BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

CenturyLink Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of CenturyLink's service. To see if broadband Internet from CenturyLink is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Check Availability

Get in touch with a sales agent or view all available internet plans

Check Availability

(855) 610-0877 View Plans

2.85 Stars  2683 Reviews
2.85 out of 5 stars

Leave a Review For CenturyLink

Are you a current or former CenturyLink customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Service

3.00 Stars

on October 18, 2019

Far too many outages, one lasted 5 days. (Internet) Called yesterday, callers other than immediate area got busy signal when calling, fixed during night. Today can’t call out other than immediate area.wife on phone now for over half hour. Very poor situation.

100 Mbps CenturyLink Internet

5.00 Stars

on September 19, 2019

We switched to CenturyLink and could not be happier. It is so much faster, has never cut out and had the best installation customer service. The price is also great.

Very professional Technician!

5.00 Stars

on August 27, 2019

Great appreciation to the tech who was incredibly personable & informative while assisting us connect our service today. He was very diligent & professional with his problem solving, having to address unique obstacles in our residence as well as our outside property. CenturyLink is very fortunate to have such a positive & capable representative. Thank you again!

Excellent Business Solution

5.00 Stars

on August 05, 2019

CenturyLink's Business Solution with VPN and Internet are the best in the industry.

EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE

5.00 Stars

on June 26, 2019

I spoke to them via phone to begin internet services with CenturyLink. Tech was polite, friendly and very helpful. He was highly attentive and had a great attitude. He made me aware of available discounts but was not pushy with the sale. He asked questions to determine the best plan for me and waived my installation fee for purchasing the modem. He explained the plan and bill clearly and accurately. He really was a delight to work with and the experience made me even happier I made the decision to switch! Thank you and keep up the great work!

Continued Charges For Many Months After Moving!

2.00 Stars

on October 28, 2019

I cancelled my Century Link service a week before before I moved from my home in mid-June. I went online to copy off the return tags to return their receiver, and sent that back as directed in June also. After 2 more phone calls, I am still getting charged $100.29 MONTHLY for a service I no longer receive. I’m now trying to call a 3rd time to speak to a representative but cannot get a live person. Ideas? BTW, I’ve finally decided to dispute these charges on my MasterCard. I wish I would have thought of this earlier and hope Century Link finally understands that I have moved and sent back their equipment.

Unreliable

2.00 Stars

on October 27, 2019

Called several times to ensure that my auto-pay was activated, and each time I called the agent enthusiastically assured me that it was enabled. I kept having more than expected money withdrawn from my account a multiple occasions, turns out that auto-pay had never been activated by Centurylink, causing larger portions of money to be pulled out at times which messed with my budget. Furthermore I have routine outtages that can range from 20 min up to an hour each day (usually around the 7-8pm time range).

Poor delivery and lack of service

1.00 Stars

on October 25, 2019

I am very disappointed with my choice of a provider. I live on a dead end road that our only provider is CenturyLink. I am surrounded by different provider that I work for and can not get their service because CenturyLink has this one road. I think they have forgotten about this road. The equipment hasn’t been upgraded in years. I disconnected my land line because of the noise and static that could never be fixed. My parents line was horrible. So horrible they disconnected their line as well. I was also given false hope of one day getting DSL. For a year I kept checking but finally a rep told me that there were no plans for upgrades on our road as the company felt they could not recoup the costs and the 8 houses on our road would not constitute upgrading. How disappointing when you are our only option. Tour tech cut our drop to disconnect the line to my parents barn. We were told that was the only way to potentially fix their line issues. I shrugged my shoulders that day because we had recently disconnected anyway. I just want CenturyLink to be honest with us. You are the only option we have for phone and do not see it profitable to service us with DSL either. Why keep this as part of your territory then? What’s in it for you? Thanks for reading this. Danielle

Slow service.

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Our internet was so slow. After months of complaints they made us but a new modern that should help. It didn't. We finally switched to another provider and they wont cancel my service. I have called 3 times and each time they promise it is done to find out 3 days later it wasn't. So iterating and frustrating.

Number Port Out

1.00 Stars

on October 22, 2019

Horrible customer service experience. Lady I spoke with attempted to get her “lead” / “manager” on the line to explain the issue. Both individuals cut me off when I was speaking, did not listen to what I was saying. I had to keep repeating myself and they still did not understand. The Two agents do not have knowledge of Rate Centers. My phone number and my address has two different rate centers. I’m not sure why however the agent and her “manager” (Patricia) who could not give me her last name could not explain why I had two different rate centers. On top of that Patricia lied and said she could not see the rate centers when I know in fact she could. Or if she couldn’t see the rate center or did not understand the rate center she “the manager “ should have transferred the call to someone more competent. Horrible customer service and experience for someone who has had their service for 16yrs and at the same address for 16yrs. Will escalate the issue

Century Link Failure

1.00 Stars

on October 22, 2019

Unacceptable Service. Good luck trying to return a modem and cancel service. They make it impossible and then charge you extra because you did not return the equipment on time. It is a pre-planned process to steal more money from the consumer. Shame on you Century Link. They say just go to the return web site and print your label. It does not work for me. I have called several times and none of them can help me. Century Link has failed as far as I am concerned.

Andre, The Best Cusomer Support Personnel!!!

5.00 Stars

on October 09, 2019

Thank you Andre for restoring my faith in humankind . I called Century Link for new service (landline & internet) and the lady that took my app wasn't very helpful. Quite rude and hung up on me when I tried to clarify some things. I called back and was directed to Andre. This young man is an asset to his company because he turned a negative experience for me, into a positive one. Andre saved his company a customer as I was going to cancel, if it weren't for him. Thank you so much Andre for going above and beyond of what was expected of you and restored my faith in humankind. Quite the positive experience. Thanks again Andre in Customer Support.

Worst Service Ever

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

Refuse to upgrade equipment in my area and anytime I complain to them my internet just happens to "stop working" the next day. $45/m for 3mbps down and 0.5 up. Absolute scam and would not recommend to anyone. Only reason they keep customers is because of the monopoly they hold over small towns.

TERRIBLE Service

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

Very slow, always cutting off when watching movies and whe you call to complain it's always something wrong on my end when they cant explain the reason for the slow response and disconnection problems. Where I live there is little to no better options for internet so I am stuck living in a world of dinasour internet.

GOOD FOR LIFE WAS $25 - MY LIFE DIDN'T END - NOW I PAY $45

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

At first I was happy with 2 MBPS as it was usable and was only $25 per month, then they raised me to $35 per month even though I was on the "good for life" never going to raise it price??? I was then dropped to 1.5 MBPS speed. Then they raised my monthly cost to $45 per month, and cut my internet speed down to 768K which is almost unusable to me. I cannot watch Youtube as it cuts out, loads slow, and is a blurry image and that is really hard on the eyes. They added so many people to my line in front of me that I now get shit speed- never really had anything fast!!! $25 was all this is really worth to me. I tried Hughsnet and they were slower than this - What a fucking joke! All they have to do is decide to boost the signal. Criminal monopoly BS......

Worst Customer Service I have experienced in a LONG time

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

I had scheduled to have my phone number and internet transferred to Century Link. When we discovered how slow the internet speed was, I called to cancel the order and received a cancellation confirmation. Their technician still showed up and transported the numbers. I called to clear up the mess and was told that they didn't show a cancellation, and worst yet, my cancellation code was invalid. Since the number had already by transported, I then had to wait for the number to be transported back. During that time the phone line went dead and was told that a technician could be out in 2-3 business days, when I explained it was a business line and really needed to be up asap, the person on the phone causally said he could put an urgent status on the order but couldn't say if it would result in any faster service. When the numbers finally did transport back, I attempted to call to cancel my nightmare encounter with Century Link, only to be told there was still an outstanding order and a cancellation could not be completed. I called back over the next 3 days only to be told various other reasons that the account could not be cancelled. Finally over two weeks of the nightmare, I was able to cancel, not before being told that there was an early termination fee for cancelling because I had had the service in place for two weeks. Unbelievable!! Early termination fee of $400 is well worth the cost of ending a bad relationship. I suppose I should be happy they didn't lose my number. It takes a fair amount to irritate me the way Century Link was able to, so my advise would be to stay away.

Internet suck

1.00 Stars

on August 12, 2019

The internet is really slow supposed to get 10mbps and don’t even get 3mbps. Got ahold of them the lady said I needed a new modem and was going to charge me for it said it would take up to 2 weeks to get it. I wouldn’t recommend centurylink to no one. I was right in the middle of talking to the lady about it and ended the chat right in the middle of chatting with her worst place to get internet hands down.

Terrible Service

1.00 Stars

on August 10, 2019

At first service was good, however now it rarely works without interuption. I am even having to use mobile data to write this review. When calling century link you need 30 mins to 1 hour, because you will be transferred numerous times and still have the issue you called in about. Honestly once the 3 month special rate is up you will be paying the same or more as with any provider and still be stuck with horrible service. My daighter has had to leave our house to use someone elses wifi just to get her homework submitted.

Don’t get this internet

1.00 Stars

on August 09, 2019

With very slow speeds and a unreliable connection that works only a small part of the year this is worse then not having any internet at all

Working from home on 1mb and 200kbps

1.00 Stars

on August 08, 2019

So very very bad, cant even type at the speed I need to because letters wont ping.... have to press them 3-10 times 55$ a month for this is robbery at its finest... they should get sued big time.and seeing them on twitter tweeting about how great they are is PATHETIC they need to get sued for everything they have asap

Sporadic Service

2.00 Stars

on August 08, 2019

We pay about triple what others near us pay for internet service. This was great when we first began with CenturyLink, but improvements have not impacted our service as their ads promoted. When problems arise, their customer service department has been very difficult.

Atrocious Speeds for 2019

1.00 Stars

on August 08, 2019

I've had the same max speed (10mbps) at my house for over a decade now and the price has only gone up and we barely even get that speed. While the rest of the world advances in technology CenturyLink remains in areas where they have no competition and thus have no reason to improve, taking advantage of people who have no other options. They keep saying they are improving their lines but my family and I still can't stream a movie in HD, have extremely poor latency in games (300-900ms), and load websites as if we were still using dial up. The number one thing I am looking forward to when I move is getting away from CenturyLink. Hands down.

Worst customer service ever...don't know why I tried this service again!

2.00 Stars

on August 07, 2019

I was charged for a pay per view that I did not order, then I called customer service ( took forever to get to a person to talk to...finally talk to someone and they said they would refund pay per view fee.Then the call went on hold and after some time I was put through to someone else and had to tell them the problem, but this time she said they would not refund even tough I did not order. I have had other troubles with centurylink before, should of known not to get it again! I say to anyone thinking about this service to not buy it.

Absolutely Horrible

2.00 Stars

on August 06, 2019

Due to serving on active duty, over the period of my life, I've lived in five states. My current place of resident only offer DSL. During the last one and half years, it has been a complete disaster with Centurylink Broadband. Service is unreliable, and counting today, I had four outages to occur during this time, none was weather related, all outages has been equipment or cable issues. Once last summer, it took four days for them to repair the issue. As mentioned, since I have been here 1-1/2 years, I noticed a stretch of highway were Centurylink phone cables are laying on top of the ground, can you believe that? 1-1/2 years... Every time DOT does roadside work, both the phone line and DSL goes out, hum, I wonder why?? Centurylink obviously doesn't care for their customers, only taking their money. There is a monopoly in this area, one provider, Centurylink.. Absolute WORST company I have ever dealt with.

Very slow

2.00 Stars

on August 06, 2019

Internet is very slow and they recommend we upgrad e our modem and pay 70$ for a refurbished modem when pretty basic specs. I am switching back to cox and paying 30$ more for a Netgear modem with way better specs. The customer service reps are clueless and don’t realize they’re DSL & we cannot just use any modem since most modems don’t have DSL outlet. DSL = slower internet.

Everything sucks

1.00 Stars

on August 03, 2019

I have an account for the max speed for my area. The internet keep going out constantly rebuffering. It takes us 3 hours to watch a 1 1/2 hour movie. I wish like hell I was exaggerating. Customer service takes about an hour or more from start to finish to address my issues. If there was another provider in my area I would definitely jump ship.

Wonderful and Caring Company

5.00 Stars

on July 29, 2019

I struggle but because this company is caring and understanding, they have worked with me a lot! Everyone I’ve ever talk to is very kind to me, our Internet is always working and I couldn’t be happier. This company has made a lifelong customer with me.

If you're looking for unlimited internet with no data caps this is the one

5.00 Stars

on May 18, 2019

CenturyLink is a good ISP, if you live a mile away from their main box then you'll get 20Mbps, but if you live more then a mile then you won't get fast speeds, and they do have good customer service, good value and good modems.

Great service

4.00 Stars

on April 20, 2019

CenturyLink service is amazing and tech spent extra time making sure my disabled Mom in a nursing home could call her family! Awesome service! Highly recommended!

Best internet service

5.00 Stars

on March 25, 2019

I contacted Century Link and I have great service. I don't have unexpected over the data limits anymore and the same price every month. I'm very happy with CenturyLink. I'll never go to any other service, I want to keep CenturyLink for life. Thank you for your honest service.

CenturyLink / Comcast

5.00 Stars

on January 08, 2019

I switched to CenturyLink and had no issues and I'm using it for the Xbox One to play online. The service I got from CenturyLink was far greater than my previous ISP.

Really great speed and at a constant!

5.00 Stars

on November 28, 2018

speedof.me shows 34Mbps and every single Mbps promised at 10 Mbps plan. One router up high in the center of the house provides this service to 4 pcs (wireless) with all of it sporting ASUS 4x4 802.11AC Wireless-AC3100 PCIe Adapter (PCE-AC88). I was sure wireless wouldn't work, as well as cat5 but I tried both and were both averaging the same latency and DL/UL speeds. Unreal! Not a stutter in any game or movie. I'm genuinely impressed!

Not as bad as you may think

5.00 Stars

on November 09, 2018

If you're looking for reliable internet for an affordable price, CenturyLink is the place to be. $45/mo for 80 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up. Thought about going with other Fiber services, but they wanted 60 days for construction to run fiber from my alley into my home, no thank you! Ordered CenturyLink service, and the next day there was a tech in my home doing the install, and by noon I had reliable internet that has never skipped a beat. Cannot recommend CenturyLink enough, especially if you don't want to pay the ridiculous price for coax.

Great support in Vichy area

4.00 Stars

on September 17, 2018

We used to have reliability issues with CenturyLink, but after fixing some electrical issues (a bad DIY job from the previous owner of our old house) that I believe was intermittently causing brief power interruptions or surges to the modem, that was mostly resolved. Since then, we only had one other problem, where we had our speed slow down to 1Mbps (supposed to be 8). I called support on Friday evening (9 pm) and they had a tech out Saturday morning before 10 am and fixed us up quickly. They replaced some cables and we have been running at full speed since then, with no more unreliability. The tech support was very patient and helpful, both on phone support and the technician sent to our home.

Gigabit for life for $80

4.00 Stars

on June 16, 2018

The phone sales reps are terrible! Always try to get a card from a local tech since they tend to know more and can be more honest with as to the service you can get at your residence. Overall though I have only had 2 outages in 6months and have gigabit GPON. However their peering with Youtube is terrible!

Consistent service

4.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

I have 25 Mbps VDSL and can stream 4K videos and be on my iPad and also stream music at the same time without any issues. VDSL and DSL is all based on footage from the telephone switch or center office. The Closer the faster speeds.

Slow service but 100% reliable

4.00 Stars

on November 09, 2017

I have never had any issues with this service, no down time, no loss of service ever. Since I really do not have a requirement for high speed I have one of the lowest speeds by request and it works very well even on those days where I need to work from home.

Great DSL speed

5.00 Stars

on June 17, 2017

Not bad for somewhere in the middle of woods.

Excellent Service

5.00 Stars

on June 05, 2017

1. Service was excellent, however, after only 6-months the modem went bad. I had a difficult time convincing them that it was the problem, but after I did they replaced it immediately. 2. Their automated phone service lets you listen to a lot of elevator music while waiting your turn, but eventually, you get answers. 3. The internet and wifi are wonderful!

CenturyLink DSL is great!

5.00 Stars

on April 28, 2017

Good internet provider. We have their DSL service and love it! Would recommend!

Solid service and speed at a fair price.

4.00 Stars

on April 05, 2017

Solid service and speed at a fair price. The customer retention department will lower price and increase speed to keep me as a customer.

Great Service and Pricing

5.00 Stars

on March 11, 2017

Had a great experience with CenturyLink. Had to cancel services due to moving out of service area. Definitely recommend this company and service staff. Go with CenturyLink.

Happy overall

5.00 Stars

on March 05, 2017

Good techs and service.

Internet

5.00 Stars

on March 01, 2017

Great service with very good customer service, and always ready to work with whatever issue you have, just need to call.

Love it!

5.00 Stars

on October 24, 2016

It is the best internet I have had and I recommend it to everybody. Unfortunately we are hoping to move and their hub is full so I will have to change providers. I am not looking forward to that I almost don't want to move.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

CenturyLink Internet Reviews FAQ

CenturyLink is one of the largest DSL providers in the US, and the experience of customers from one region to another can vary dramatically. To date, 35.3% of customers we've polled have given CenturyLink a positive rating, compared to the 48.3% approval rating of Internet providers overall.

Where Does BroadbandNow Collect CenturyLink Internet Reviews?

We poll visitors across our site based on their IP address. If they are visiting from a CenturyLink network IP address, we can infer that they are a CenturyLink user. By serving them a pop-up, we are able to get reviews from customers on the positive and negative side of the experience spectrum. We use IP-verification to ensure that CenturyLink Internet reviews are left only by current CenturyLink customers, as well as to discourage angry customers from leaving more than one review, since we can identify their device as a repeat visitor when they return to BroadbandNow in the future.

Are Reviews of CenturyLink Edited or Filtered?

We may edit reviews for small typos or grammatical errors, but otherwise we do not adjust the CenturyLink reviews or star ratings in any way. However, we do manually review customers submissions before publishing them on this page. We do this to remove low-quality and spam reviews, and to make sure that we only publish text reviews that include useful, specific, relevant information for potential customers researching CenturyLink service.

Understanding CenturyLink Reviews: Common Issues

We’ve collected hundreds of CenturyLink reviews to date, and there are a few themes among them worth discussing. First, CenturyLink is a DSL provider, meaning that most of their plans use copper telephone lines to deliver service. These lines are not the best way to transmit digital data, and as a result the speeds of CenturyLink service in rural areas tends to be much slower than, say, a fiber of cable plan. However, DSL is the most widely available wired Internet infrastructure in the US, meaning that CenturyLink can serve areas that cable and fiber providers simply can’t or won’t serve. This makes CenturyLink’s DSL Internet a lifeline for customers who otherwise would be stuck with slow, limited satellite Internet.

DSL has also begun offering fiber Internet plans in some areas. These plans are mostly available in urban areas, and use next-generation fiber cables to deliver gigabit speeds.