BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

CenturyLink Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of CenturyLink's service. To see if broadband Internet from CenturyLink is available in your area enter your zip code below.

3.17 Stars  3199  Reviews
3.17 out of 5 stars

Call to Order Internet:

Setup new CenturyLink internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 913-4257 View Plans & Pricing

Provider Availability:

Want to see if CenturyLink is available in your area?

Call to Order Internet:

Setup new CenturyLink internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 913-4257 View Plans & Pricing

Service

3.00 Stars

on October 18, 2019

Far too many outages, one lasted 5 days. (Internet) Called yesterday, callers other than immediate area got busy signal when calling, fixed during night. Today can’t call out other than immediate area.wife on phone now for over half hour. Very poor situation.

100 Mbps CenturyLink Internet

5.00 Stars

on September 19, 2019

We switched to CenturyLink and could not be happier. It is so much faster, has never cut out and had the best installation customer service. The price is also great.

Very professional Technician!

5.00 Stars

on August 27, 2019

Great appreciation to the tech who was incredibly personable & informative while assisting us connect our service today. He was very diligent & professional with his problem solving, having to address unique obstacles in our residence as well as our outside property. CenturyLink is very fortunate to have such a positive & capable representative. Thank you again!

Excellent Business Solution

5.00 Stars

on August 05, 2019

CenturyLink's Business Solution with VPN and Internet are the best in the industry.

EXCEPTIONAL SERVICE

5.00 Stars

on June 26, 2019

I spoke to them via phone to begin internet services with CenturyLink. Tech was polite, friendly and very helpful. He was highly attentive and had a great attitude. He made me aware of available discounts but was not pushy with the sale. He asked questions to determine the best plan for me and waived my installation fee for purchasing the modem. He explained the plan and bill clearly and accurately. He really was a delight to work with and the experience made me even happier I made the decision to switch! Thank you and keep up the great work!

CenturyLink Internet with Price for Life

5.00 Stars

on July 12, 2020

I am a user of CenturyLink Internet and their Internet is the best in the industry. Also, with a cheap bundle, I got a free modem/router. They offer speeds that suit your home needs from 20 Mbps to 940 Mbps.

Satisfied customer

4.00 Stars

on June 16, 2020

We've been Centurylink customers for years. Service has been great after recently upgrading but we had occasional outages on the previous slower plan (and modem). We had been on a 60mbps speed on a price for life deal but saw that they were offering 100mbps only for new customers at a lower price than what I was getting. I called a regular service rep hoping to upgrade and they said they couldn't offer me the new customer deal. I then read a blog that recommended asking for the "Loyalty Department". I asked for them the second time I called a different regular rep and they transferred while saying there would be "no promises". The "Loyalty Department" rep was super-nice and told us she could switch us to the new customer plan AND throw in the new modem needed at no charge since our current plan had the same setup where we owned it and didn't make monthly payments on it. It was the best phone customer service experience I've ever had! Install occurred on the planned day a few days later. The tech was professional and knew what was needed (including working on lines blocks from our home and even in the neighbor's back yard). An hour later and we were up and running. The new Zyxel c3000z modem works great and I decided to ditch a Netgear wifi router that I had up with our older Actiontec C1000A modem and just use the modem's built-in wifi. It's newer than our old router. I have a wifi extender that helps reach our back deck and yard. Speeds are consistently in the 90mbs though I would like faster upload speeds than the 10mbps that's offered. But overall, I am really satisfied with Centurylink and recommend them highly.

Fast!!! Reliable!!! Inexpensive!!!

5.00 Stars

on June 14, 2020

I got this 1Gbps fiber service in Nov 2019 in Boulder CO, it is now June 2020, and I have to say, it is a game-changer! Supremely fast. The techs I had did a very good job, all-around at install. The price is $65 a month after ongoing $20 discount no fees etc. If you can get this service you absolutely should! You won't regret it! We now stream everything, TV, music, YouTube, Netflix, HBO we have never come close to tapping the link. The service has not been down either since installation. Very reliable.

Gave me the service I wanted when no one else could or would

4.00 Stars

on April 10, 2020

Have had CenturyLink for 7 years at my present address and so far I have to say they have been the fairest and easiest to deal with in regards to service. Yes they can be expensive but so is everyone else. I want something in particular and they were the only ones that were allowed to provide me that service where I live. CenturyLink is the lesser of all the evils. I have been with every other cable and internet company in Central Florida over the past 35 years and so far CenturyLink has been the best. I do not want my service to change in quality or price.

CenturyLink is great

5.00 Stars

on March 23, 2020

I have unlimited internet (no overage bills). My internet is now 2 1/2 times faster on download and 9 times faster on upload than others with a boost. I have one bill that is guaranteed to be the same price for life with my phone and internet bundle. The phone we have in the bundle from CenturyLink will still work in a power outage and is 40% cheaper than others and 911 knows immediately where I am calling from. If the power goes out with VOIP, you are done. 911 may also not be as effective on VOIP. But on fiber from Centurylink, it is a hard line. Also, with this bundle, I got a free modem/router. No rental, just outright free. It's mine! And the installation was free! All that money we saved and all that extra speed on the internet is wonderful! I am winning in multiplayer games. My pings are insane! Downloads go too fast compared to others. No throttling, I don't "compete for bandwidth from neighbors". I don't "share my bandwidth with people passing by our house". The speeds are always the same, super fast. Support responds fast. I get to speak to a rep in less than 5 minutes with CenturyLink on the phone. Or I can tweet or email or chat. Anyway, I've gone for the support and it's been great. Install was 30 minutes. The rep was awesome. Also should mention that I put a poll, 84% voted CenturyLink as good. Many people posting the same pain I had with our previous ISP and how much they love CenturyLink. That said, I can't believe all these negative reviews.

Excellent Customer Support Service

5.00 Stars

on March 17, 2020

My DSL light on my modem went out on 3/16/20. I called CenturyLink Customer Support Service Department for help on 3/17/20. She troubleshoots my computer on her end and as well as on my end. The process took an hour to resolve. Throughout the entire process, she remained calm, respectful, and professional. Customer support was extremely talented, gentle, and humble human being. My computer is working great now! Thank you so much for your excellent help. I enjoyed your service. I hope that I will always run into you whenever I call. Keep up the good work.

I get 7mb download TOPS.

1.00 Stars

on February 14, 2020

Best they can get me is 7mb download and they have no intention of improving it. Tough to work from home at that speed. Feels like 1980 and not in a good way.

Excellent Service, But They Think They Are the FBI

2.00 Stars

on January 25, 2020

I run a business. I provide wireless connections and the use of on-site terminals to clients and employees. I've no control over what they do while online nor do I care. Occasionally, someone does something that apparently violates a copyright. CenturyLink doesn't contact me or warn me, they just shut me down. The last one in the midst of an important transaction, took a half hour to correct, and cost me thousands. This was the last time. In spite of the otherwise magnificent service, I've got to move on to another provider.

They throttle

4.00 Stars

on December 18, 2019

Great customer service, technicians are professional and on time. However, I pay for 40mbs and they throttle it down to about 22mbs from the box to my devices. You might want to get a WiFi repeater so they can't throttle your WiFi. All in all, decent.

Love you all, Centurylink. We have history, 18 years and still going.

5.00 Stars

on December 08, 2019

They are very loyal to their customers. I never had much of a problem with them, not one we couldn't resolve. I transferred my phone and Internet and everything was still the same. And the prices are fair. 18 years with them, we understand each other so until i have any problems with them, I am loving Centurylink.

Absolute Worst Customer Service

1.00 Stars

on December 06, 2019

I called to have internet service established on December 6th and was told that everything would be turned on by 5:00 pm. I already had all equipment necessary so a technician coming out would not be necessary. 5:00 came and went, so I called to follow up. I was then told that a technician would need to come out and that the earliest available date was December 11. This is a huge inconvenience and CenturyLink's customer service department did nothing to make things right. They're right up there with Comcast in hiring the most disrespectful and ignorant people.

Installation

5.00 Stars

on December 06, 2019

We are a small business starting out north of Greeley, CO and we had our installation done today. I can’t speak for future experience, but wanted to note that the technician, Tony, was excellent. If all components of CenturyLink are of the same caliber as his service, we’ll have no complaints. Thanks, Tony!

Horrible internet

1.00 Stars

on November 25, 2019

Horrible internet service, cannot watch Netflix and be on your tablet at the same time.

Great service!

5.00 Stars

on November 25, 2019

I called with a problem, they had a service tech here the next morning. Tim was amazing, showed up on time, texted me to say he was on his way, texted me to say he was here. Fixed everything perfectly and cleaned up. Just a wonderful experience!! Seems that Centurylink is really trying to turn their past bad service around! I'm very happy and certainly will pass on the good word!!!

Slow service.

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Our internet was so slow. After months of complaints they made us but a new modern that should help. It didn't. We finally switched to another provider and they wont cancel my service. I have called 3 times and each time they promise it is done to find out 3 days later it wasn't. So iterating and frustrating.

Worst Service Ever

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

Refuse to upgrade equipment in my area and anytime I complain to them my internet just happens to "stop working" the next day. $45/m for 3mbps down and 0.5 up. Absolute scam and would not recommend to anyone. Only reason they keep customers is because of the monopoly they hold over small towns.

TERRIBLE Service

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

Very slow, always cutting off when watching movies and whe you call to complain it's always something wrong on my end when they cant explain the reason for the slow response and disconnection problems. Where I live there is little to no better options for internet so I am stuck living in a world of dinasour internet.

GOOD FOR LIFE WAS $25 - MY LIFE DIDN'T END - NOW I PAY $45

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

At first I was happy with 2 MBPS as it was usable and was only $25 per month, then they raised me to $35 per month even though I was on the "good for life" never going to raise it price??? I was then dropped to 1.5 MBPS speed. Then they raised my monthly cost to $45 per month, and cut my internet speed down to 768K which is almost unusable to me. I cannot watch Youtube as it cuts out, loads slow, and is a blurry image and that is really hard on the eyes. They added so many people to my line in front of me that I now get shit speed- never really had anything fast!!! $25 was all this is really worth to me. I tried Hughsnet and they were slower than this - What a fucking joke! All they have to do is decide to boost the signal. Criminal monopoly BS......

Worst Customer Service I have experienced in a LONG time

1.00 Stars

on August 13, 2019

I had scheduled to have my phone number and internet transferred to Century Link. When we discovered how slow the internet speed was, I called to cancel the order and received a cancellation confirmation. Their technician still showed up and transported the numbers. I called to clear up the mess and was told that they didn't show a cancellation, and worst yet, my cancellation code was invalid. Since the number had already by transported, I then had to wait for the number to be transported back. During that time the phone line went dead and was told that a technician could be out in 2-3 business days, when I explained it was a business line and really needed to be up asap, the person on the phone causally said he could put an urgent status on the order but couldn't say if it would result in any faster service. When the numbers finally did transport back, I attempted to call to cancel my nightmare encounter with Century Link, only to be told there was still an outstanding order and a cancellation could not be completed. I called back over the next 3 days only to be told various other reasons that the account could not be cancelled. Finally over two weeks of the nightmare, I was able to cancel, not before being told that there was an early termination fee for cancelling because I had had the service in place for two weeks. Unbelievable!! Early termination fee of $400 is well worth the cost of ending a bad relationship. I suppose I should be happy they didn't lose my number. It takes a fair amount to irritate me the way Century Link was able to, so my advise would be to stay away.

Working from home on 1mb and 200kbps

1.00 Stars

on August 08, 2019

So very very bad, cant even type at the speed I need to because letters wont ping.... have to press them 3-10 times 55$ a month for this is robbery at its finest... they should get sued big time.and seeing them on twitter tweeting about how great they are is PATHETIC they need to get sued for everything they have asap

Atrocious Speeds for 2019

1.00 Stars

on August 08, 2019

I've had the same max speed (10mbps) at my house for over a decade now and the price has only gone up and we barely even get that speed. While the rest of the world advances in technology CenturyLink remains in areas where they have no competition and thus have no reason to improve, taking advantage of people who have no other options. They keep saying they are improving their lines but my family and I still can't stream a movie in HD, have extremely poor latency in games (300-900ms), and load websites as if we were still using dial up. The number one thing I am looking forward to when I move is getting away from CenturyLink. Hands down.

Worst customer service ever...don't know why I tried this service again!

2.00 Stars

on August 07, 2019

I was charged for a pay per view that I did not order, then I called customer service ( took forever to get to a person to talk to...finally talk to someone and they said they would refund pay per view fee.Then the call went on hold and after some time I was put through to someone else and had to tell them the problem, but this time she said they would not refund even tough I did not order. I have had other troubles with centurylink before, should of known not to get it again! I say to anyone thinking about this service to not buy it.

Absolutely Horrible

2.00 Stars

on August 06, 2019

Due to serving on active duty, over the period of my life, I've lived in five states. My current place of resident only offer DSL. During the last one and half years, it has been a complete disaster with Centurylink Broadband. Service is unreliable, and counting today, I had four outages to occur during this time, none was weather related, all outages has been equipment or cable issues. Once last summer, it took four days for them to repair the issue. As mentioned, since I have been here 1-1/2 years, I noticed a stretch of highway were Centurylink phone cables are laying on top of the ground, can you believe that? 1-1/2 years... Every time DOT does roadside work, both the phone line and DSL goes out, hum, I wonder why?? Centurylink obviously doesn't care for their customers, only taking their money. There is a monopoly in this area, one provider, Centurylink.. Absolute WORST company I have ever dealt with.

Slow

3.00 Stars

on August 03, 2019

Been waiting for CenturyLink's fiber optics in my area for over 5 years and the fastest speed they offer me is 20Mbps. Painfully slow but reliable I guess.

Wonderful and Caring Company

5.00 Stars

on July 29, 2019

I struggle but because this company is caring and understanding, they have worked with me a lot! Everyone I’ve ever talk to is very kind to me, our Internet is always working and I couldn’t be happier. This company has made a lifelong customer with me.

If you're looking for unlimited internet with no data caps this is the one

5.00 Stars

on May 18, 2019

CenturyLink is a good ISP, if you live a mile away from their main box then you'll get 20Mbps, but if you live more then a mile then you won't get fast speeds, and they do have good customer service, good value and good modems.

Love CenturyLink!

5.00 Stars

on April 24, 2019

CenturyLink gives us one price and sticks with it. We have yet to experience a problem with our internet connection. Haven't needed to use Customer Service beyond installation so I can't give it a rating, but we're super happy that we finally got to switch to CenturyLink!

Great service

4.00 Stars

on April 20, 2019

CenturyLink service is amazing and tech spent extra time making sure my disabled Mom in a nursing home could call her family! Awesome service! Highly recommended!

Best internet service

5.00 Stars

on March 25, 2019

I contacted Century Link and I have great service. I don't have unexpected over the data limits anymore and the same price every month. I'm very happy with CenturyLink. I'll never go to any other service, I want to keep CenturyLink for life. Thank you for your honest service.

CenturyLink upgraded area to fiber

4.00 Stars

on January 27, 2019

I have 40Mbps service in Benson and I love it. Always consistent speeds and very good for first-person shooters. Very low latency and great speeds.

CenturyLink / Comcast

5.00 Stars

on January 08, 2019

I switched to CenturyLink and had no issues and I'm using it for the Xbox One to play online. The service I got from CenturyLink was far greater than my previous ISP.

Poor infrastructure planning

1.00 Stars

on January 02, 2019

$45 a month gets me 7 Mbps download on a perfect day. Usually 3. Often 1. Upload is <1. No other provider is available. No upgrade plans. They claim they have a 20 Mbps plan but fail to give it to anyone.

Not getting advertised speeds

1.00 Stars

on December 28, 2018

I live in a rural area with a "guaranteed" speed of 10Mbps, actual observed is closer to .9-1 Mbps. The highest I have ever seen was 1.1 Mbps. This makes it impossible to do more than 1 task involving internet service at once - you can Netflix, but any social media or internet access from your phone slows to a crawl. I could handle the slow internet, but not false advertising. I also canceled a "plan" I was on for landline and internet, for $95, which I was told was a better deal than just internet. (I've had this plan for about 2 years) I canceled just to get internet only today, and my bill dropped to $36 - so much for a better price with the bundle. During the cancellation call, I had to turn down offers to upgrade and bundle 8 times from 2 different reps and had to be forceful, to get them to stop offering.

Internet speed, connection, and customer service is terrible

1.00 Stars

on December 09, 2018

The highest speed available in my area is 12 Mbps, which is what I pay for. However, I usually only get around 8 Mbps and my internet constantly quits working. I pay for the extra coverage, protection on all the lines, to include the lines in my home. Although CenturyLink has sent several techs out to my home, assuring me that nothing is wrong, no change or increased reliability has taken place. I would switch to a different provider, however, other providers are not available. The best part about the not so amazing internet that I pay for, is the constant decrease in speeds at night. After about 8 pm I can forget about trying to use my internet altogether, as the speed gets so slow that I can't get most browsers to open. Some might think that something is wrong with my computer, so I went down and purchased a new Omen system with a 1G internet connection. No change, the internet on this computer is the same as all the rest.

Really great speed and at a constant!

5.00 Stars

on November 28, 2018

speedof.me shows 34Mbps and every single Mbps promised at 10 Mbps plan. One router up high in the center of the house provides this service to 4 pcs (wireless) with all of it sporting ASUS 4x4 802.11AC Wireless-AC3100 PCIe Adapter (PCE-AC88). I was sure wireless wouldn't work, as well as cat5 but I tried both and were both averaging the same latency and DL/UL speeds. Unreal! Not a stutter in any game or movie. I'm genuinely impressed!

Frequent Buffering

2.00 Stars

on November 25, 2018

We have the 40Mbps service and when it’s not buffering, it’s great. Unfortunately it buffers a lot! I’ve tried turning off WIFI on devices not being used and reducing TV resolution to improve it, but it appears to be on their end. Cable is looking better even at the increased price.

Not as bad as you may think

5.00 Stars

on November 09, 2018

If you're looking for reliable internet for an affordable price, CenturyLink is the place to be. $45/mo for 80 Mbps down and 10 Mbps up. Thought about going with other Fiber services, but they wanted 60 days for construction to run fiber from my alley into my home, no thank you! Ordered CenturyLink service, and the next day there was a tech in my home doing the install, and by noon I had reliable internet that has never skipped a beat. Cannot recommend CenturyLink enough, especially if you don't want to pay the ridiculous price for coax.

Tech was great

4.00 Stars

on October 03, 2018

The tech did a great job trying to find me good deals to stay with CenturyLink. I was already committed to a 12-month contract for the other service so I was not in a position to take advantage of the offered deals. I will call them back in a year. I consistently got the internet speed I paid for but the price per Mb was high for today's standards. Within the past 6 months, I have had to reset the modem almost daily, generally because CenturyLink DNS would quit responding to requests (traceroute shows the network is still connected, dig shows no DNS response). In all fairness, that could be a local issue. Phone service was great, but you get a lot of scam calls on a landline.

Some problems with CenturyLink internet and router and printer

4.00 Stars

on September 24, 2018

But I have to say, both times I needed help, the tech was amazing and spent hours with me helping. Tech has been most patient till it gets resolved. Was very impressed.

Great support in Vichy area

4.00 Stars

on September 17, 2018

We used to have reliability issues with CenturyLink, but after fixing some electrical issues (a bad DIY job from the previous owner of our old house) that I believe was intermittently causing brief power interruptions or surges to the modem, that was mostly resolved. Since then, we only had one other problem, where we had our speed slow down to 1Mbps (supposed to be 8). I called support on Friday evening (9 pm) and they had a tech out Saturday morning before 10 am and fixed us up quickly. They replaced some cables and we have been running at full speed since then, with no more unreliability. The tech support was very patient and helpful, both on phone support and the technician sent to our home.

It's alright for now

4.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Poor customer service but the internet is good for what I use it for at the moment. In a few months, I'll be needing broadband/fiber optic internet hoping it will be an option for me soon.

Expensive

4.00 Stars

on August 22, 2018

The bill is too high for internet only, I have no phone or TV. Customer service is good.

Gigabit for life for $80

4.00 Stars

on June 16, 2018

The phone sales reps are terrible! Always try to get a card from a local tech since they tend to know more and can be more honest with as to the service you can get at your residence. Overall though I have only had 2 outages in 6months and have gigabit GPON. However their peering with Youtube is terrible!

Max speed only 12mbps in my area

3.00 Stars

on April 05, 2018

Where I live in Washington, Utah the speed of DSL is 12mbps downstream. Because of our distance from the C.O. or the closest node (fiber to copper wire), This is probably the best speed I will get - unless the telephone network is updated. I have not had any problems with customer service and I have only had one or two outages. I just received a $1.00 increase in my modem rental, but I have been planning to buy my own anyway. All in all, it works ok.

Sub-par on product; great technicians.

2.00 Stars

on February 18, 2018

Mixed results: I've had CenturyLink for 20+ years. Attempting to leave them because they charge $140 for simple 20/2 MB service + basic phone. Can't get anything faster without going to fiber optic to the tune of $1,000 per month. So goodbye landline. Overall rating on a 5 point scale: Price: Zero. Reliability: 5. Value: 1.8 Technicians: 6 on a 5 point scale, they've been awesome. Sales guys: 2 Empathy from corporate: 0.1

Consistent service

4.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

I have 25 Mbps VDSL and can stream 4K videos and be on my iPad and also stream music at the same time without any issues. VDSL and DSL is all based on footage from the telephone switch or center office. The Closer the faster speeds.

CenturyLink is good

William Rock on December 07, 2017

Works fine most of the time, however, there are short-term interruptions occasionally.

Slow service but 100% reliable

4.00 Stars

on November 09, 2017

I have never had any issues with this service, no down time, no loss of service ever. Since I really do not have a requirement for high speed I have one of the lowest speeds by request and it works very well even on those days where I need to work from home.

New install

4.00 Stars

on August 28, 2017

So far so good! Just installed a few minutes ago, tech was very knowledgeable and quick!

Good internet

4.00 Stars

on June 19, 2017

No problems with the internet. But it is really expensive unless they give you one of their deals. But those typically are only for a year.

Great DSL speed

5.00 Stars

on June 17, 2017

Not bad for somewhere in the middle of woods.

Excellent Service

5.00 Stars

on June 05, 2017

1. Service was excellent, however, after only 6-months the modem went bad. I had a difficult time convincing them that it was the problem, but after I did they replaced it immediately. 2. Their automated phone service lets you listen to a lot of elevator music while waiting your turn, but eventually, you get answers. 3. The internet and wifi are wonderful!

CenturyLink DSL is great!

5.00 Stars

on April 28, 2017

Good internet provider. We have their DSL service and love it! Would recommend!

Solid service and speed at a fair price.

4.00 Stars

on April 05, 2017

Solid service and speed at a fair price. The customer retention department will lower price and increase speed to keep me as a customer.

Great Service and Pricing

5.00 Stars

on March 11, 2017

Had a great experience with CenturyLink. Had to cancel services due to moving out of service area. Definitely recommend this company and service staff. Go with CenturyLink.

Happy overall

5.00 Stars

on March 05, 2017

Good techs and service.

Internet

5.00 Stars

on March 01, 2017

Great service with very good customer service, and always ready to work with whatever issue you have, just need to call.

Love it!

5.00 Stars

on October 24, 2016

It is the best internet I have had and I recommend it to everybody. Unfortunately we are hoping to move and their hub is full so I will have to change providers. I am not looking forward to that I almost don't want to move.

Happy with Century Link, except the price

4.00 Stars

on July 27, 2016

I've got no complaints about CenturyLink. It's a stable system and I never have outages. I'm paying more than I would like though - $60.

My Internet Provider

3.00 Stars

on July 09, 2016

The speeds are slow but its useful for the average personal Internet use.

Good service

4.00 Stars

on July 06, 2016

I have had nothing but great customer service experience. My only complaint is a very low upload speed, but I would rather suffer through poor upload speeds than go with others.

Reliable but slow

2.00 Stars

on May 27, 2016

12mbps is the fastest you can get in a town of 10,000 people.

Moderate internet for a casual user

4.00 Stars

on May 24, 2016

CenturyLink is an alright company if you don't plan on heavy wireless usage. I have two consoles in my house and it will lag if we are both on at the same time. I have their fastest internet that they provide. if you are a single internet user their services should suffice.

Wish there was Century Link at my new place

4.00 Stars

on May 23, 2016

I have a house phone with unlimited long distance and high-speed internet for under $100 a month. Pretty happy with the service and no billing issues like I have had with other providers always adding services and upgrades without me even requesting them.

CenturyLink

5.00 Stars

on February 29, 2016

I have no complaints with CenturyLink and truly appreciate their great customer service. Their service is exceptional; great speed and reliability.

Fiber gigabit CenturyLink

4.00 Stars

on February 22, 2016

Reliable so far, but don't count on actual gigabit speeds for anything else than when testing on speedtest.net! Actual rates are around 250Mbps (both directions), but that's still faster than what others currently offer. Expensive, but if you need something faster than cable it may be worth it.

Reliable. Also the only option.

4.00 Stars

on January 26, 2016

CenturyLink has been fine for me for 8 years now. Expensive, as my neck of the woods is largely a captive audience. I could have satellite internet, I guess, but frequent deluges would interfere with that. It's alarmingly Third World in my neighborhood so it's nice that the internet works reliably.

Adequate for Business

4.00 Stars

on January 04, 2016

My service has been stable the past 2 months. It was not this Summer. CenturyLink is seriously over-subscribed in the Parker Colorado area, and has no plans they are willing to share about improving their bandwidth. Their download speeds are ok, but their upload is inadequate for web server use. They recommend using their Cloud (Savvis) rather than an internal web server, and aren't very good about supporting video uploads for security.

Slow but fairly reliable

3.00 Stars

on December 17, 2015

Maximum speed is 10Mbps. The service rarely fails and the response to outages is fairly prompt. I'd be much happier at 25Mbps (to my mind still a slow rate but 10 is glacial.)

Internet Only Customer

4.00 Stars

on December 15, 2015

As a whole, CenturyLink was decent for internet. I only used their internet service and originally signed up for the 40 Mbps service. However, due to the follies of DSL and the distance of the house from the DSLAM, I only ever hit a max of 20 Mbps. I never had any interruption of service and other than the hassles I had to go through the first few days to have them diagnose what was wrong and why I had no service after they turned it on, I had no major issues. If you are concerned about your total speed you might want to have them check to see how far away you are from the DSLAM and what your actual speed will be.

Happy user

4.00 Stars

on October 01, 2015

We have been very happy with CenturyLink internet. It is slow, but we also have the 7Mbps plan, which we knew would be slow. It is cheaper than any other Internet provider.

Happy customer

4.00 Stars

on September 26, 2015

We are very happy with our CenturyLink package. Upgraded to faster internet, still trying to figure some things out about it , but the kids are happier.

Good when it works

2.00 Stars

on September 09, 2015

Good internet access when it works. Takes too long to have issues addressed and resolved when service is out.

OK service

4.00 Stars

on September 04, 2015

Service is ok, considering it's the cheapest in the area for the speed I want.

CenturyLink

5.00 Stars

on May 29, 2015

I have used this service for several years and love the speed and connection. Great Service!

Business class needed to get reasonalbe service

3.00 Stars

on February 22, 2015

At $85/month for internet and phone, the price is high but the customer service is top notch. The internet service is pretty solid but slow, 6000Mbps to 9000Mbps down depending on current line condition which varies from week to week. They are much better than the other major competitor in this coverage area, other ISP users slow to dial up speeds in the evening, I know other ISP users in other areas do better. I usually have an outage once or twice a year that usually gets fixed within 24 hours.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

CenturyLink Internet Reviews FAQ

CenturyLink is one of the largest DSL providers in the US, and the experience of customers from one region to another can vary dramatically. To date, 35.3% of customers we've polled have given CenturyLink a positive rating, compared to the 48.4% approval rating of Internet providers overall.

Where Does BroadbandNow Collect CenturyLink Internet Reviews?

We poll visitors across our site based on their IP address. If they are visiting from a CenturyLink network IP address, we can infer that they are a CenturyLink user. By serving them a pop-up, we are able to get reviews from customers on the positive and negative side of the experience spectrum. We use IP-verification to ensure that CenturyLink Internet reviews are left only by current CenturyLink customers, as well as to discourage angry customers from leaving more than one review, since we can identify their device as a repeat visitor when they return to BroadbandNow in the future.

Are Reviews of CenturyLink Edited or Filtered?

We may edit reviews for small typos or grammatical errors, but otherwise we do not adjust the CenturyLink reviews or star ratings in any way. However, we do manually review customers submissions before publishing them on this page. We do this to remove low-quality and spam reviews, and to make sure that we only publish text reviews that include useful, specific, relevant information for potential customers researching CenturyLink service.

Understanding CenturyLink Reviews: Common Issues

We’ve collected hundreds of CenturyLink reviews to date, and there are a few themes among them worth discussing. First, CenturyLink is a DSL provider, meaning that most of their plans use copper telephone lines to deliver service. These lines are not the best way to transmit digital data, and as a result the speeds of CenturyLink service in rural areas tends to be much slower than, say, a fiber of cable plan. However, DSL is the most widely available wired Internet infrastructure in the US, meaning that CenturyLink can serve areas that cable and fiber providers simply can’t or won’t serve. This makes CenturyLink’s DSL Internet a lifeline for customers who otherwise would be stuck with slow, limited satellite Internet.

DSL has also begun offering fiber Internet plans in some areas. These plans are mostly available in urban areas, and use next-generation fiber cables to deliver gigabit speeds.