Verizon Fios Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Verizon Fios's service. To see if broadband Internet from Verizon Fios is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Verizon Fios Service

Verizon Fios

2.38 Stars  266 Reviews
2.38 out of 5 stars

5 Star
9.1%
4 Star
9.1%
3 Star
19.0%
2 Star
36.4%
1 Star
26.4%

Leave a Review For Verizon Fios

Are you a current or former Verizon Fios customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Keeps getting more expensive

3.00 Stars

on August 02, 2016

I've been reasonably happy with the service, but their 2-year agreement stink. New customers get great prices, but they don't do much for existing customers. Loyalty is apparently not valued much. I'm now looking for a better alternative

Very fast internet. Bad customer service.

3.00 Stars

on March 22, 2016

Internet speed is amazing and consistent, even at entry level 50Mbps. More than enough for a couple TVs and devices. The FiOS TV is poor to absurd, especially for the $ they charge. Customer service with Verizon is non-existent! They get one star for bothering to pick up the phone when I call (only during bankers hours though) I'm cutting my cable cord but may keep the internet. If I can find comparable I will switch just to not give them my hard earned dollars.

Good at first, then terrible

2.00 Stars

on January 07, 2017

At first, the internet was amazingly fast. A month later, I kept getting kicked off, it randomly shuts down. Everything is on and showing connected, but no internet connection to outside world. Verizon sent a new router, it didn't help at all. Now I barely get 10 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up. I pay for 50/50. Terrible value. I don't even try to stream anything live, or Plex service. My Xbox One account always says, unreliable connection. Will never buy anything from Verizon ever again.

Spotty WiFi.

2.00 Stars

on February 26, 2018

Fios internet is not all it's cracked up to be. I live in a single story 1700 sq ft home and use Verizon's modem/router. When hooked to the wifi with my android. Roku stick, or Fire TV stick, I often get only a "fair" connection and experience buffering issues constantly. When it works, it's great but far too often, it spits out a weak WiFi signal that makes watching streaming services difficult. I have had a tech from Verizon come in to try to address this issue, but the WiFi was cranking right along when he was here. I will live with it until my contract is up, but will be going to a different provider this time for internet only unless a better option becomes available. When I had a different provider previously, I experienced none of these issues.

Duped Again

4.00 Stars

on January 16, 2018

Installers very nice. Speed of internet promised was not received. Video streaming and gaming not good. Price per month jumps dramatically (as usual) hoping you’re not paying attention. Time to switch. AGAIN.

Great reiliability speed!

5.00 Stars

on July 10, 2015

Verizon FiOS is the best internet service we have ever had. The service and speed are great. The best thing about the service is that the internet speed is reliable.

FIOS has been working reliably for 8 years.

5.00 Stars

on July 19, 2015

FIOS has been working with no problems here at my residence for 8 years. Had constant problems at this location with other providers. I have never had to call customer service with a service issue. When I do call for tech support they are always helpful. Speed is always better than my quoted tier. I have 3 TVs internet and phone. I additionally run a VOIP server for my small home business and FiOS works great for this as well as with my VPN router for secure access when I am working remotely.

Frequent freezes and lockups with routing web browsing.

3.00 Stars

on May 07, 2017

Generally, service has been okay but poor value for the price. Charging an extra $25 per TV hookup raises prices dramatically. Lately, web browsing performance has been poor, with frequent episodes of very poor performance (to the point that the browser locks up). This is across multiple computers , phones and tablets, unacceptable performance for $188 per month. (That is with 3 TV's.)

Best internet service i've ever had

5.00 Stars

on January 24, 2015

I ordered Verizon FiOS before moving here three years ago. I am very satisfied with the speed--I can watch Youtube and other videos and download gigabyte update files in minutes. I was never able to do that before.

Service Interruptions Daily and Slow at Times

4.00 Stars

on January 01, 2018

My daughter uses it more than me on her computer and has moments that it doesn't work every day. My complaint is that it is very expensive and we are also using the library computers which have more reliable service. I am looking for a more affordable service since we live near the library.

Fast But Expensive

4.00 Stars

on October 10, 2017

I Currently have Verizon Fios. 50 Mbps Up And 50 Mbps Down.This service alone is $70.00/month ! I have been pleased with reliability, speed, and ease of use. I just think in 2017 High-Speed internet should be no more than 30-50bucks.

Rock Solid, Highly Reliable Internet!

4.00 Stars

on June 12, 2015

Although Verizon FiOS is on the expensive side, the connection reliability and quality is outstanding. Having had FiOS for over 8 years now, I can say that FiOS has never gone down ever! The speed is constantly fast and internet quality is good. I haven't noticed any Netflix peering problems myself. If it's in your area I would highly recommend the service.

Recommend FIOS

4.00 Stars

on May 05, 2017

I have been a Verizon Triple Bundle customer for a year and have nothing bad to say about the service I got. The internet is up to speed (have never experienced the full 1000Mbps, but usually averages around 77-80Mbps) and my TV package is pretty amazing (all the sports channels included!). Customer service is nice albeit slow, but that's expected in this country. So, overall, if the building has FIOS available in your area, I strongly recommend Verizon over the others.

Verizon Fios

5.00 Stars

on June 15, 2015

I've had Verizon Fios for past 2 years, no contract for 40 Mbps, simply the best and most reliable provider I've ever had. Wish they had it where we are moving to in Greensboro, NC.

Reliable

5.00 Stars

on August 16, 2015

Everything I thought it would be. I've had it for 3 years. Never had an issue with reliability or customer service. Highly recommend it.

Speed not limited by other customer usage.

4.00 Stars

on November 11, 2016

I like Verizon primarily because you do not have to share the same line with other neighbors. You have one set speed. Wired providers offer a fast speed, but if everyone is watching at the same time your speed goes down proportionally.

Reliable but expensive

3.00 Stars

on January 05, 2017

The service is great but I can't wait until there are equally reliable but more affordable options available. I've lived in Leesburg for over 10 years and Verizon pretty much has you by the balls if service consistency is important to you.

Great

4.00 Stars

on March 01, 2015

Great service but expensive.

Great service and tech support predatory billing practices

4.00 Stars

on January 18, 2018

We have enjoyed Verizon for years Great service, great installers, great tech support... But the billing department and high costs are driving us to a competitor... We have spent hours trying to deal with billing issues but the company does not give their people the tools they need to resolve administrative blunders...

Fios reliability

4.00 Stars

on January 24, 2016

I have been a Fios customer for many years now and the service is the most reliable I have ever experienced. Outages and problems are extremely rare.

Happy with Verizon Fios

4.00 Stars

on July 31, 2016

Have been very happy with Verizon Fios! Haven't had a problem yet with Fios.

Internet keeps dropping

3.00 Stars

on August 02, 2018

My wife and I moved from DC two years ago where only Comcast was available. I was excited to get FiOS and have the "fastest" internet. As with technology it sometimes goes in and out of service. Too often my VOD lags and when playing PS4 it has dropped service right in the middle of gaming and streaming. Paying over $200 a month for the so-called best internet I am very underwhelmed. I just passed my two-year agreement and may just get back to my previous ISP.

Doesn't get any better.

5.00 Stars

on May 06, 2018

Listen, forget cable internet. Once you go fiber, you will see all it gives. Streaming like a rock star. 1 Gig service can't be beat.

Outages and interruptions.

2.00 Stars

on October 08, 2018

It seems that every morning we experience outages. From 1-3 hours. Afternoons are only spotty. I sometimes can get online after switching the router off and on.

Excellent service

5.00 Stars

on August 09, 2018

I had a new FIOS install at my business and the service person tech was very quick and thorough and had us set up and running in less than 30 minutes.

Verizon Repair Service

5.00 Stars

on July 31, 2018

I had problems with my Verizon Fios- a service representative came by on time and quickly corrected the problem- Great Service!!!

Verizon Fios Gigabit connection

5.00 Stars

on November 14, 2017

I don't know where this web site gets their data but i get 945 Mbps download and 960 Mbps upload speeds on average and i pay $126.04/month for it. To me, that's value.

Verizon Fios

4.00 Stars

on March 10, 2017

We chose Verizon Fios as it was the only fiber optics provider in our area at the time. However, we have had quite good customer service and the cost is fairly reasonable.

Fast, Reliable Internet

5.00 Stars

on February 08, 2015

I am very pleased overall with Verizon Fios. Very displeased with the upcoming changes!

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Verizon Fios Internet Reviews FAQ

Verizon Fios reviews on this page are all submitted by current Fios customers across the Fios service area. The star rating shown is an aggregate of all the reviews we’ve receive, including both text reviews and star rating reviews. We prompt visitors to leave ratings regardless of what part of BroadbandNow they visit, using IP-verification to ensure that we only collect reviews from actual Verizon Fios customers. 62.4 percent of the customers we've collected Fios reviews from had a favorable review of the provider, which is better than the 48.0 average for all Internet providers.

User Reviews vs Expert Reviews

Reviews shown here do not represent an expert analysis of Fios services, and should not be confused with a fair analysis of Fios’ services. We prompt users from Fios networks on all parts of BroadbandNow to leave reviews to help ensure visitors can see a mix of positive and negative perspectives.

How We Verify and Validate Verizon Fios Reviews

Fios reviews are validated using IP verification. Based on the IP address of visitors, we can see which provider they are currently using. We only allow visitors from Fios networks to leave text or star rating review of Verizon Fios services.

Problems With Fios Customer Reviews

As with any site collecting user reviews, customers with negative experiences tend to leave more reviews than those with positive experiences. Keep this in mind while evaluating Fios services — considering that they are usually the only fiber Internet option in their service area, they are almost always the best option for customers that want to stream video or use bandwidth-intensive apps.

Verizon Fios vs Verizon DSL Internet Reviews

Verizon Fios is a totally separate service from “Verizon High Speed Internet,” which is a DSL service also offered by Verizon. DSL Internet is much, much slower than Fios. While Fios speeds range up to 800+ Mbps, “High Speed Internet” speed from Verizon are closer to 10–15 Mbps. If you are a Verizon High Speed Internet customer and would like to leave a review, please see our Verizon High Speed Internet review page.

Verizon Fios Common Complaints: Slow Service Rollout

Among the reviews submitted to us by Verizon Fios customers, we’ve noticed many complaints about the amount of time it took to get service. This is common, since Verizon Fios has been installing brand new fiber lines all the way to customer buildings. The process of building fiber is very expensive and often gets stalled by regulatory and zoning issues. (e.g. landlords not allowing Fios to run lines along their buildings, etc.) As a result, many potential customers have to wait months or even years before being able to get Fios service, even if they live in a Fios area and the building across the street can get service.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC