BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Verizon High Speed Internet Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Verizon High Speed Internet's service. To see if broadband Internet from Verizon High Speed Internet is available in your area enter your zip code below.

2.66 Stars  542  Reviews
2.66 out of 5 stars

Great speeds

5.00 Stars

on May 13, 2019

Speeds are great ever since we switched to Verizon FiOS, we pay for 200 Mbps up and down and get 330Mbps up and down, speeds are consistent and never slow down, customer service is also good. I would recommend Verizon.

Great Service

5.00 Stars

on February 28, 2019

My wifi connection and speed is good and I can use several devices at the same time without problems.

Great

5.00 Stars

on July 01, 2018

Great internet company. They are good for what I use it for.

5.00 Stars

on January 02, 2016

I have never had a problem with this internet handling high use. My main gripe is the lack of high speeds available in places that I am researching for retirement, ie. I need at least 50 mbps for workstation use and most places only offer a couple of mgbts/sec off of mobile 4g with data caps and high prices. This is really cutting out most places that I can retire that I would most enjoy, and limiting me to possibilities in large cities.

Dependable internet service

4.00 Stars

on February 22, 2020

We have been a residential phone and DSL service customer of Verizon for over a year now. We have recently moved due to the cost of reaching close to $300 per month. We now pay close to $100 per month. That includes the phone, internet, and a line maintenance agreement that includes the line inside the house that Verizon does not cover. We started having issues with our phone line becoming noisy with static and the internet would disconnect and reconnect especially in wet weather. We “dealt” with it until the point where it was out more than it was on and we used all of our mobile data to get internet here at home. I called customer service and was scheduled to have a tech come and see if the problem could be located and corrected. He found that the drop line from the pole to the house was corroded and one of the wires inside was actually broken. He redid the drop line and renewed the line in the house itself. The connection has been stable ever since.

Do not use this provider

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Verizon has great customer support, but everything else about it is bad. It could be that I live in an area Verizon isn't equipped with, but my internet is slow and very unreliable. I would recommend people who live in a suburban or rural area to not get Verizon and choose another provider

Verizon DSL slower than dial-up and less reliable

1.00 Stars

on August 29, 2019

It is 2019 and I have had Verizon DSL for 10 years. It has always been sporadic in its speed and now it is less reliable than ever. When it works it is fine, not great. But when it doesn't work, it is horrible. Often I cannot connect even to the simplest web page. I reboot my modem, and still cannot connect. Getting my email takes several tries, and web pages are frequently unavailable. Not worth the cost.

Never Ever Works

1.00 Stars

on August 20, 2019

My wifi works, MAYBE, 25% of the time. Essentially they admitted to slowing service intentionally, so the router I bought 3 years ago, needs to be replaced. They are basically stealing from me, as they're my only option in the area, and have no intention of fixing it. Ever played that game Monopoly? Verizon= the big bad business who gets to charge whatever they want, all while screwing over customers without a thought. So frustrated. So disappointed. This is why I switched cell service (consumer cellular ppl! ) and I cant qant for the day they go bankrupt.

there are other options and they are more serious and are responsible

1.00 Stars

on August 20, 2019

waste of time

verizon fios 200/200 is false

1.00 Stars

on August 15, 2019

you never get 200/200 even on speed testing website. you get 50-120 max. Furthermore, many regular websites have very slow download speeds to a crawl (compared to other networks, it's not the website fault) the major websites like netflix have decent speeds. i don't know if they are applying the fast lane/ slow lane they have campaigned so much for with their intrument ajit pai. this isn't meant to be political. it's just the truth

I'm not mad, just highly disappointed.

1.00 Stars

on July 29, 2019

I've been a customer for years. Since 2004. In the past year I've had weeks where it wouldn't have service at all, complete service drops multiple times a day, or even an hour to the point where I have to use my mobile hotspot for atleast decent internet. Download speeds, I may be lucky and get a whole megabyte a second, but most times it rounds out to around 400 kb/s. The service is a joke at this point, always say they fixed the issue, but then the issue reemerges a day or less later.

Terrible slow DSL speeds almost to a crawl

1.00 Stars

on July 20, 2019

The DSL speeds I am getting are terribly slow and Verizon claims there is nothing they can to get my speeds up to where they should be. This is very poor customer service

Wish they could do better

2.00 Stars

on January 17, 2019

Relatively affordable. Unreliable. Service goes out constantly for no reason. Have to chase customer service around in circles for an hour to get answers to simple questions. If your service is disrupted due to their errors, you still pay. Loyalty means nothing.

Mostly satisfied

3.00 Stars

on December 16, 2018

I guess it is the best and our only option. The only drawback is the speed. There are peak times of day, such as lunch hour and early evening, when it could be difficult to get connected because the speed is lower. Sometimes Netflix streaming can be interrupted, but not too often. Overall satisfaction.

Solid but unexciting Internet service

4.00 Stars

on September 09, 2018

We've used Verizon for Internet service for over five years. Positives: Very reliable - almost no down times. Customer service, on the few occasions where I've needed it, has been quick and helpful. Reasonable cost. Negatives: I just ran a speed test. Download -- 4.83 Mbps Upload -- .71 Mbps. That's pretty meh in a major metro area.

Has its ups an downs

3.00 Stars

on February 25, 2018

It's good but for some reason from where I'm living, not so good speed varies from time to time. If one device is on, it's good, but once there are more than one, it slows down or just won't work. Internet issues never go faster than 1.5 to 2.5Mbps.

Need more band width.

4.00 Stars

on November 06, 2017

Very slow download and upload speed. Useing DSL service.

Up and Down

3.00 Stars

on September 25, 2016

When it works, it's great, when it's not it is terrible. Majority of the time it is decent. But when it is not, and that's more often than reasonable, it is terrible, frustrating and pretty much shuts me down, so frustrating that I just turn my computer off. Not consistently dependable. I am looking for another provider.

3.00 Stars

on February 21, 2016

1.0 mps is really 350-450 during the day. Disappointing. But is only $15/month.

not a robot

4.00 Stars

on February 02, 2016

just wanted to give scores

Yea this is the best internet ever

5.00 Stars

on July 14, 2015

I bing here like 9 month never have any problems w my internet just get block to my internet account a few time thats the only bad thing i can come with the rest oh my good it was glorious

At home worker

4.00 Stars

on February 21, 2015

Speeds are ok unless you are an at home worker like I am. I running about 25 different programs through a VPN for about 10 hours a day, and the speed goes down by 50%. I am to be getting about 10mps download I normally get between 5-7mps download. They don't like to tell you about charges that you are going to get hit with if someone has to come to your house. But for less than $80 a month for both internet and home phone service you can't beat that!

$41/mo for slow speeds

2.00 Stars

on January 04, 2015

Living in College Station, TX limits one's choice of mainstream internet providers to precisely two: Verizon DSL and Suddenlink cable. I've been a Verizon DSL customer for a long time and it is a reliable service, but the speeds have been and remain horrendously slow!! I pay 41 bucks and change including taxes per month and I don't feel that this is a fair price for the slow 1.5 Mbps down and 300 kbps up speeds provided. Plus there is a fair amount of speed lost due to DSL overheads - on speedtest.net the service consistently shows ~ 1.1 Mbps down and ~260 kbps up. This is very slow and VoIP call quality suffers quite a bit if someone else is surfing the internet or streaming a TV show during the call. Streaming TV shows on Hulu and movies on Netflix is not the best experience - on multiple occasions during an episode or movie, the show stops while the service tries to buffer. We cannot get HD picture quality at all on this slow speed. Overall, the service has been very reliable, with a handful of times over the past few years when service went down. Customer service has been average but not stellar. On the few occasions that the internet has been down, I'd say that the customer service rep was able to walk us through diagnostics and get the service back up and running about 50% of the time. On the other 50% of the occasions, the rep basically gave up and either sent another rep to check the problem on site or said to "wait awhile - it will be fixed." All in all, I'd be hesitant to recommend Verizon DSL if they were looking for a fast connection. The only plus appears to be reliability.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Verizon High Speed Internet Reviews FAQ

Verizon High Speed Internet is the brand name for Verizon’s DSL Internet service. Reviews on this page are for Verizon’s DSL Internet service, which is different from their better-known “Fios” service. To date, we’ve collected 18,760 ratings and reviews of Verizon High Speed Internet, with 40.2% of BroadbandNow visitors rating their service favorably. The most common issues we've seen in customer reviews are problems with the speed and a lack of interest in phone service.

How We Select Reviews to Display

The Verizon Internet reviews displayed on this page are selected based on the helpfulness of content in the review. The majority or reviews we receive are not publishable due to lack of information in the text. We are not able to publish reviews that don’t explain their star rating, or that are incomprehensible due to confusing spelling and grammar.

As a rule, we only publish those reviews that include specific, helpful information to support the customer’s reasoning for leaving a good or bad star rating.

Are All These Reviews From Real Customers?

Yes, all Verizon Internet reviews shown on BroadbandNow come from IP addresses associated with Verizon’s service areas. We are able to use an IP-verification process to ensure that reviews come from real, current customers only, and that those users are not able to leave multiple reviews.

Verizon Internet Reviews: High Speed Internet vs Fios

The reviews shown above are not for Verizon Fios service. This page is dedicated to Verizon High Speed Internet, which is what they call their slower “DSL” Internet services. Verizon High Speed Internet is delivered over phone lines, while Verizon Fios is delivered using more modern fiber-optic cables. Our Verizon Fios reviews are available here.

Common Issues with Verizon High Speed DSL Internet

The reviews we’ve read from current Verizon High Speed Internet customers commonly complain about two issues: speed and price. Because Verizon’s DSL service is often the only Internet option in their service area, the speeds aren’t always as fast as they might be in more cooperative urban areas. DSL Internet tends to be slower than both Fiber and Cable, but since it’s the only option for many customers, the price might be just as high as cable. Additionally, customers who do not want a landline phone will usually not get the same “bundled” pricing that phone customers are offered.