BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Verizon Fios Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Verizon Fios's service. To see if broadband Internet from Verizon Fios is available in your area enter your zip code below.

3.01 Stars  701 Reviews
3.01 out of 5 stars

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new Verizon Fios internet service or view available internet plans

(866) 775-4717 View Plans & Pricing

Provider Availability:

Want to see if Verizon Fios is available in your area?

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new Verizon Fios internet service or view available internet plans

(866) 775-4717 View Plans & Pricing

Internet good, TV horrible no customer service

3.00 Stars

on September 06, 2019

Took forever to get service figured out at the correct price. Internet is good, but the TV service is not even close to Dish. Would not even consider recommending Verizon FIOS. Unfortunately I am stuck to a 2 year deal and purchased the stupid modem as I thought I would be staying in the area. Still cheaper than renting for 2 years.

Verizon FiOS

5.00 Stars

on July 25, 2019

FiOS from Verizon is great! Whether it’s the reliable, symmetrical speeds or the redundancy when we lose power. Verizon’s fiber always still works when the power is out!

Awesome, the best

5.00 Stars

on January 18, 2019

I have been a loyal Verizon FIOS customer for 6 years and will be reviewing my contact shortly. Since installation, have only had 2 service calls that where handled quickly and efficiently. In the 6 years since my installation, I have only had 2 service interruptions that were handled the next day, they were due to equipment failure. I am very satisfied with my FIOS service as well as the pricing. I have full service, phone, TV and internet. Customer service has always been excellent the few times I called to send a signal to my DVR box. I recommend FIOS to anyone if available.

Verizon Fios Gigabit connection

5.00 Stars

on November 14, 2017

I don't know where this web site gets their data but i get 945 Mbps download and 960 Mbps upload speeds on average and i pay $126.04/month for it. To me, that's value.

FIOS has been working reliably for 8 years.

5.00 Stars

on July 19, 2015

FIOS has been working with no problems here at my residence for 8 years. Had constant problems at this location with other providers. I have never had to call customer service with a service issue. When I do call for tech support they are always helpful. Speed is always better than my quoted tier. I have 3 TVs internet and phone. I additionally run a VOIP server for my small home business and FiOS works great for this as well as with my VPN router for secure access when I am working remotely.

Rip off

2.00 Stars

on October 21, 2019

Just paid my bill. Five dollars added to total for Fios. Fios doesn't cover my area. I'm getting pretty sick of all these rip off companies.

Unreliable and poor customer serivce

1.00 Stars

on October 18, 2019

Good internet. Cable constantly has problems and customer service is horrendous. Was on hold for half an hour then get disconnected. Have to go through a maze of automated responses to get a hold of someone which takes forever

Bad customer service

2.00 Stars

on October 18, 2019

Very bad customer service. On the phone for 40 minutes and they still didn’t answer and then I hung up. Get more people to answer phone calls.

Internet

2.00 Stars

on October 17, 2019

My internet was just upgraded and I don't see the difference.

Worst customer service

2.00 Stars

on October 14, 2019

Their customer service is horrible. It's been 6 weeks since I signed up with them and they still did not put the cable into the ground. My neighbor has to drive over it every day. Plus they have kids and they can trip on it.

Verizon offer

1.00 Stars

on October 14, 2019

I have been a loyal client, but new clients receive better pricing. What's really annoying ! they continue to remind me with periodic mailings.

Customer service won't help

2.00 Stars

on October 14, 2019

I experienced a horrible tragedy and needed to shut off the internet in the home I had to quickly move out of. The service was in my husband's name and the options to "validate" we're no longer an option/available. I called multiple times and was told I would get called back, but nothing. They said they could mail me a PIN but it would take over a week, and they would not reimburse the bill from the internet being kept on longer than I have been desperately trying to turn it off. They told me to hire a lawyer to help turn off the internet. It's so hard to click off a switch for someone in need? I just lost everything, and all my money, but thank you for kicking a recent trauma victim while they're down.

Weird & Shady

1.00 Stars

on October 09, 2019

When I call to get assistance because my cable doesn't work, no one helps me. When I call to cancel service, the line hangs up. When I call to speak to technical service, I am kept on hold, until the line hangs up. Verizon is holding me hostage.

Ralph M GTR CST

5.00 Stars

on October 09, 2019

Ralph was super efficient! Explained everything in detail, and fixed everything super fast!!!!! Give that man a raise, he definitely deserves it!!!!!

Poor channel packages and poor bandwidth

2.00 Stars

on October 07, 2019

Switched from optimum to Fios strictly because of price NOT service. Big mistake. Ever since switching over I can’t use fire stick without constant buffering and low bandwidth messages. Verizon adjusted something and still no good. The channel packages are horribly broke up. Twice the number of channels with optimum for the same price. Optimum is now offering contract buy out. Definitely worth looking into switching back.

My interment service was disconnected without explanation. My bill was paid.

2.00 Stars

on October 06, 2019

My internet was disconnected yesterday without any notice . We tried calling customer service , we were transferred to different lines and no one had answer for us. We were told to call on Monday because our service was disconnected due to someone’s mistake in Verizon department.

Streaming

1.00 Stars

on October 06, 2019

I do not know what is going on with FiOS, blacks the speed has gotten slow to the point where some days, I cannot stream. FiOS has advertisement about having the highest speed and customers being able to stream multiple devices, etc is certainly not accurate in the 23234 zip code!

the worst

1.00 Stars

on October 04, 2019

Verizon agents are trained to be polite, but they are incompetent. I have a simple billing issue that has been going on for four months. No one at Verizon has been able to solve it. The agents refuse to give their names (for security reasons?) so it is impossible to follow through with whoever is working on your issue. Every call starts from scratch with a new agent, and callbacks are rare. No one seems to know what they are doing. Terrible company

BAD service

1.00 Stars

on October 01, 2019

I had an appointment for a new installation, confirmation by email, I took the day off from work and NO one came for the service I chated..... they coudnt help ( they will help really good until they take your bank account number, after that GOOD LUCK) talking to someone by phone takes forever and all you get, sorry we understand you ( lovely )frustration

Epic disaster!!!!??

1.00 Stars

on September 30, 2019

Fios rep knocked at our door asking if we’d like to change over to them. Politely told them that we would think about it and get back to them. Two days later we came home to find flags all over our yard and the street spray painted. We NEVER signed up for anything. Called the rep, named Sam, who apologized and said it was a mistake and he’d take care of it. Fast forward 2 more days and we come home to find OUR LAWN DUG UP! Called sam who has been MIA ALL DAY! Called the contractor who was hired by Verizon and found out there was NO WORK ORDER! Big surprise since we didn’t consent to anything! Not only that but now our electric dog fence isn’t working along with my sprinkler system! We have NO Internet, NO TV and NO house phone!!!! The best they could do is come out to fix the cable in 2 days! Buyer beware!!!! Not only are these people idiots but have zero customer service skills! You’ll be hearing from our lawyer!

Dishonest

2.00 Stars

on September 28, 2019

I’ve been a Fios customer for 5 years. Last January I changed my TV channel line up online and for some reason was sent a new router and started getting charged $12 per month rental fee. I called, they said it was an error and sent me return label to send back router. Router sent back but Never stopped charging me $12. Told by customer service it is new thing to send router and start charging again.... for a change in TV channels! Sorry, you are SOL was pretty much what customer service told me twice. Beware ...evil Verizon!

Worst customer service ever

2.00 Stars

on September 26, 2019

3 weeks without internet service. 4 tech's assigned and customer service is a bunch of foreigners that will outright lie to you.

Not fast enough to be lied to.

2.00 Stars

on September 24, 2019

I am a military member who was deployed when the service was installed hence my fiance' was forced to put the service in her name. The sales rep and multiple people at Verizon assured us that my orders with a military clause would be able to get us out of the contract once I was set to transfer. Lo-and-behold the day comes a year and a half later when I do in fact get orders to a state without FiOS and they proceed to tell me that they will not honor the military clause to cancel our contract because we are not yet married. Lied to by multiple people. the speed is not terribly fast (paid for 1Gbps and roughly got 300 Mbps on average due to the terrible router we were forced to buy from them). Couple that with a the spotty connectivity during the afternoon timeframe, and this service has turned out to be much more trouble than it's worth the money we paid for it. So for the same reasons that I switched phone carriers six years ago, I will never, ever buy or get into a contract with Verizon for the rest of my life so help me god.

Amazing!

5.00 Stars

on September 20, 2019

Customer service was AMAZING. I messaged the rep about getting service in my location, and when I messaged him, the rep was pretty funny and nice. I hope to see you guys in my area soon!

Worst customer service ever

1.00 Stars

on September 14, 2019

I cancelled three months ago, and they’re still giving me the run-around. The promised return boxes never came, yet they had the audacity to threaten me with a $500 charge if I failed to return equipment. It took numerous chats and phone calls (and so much wasted time being on hold) until I finally got someone to email me return labels. The overpayment was never credited to my account, but instead I now received another „final bill“ with bogus charges equaling that exact refund amount. I am so angry I can hardly type!!! Even if they offered me s lifetime of free services, I would not want to deal with them again.

Excellent job

5.00 Stars

on September 04, 2019

Tech from Albany NY helped me get my internet up and running within minutes. She was very professional, I would pick her any day to help me or my family members with our Fios internet problems. Thank you.

The new Fios One

4.00 Stars

on July 05, 2019

My wife and I bought a new house and with no with no hesitation just called Verizon for the move. I’ve been a Fios customer for as far back as DSL. I really can’t remember ever having to call for any troubles, service and reliability really something that Verizon can really be proud of. Now here comes the big BUT! So far the move has only cost me more money more money and yes more money! New contract with fewer TV channels more money! New install charge! new battery backup charge! New equipment big charge! New equipment needed some more equipment in order to work big charge! Now with all that being said and I may have left out a few charges that I can’t think of at this time and my first months bill was $559.95 and that’s only for bare bones TV two mini boxes and one DVR. I don’t think Verizon Fios is the same company I was dealing with in the past and is now really more interested in seeing how much money they can get out of you. As far as the new equipment I’m really not impressed whatsoever. WiFi is very very week and slow unless your standing within 10’ to 15’ maximum from the router and or router extender that’s on the other side of the house. I live in a very WiFi dependent area because cellular service ( all carriers ) is not so good and spotty at times. Basically my phone only works within the center core of my house on WiFi at best. Funny thing is I can pick up my neighbors to the left right and across the street Optimum WiFi no problem but my WiFi doesn’t work to the mailbox. I really think I’m going to to call Optimum and give them a chance and call Verizon and tell them come pick up their equipment it’s out on the front porch in a bag.

Verizon Fios

5.00 Stars

on May 16, 2019

I had problem with my Router had Repaire service today I am happy to say the repair man Mike was so amazing did a great job was on time and explained things to us we did not know I surly say he is top notch we give him a 5 star rating for his service I am one very happy Verizon customer thank you Mike ??

Helpful Tech makes All the Difference

4.00 Stars

on May 05, 2019

Decided to switch internet providers to get internet only (100 Mbps) from Verizon Fios for 39.99/month. (That's as long as you sign on to auto pay.) Because I only stream, this is a good deal for me. I'm fed up with one year plans where the price escalates when the year ends, so I'm happy that Fios offers this service without a time limitation. Fios also kept me informed by text - almost a bit too much - reminding me of when the tech was coming, alerting me 15 minutes before the tech arrived, and giving me the name of the tech. But.. I was glad to have the reminder. Oumaru was the tech who installed the new ethernet cable and went to great lengths to help me understand how to set up my own router. He made sure that my computer and phone had internet service and was very thorough and courteous. I appreciated how he explained everything in non-technical jargon. Most reviews are written when people are blowing off steam, so just a shout out from me to Ourarou! Thanks so much for your patience and hard work at my place as you rushed from one job to the other on a Sunday! I very much appreciated your kindness, persistence and patience in getting my internet set up...All in all, I am happy with the Verizon Fios' service.

Great internet speed

4.00 Stars

on April 10, 2019

Sign up to Veizon with my referral code: CHRIS1199VZ to receive a Prepaid Mastercard® card worth: Triple Play: $100 Double Play: $75 Fios Gigabit Connection: $50

best service ever

5.00 Stars

on January 06, 2019

We just signed up with Verizon. We got a great deal. They even waived the 99 installation fee for us because we are new customers and they threw in the tech coming out to our house for free that is usually 15 dollars a month. We get that for 24 months. Customer service is very nice. NEVER rude to me. And also yes their is sometimes a long wait but when I was put on hold I was given a option for there system to call me back when I was next in line to speak to a representive. My tv color is MUCH clearer then it was when I was with comcast.

Fios Vs Comcast

3.00 Stars

on July 24, 2018

So i had been a comcast customer for a lot of years both in Virginia and now in Maryland and I often had problems with the net dropping and having to call customer service *which was automated* to get it back on again. i new the call in customer service routine by heart.. and most of it was automated. Since I've switched to Fios my net went down once in may be 3 years? My husband was able to fix it on his own with some basic trouble shooting instructions on line. I did not give them rating for customer service because I've never had to use customer service. i gave a lower rating in value because as another person wrote.. they don't give two craps about loyalty.. in fact i think our rate went since we renewed our 2 year agreement. however. I had no qualms in renewing because the consistency and reliably of the service has been excellent.

Doesn't get any better.

5.00 Stars

on May 06, 2018

Listen, forget cable internet. Once you go fiber, you will see all it gives. Streaming like a rock star. 1 Gig service can't be beat.

Great repair service!

5.00 Stars

on May 06, 2018

My Fios Triple play line had come down again and our repairman Pete worked for a good 3 hours to get us back up and running. It had fallen onto the street across from my house and he did a fantastic job! Thank you Pete and Verizon Fios for great service. Pete is to be highly commended!

Recommend FIOS

4.00 Stars

on May 05, 2017

I have been a Verizon Triple Bundle customer for a year and have nothing bad to say about the service I got. The internet is up to speed (have never experienced the full 1000Mbps, but usually averages around 77-80Mbps) and my TV package is pretty amazing (all the sports channels included!). Customer service is nice albeit slow, but that's expected in this country. So, overall, if the building has FIOS available in your area, I strongly recommend Verizon over the others.

Verizon FIOS

4.00 Stars

on April 20, 2017

First off, there are faster speeds (listed at 100Mbps). I have 150Mbps service. Right now Comcast offers only asynchronous internet access (155Mbps download, 15/25Mbps upload) whereas FIOS has 150Mbps download, 150Mbps upload. FIOS also offers 300/300 and 500/500. Comcast does have a 2Gbps/2Gbps service but requires a 2 year contract.

Verizon Fios

4.00 Stars

on March 10, 2017

We chose Verizon Fios as it was the only fiber optics provider in our area at the time. However, we have had quite good customer service and the cost is fairly reasonable.

5.00 Stars

on January 21, 2016

consistent reliable service

Verizon Fios

5.00 Stars

on August 23, 2015

Fiber Optics is the Best way to google

Reliable

5.00 Stars

on August 16, 2015

Everything I thought it would be. I've had it for 3 years. Never had an issue with reliability or customer service. Highly recommend it.

Great reiliability speed!

5.00 Stars

on July 10, 2015

Verizon FiOS is the best internet service we have ever had. The service and speed are great. The best thing about the service is that the internet speed is reliable.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Verizon Fios Internet Reviews FAQ

Verizon Fios reviews on this page are all submitted by current Fios customers across the Fios service area. The star rating shown is an aggregate of all the reviews we’ve receive, including both text reviews and star rating reviews. We prompt visitors to leave ratings regardless of what part of BroadbandNow they visit, using IP-verification to ensure that we only collect reviews from actual Verizon Fios customers. 62.5 percent of the customers we've collected Fios reviews from had a favorable review of the provider, which is better than the 48.3 average for all Internet providers.

User Reviews vs Expert Reviews

Reviews shown here do not represent an expert analysis of Fios services, and should not be confused with a fair analysis of Fios’ services. We prompt users from Fios networks on all parts of BroadbandNow to leave reviews to help ensure visitors can see a mix of positive and negative perspectives.

How We Verify and Validate Verizon Fios Reviews

Fios reviews are validated using IP verification. Based on the IP address of visitors, we can see which provider they are currently using. We only allow visitors from Fios networks to leave text or star rating review of Verizon Fios services.

Problems With Fios Customer Reviews

As with any site collecting user reviews, customers with negative experiences tend to leave more reviews than those with positive experiences. Keep this in mind while evaluating Fios services — considering that they are usually the only fiber Internet option in their service area, they are almost always the best option for customers that want to stream video or use bandwidth-intensive apps.

Verizon Fios vs Verizon DSL Internet Reviews

Verizon Fios is a totally separate service from “Verizon High Speed Internet,” which is a DSL service also offered by Verizon. DSL Internet is much, much slower than Fios. While Fios speeds range up to 800+ Mbps, “High Speed Internet” speed from Verizon are closer to 10–15 Mbps. If you are a Verizon High Speed Internet customer and would like to leave a review, please see our Verizon High Speed Internet review page.

Verizon Fios Common Complaints: Slow Service Rollout

Among the reviews submitted to us by Verizon Fios customers, we’ve noticed many complaints about the amount of time it took to get service. This is common, since Verizon Fios has been installing brand new fiber lines all the way to customer buildings. The process of building fiber is very expensive and often gets stalled by regulatory and zoning issues. (e.g. landlords not allowing Fios to run lines along their buildings, etc.) As a result, many potential customers have to wait months or even years before being able to get Fios service, even if they live in a Fios area and the building across the street can get service.