RCN Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of RCN's service. To see if broadband Internet from RCN is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup RCN Service

RCN

3.47 Stars  23 Reviews
3.47 out of 5 stars

5 Star
42.1%
4 Star
10.5%
3 Star
10.5%
2 Star
26.3%
1 Star
10.5%

Leave a Review For RCN

Are you a current or former RCN customer? Share your experience to help other users.

RCN -- best option in Chicago!

4.00 Stars

on August 07, 2016

I've been lucky enough to be able to get RCN in the last 3 locations I've lived. Previous to that, I'd suffered with both AT&T DSL and Xfinity in other spots and there's no comparison. If you want the fastest speeds and you want to get them all the time, go with RCN if you can. AT&T is rarely able to deliver what they've promised and Xfinity fluctuates. Both have crappy customer service. RCN, in contrast, just recently noticed that I hadn't been bumped to their newly-priced plans. So I got a call from a rep who switched me to the new highest speed tier, which resulted in a price drop on my monthly bill. All this without promotional pricing that evaporates after 6 months or locking me into an additional X years. Oh, and they were one of the early providers to actually get DOCSIS3 modems into the hands of customers. If they're in your area, go for it, you'll be amazed.

A refreshing change

5.00 Stars

on March 16, 2017

Everything has gone smoothly since moving into our home a few months ago and activating RCN internet service. Customer service is very friendly on the phone. Internet packages are very reasonable prices compared to the competition.

Highly recommend

5.00 Stars

on August 17, 2015

I'm moving away from where RCN services and I never thought I'd be sad about leaving a cable company before. Setup and cancellation were an absolute breeze, the internet never went out, and we had an incredible package for a great price. Customer service agents were very friendly and helpful, even though I rarely ever had to interact with them because our service always worked! They even have an iPhone app to pay your bill on. Would highly recommend over any other company.

Beware!

2.00 Stars

on May 05, 2017

I have had RCN for 3 years now and they have more than doubled my cable and internet bill to over $200! When I called and asked why, they said "Thank you for being a loyal customer but your promotion period is over"! Is that how you thank me for being a loyal customer?

RCN Internet

4.00 Stars

on October 31, 2017

Great reliable internet.

EXCEEDS EXPECTATIONS

5.00 Stars

on July 03, 2018

Called RCN and immediately was told that since I had been RCN customer, they wanted to do what they could to get my business back. Customer service rep was funny, efficient and knowledgeable. He was able to deliver a great package that was $40 a month less than others. In addition to that, the technology used by RCN is cutting edge, unlike the others who use old technology. I’m now able to record 6 shows at once, store 1TB of entertainment and streaming shows while being on my iPad or smartphones are all consistently fast and reliable. I’m able to watch, pause and record shows from the slave boxes in the bedrooms. I couldn’t be happier with the reliability, speed and overall value of RCN. Highly Recommend RCN.

No problems, easy set up.

4.00 Stars

on May 24, 2016

Had DSL, was unsatisfied, so I called RCN purely to shop around. I switched in one phone call. Besides the intermittent outages (internet will cut out and I need to restart the router) I have been satisfied.

Tolerable

3.00 Stars

on June 14, 2016

Internet is ok, but not super fast. I was able to handle two laptops downloading movies etc. We have the 'basic' TV package - 40 channels of shopping, PBS and HBO. Not a good deal.

RCN, best in Chicago!

4.00 Stars

on June 15, 2015

I lived in my apartment for 6 years and RCN is by far the best quality for the best price with the least amount of disruption or disgruntled customer service. I highly recommend.

RCN Quality and Value

5.00 Stars

on July 05, 2018

I went with RCN and they've not disappointed me. Great rates and quality service. What more could I want? And I didn't lose any of the channels I like.

Not always dependable

1.00 Stars

on May 18, 2016

Of course, everyone experiences their service going out once in a while. And of course, you have to call customer service, too, every once in a while. Well, the internet is still inconsistent, but I still consistently have to call customer service. And that's how it "works."

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC