboot at least twice a week. I will say that the people I have talked to on the phone have been pleasant and responsive. Hopefully, Viasat will be bought by a legitimate communications company who will gouge me each month, but at least provide me the ability to stream more than four shows a week.

Exede internet

Alice Seymour on March 04, 2017

Exede is great except for the data cap. If my granddaughter watches a lot of Youtube videos, my internet slows to a crawl and I can't do anything, I can't watch Netflix because the data gets used up. Just wish there was no data cap and it was a little cheaper for what you get. Thank you.

You will pay

4.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

The internet connection is good but when you run our of data it is just as slow as dial up. I have the old 15 GB plan with unlimited data between 12 midnight and 5 am and I pay 79.99 each month. The newer plan you get a little more gigs during the day but the free internet time is cut down to between 3 am and 6 am. I keep that plan because my son will use the internet late at night. For 79.99 I could get unlimited internet all day in the city. Our service has been very reliable, only cutting out in very heavy cloud cover to the south of us. Another new plan they have is 150 GB for $150. If I am going to pay $150, I would like to have unlimited. So you will pay an arm and a leg for Exede (Viast) because they know you don't have any other choice.

Exede review

2.00 Stars

on July 07, 2017

Limited high speed internet allowance. We burn through our monthly allowance (10 GB) within a week, then have unusable speed for remainder of month.

Exede Data Cap Hurts

3.00 Stars

on July 23, 2016

Due to low data caps and severe throttling it is impossible to live in the 21st century rapidly growing streaming world of the internet. If you are satisfied with just searching the web without using flash video or video enabling apps then you will like Exede.

Stable but Expensive, Relatively Slow, and Capped

4.00 Stars

on May 03, 2016

Reliable service, except during a storm, but that doesn't last long. About 5Mbps download / 0.5 Mbps up. Largest package 60 GB/month, so not good for streaming video. 650 ms latency, so VoIP not good, but usable. $130/mo. But, in 5 yrs, no outages lasting more than 1 hour.

If your only option is satellite go with Exede, if not, stay away from sattelite isps

2.00 Stars

on July 29, 2016

We ordered Exede satellite internet because there was nothing else. CONS: The 10 GB ($60 plan) data cap is always used up in days when Exede throttles the speed to dial up speeds. Don't expect to be able to game with this either. PROS: Customer Service is always helpful and has the solution most of the time. Some plans have a time zone (ours being from 12am-5am) when usage is unlimited and speeds aren't throttled even if you've gone over the cap, which is great for when you have big downloads. Not so great if you work early. You'll need a router with Exede's modem.

Exede internet

4.00 Stars

on December 29, 2015

Amount of data you are allowed is not enough in today's technical world. I exceed my allotment every month in the first two weeks. I do not play games, stream music or movies would love to take advantage of Netflix and my free prime movies if I could.

Best satellite provider in my area

3.00 Stars

on July 20, 2017

It's satellite but It's the best one out of the bunch. Unlike the other providers, Exede simply throttles you after you go over your monthly data cap while also offering you uncapped free data in the early hours. They call it "Liberty Pass". At throttled speeds, I get roughly 5-10mbps during peak hours. Again, It's satellite, so expect the usual limitations like latency/ping and low speeds compared to a wired ISP.

Good service, don't like data limits or pricing.

3.00 Stars

on August 22, 2016

Priced too high and cap on data is not good. Speed is fine, reliability is great.

Exede Evolution is a lifesaver.

4.00 Stars

on June 19, 2015

I live in a very rural part of Virginia and have no access to traditional (wired) broadband providers. I work from home and have two teenage sons, one of whom takes many online courses from the local college. Exede's Evolution plan works for me. It is affordable and provides adequate caps to provide for a worry-free internet experience We do not stream very much video, but the Evolution Plan will work for simple browsing and email even when caps are exceeded.

Pretty good for Satellite internet

4.00 Stars

on August 19, 2015

I can't complain too much. The customer service for most part has helped me out and because I don't have many options because of location, they are the best at what they do. The only thing I would change is data allowance because I have young ones now who love to use the web and use sites like YouTube and that burns through data. So if they released plans for higher data like I have been hearing, then I would give them 5 stars.

Too slow

4.00 Stars

on November 24, 2017

Customer service is great. Though I need faster speed, what we have is reliable. I have been with Exede for at least 10 years.

Too Slow

2.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

I pay for 10mbps but only got 2-3Mbps on average. Customer service was always nice but not very helpful. All I was ever told was I had a great connection and I was using the internet during peak times. For the money I pay now I can get A LOT faster speeds through another provider.

Needs improvement

1.00 Stars

on February 28, 2018

Internet isn't very good. Would not recommend. Has a very high ping an I can't play games or voice chat.

Good service

4.00 Stars

on June 25, 2015

Always had great service. Reason for possible change is we are moving to new area.

Worst internet I have had in 15 years of internet....

1.00 Stars

on June 19, 2018

I have had this internet for a year and a half now and have had more issues than I haven't. Read the fine print people. I am lucky if I am getting 5 to 6 Mbps during off "peak" hours. A lot of times it's usually around 3. And in "peak" times I am getting less than 1 Mbps. They think this is acceptable but it is not. I have spent more hours on the phone with their "customer service" than I actually have done anything I wanted to when I actually have time to get on the computer. I would not recommend. If you have any other choice than Viasat go with that.

Awesome Sauce

5.00 Stars

on July 31, 2018

This is the greatest internet & home phone service I have ever had. Easy to set up and clear voice on phone. Bundling is the way to go here. I love the price and tech support. You can't bet it, so try it!

Slow streaming

2.00 Stars

on August 26, 2018

The streaming service is very slow or nonexistent. Unable to use the internet during peak hours starting at 08:00 pm to 10:30 pm. Cannot watch Netflix or Amazon Prime and I'm paying for the subscription.

Exede is least expensive satellite provider

4.00 Stars

on January 12, 2016

Happy with everything about Exede except the low data allowance.

Exede is okay, but not enough.

4.00 Stars

on June 03, 2017

I've had Exede for a few years now, and while it's the best I could get my hands on out where I live, it's far from perfect. I don't have tons of money to spend, so I only have a 10 gig plan, and it tends to go fast, but thankfully they give you a late night free zone which for me tends to last from midnight to 5 AM. Sadly the plan I have no longer exists, and the only plans offered only give you 3 hours for a late night free zone. I lose my service sometimes when it rains. I and at random if the weather is bad for them up north where their main ground station is, then I end up losing it that way as well along with every other customer. If anything better ever comes to my area, I will jump at it... but for now, it's the best that I feel I can get. As of this writing, they have sent a new satellite into orbit called Viasat 2 which once operational should allow for more robust plans, or so they claim. From what I am hearing that means plants that give you 150 gigs for 100 dollars a month... that's still too much money for very little in my opinion. I live in a small sub-division called Big Thicket Retreat and it's in Votaw, more people move out here all the time.. and it shocks me to no end that we still have nothing better out here. I can only dream of better, but until better comes. Exede is at least better than Hughes Net. So if you can get Hughes Net, I say go for it! But if you can get better... then get better. I know I will once better come here.

Okay, no streaming.

4.00 Stars

on July 03, 2017

Liberty Pass is a good option for a no-internet area. The problem is you pay for 12 GB's. When it's all used up, the pass they give is slow. Also the plan is $69 for 12 GB and you can't stream with that small amount. It meets all my internet needs except streaming.

Exede Internet

3.00 Stars

on November 02, 2015

Exede is a good service, they are having growing pains but my internet needs far exceed their capacity or any Satellite providers capacity. And as time goes on, my signal grows weaker especially at 3 PM in the afternoon when schools out & all kids use phones. I have experienced this with all providers outside San Antonio. I use internet for stock market and can not even use this service now for trading. It is great but no longer reliable for trading. I am moving to San Antonio for a retirement home and a better connection and will call Exceed for their recommendation on providers or inquire if they have cable connections there. Below would probably be all 4 stars if I was regular internet user.

Better than dialup

3.00 Stars

on May 28, 2017

I got the best plan for my internet habits but not for my internet needs Online Gaming makes me not like Exede.

Caps

4.00 Stars

on January 14, 2016

Great service but 10 GB /month cap is way too limiting.

Fast most of the time

4.00 Stars

on January 20, 2016

It's fast most of the time but the ping is in the 700s. They do offer new data plans like the "Liberty Plans" which means you get at least 12mbps, but I get around 20Mbps for your priority data. After you use all your data, your data is slowed to 5Mbps. Still good enough for Netflix. The only problem is the ping and then it would be amazing.

Floyd VA

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

Limited internet, when you reach your allowed amount you drop to low speed internet. For the price, it should be unlimited. To save data and watch Netflix or movies off the web, best to watch between 12 to 5 am.

Works Great

4.00 Stars

on June 13, 2016

Excellent service, no problems!

Exede and me

5.00 Stars

on June 20, 2016

I'm very happy with Exede except I don't have enough data to watch Netflix. I'm over limit because I want to watch Orange is the New Black. I can only watch it between midnight and 5 am. Why can't I get unlimited data?

Service is ok

3.00 Stars

on October 04, 2016

Ok service, slow due to weather.

Exede

4.00 Stars

on November 10, 2016

If you're in a remote area where the only broadband service available is satellite internet, then Exede can be more cost-effective (e.g., EXEDE12 10GB, with unlimited data during overnight "free zone" period).

As a last resort it's not bad

2.00 Stars

on January 27, 2017

Low latency for satellite service since they are LEO. ~$70/mth for a 5GB hi-speed + unlimited "faster than modem" speed Bonus is unmetered/unthrottled overnight (3am-8am) I can get around 45Mbps during that time frame. Reliability is as good as your view of the Southern sky. It's susceptible to rain fade, but mine is dialed in pretty tight so it has to be a pretty heavy storm to cut out. If you have a copper or fiber connection option do not use satellite. I have no choice, it's this or a ridiculously expensive 4G plan.

Not worth the money

1.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

This service is absolutely poor. I would suggest getting a cell phone hub instead of satellite. We have not been able to watch Netflix let alone enough speed to play X-Box or PlayStation. System gives you so many gigs of data but doesn't tell you when it is out - they just slow the service down anytime they want to. I honestly can say even at their “faster speed” I cannot tell a difference from slow to fast. I would not recommend this service, if I could give it zero stars I would have. Unfortunately, you cannot just cancel the service as they lock you into a two-year contract.

Im happy with it

4.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

I don't get all the negative reviews. I haven't ever had any of those issues. Only break in service is during extreme weather, well I knew that was part of the territory anyway. My test speeds, if done late at night, are almost always higher than advertised, and during busy times, average a bit lower, again, I expect this. The only negative thing about satellite internet, ANY brand of satellite internet, is the darn latency times. You get used to it I guess though. It's like driving two different types of cars, both are fast cars, buy one handles quicker than the other, best way I can describe it.

Uses Data while disconnected from power

1.00 Stars

on September 20, 2018

Been a customer for over 3 years. Was great until a few months back when I started running out of data 2 weeks before the billing cycle. Last month I decided to start disconnecting their modem between use. My 10GB still didn't even last a week. When I called they told me I was using Netflix. No sir! How does Netflix get used with no power? I only use the internet to print a few invoices daily and submit payroll once weekly. No streaming, no video/audio, etc, not to mention I am the only one with the password. I asked how data gets used while disconnected from the power. They "gave me" 1GB and told me it would be 5-8 days before I would hear from them. That was gone after I printed 10 invoices. I emailed 2 weeks later and was given suggestions to "cut down on data consumption", which I don't do any, to begin with. Over a month later and still not remedied, already used 3GB this billing and I've been in Wyoming for 2 weeks with it unplugged at home. Will be switching just as soon as I find another provider at my remote location.

Horrible customer service and service period

1.00 Stars

on September 19, 2018

We recently bought a house in the country, we decided to get Viasat for Internet. This was the worst choice and decision that we made. Constant satellite outage, horrible Internet service when it was working. I was asked what we use our service for and I told them that we stream video service and I was told the package that I got would be perfect for it. However, videos would never play or constantly buffer. When I called and complained I was basically told that there was nothing they could do and in so many words to go fly a kite. It wasn’t until I finally was fed up after only having the service for two months and paying $114 per month then I decided to cancel. At this point then and only then I had customer service trying to offer me adjustments in order to keep service. One would think that even with a contract agreement that if the customer service and the service was this horrendous, they would waive early termination fees especially when you’ve only had service for two months. I’ve been a police officer for 17 years and I pride myself on professionalism, and this company has no idea what professionalism is let alone customer service. Highly not recommended.

Service Has Been Going Down Hill For A While Now

2.00 Stars

on September 08, 2018

I have the max plan with boost 25Mbps speed and I'm lucky if I get 5Mbps most of the time. I constantly have to reset my system and then Viasat tells me that it is just the pipeline congestion. Problem is I pay over $100 per month for what I could get for $30 per month from the local cable company. They just have to run the wires down the road for me, but I'm about to ask them because I'm so frustrated with Viasat/Exede. I would not advise picking up Viasat.

Dial Up was faster than Viasat

Vincent on September 02, 2018

Once I've used up my 150 Gigs, during their peak times I can only get an average of .26 Mbps for download speeds. It can take 3 minutes just to open a simple web page and there is no chance of streaming a movie. I'd cancel my service but I'm stuck with a two-year contract.

Speed is slow , impossible to use, termination fees!

2.00 Stars

on August 22, 2018

We've tried to use the service but it is way too slow, the speed sometimes drops to 1-2 Mbps compared to the offered speed of 15 Mbps. We didn't notice that the contract says "up to" 15 Mbps so we are supposed to pay a termination fee.

Upload & download speed OK

2.00 Stars

on August 21, 2018

Legacy speed is terrible. Take forever to get connected to the internet through satellite. This service is not worth the money they charge you for just basic service. It's no better than DSL and I live out in the country.

Our opinion of "Viasat" internet

2.00 Stars

on August 19, 2018

It is not uncommon to have NO internet. We cannot watch even a 1/2 hour program on internet without it scrolling every few minutes. We have 12 Gb of data, but even when we haven't used that much it cannot stream without scrolling.

Well wish Id seen these before.

2.00 Stars

on August 16, 2018

Just switched from broadband due to poor reliability. Download seems to be running at 34Mbps and uploads at 1Mbps. There is a pronounced delay on any page access which I guess is due to the fact that the sat is 25k away from my house in CO. The ping is at about 650ms...that won't allow you on many live gaming sites. Unless you're desperate for internet service don't go with satellite. Based on today's speed requirements this seems pretty archaic.

Fantastic Speeds all the time

4.00 Stars

on August 09, 2018

I subscribed to a 12Mbps plan and rarely go under 15Mbps. Sometimes I get 21Mbps on my 12Mbps plan. The trick is to have a hot NIC (Network Interface Card). This makes a huge difference because even though you may have a 1Gb NIC, it may not handle the local source's (Satellite Modem) transfer characteristics. At least 90% of ViaSat subscribers could have faster speeds with a better NIC, even as an add-on device (PCI, PCIe, USB). Most customers that complain have junk computers that couldn't handle a fast connection no matter where it came from.

Unreliable

2.00 Stars

on August 07, 2018

I have Viasat 2 and their highest capacity package at about $200 per month. The package promises speeds of 100. Sometimes I see that and sometimes it drops to less than 20 and sometimes it quits completely. The router/modem often loses the satellite connection and has to be reset. This is poor.

Great! I Would Highly Recommend!

5.00 Stars

on April 23, 2018

My experience with Exede was amazing. It just did not work well with our previous ISP because of how far away we were from their tower so we decided to try Exede and it works great. We were guaranteed high-speed internet and we got high-speed connection. If you're shopping for an internet service provider these are the people I would highly recommend.

Overall

5.00 Stars

on March 29, 2016

I have been with Exede for 18 months and overall I am very satisfied, typical with satellite internet is it is very expensive, 10 Mbps goes fast at $60.00 a month.

At least I'm online

4.00 Stars

on November 27, 2015

So I'm comparing this to the other satellite options, if you can get cable/DSL, I would suggest doing so instead of satellite. I like it better than the old HughesNet. The biggest thing is that I get unlimited data usage from 12am-5am... So it's not too bad, just still limited with weather conditions and all the normal stuff that comes with satellite. But hey ... at least I'm online.

Good service, but data limits

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

The speed is great and works well from the cabin in the woods, but the data cap will allow maybe to stream movies a month.

Exede through Dish

4.00 Stars

on July 11, 2015

Great to have this service in the country, but data caps are ridiculous for money paid each month. Looking for something unlimited. Too bad fiber optic isn't coming to rural areas very quickly.

Monthly data cap

4.00 Stars

on July 04, 2015

Service is great, price is right. The only limitation is monthly cap. If you are a heavy streamer, you would need to upgrade basic package to avoid monthly cap.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Viasat Internet Reviews FAQ

Viasat, formerly known as Exede, is one of the most common satellite Internet options in the US. Our Viasat Internet reviews are all from current customers, including current Viasat customers and “Exede” customers from before the brand name change. Viasat launched a new satellite in 2018, leapfrogging their main competitor HughesNet in terms of speed and data packages.

Can Current Customers Leave Viasat Internet Reviews?

Any current customer of Viasat or Exede can leave a review using the “write a review” button above. We also serve pop-ups to random Viasat customers using our site, to ensure that we get a mix of negative vs positive Viasat reviews.

When you leave your review, please be sure to include helpful and detailed justification for your star rating.

Exede Internet vs Viasat Internet: What’s the Difference?

Exede changed their name to Viasat in 2017, as part of a move to re-brand their consumer-oriented services. The service is essentially the same, although they upgraded their satellite in 2018 to allow quasi-unlimited plans. (Plans that are unlimited, but throttle traffic after 150GB or so).

How Are Reviews Filtered? Why Can’t I See Mine?

We manually approve reviews, and cannot publish reviews that don’t meet our publication standards. Reviews that rant, use all-caps or bad grammar, or fail to include specific reasoning for a good or bad rating will not be approved.

Recurring Issues in Viasat (Exede) Internet Customer Reviews

As noted in the Viasat/Exede reviews above, Viasat suffers from all the regular issues with satellite Internet: reduced speeds, low bandwidth, high latency, and long contracts. These are unfortunate issues, but basically standard for rural Internet. Most customers that use Viasat Internet live in areas where DSL and other wired options are non-existent. This means that while Viasat has it’s share of issues, it’s better than nothing — and in their defense, the new satellite upgrade has improved the service for streamers and Netflix viewers significantly.

Viasat Internet Star Ratings

As of 2018, we've collected 7,922 ratings of Viasat Internet from current customers. 35.4 percent of those customers indicated that they would recommend Viasat's services. Keep in mind, many of these reviews were collected before the 2018 launch of increases speed and unlimited data plans.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC