Sparklight Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Sparklight (formerly Cable One)'s service. To see if broadband Internet from Sparklight (formerly Cable One) is available in your area enter your zip code below.

364 Reviews
2.18 out of 5 stars

5 Star
8.7
8.7%
4 Star
5.3
5.3%
3 Star
17.1
17.1%
2 Star
33.3
33.3%
1 Star
35.5
35.5%

Leave a Review For Sparklight (formerly Cable One)

Are you a current or former Sparklight (formerly Cable One) customer in a Sparklight (formerly Cable One) service area? Share your experience to help other users.

Too Expensive for what you get.

on September 28, 2017

If you use a lot of data which a lot of people use more then they think, stay away from cable one, Their data cap gets in the way a lot and the price is just too high for something that you have to constantly watch. We have 3 tv's that would like to stream Netflix or Hulu but can't not because of the speed which is amazing with that number of people, they just can't because we can't afford to go over our data cap.

Wireless terrible, wired okay, streaming is limited and service expensive

on September 14, 2018

I have internet service at two houses in two states with different vendors (so I know what to expect). I have used Cable One in downtown Prescott AZ for 12 years but if there were a serious alternative in Prescott AZ, I would probably make the change. The internet service is 30% more expensive (compared to my other house), is limited in streaming capacity (compared to the fiber optics at the other house), the wired connection for my home office computer works okay but the wireless capacity (which is 10 feet away from the wired connection) works terribly. As an example, today's exercise program that I was streaming between 4-5 pm took almost an hour (twice the 30-minute length) with 20 interruptions of 15 seconds to 5 minutes duration. This result happens more often than not in the afternoons.

Data cap needs to be increased or eliminated

on December 11, 2018

After 3 months and 3 notices that I had to exceed my data limit, I received my latest bill from Cable One almost doubling my monthly fee for internet. I called other providers to compare and they offer 1 TB of data for basically the same price that Cable One offers only 300 GB, the speed may be slightly slower but these days, speed is not as much as an issue as data. In today's world where video streaming is becoming the norm, and game consoles are allowing people to download their favorite games directly to the gaming system, data is becoming much more important than speed. Most internet providers have recognized this and have either raised the caps on their data limit or ignore it all together. Cable One needs to get with the times and realize that speed is no longer the selling point for internet, Data is.

Basic internet okay but not for streaming.

on March 24, 2018

Internet for PC use is fine. But we can't stream anything without several reboots. Just upgraded to a better streaming package and it's only a slight improvement. So now, we only have to reboot 2-5 times during a movie instead of giving up completely half way through.

From bad to worse since Sparklight rebranding

on January 29, 2020

Having no competition, CableOne has had overpriced, slow, and inconsistent speeds for the last fifteen years I have been their customer. But since the Sparklight change, it has gotten much worse. Now their customer login page regularly fails to load, and when the speed test they provide in the portal does load, the speeds often fall below 5Mbps (up and down using a wired connection) on a 300/30 plan. Working from home has become almost intolerable, and there are still no viable alternatives in this market. The data caps have added insult to the whole process - now its either buy a higher plan that you won't ever get the advertised speeds for OR blow the data cap when one computer automatically updates itself that month.

Don't do it

on June 01, 2018

I have had problems with my internet service for the past year. The internet is down at least 30% in a week. This is unacceptable since I work from home. I cant get a credit because the issue seems like it will never be resolved. Once I was offered a refund for a few dollars. Hilarious. I would not recommend Cableone internet or phone.

Sparklight Review

on February 02, 2020

I spend $200 a month with this service but I have yet to watch a 30 min episode on Netflix without a loading bar. I’m switching to PMT -- I’ll pay for the same service I get with Sparklight but pay 3x less.

DO NOT BUNDLE WITH CABLE ONE!

on July 09, 2018

Internet speed and reliability is probably slightly better than average, but the bundled phone service sucks! As a business, I rely on my phone. Never had a phone problem with other providers for 17 years of business here. Nothing but problems with Cable One. They can hear me, but I can't hear them. Calls to Cable One are useless. I'll go back to DSL internet speed to get my phone service back to normal.

Data capped

on January 23, 2016

If you go over your (small) monthly allotment they will offer a higher tier plan for 3 months or terminate your service. The internet itself is pretty reliable, only going down for a few minutes every day but you'll never get your advertised speed.

Makes you count data usage as if your life depended on it.

on January 29, 2019

Can't comfortably watch Youtube, Netflix, Hulu, etc. comfortably without putting the video to an ugly quality just so you don't go over the cap. They increase the speed over the time I had their service, but what good is bigger hose when you still have the tiny reservoir to draw that water from? It just makes it easier to mistakenly go over cap. Get your own router, install DD-WRT on it, and monitor your data closely. It's like we're still in 2005 or something with this slim selection of ISPs, and they like it like that. I'm actively wishing a competitor comes along.

Great speed, terrible data cap

on November 11, 2015

Their speed is great, but they have a data cap of only 300Gb on their base package. It is absolutely worthless for normal gamer/streamer usage. In my first billing cycle, I used 809GB of data.

Overpriced. Underdelivered.

on June 17, 2018

After $15 of mandatory surcharges for 'broadcast TV' and 'sports', $20 for equipment (HD/DVR receiver & HD Digital converter, we elected to provide our own cable modem), and other fees, Cableone charges almost $175 a month for its Preferred Bundle - HDTV & Internet (100Mbps down/3Mbps up). We rarely get more than 20-25Mbps down, and rarely are able to stream an HD TV show due to "insufficient bandwidth". In short, if there was any reasonable competition, we'd jump in a minute.

Data cap a deal breaker

on December 09, 2017

Quality service and internet speed are awesome, the only complaint is their data caps. If you like streaming services like Netflix and Sling you are screwed with Cable One.

Good speed, Low data limits

on January 31, 2016

I have 100 Mbps service and have a data cap of 300GB. That equates to about 7 hours of 100% download for the month! We have a household of 4 people who use the internet for facebook, youtube, gaming, and Netflix. Add to that the updates for games and software and it gets very close. If you add in video and music purchases from iTunes, it's downright impossible.

Great internet but expensive and not unlimited

on June 12, 2017

I love Cable ONE. However, since they have gotten greedy and stopped the unlimited data it has turned into the most expensive internet in town. 300 GB isn't enough for a family of 5. I pay $69.95 for 300 GB for a month. And they force you to the 500 GB if you go over 3 months in a row. Which means your bill goes up to $105.00 a month. I am going to be leaving Cable ONE because of this. If they ever offer unlimited internet for a decent price I will return.

Is this a good value product?

on January 23, 2020

Customer service was excellent when this was installed. It has been a reliable service, but is nowhere near the advertised speed. I have the 80 dollar plan and my download is only around 32 average.

Better than other ISPs, I guess.

on July 29, 2015

The speed and price are nothing special but I've had worse. Frequent short outages. Not a month goes by where service doesn't mysteriously disappear for a block of at least an hour, occasionally all day, with no notice. Their cable TV division also apparently had a row with Viacom because they were raising their fees and dropped their channels; so Viacom decided to block the I.P. addresses of all of their subscribers, whether they had TV or not; this meant I couldn't (still can't) watch Daily Show on its website, even though I don't even buy cable TV! (Fortunately I was able to work-around with Hulu.) Just the usual nonsense in this poorly regulated industry.

Good Sometime, Poor Sometime~

on May 27, 2015

Mostly I've been satisfied with Cable One, but the last two days, I've had good reception in the morning and none on my computer in the afternoon and evening. They're telling me that it isn't on their end, but I don't see how that's possible.

Excellent Technician!!

on January 09, 2020

The technician, Brent, who fixed our connection and service was awesome!! Very knowledgeable, professional and got the job done correctly! Great Job!

Fast, reliable service

on March 21, 2016

Service is fast and reliable. Data cap thresholds are very easy to run over for a family household of five people, and I am looking into other providers due to their data caps.

Solid internet at $60/month

on April 23, 2018

Very rarely have internet drop. Does lag during congested times but I'm pretty heavy data user so probably not an issue for most. Runs about $60 after taxes.

Cable One Internet Only Service

on June 06, 2018

Cable One is by far the fastest provider in Bartlesville area. However, the speed of the service varies widely during an average day. Early in the day, you will get your rated speed on an ethernet connection but by midday, it is slowing by about half. Service is reliable. One or two outages per year usually fixed in a matter of hours. Technical customer service is very good. But when you contact support over slow speed you will receive a script telling you to make changes to your equipment. The price tag for all levels of internet service is the highest you will encounter. Don't recommend moving to BVO for the Internet service.

I like it overall

on November 18, 2018

The installer was rude but the lady in the office is a sweetheart. As far as the service, I get half of what I am paying for but it is enough. I do not like the cap though. I always wonder if I am going to run over the limit. I have had this for a year and lucky to have it.

Best you can get in Show Low

on April 14, 2017

Cable One is the fastest internet you can get in Show Low today. My experience has been good. My only "complaint" is that the service pricing level is much higher than it should be. Why? I think it's lack of competition. Frontier is not exactly "competition". If other similar services providers (i.e. Cox) were able to compete in this area I think the pricing would be more like what you see in metro Phoenix. Low score for "value", but the service is good and very reliable.

Internet speed

on February 21, 2020

Awesome. Internet speeds can get to 150 Mbps download, 75 Mbps upload. I love it.

Best speed and service in town

on July 11, 2018

The tech arrived on time, installed modem where it would get WiFi to my device. Tech showed me that I was getting more than the speed I was paying for on my computer.

Cable One Saves the Day

on December 14, 2018

We switched to Cable One at my company several months ago and the internet is so much better than our previous provider. We also switched to their phone service. Yesterday our company voicemail no longer connected; it instead took callers to some generic voicemail somewhere else in the world. After talking to our phone system provider and some other local phone technicians, I gave Cable One a try. They rebooted our system and did everything on their end to fix this issue. We have no idea what triggered this random issue, but they fixed it, all the while going out of their way to make sure I was taken care of. Tech Support was awesome. I highly recommend Cable One.

Great service tech

on September 16, 2019

Tech came to rewire our whole house, not like the previous technician that had been called out several times for the same issue... This one fixed my problem and was very courteous and polite and finished the job in a timely manner. Thank you for your wonderful service. We no longer have problems with the internet nor our phone lines.

Fast, Reliable, & Expensive

on February 06, 2020

The internet service is fast and reliable but you'll pay some of the highest prices in the country for it. Their plans all come with low data caps and you have to pay an extra $40 bucks for "unlimited". Of course by unlimited they mean 5TB.

TECHNICIAN

on February 19, 2020

Tech installed my internet and modem today. He was professional, courteous and helpful. A great experience today. Thank you.

Best service around

on February 01, 2016

If you have access to CableOne as an ISP you are very lucky.They have the best speed, service, reliability, and price of any providers available to me. Thank goodness CableOne brought their service to us even outside of the city limits and it has been great.

High Speed Broadband

on September 11, 2017

Excellent Customer Service

I wish they offered service to my new address

on April 22, 2015

Their customer service reps, techies and front office people have all, always been pleasant and helpful. It helps that I am pleasant to them. There have been only 2 outages during the 10 years I have used Cable One. They send data faster than my old computer can handle it. The price has had only one small price hike over this past decade.

Fast internet

on March 16, 2019

Cable One is definitely faster at 100Mbps. One month and no interruptions in service. I have DirecTV for television service. So can only comment about Cable One's internet. Would definitely recommend.

Happy Customer

on March 24, 2020

Tech was very respectful and knowledgeable service person. He explained the problem and made sure it met his criteria before he left. I am very pleased with the service I received.

Thank you to Tech in Cottonwood!!

on April 17, 2020

Just wanted to give a shout out to Technician in Cottonwood. New customer, and he was very helpful with my internet and TV set up.

Great Technician

on July 31, 2020

We had a technician from Sparklight come to our home today for a customer support call and I have nothing but great things to say about him. He was reliable, friendly, honest and just did an overall great job!! Wish all service repair people were like him!

Fixed internet and added more channels

on March 27, 2020

Tech from Sparklight came to the house to fix our internet. He did a wonderful job. He was on time and accurate in his work. Thank You Sparklight!

Okay / Not Great

on May 15, 2020

If you want to play games online then you will be kicked off the net before you can even get started. You would think with it being 2020 they would update from 2002 technology. It seems to do fine with steaming videos. Gets annoying having to reset the internet 5-6 times a day on average. I don’t normally complain but I feel like I shouldn’t be resetting it every time just for it to work as it should.

Reliable

on December 14, 2015

I've ran speed test and they've come back with the advertised speed and the service has been reliable.

Outstanding!!

on March 26, 2021

This is the best service along with the astonishing speed. Tech was in my apartment for less than 10 minutes. Thanks again, Sparklight!

Great service

on March 22, 2021

Sparklight was fast to schedule an appointment. Techs worked outside and inside our house to find the problems and fixed them within two hours. Awesome service!

Savings

on March 09, 2021

I spoke with Sparklight's customer service representatives and they were able to cut my bill in half and give me better service (faster upload speeds). It was really quick and I cut my normal bill in half. Thanks.

Service Review

on March 03, 2021

Their technician did way over what was expected and brought laughter and smiles into my home. His workmanship and professional manners exceeded all expectations. A five-star rating for this service!

Outstanding Customer Service

on January 13, 2021

I am a long time customer of New Wave Communications (Sparklight). Although I have never had an issue with their phone and internet services, I did recently encounter issues with my online account on their website. I was unable to make simple, basic profile changes to said account; but instead was directed to call them via phone. Imagining countless minutes of my time to to do so - I was exasperated; but call them I did at the number so directed. I had several issues to bring to their attention and I am overwhelmed at the response I have received. Much to my chagrin, I did not record the names of the individuals I spoke with; however, I can say that both the individuals I spoke with were knowledgeable and extremely courteous. Much appreciated. I made one phone call, received two phone calls in return and one email from this company concerning my issues. The representative I originally spoke with and a gentleman from the IT department reached out to me via phone to provide an update on the status of my issues and to notify me that they were indeed working to resolve said issues. Kudos! to them both, especially in today’s age where one is constantly bombarded with relentless recordings in an effort to reach out and speak with a human being. This company made it easy. Again, much appreciated.

If their are other providers, use them

on January 09, 2021

We used to have the 100mbps option, but we had to upgrade to the 300+ option. The data cap was too low for even 720p youtube streaming! They do usually over-deliver on the speed, about 50 Mbps over to the modem. What most people don't understand is that to get the full speed, you have to be wired in with an ethernet cable. The reliability is just bad! The internet, at least where I live, is out at least once every two months. One time it was out for 2 days twice in the same month! The ping (latency) is not THAT bad, about 20-30ms. so their service is fine for gaming. The upload speed is fine, just take a zero off the download, and that's the speed. The only other companies we have in our area are Frontier (totally unreliable and too slow) and those fixed wireless companies which have like 1mbps up and down. Overall, to get good service, you need to fork over a lot of money to get comfortable service. Do not recommend if there are any other good providers in your area. Do your research, then decide.

Great Costumer Service

on January 09, 2021

Tech Support Technician James W was prompt and professional. Thank you Sparklight for your great service.

Well done

on December 11, 2020

The setup for my home was not easy, but the Sparklight techs told me what needed to be done. I replaced the old cable through the attic, and they tuned the line from their end, and now I have about 10-15% faster speed than they say they are giving me. Thank you Sparklight for hanging in there through the process. I am now tickled pink with my new high-speed internet!

Telephone modem updates

on November 05, 2020

Your Tech visit today to update our phone and modem went extremely well. He explained all the new gadgets and made sure we were satisfied with the results. He defiantly reflects your excellent staffing of Technicians.

Speed as advertised after router upgrade

on October 25, 2020

At first I was disappointed with the speed. I bought the 200 plan and was only getting a 25 connection. However, the problem went away as soon as I upgraded my five-year-old router. Just like everyone else, I hate the data caps. I had to upgrade from the 200 plan to the 300 plan just to get a higher data cap.

I rather enjoy the service

on October 08, 2020

I am a customer of 5 years that saw the transition of CableOne into Sparklight - I saw no real difference in my service here nor there, and I was able to keep my plan from CableOne as "grandfather'd in". I noted, at the time, that Sparklight menu of service seemed much more limited/expensive in how they wanted to meter your connection, perhaps only offering 300gb (+$10 for each addtl 100gb). It seemed much more expensive, and I had to manage a household of 5 heavy users, so we regularly saw 2.5TB data-months. The culmination of this review, that I will now cut short, is that I saw excellent service on the Gulf Coast, and if my internet went down, I would certainly see a Sparklight truck down the road performing routine maintenance on the neighborhood node (you can also sign up for emails to receive prior notice of these routine maintenances). I never experienced slow-downs, so if you can withstand the price-point, I would recommend this provider for stable, strong service in this area. I am moving 2 cities over, to provide internet for just myself, and I feel compelled to switch to AT&T Fiber for only about $65/mo, after promotional pay-period, I think I remember seeing a 1TB limit; they also claim to offer a $100 gift card, which I intend to use to buy my own router. I hope this review has been helpful.

Excellent service

on September 30, 2020

The Sparklight tech went above and beyond to identify internet connection issues. Outstanding customer service!

Good service

on September 24, 2020

Polite and very professional technician. Professional appearance of the cords left with the finished outlet and cable cord and was cautious about safety as well as aesthetics of the home. Made the install seem easy but was not at all a simple task. Thanks for the service.

Helpful technician

on September 23, 2020

Had a good experience with the technician. He was very nice and ran into some issues but made it all work! Very professional I recommend 100%. I'm very impressed.

Awesome

on August 17, 2020

The technician was very efficient and had great customer service. Thank you Sparklight

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) Internet Reviews FAQ

Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) reviews shown here are sourced from current Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) customers and users. As of 2021, 49.9% of customers on our site have given Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) a positive rating. This is normal for the cable industry, and Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) actually fairs better than average when it comes to factors like customers service and technical support.

  • Common Issues Found in Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) Internet Reviews

    The biggest issue customers have complained about with Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) is the data cap. Currently, Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) caps data use at 300GB on basic plans. For comparison, most cable providers have caps of 1000GB, or none at all. Xfinity claims that on their cable network, the average customer uses around 250GB. So, you can see how 300GB is cutting it close, especially for families and shared homes where everyone wants to stream Netflix every night.

  • Are Featured Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) Reviews Edited or Filtered?

    We do not edit Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) reviews submitted to BroadbandNow, aside from minor cosmetic changes to correct grammar and spelling. We do filter reviews by manual validation, meaning that we will not publish reviews that don’t include useful information for potential customers. Reviews are only published if the information about Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) provided is specific, helpful, and not presented as an all-caps rant.

  • How We Validate Our Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) Reviews Are Authentic

    BroadbandNow uses an IP verification system to ensure that only current Sparklight (formerly Cable ONE) customers can leave reviews.