Verizon Customer Reviews Summary

Customer Service
3.3
Reliability
2.8
Speed
2.6
Value
2.7

We asked BroadbandNow users to review Verizon High Speed Internet based on four core attributes: Customer Service, Reliability, Speed, and Value.

BroadbandNow readers submitted 745 for Verizon High Speed Internet. Verizon High Speed Internet earned an average score of 2.84 out of 5.

Check Availability by address:
Ways to order Verizon High Speed Internet:

Verizon High Speed Internet Customer Reviews

Leave a review for Verizon High Speed Internet

Are you a current or former Verizon High Speed Internet customer? Tell us what you love about Verizon High Speed Internet and offer valuable insights for other users.

*Please note we only publish helpful, relevant, and specific reviews. When writing your review, please support your rating with detailed reasoning.

Mediocre speeds

Joe A on April 02, 2023

I’ve been a Verizon DSL internet user for over a decade and for the most part they provide a decent service, but for a premium price, which I don’t think can be justified anymore with their comparatively slow download speeds that have been coming to a crawl lately. I’ve experienced constant connection problems where I will lose connectivity while on the web. I’m also in the State College suburbs.

High speed Internet

Larry on March 16, 2023

Just changed over ISP and was getting plan 25 Mbps, switched to Verizon 5G home broadband internet. Was very easy to set up and connect all of my devices. Test speed shows 199 Mbps in the living room. The box is upstairs. It used to lag while watching ESPN but now it works perfectly. I would say if you can get Verizon 5G home Internet, I say get it.

Wireless internet

Mark on February 28, 2023

The Verizon wireless internet box is working well for us most of the time. Three times now it's conked out and each time I called customer service and they very thoroughly went through steps to reset service and troubleshoot why we get what I call hiccups. Our old wired router worked with less strength but more reliably. Gone are the days when you could call and get a discount on your bill for dropped calls, time on the phone with customer service is worth something to me. Let's all hope the next update brings more reliability.

Not reliable

Louis on February 22, 2023

It is an internet service, Verizon just supplies the minimum to its existing customers. I live within 6 miles of the 2023 super bowl. Before the Super Bowl, I lost service on Saturday. After checking as to service, talking to multiple levels of service support. I was informed that my service would be out for an extended time, due to upgrades for the supper bowl. After being lied to a repair number was issued and I was told I would receive a credit on my account. Liar, after the bowl game service, it's worse, and no credit was issued. My download is in the nano speeds

Moon Verizon Store Support

George on February 08, 2023

I had a recent problem with my phone and sought help at the Verizon Store in Moon Township. I worked with three guys who spent time helping me to resolve my problem. I would add that this was a nagging problem that eventually required a factory reset. Not only did I receive help in resetting my phone, but also in restoring all of my data, apps, photos, etc. after the reset. Hopefully, Verizon will recognize the efforts of these guys who demonstrated both expertise and patience.

Lousy internet speeds

Walt Fillmann on January 22, 2023

Last two months of Verizon internet service in State College PA has been deplorable. Mbps range avg. .054. No kidding. Technician came out and examined everything. No problem with me or the substation up our street. The bottleneck is right downtown in State College where all towners and students get preferential treatment and suck up all the bandwidth, leaving crumbs for the rest of us in suburbia. This is not what I am paying so much for. I think I speak for many of us. Verizon, better wise up and change your routing algorithms. Or else it's hello competitor next chance we get.

Huge Improvement from our previous provider!

Tfitz on January 18, 2023

Verizon internet made a huge improvement in bandwidth and access throughout my home. The other provider was always fluctuating and I live in a suburb - no excuses. Faster, better, and less expensive.

DSL is not worth it

Aaron Blum on January 10, 2023

The customer service is great. However, we live in a somewhat rural area and our service sucks. We have had Verizon come out several times to try to fix our DSL connection and the problem still exists. Verizon's cell phone service does not work well either. We will be looking to change to another provider shortly.

Great for 3 days.

C Vang on December 31, 2022

I bought Verizon because it seemed like the only one I could get soon enough. Verizon's a big brand and popular too, so I figured it would be a great choice. After installing a wifi unit in my house, it worked perfectly and maxed out the limit my plan offered. Then day 4 came around and it instantly halted to a crawl between 1 and 5 Mbps per second. The whole day, I tried getting it to work, until I gave in and contacted customer support. I'll give them one thing, the customer support was quick and efficient, even though it seems like all they did was restart my unit and get lucky on a good connection, and at about half the speed limit of my plan. Honestly, it was so bad, I'm confident they capped my speeds even lower than the promised speeds sometimes. And I'm confident because it was frequent and speeds were consistently at a specific lower value. One minute, it would be fine and the next it'll give me hundreds of KILOBYTES per second. Well, today I switched to a different provider (for barely cheaper with 5X the speeds), and I'll happily never return to Verizon.

Awesome

R W on December 26, 2022

I always have to give it to Verizon on shipping this thing hit my door in 2 days during the holidays. Now that I've gotten that out of the way, I live in a new construction neighborhood outside of town enough where fiber exists but it's not reliable. I had to have techs come to my house twice within a week, which is why I got Verizon. Set up was very quick and easy no issues whatsoever. I logged on to the router to change a couple of things to make it better for gaming and the interface is clear and easy to understand. The signal strength is excellent, I no longer need a signal booster. I consistently get speeds over 200Mbps and the signal remains stable consistently. I work from home, stream video all day and play Xbox online all the time and I have no problems.

So far so good

Paul D Hervey on November 14, 2022

We have had ATT for years, with the router plugged into the phone jack, DSL I believe. Was paying about $60 a month. Had some loading and buffering issues. Verizon reached out with a promo offer of $25 a month for a 5G system. I had some customer service issues. I called about a question and the ag entmisunderstood and canceled my order. Re-ordered but this caused two Routers to be ordered, another hassle. Then I tried to connect it. Unsuccessful. A nice but inexperienced young female agent spent much time trying to remedy it, to no avail. Now I was frustrated and ready to cancel. I called and was a little hard on the gentleman's agent. However, he was experienced and informed me that my service had not yet been activated. Who knew? Not the young woman. So now it's up and running. I soon discovered that I was having major issues with buffering and loading. Very frustrating. Again, was ready to cancel. A thought then occurred to me (Thank you, God). I moved the router from the old spot next to a wall and my old router phone jack to my home office facing a big window(this system is all wireless, no wire connection needed. Voila! Now it works great, not one buffering a loading issue.

Usually pretty good but reliability issues

Greg Simmons on September 01, 2022

We initially had some issues getting our 5G Gateway; it was not available where our customer service rep said it would be, but a different store had one. We've had this since June 20th, 2022, a little over 2 months. Sometimes, we'll go for a week or 2 with no issues, but lately, for the past 2 weeks, it goes down several times a day, and, since we work from home, we have to tether to our phones until it comes back up. That said, it has been far better than our previous carrier. We are very hopeful that they'll resolve their reliability issues.

Internet issues

Mychelle Alvarado on July 23, 2022

My husband recently got Verizon Internet and we are having issues already with it the Wi-Fi. The wifi drops there’s no signal, and it takes forever to load.

Verizon 5G Home Internet Plus

Smith on July 01, 2022

6/29/2022 initial test results just using internet speed test from Google main page speed test, cell phone on wifi control group 3.92.Mbps download 1.65 Mbps upload Verizon 5G $35-$70 a month, for 3 years. 126.7 download 5.93 Mbps upload I did many tests and it seems this other ISP knew we were making a decision suddenly the scores went up to 300Mbps and 60Mbps upload/download. The following day BOTH services decided to drop to 30-40Mbs. The $35 per month I will get if I decide to stick with Verizon is because I have phone plans already with them. My cellphone hooked up to a wireless router is in here because when I got COVID and had to work from home, The other ISP decided to be offline for 4 hours so the backup plan to run my home laptop, wife's TV, etc is my cell phone. That is what got me looking at Verizon 5G or some alternative that wasn't costing $102 a month. The speeds Verizon is offering may be "Enough". Not necessarily as fast as we can get when the other ISP decides it wants to be fast. However the advertised 300/50 Mbps Verizon is advertising, I haven't seen it yet on a test. I'm not far away from the tower at all, but even then, I feel like the swings are just like being on a DSLAM with any other provider. Not dedicated bandwidth, adhoc results. I don't know if I'm going to dump the other one and stay with the 5G router from Verizon or the other yet. Thought the data might help others. I'm in a suburb of a large city, less than a mile from the tower.

Love Verizon Internet 5G LTE

Renee on May 29, 2022

We moved to a 72-acre farm in Dayton, OH and this was the only service available. It would have cost 4k to get wires on our property. It worked great! We surfed the net, streamed videos, and played games with no lagging issues. This is my only service through Verizon, and customer service is great. I was able to chat on a holiday weekend, too. Be sure to sign up for it online, not at a local store, since the privately owned stores do not deal with it much and did not understand how it works or the deals available.

Verizon Wifi

Weston Wohlert on April 13, 2022

If you're looking for casually scrolling the internet, this is fine. but if you want to trade stocks or do any sort of simple gaming (like League of Legends), the connection is slow. you will have ping spikes non-stop that make it unplayable. Live very close to their tower too.

5G Home: When it works, it works well. Reliability just isn't there yet.

Steven S on March 23, 2022

The first month was impressive. I consistently got 300mbps+ down and 20mbps+ up and it was very reliable. But, for the past week, it's been atrocious. It's laggy, sites timeout out or take several seconds or more to load and the internet connection drops completely at least 2-3 times per day. For the price (I'm on Verizon unlimited so only pay $25) I'm willing to put up with some glitches as 5G Home is rolled out. But, reliability is a big concern for me, since I also need a VPN connection for a week. I'm 2 months into the service and would only recommend this to someone willing to put up with inconsistent performance and losing connectivity multiple times per day. When it works, it works well. But, it's only working well about 80% of the time for me now. I'm not alone in this, as I've read postings on Reddit's Verizon forum stating the same issues over the past couple of weeks. Your mileage may vary.

Fantastic

Lee D Krichbaum on January 30, 2021

The value that you get from the bundle that Verizon is currently offering is amazing. Obviously, this is because they are being pressured by competition from other ISPs that are moving into my area. I have a 200Mbps up/down plan and regularly exceed that by 50Mbps+. That said, I have had general connectivity issues about once a week from day one (6 yr client) which requires a modem reboot. So while the sweet interweb's feed is all underground and weather doesn't affect the link, the connection fails often mid-meeting because of a butterfly flapped wings in Europe (some high bandwidth cisco switch needed a run config upgrade). When it is on, it is good and the price is amazing too.

Gonna be sad to see it go

C. Ritenour on November 25, 2020

We have had a great experience with Verizon even with many devices on at once, we have not had any issues. Great customer service, but moving soon to Martinsburg WV and it is not available so I guess we are stuck with a sub-par provider. Kinda sad, we're spoiled.

Dependable internet service

Ken on February 22, 2020

We have been a residential phone and DSL service customer of Verizon for over a year now. We have recently moved due to the cost of reaching close to $300 per month. We now pay close to $100 per month. That includes the phone, internet, and a line maintenance agreement that includes the line inside the house that Verizon does not cover. We started having issues with our phone line becoming noisy with static and the internet would disconnect and reconnect especially in wet weather. We “dealt” with it until the point where it was out more than it was on and we used all of our mobile data to get internet here at home. I called customer service and was scheduled to have a tech come and see if the problem could be located and corrected. He found that the drop line from the pole to the house was corroded and one of the wires inside was actually broken. He redid the drop line and renewed the line in the house itself. The connection has been stable ever since.

About Our Verizon High Speed Internet Customer Reviews

Verizon High Speed Internet is the brand name for Verizon’s DSL internet service. Not to be confused with Verizon’s other internet service options (Verizon Fios fiber-optic internet and Verizon 5G Home Internet), Verizon High Speed Internet uses a DSL connection to deliver reliable home internet to customers in states like New York and New Jersey.

To compile the information on this page, we sourced Verizon High Speed Internet reviews from real Verizon customers. percent of those reviews have been positive so far. If you’re a Verizon High Speed Internet customer, be sure to add your own review!