Verizon High Speed Internet Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Verizon High Speed Internet's service. To see if Internet from Verizon High Speed Internet is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Verizon High Speed Internet Service

Verizon High Speed Internet

1.68 Stars  331 Reviews
1.68 out of 5 stars

5 Star
1.7%
4 Star
1.4%
3 Star
9.2%
2 Star
38.7%
1 Star
49.0%

Leave a Review For Verizon High Speed Internet

Are you a current or former Verizon High Speed Internet customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Poor service, equipment and too expensive for what is offered

1.00 Stars

on February 16, 2018

Verizon High Speed Internet gets a D- to F rating from me, with A being the best rating possible. I have been with Verizon for more than 10 years. When I moved to the current address in an apartment building, Verizon stated that Fios, which I had had at my previous address, was not available in the new apartment. They told me in 2010 that Fios should be available soon in this building. It still isn't, more than 7 years later. With regard to Verizon High Speed Internet itself, the service is variable to such a degree that I have to resort to using my cell phone and the wireless connection there rather than Verizon internet quite often. Verizon refuses to replace the outdated, original modem and router and charges as much as a cable provider for cable service. The service also fails at least once a week. The phone lines cannot be updated to digital service, so most options with phone simply do not exist with Verizon "high-speed" internet. Finally, Verizon's customer service and technical support are awful and are getting worse, not better with time. I am not sure what all has changed with Verizon in the past seven years, but something is not right. And until they have Fios in this area, I cannot recommend their products.

Up and Down

3.00 Stars

on September 25, 2016

When it works, it's great, when it's not it is terrible. Majority of the time it is decent. But when it is not, and that's more often than reasonable, it is terrible, frustrating and pretty much shuts me down, so frustrating that I just turn my computer off. Not consistently dependable. I am looking for another provider.

Just a circle

2.00 Stars

on July 03, 2017

I watch three minutes of a circle on the screen for twenty seconds of video. My AOL dialup in the 90's was more reliable. And this is after purchasing a new router and checking connections.

2.00 Stars

on April 17, 2016

It's always losing connection, not good speed. They do have wonderful customer service.

Inexcusably Bad Service for Extended Internet Malfunction

1.00 Stars

on December 11, 2017

I've been paying for Verizon high speed internet for years with only occasional problems until recently. In the last few months, internet speed slowed and now connection is not working for 3 weeks. I called for service numerous times and was on hold for 1 hour before speaking to a supervisor who confirmed this is an outside line issue. He set up a tech appointment. Tech came late and had no idea what he was there to fix. he left without fixing the problem. Issue was escalated to Verizon's "Promise Team" who promised this would be taken care of and set up another tech appointment. for today. More of the same ensued - tech and dispatch supervisor had no idea what they were here to fix. I explained issue. They said they'd resend another tech and didn't. Other friends have had similar problems with Verizon.

Verizon is terrible

1.00 Stars

on December 12, 2017

DSL internet worked fine for a while, but for the past month, it is in and out...have called weekly and am always told it's working, and they'll get it going for a day, then it goes out again..calling them is always very time consuming.

$41/mo for slow speeds

2.00 Stars

on January 04, 2015

Living in College Station, TX limits one's choice of mainstream internet providers to precisely two: Verizon DSL and Suddenlink cable. I've been a Verizon DSL customer for a long time and it is a reliable service, but the speeds have been and remain horrendously slow!! I pay 41 bucks and change including taxes per month and I don't feel that this is a fair price for the slow 1.5 Mbps down and 300 kbps up speeds provided. Plus there is a fair amount of speed lost due to DSL overheads - on speedtest.net the service consistently shows ~ 1.1 Mbps down and ~260 kbps up. This is very slow and VoIP call quality suffers quite a bit if someone else is surfing the internet or streaming a TV show during the call. Streaming TV shows on Hulu and movies on Netflix is not the best experience - on multiple occasions during an episode or movie, the show stops while the service tries to buffer. We cannot get HD picture quality at all on this slow speed. Overall, the service has been very reliable, with a handful of times over the past few years when service went down. Customer service has been average but not stellar. On the few occasions that the internet has been down, I'd say that the customer service rep was able to walk us through diagnostics and get the service back up and running about 50% of the time. On the other 50% of the occasions, the rep basically gave up and either sent another rep to check the problem on site or said to "wait awhile - it will be fixed." All in all, I'd be hesitant to recommend Verizon DSL if they were looking for a fast connection. The only plus appears to be reliability.

Reliable, but expensive

3.00 Stars

on July 18, 2015

"High Speed" is max 3 mbps download and 0.7Mbps upload over wire. I can see the switching building, and maybe this is why the service has been very reliable. But the latest price increase to $40 per month is exorbitant for such slow throughput. Nothing higher is available from Verizon in the Portville, NY area.

Very Slow - not recommended

1.00 Stars

on July 02, 2018

Since we don’t have FIOS in our area, Verizon customer support is terrible. The only online support app is for FIOS and if you call them, they have nothing to offer for improvement. You get transferred around and then are told they can’t help because they are not in sales. It’s a pointlesss waste of time.

Has its ups an downs

3.00 Stars

on February 25, 2018

It's good but for some reason from where I'm living, not so good speed varies from time to time. If one device is on, it's good, but once there are more than one, it slows down or just won't work. Internet issues never go faster than 1.5 to 2.5Mbps.

Great

5.00 Stars

on July 01, 2018

Great internet company. They are good for what I use it for.

Poor is an understatement...

2.00 Stars

on March 18, 2017

The speed is atrocious. 3Mbps/>1Mbps. When I originally spoke with the sales agent, they told me that it was "Up to 15 Mbps connection." I informed them that I did a lot of online gaming as well as watching streaming services such as Netflix. Told them that sometimes if Netflix was running and a game was being played at the same time, I would have issues with both. They told me that because this was an "individual line" instead of servicing town-homes, that a 15 Mbps down service would suffice. I was wary, but agreed to their service as there are no other land based services available at my home. I scheduled an installation, they did not show up. Finally, I spoke to someone who expressed their sympathy for my issues and was able to get a tech sent to my house the next day to have my service installed. The tech arrived when he was supposed to, and was alerted to the issues that I had had. He was the first one to tell me I probably wouldn't see more than 3 Mpbs. I have now had the service for about 6 months, and the only good thing I can say about it is that it hasn't gone down. Outside of that, the service is terrible. I have never once seen the "up to 15 Mbps" I was promised when I spoke to the sales agent. I can still play my online games as long as nothing else is being done on the internet at the time. If Netflix is in use, my latency goes through the roof. Downloads take forever. I can download with nothing else on the internet at approximately 1 Gb per hour. A large game will take a 1-3 days to download.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC