CenturyLink Customer Reviews Summary

Customer Service
3.3
Reliability
3.3
Speed
2.9
Value
3.0

We asked BroadbandNow users to review CenturyLink based on four core attributes: Customer Service, Reliability, Speed, and Value.

BroadbandNow readers submitted 4395 for CenturyLink. CenturyLink earned an average score of 3.13 out of 5.

Check Availability by address:
Ways to order CenturyLink:

CenturyLink Internet Customer Reviews

Leave a review for CenturyLink Internet

Are you a current or former CenturyLink customer? Tell us what you love about CenturyLink and offer valuable insights for other users.

*Please note we only publish helpful, relevant, and specific reviews. When writing your review, please support your rating with detailed reasoning.

TECH WAS AMAZING

Tess on July 19, 2023

Our service is not very good, have been having problems for a while with lots of things and technicians, but today I wanted to leave a review about my tech, he was absolutely outstanding, I haven’t experienced service like that from anyone in a very long time. He was very kind and had good people and communication skills. Even has me thinking about getting a higher internet speed. You guys have good salesmen, too. God bless his heart, he offered to check out our router in the house to see if it's working and said he doesn't mind going out of his way to get things working. When all our other techs just dipped as soon as they were done, he was really amazing. I couldn’t be more satisfied.

Unbelievably poor customer service

Bill on August 26, 2022

Centurylink does not seem to care that I have had two phone outages in less than a week. The first rep I reached said he checked my line from his computer and that the problem is definitely outside the house. My phones had been out for a week when their first repair tech came out, and that "repair" only lasted 2 days. My phones went out again, and now the best they can do now is make me wait another week, so I will have been without phones for most of 2 weeks. After several attempts at reaching someone to look into getting a tech to me sooner, one gal said she would call me back when she got an answer. I never heard from her again.

Great customer service

Rick Bradley on August 25, 2022

My home has had CenturyLink service for almost a year now. My only complaint would be having a reliable phone contact number for service orders or other issues. Recently our internet service went out and my wife and I had a hard time contacting someone in the CenturyLink chain who could assist us with our issue. This issue went on for about a week until my wife stayed on the line for an hour before finally, someone from tech support took our call. The individual was extremely helpful and attentive to our needs. She was very kind to send us another modem overnight without hesitation. To make a long story short, our internet service is up and running and things are going well. My wife and I appreciate all that they were able to do for us. There was another individual who was also very helpful however their name escapes me. Those searching for internet service would do well to consider CenturyLink as their provider. The prices and speed are suitable for any family environment.

Good internet, landline outages

Marvin @ Shipshe Rental on August 24, 2022

We've been with CenturyLink since our business started in 2009. The internet is sufficient for our needs with 40+ Mbps download and 6 uploads. That's been very consistent. Phone service has been more problematic. We are highly dependent on phone orders. Several months ago it was down for several days. Last Thursday it was down for the forenoon. The robotic assistant on the phone menu is truly maddening. Best of luck to you if you are trying to schedule a repair appointment. When (if) you get through to Repairs, you may have a 5-day wait! If there were other landline options we would certainly consider them. Value for money spent? You will need to periodically call and ask them to review your account and the bundled package options. Don't depend on them to contact you with the best plans.

It just gets slower

Jade Minteer on July 19, 2022

When we first went with CenturyLink internet, it was great and we had no issues. We’ve been loyal customers for 3 years now and everything has been going downhill. We’re constantly having to reset the internet because it isn’t working with a WIRED CONNECTION. We can’t even connect anything but our phones wirelessly and even that is a long shot because it doesn’t connect when we’re 50 feet away from it. My Bluetooth headphones have a better connection than that. CenturyLink was suggested because it’s good for gaming. It takes days to download a simple game. Our download speed is absolute crap.

Good experience

Tom Hansen on May 16, 2022

I recently had a problem, due to a modem malfunction. The entire technical staff went above and beyond to solve my problem and get me back on the internet. One person who deserves special acknowledgment. She quickly focused on the problem, how it was caused, and a solution. As a result, my problem was kept to a minimum. During my career and since my retirement, having worked with a wide variety of technicians, I can say, she is extremely adept at her job. CenturyLink should be very proud to have someone of her caliber on their team.

Service

Jared on March 25, 2022

Where to start, I had been with CenturyLink since they took over Qwest. Qwest was really good by the way. I had both the internet and telephone. The telephone side of things was actually pretty good if you have a landline phone. The internet site of things was not so good. Every Sunday my internet speeds would slow to the point of unusable speeds, I had multiple technicians tell me there was nothing they could do about the issue. So I decided to leave CenturyLink and go elsewhere with my phone and Internet. when the new company ported the phone # it allowed me to make outgoing calls but not receive calls but as soon as the # was requested to be ported, CenturyLink canceled my service making the porting process not go all the way through. I checked with CenturyLink to make sure we owed them nothing at this time. I being stupid waited 6 months as I did not have the time to call on the matter and since it was just a landline phone not used much anyway. Until I received a letter from a collections agency saying we owed CenturyLink money that they never sent us a bill or notice for. I paid the bill of course but the kicker is I have to pay them again to reconnect the service so it can be properly ported to the new Telephone company. Do not use CenturyLink unless you want a sore rear end. I would give an average score of 0 if I could but their customer service reps are very nice and try to help as much as they can. It's the company itself that I do not like.

Great internet

Efrain on February 17, 2022

What can I say, it's a good internet provider that works as it should, it does the job well, I can watch Netflix on my tv and be using my laptop at the same time. Fast internet, no issues whatsoever. it's great for streaming Hulu, Youtube and the installation was great, the technician was very professional, the job was well done. I'm very happy and satisfied with the service.

Excellent

Preston on November 27, 2021

Lightning-fast speed, can stream high def vids, the only problem is that the router sometimes goes down for a few minutes, other than that, it's brilliant, would recommend.

Meh but it's better than nothing

Huw Dixon on September 19, 2021

The initial ordering process was insane. Other internet services I've ordered from other major providers in other states was just a couple of minutes online click click click done. This took almost an hour on the phone. Anyway, the order is complete and given an install date. The modem was arriving about the same day according to tracking info. Tech arrived and the modem was not yet on hand. He tested the lines everything looked ok to him. Limited to a 10Mbs connection here. He left and literally 4 minutes later the UPS driver pulled up and dropped off the modem. Just my luck. Plugged up the modem and followed the directions exactly. The modem would connect but the sign-in process kept failing. Called customer service the next day and after an hour with the rep (he actually was pretty helpful and informative), he ascertained that the modem they sent us did not match what they had entered into their system hence the failed login. He wasn't able to make changes but said someone would be able to within a few days. A few days later the modem came to life and has worked fine so far. We've experienced no real outages other than a couple of 30-second outs but nothing to complain about (other than the speed).

Love Centurylink

Mary on June 18, 2021

We have had Centurylink landline for literally decades. It was a no-brainer for us to use them for internet and landline when we moved into our new home. Our home was built in an area with their new fiber internet. They installed it on the day scheduled, at the scheduled time. The technician was great. Had it up and running quickly. Have not had any problems. Both the internet and landline are cheaper than we were paying Cox for just the internet. Had a very bad experience with our previous ISP. Kept dropping calls. Hope to have Centurylink for decades to come.

GREAT!

Gabriel on May 06, 2021

Install took about 4 hours because the tech had to resolve an issue with registering but after that, everything works great. Tech was a great person too!

Reliability - 4

D on February 16, 2021

Great speed and reliability.

Centurylink speed only up to 3Mbps

James on January 23, 2021

Centurylink started good with advertised speed up to 15Mbps. After 6 months, speed slowed to 8 Mbps and 1 month later speed is now 2-3 Mbps.

Yikes. It’s not what you want.

Nj on January 20, 2021

Internet quality keeps cutting in and out, in and off. A technician came to fix it and was outstanding. However, when what needed to be replaced was replaced, the WiFi worked for a day or two. Then the same problems that we’ve been having before resumed. Not recommended if you need reliable WiFi access.

Thanks

Barbara on January 12, 2021

Thank you for the professional temporary repair of the telephone line by Michael Lord (Custom Services Technician). It immediately improved my phone line. I'm waiting for the deadline to lay the line permanently in the ground. I think it will be soon. Thank you.

Run around at first until I talked to Kayla!

;ob White on December 22, 2020

Ok, so I tried to cancel...Was on hold for 1 hour 45 minutes. Passed off to 5 different people. I finally got to the end and the gentleman "pretended he couldn't hear me", rattled some speech and HUNG UP ON ME BEFORE I COULD GET A WORD IN. I was canceling, because of no phone jack and no DSL modem. Was bent on going to Suddenlink UNTIL I talked to an admittedly new employee. She (Kayla) got me all squared away with free installation, upgraded mbps, modem etc. Thank you, Kayla! Best customer service I've experienced. Most companies want you to do all the work for them, but not Kayla! Can't say enough about it! 5 stars!

GREAT TECH

Angela Book-glynn on November 30, 2020

I was extremely frustrated by the lack of communication from Wed. to Monday with no techs calling or showing up. However, finally, on Monday, Tech did call me, arrived when he said he would, and was absolutely wonderful. He was professional, respectful, and patient with all my questions. His customer service was excellent!

Moderately Better Than Nothing

Jennifer Giese on November 23, 2020

It took us years to get service, and we have no choice since Centurylink is the only provider available and we get no cell service at our home. It took years because they would not listen to us. All of our neighbors had service, but we were listed as not serviceable. We kept telling them that our fire number is wrong and they kept telling us that we were just too far away from the node. We finally flagged down a tech when he was working on the neighbor's and he verified they had us being two miles down the road attached to a different pedestal. Now that we have service, it's better than nothing, but not much. It disconnects at least once an hour, and usually more. I work from home and it is a struggle since I have to wait for it to reconnect and then log back into calls. We only live 3 miles from town so we aren't completely rural. Our download speed usually runs around 6Mbps and the upload about .6Mbps. If I have to upload files for work, I have to drive to town and use the library. It doesn't stay connected long enough to upload a file, nor is it quick enough. It will stream through our Roku but it buffers frequently, and of course disconnect.

Customer service representative

Hannah Mills/makayla St. Louis on September 30, 2020

Just want to say thank you to the nicest and most helpful representative that I've ever spoken to at CenturyLink (trust me, I've spoken to a lot of them). Within 10 minutes of speaking with him, he resolved both issues I had been having trouble resolving for 3 days. Keep up the good work and thank you so very much! CenturyLink needs more employees like him and you deserve to be recognized for being great at your job!!

About Our CenturyLink Customer Reviews

of our CenturyLink user reviews are positive as of . Fans of the provider appreciate CenturyLink’s deals, though it’s important to note that one popular offer — CenturyLink’s “price for life” guarantee — is no longer available to new customers as of this writing. Still, CenturyLink plans have a lot to offer, and CenturyLink speeds are nothing to sneeze at. For more details on CenturyLink’s pros and cons, take some time to read through the individual reviews you see on this page. Each of them was written by a real CenturyLink customer.