BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Cox Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Cox's service. To see if broadband Internet from Cox Communications is available in your area enter your zip code below.

2.81 Stars  847 Reviews
2.81 out of 5 stars

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new Cox Communications internet service or view available internet plans

(844) 385-9868 View Plans & Pricing

Provider Availability:

Want to see if Cox Communications is available in your area?

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new Cox Communications internet service or view available internet plans

(844) 385-9868 View Plans & Pricing

Amazing Customer service

5.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

This is how great Cox customer service can be when you let them help you. I made the mistake of letting someone trick me into letting them in my network. Before i knew what was happening they were in everything, they even wiped out my virus program. When i called Cox for help i was connected to Catherine in the Ohio call center, I explained to her what had happened & how worried i was about everything. Right from the start Catherine said it's going to be OK & i can help you take care of this. Then she said asked me to to take a deep breath & try to relax & i'll get started. Catherine was the most caring, understanding & thoughtful person you got hope for & just as smart. She started with the network & cleared every program they had installed. Then she asked me a few questions about my laptop at which time you asked me for permission to access it in order to make sure that no program was left behind which could still allow them access. I said yes & Catherine started going through the files & removed a few more programs they had installed. When she finished she then explained how with my Cox account came a McAfee Virus program which was what i had in my laptop. She then reinstalled McAfee & helped me set up new pass words for everything. When Catherine was done i felt relief for the first time in twelve hours & when she was finished & i thanked her for everything, she said you don't need to thank me it's me job. I said yes it may be your job but you just don't know i great full i am. So to show just how great full i am wanted Cox to know just how much i appreciate everything Catherine did to save me from what could have been my worst night mare. Catherine is the perfect example of outstanding customer service.

Bad customer service and poor service

2.00 Stars

on October 08, 2019

Moved to a new home with only cox service. They came to setup service but couldn’t finish due to an outage in our neighborhood. Outage was resolved but our service still didn’t work for several days. After it finally started working we have continued to have spotty internet with our wireless boxes. Two months into our new service we are experiencing another neighborhood outage. Outage was cleared but our service still isn’t working...going on two days. When I stressed we needed a service tech ASAP, due to us working from home, they couldn’t accommodate us for two days. When I asked to speak to a supervisor to see about getting an earlier appointment, there wasn’t one conveniently available.

Excellent service

5.00 Stars

on July 19, 2019

I would like to thank your company customer care representative who took care of my issue and for her excellent support. About a month ago I requested International call program to be added to my account, but due to a language barrier I didn’t realize that my calls to Ukraine were rated at high Direct Dial calls rate instead of affordable Simply World Wide program rate. On 7/19/19 I called Cox for clarification and they helped me to solve the issue. Support was extremely attentive and listened to all my concerns with a great deal of patience. They ensured that I received all the information regarding the rates. They also solved the problem regarding the service charges which I faced. They have a caring approach and a true professional. Please accept my gratitude for their speedy and efficient assistance.

Great customer service

5.00 Stars

on December 05, 2018

Made an honest mistake about not disconnecting my service when I moved. The manager listened, understood, and adjusted my bill accordingly. The cable and internet service was great as well. Good company. As a business professor, that's the kind of response made by companies that wish to do business in the future.

Cox is by far the best company for internet.

5.00 Stars

on October 10, 2016

I have had every provider for internet you could possibly name. Cox is by far the company I have had the least hassle with. Their phone support, even though they use a robot to do much of the work in the beginning of the call, is actually super easy to use and helpful. I've never experienced my internet being slow for more than a minute. I've never been on hold with Cox for an outrageous amount of time like other companies. When I moved to another state and wanted to take Cox with me it was extremely simple and hassle-free. Just one phone call saying I was moving, giving the new address, done. I love Cox and I recommend it.

Customer service sucks

1.00 Stars

on October 27, 2019

No phone to contact a human. When you figure it out they just transfer you all over the place and if you happen to do the texting then it will go nowhere after hours. Give us the run around! And nothing happens

Most Unreliable Internet Service Provider

1.00 Stars

on October 24, 2019

Cox Communications has very convenient “outages” every other day during peak internet usage hours. They claim they don’t throttle internet speeds yet I have been able to watch my speeds being throttled by simply monitoring them. Perfect example, it is currently Thursday, October 24th, 2019 09:07pm. Sure enough, there is an “outage”. Estimated fix time: 05:00pm. That’s almost 24 hours. Cox Communications is a Mediocre Internet Provider at best.

No wonder everyone cuts the cord now

1.00 Stars

on October 24, 2019

Way overpriced, bad service and an install cost to turn on a device?! On top of that it's not optional, what a waste.

Worst I've ever had

1.00 Stars

on October 21, 2019

Horrible horrible company our internet or Wi-Fi goes out at least once or twice three times a week they say unpluh it and plug it back in the modem that's bullshit should not have to do that for the amount of money they charge for their garbage that don't work half the time if there's anyone else you can use I suggest you do it again they are a horrible horrible company that don't care about anybody all they want is money

So frustrating.

2.00 Stars

on October 17, 2019

I've used Cox for 3+ years. Initially, it was great. $50 a month, great customer service, good quality even with 2 phones, 2 laptops and a TV connected. However, now that they charge me almost $70 a month, the quality is horrible (i have to disconnect my phone to stream Netflix on a smart TV), the speed is infuriatingly slow (this page took a minute and 12 seconds to load) and I get the run around when I call or chat online with customer service. I've never had an issue with billing until this year, I was charged a late fee because the rep entered a number wrong and a bill didn't go through blah blah blah- it's been a nightmare.

Service is poor.

1.00 Stars

on October 16, 2019

Customer service reps not willing to help. Service poor. Pitiful

Zero customer service

1.00 Stars

on October 14, 2019

For 3 days my bedroom tv had no signal.When I called we spent at least 40 minutes trying things that got me nowhere. Then I was told she’d have to send a technician out to evaluate. I said”that’s at no charge,right?” And she said “it will be up to the technician”. This problem has nothing to do with me and the problem is from their equipment/service being faulty. I had FIOS for years and this never happened during that time. I’m learning to go with the better service rather than a cheaper alternative. As of now I have no service in my bedroom because Cox couldn’t figure it out! They want me to pay for their ineptitude! Watch out for COX!

Way too expensive. Very poor customer service

2.00 Stars

on October 13, 2019

Cox charges way too much for internet speed and service. Upgraded services still are throttled unless you buy an unlimited plan (still too expensive). They also charge an installation fee (first I've ever seen for internet). I'm going to Century Link for 1/3 the cost (no installation fee) at near 1 TB service. Cox customer service was very slow with a bad connection when I called to cancel. Can't help but think this is intentional for cancelling customers (they give you a phone number just for cancellations). Cox is a bad act and we are lucky to have a competitor in our area.

Service Provided Today

5.00 Stars

on October 10, 2019

I just want to pass along my appreciation for the great home service that they provided today. Tech is obviously very skilled in dealing with Cox internet products and his timely and accurate response to my Cox problems will be long remembered.

Unreliable, Over Priced, Poor Service

1.00 Stars

on October 09, 2019

If I had any other option for “high-speed” internet, I would certainly cancel my service with Cox. Unfortunately, they are the only provider in my area of VIrginia Beach. With no competition, why would they bother to improve their horrible record of service outages and unreliable connection speeds? My internet service has gone out countless times while I’ve been working on critical, time-sensitive projects. Funny, how my bill only goes up as service further declines.

Between the cable and the Wi-Fi, something is always pathetic. With 5 cable boxes, you might think one might work. Thanks again for screwing up one of the few Saturday’s that I taped college footbal

1.00 Stars

on October 05, 2019

Between the cable and the Wi-Fi, something is always pathetic. With 5 cable boxes, you might think one might work. Thanks again for screwing up one of the few Saturday’s that I taped college football just to have problems with all 5 boxes. Cox has gone from good 15 years ago, to mediocre to pathetic.

Avoid them at all cost, horrible customer service

2.00 Stars

on October 05, 2019

I called customer service to question my bill. I had already removed my phone service 2 months ago but they continued to bill me for phone service which is $19.99/month. After going through the first customer rep and giving them all the information they need from me to identify me, like phone number, street number, social security number, etc, then they transferred me over to another rep and again i had to give them all sorts of crazy personal information so they can identify me again and this time, they asked me for my pin#, i don't remember what it is since i had their service for more than 20yrs. They then told me i had to go to a Cox store and show them my ID and only then, they can give me a new Pin#. All i want was to remove my phone service. So stupid and hated this company. If there was a better option, i would've gone with a different company.

Terrible

2.00 Stars

on October 04, 2019

They have sent out 4 techs to install my service. None of them have been able to complete the basic internet installation

I guess it's my fault

2.00 Stars

on October 03, 2019

Am paying $147 for basic cable , and 1024 gb internet , which I only use 40 to 50 gb each month, called to see what we could to reduce my bill ,they said she could give 50 gb and a couple extra channels for $108 per mo I said do it , she said it will be set up in a hour or so 2 days later no change s0 I called to see what was going on . I was basically scolded for not knowing how things work ,he said you can't just pick the channels you want ,and as for the internet he said well at least you'll never go over on data ...ha..ha ...guess who just lost a customer ???

Data usage discrepency and it's been two billing cycles with issues.

1.00 Stars

on October 03, 2019

billing cycle closes oct 02, cox states 1024 gb usage. My nighthawk router states 640.96 gb including down load and upload usage for the month. Its now oct. 03...huge discrepancy. I have payed my second bill, I had a self service fee and then an activation fee attached when I couldn't figure out the outlet connection. They charge you for inputting data into their system twice. Had to call to have that removed on the first bill. My recent bill was $160 plus tax to change the modem location. In this second billing cycle, the internet quality has decreased. There is no one at home and the internet lags. Their data usage tool in the app has NEVER worked in these two billing cycles. These guys are showing their true colors. Looking for recommendation for alternatives. I ain't gonna put up with this.

Bad customer service

1.00 Stars

on October 01, 2019

I set up a day to get my internet installed. The tech gets there and doesn't have the modem to install it. He calls his dispatch and they tell him I'm suppose to have it shipped to me. I show him my email confirmation which states they provide it when they come install it. He calls his higher up again and tells him to go pick up at there location. But tells me I have to call Cox and let them know he has to close it out since he has to comeback. He leaves and comes back 5min later to inform me they don't have a modem so he has to reschedule for another day. Mind you I left work early for this. I call Cox customer service and the rep tells puts me on hold for 15min but when she returns she lets me know she has spoken to them and they are coming back to install. I say ok and wait. Another Cox rep from the techs office calls me and informs me that they have to go to the warehouse to pick up a modem so they are going to reschedule my appointment two days out. I tell her no I've wasted 3hrs waiting here and I was told it be today. She said they didn't have time to send the tech to the warehouse and come back to install as he has other appointments. At this point I'm over it. I tell her I no longer want the service and to cancel my order. She says fine and hangs up on me. So I call Cox customer service again. And explain the situation. The rep tells me she can reschedule for next week. I told her no that's fine. I just want to cancel and get my money back. She puts me on hold for about 10min and say s oh well let me send you to billing. I speak to yet another rep and they proceed to tell me that they can get someone to come out. I put on hold again. Now the first technicians "supervisor" is calling me and tells me that he can reschedule for me. I tell him no thank you I didn't want the service anymore. I go back to the billing department and they tell me they can do it tomorrow morning. I let them know I can't because I have to be at work. I just want to cancel and get my money refunded. He cancelled it and I ask for a confirmation number or email so I know it's been done. I'm told there is no confirmation. If I want to see when I'll get me refund he would have to transfer me. I agree. I'm speaking to yet another rep. She informs me that yes my internet has been cancelled. That I will get my refund in 5-7days. After losing 4hrs of my day, I can say this was the worst experience ever. The worst part I still have no internet!

Cancel account

2.00 Stars

on September 30, 2019

Very rude , customer service She wasn’t polite at all , hard to understand , speaking really fast

Customer service

5.00 Stars

on September 26, 2019

For over three years we’ve been Cox Communications customers and every year we renew our service. For the first year, we were paying around 85$ to 90$ for around 130-135 channels for one year. Every year after that the price would go up and we would have to sacrifice channels to get the monthly bill to a reasonable amount. It was very frustrating for a loyal customer who had never missed a payment for three years and was getting treated like this. It wasn’t until today Sept.26 2019 that it felt like finally we were treated with decency when a customer service representative actually took the time to look for a plan that allowed us to keep all the channels that we currently had, add one premium channel for no additional cost and the best part of it all, our monthly bill went from 118$ to 114$a month for a year! Cox cable needs more employees like him. He actually cares about the customers he’s helping. Hope to renew our services again through him in a year. Thank you

Cannot go past 90 mbs

1.00 Stars

on September 20, 2019

I've never gotten close to 150mbs that I pay for. When it rains, internet goes down. Only reason I kept it was because they would keep the price low when I got irritated enough to call and cancel. This time, I call to cancel and the guy says he can help me and actually just asks if I wanted to make it effective immediately. At that point, I was just shocked that he didn't offer any retention offers. So I said not until 2 weeks. I got ATT fibre at less than what I was paying Cox, plus double the bandwidth. I wish I switched sooner. All it took was some lazy csr that was about to get off work, to speed things along on canceling my 5yr account. Overall, Cox sucks itself and unlike years before, now there is finally competition so the consumer wins.

vindictive customer service

2.00 Stars

on September 17, 2019

I've lost count of the number of outages. All last several hours, no obvious reasons, good weather, no storm's or high winds etc. When you call to complain, when you finally get back online, my system works for 20 minutes then goes dark. The modem drops connection for 45 minutes. When you ask why they have no answer.

Poor internet and they'll change your price without telling you

1.00 Stars

on September 15, 2019

I'm completely frustrated with Cox. I had connection troubles for 6 months and called several times trying to resolve it. I was typically met with "try unplugging your router". They also told me to reset it from their app, which didn't work. The main thing that annoyed me was that after a year I happened to check my bill (despite it being on autopay) and I saw that they were charging me $100/month. It had previously been $70/month. Apparently I'd signed up at a "promotional rate". They never told me the price changed, just tried to get away with trying to screw me. I can't stand when businesses try to hit you with hidden fees and don't tell you. I'd recommend looking elsewhere and hopefully you have a better experience than I did.

Internet Tech Support and Homelife

5.00 Stars

on August 21, 2019

I cannot thank Colby and Cole for all their help with getting what I needed down as quickly as I did I was very impressed with as many questions and requests that I had they were both patient so I was able to set everything up! Colby transferred me so I didn't have to back through the whole automated system and I have never had a quicker solutions to what I was trying to accomplish!

Happy finally

5.00 Stars

on June 23, 2019

Have had problems with my cable working since I moved in in May this year, it has been out more then on , i was at the point the last time it stopped working to cancel my subscription, I called and spoke with Sierra she was wonderful she scheduled to have a technician to come out and check what the problem was , today Sunday Rodney showed up few minutes after 8am, after checking to make sure everything had a signal he started checking and found a extra filter I didn't need, he took it off and everything worked, Sierra and Rodney are the best, if you have a problem ask for them to resolve the problem, finally a happy customer

Cox review

6.00 Stars

on January 15, 2019

The customer service is about the same as any other company. Very reliable internet service with almost no outages. I get at least the speed I pay for if not more. The main downside is pricing, it can get expensive after promotions expire.

EXCELLENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

5.00 Stars

on November 07, 2018

I just experienced the absolute BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE representative EVER from any company I have dealt with!! His name is Victor Chavez and his employee ID is B43464! This man deserves a raise because he was more than helpful and knowledgeable, but he was understanding and down to earth as well.... not to mention he understood that sometimes people get into a jam and don't need to be criticized for it!! For reasons like this, I will choose to stay a COX COMMUNICATIONS customer instead of switching to AT&T, which was what I was about to do prior to speaking with Victor!! Thank you so much for your AWESOMENESS!!!! A+++ SERVICE!

Out of all of them, this one has been the best!

5.00 Stars

on July 07, 2018

I have tried most of the providers for internet and TV in all my years. Cox is by far the best, maybe a little pricey but better than the rest.

There is no better internet

5.00 Stars

on March 10, 2018

Gigablast. What is not to like? I fix computers and help people with their electronics. There is nobody better. I've never had Cox swear at me on the phone like I have with others. My home internet speed is 984Mbps up and down. More expensive, yes, but it just plain works.

Very Good, Very Fast

2.00 Stars

on November 26, 2017

Highest speed ive had was 428Mbps lowest is 120Mbps

Dependable high speeds, few downtime issues

4.00 Stars

on November 11, 2017

Service has always been courteous and fast, especially compared to tales I've heard regarding Verizon and Comcast. Issue: let's its modems age until a failure occurs. Speeds meet my needs fine. Major issue: can't dump my expensive phone landline from the bundle to save money, the cable and internet charges merely increase.

Good service

4.00 Stars

on July 06, 2017

It's a big company and they can offer great services, overall the service is good but a little bit expensive.

Good, but expensive

4.00 Stars

on June 12, 2017

I have internet and basic tv. I mean like 20 channels not counting music. And I pay over 100 dollars a month! Now that I see that in writing I'm pretty stupid!

Decent speeds, and better customer service than V-fios

4.00 Stars

on May 08, 2017

If you can get a good introductory package, I would say to go with Cox. Their customer service still consists of people who are only allowed to make scripted responses to your inquiries, but I believe they try harder to be available and satisfy their customers. Too bad they penalize you (and discourage customer loyalty) with much higher prices after two years (or whenever your package expires). I would keep them as my provider, if it wasn't for that.

Really good Internet service, decent customer service.

4.00 Stars

on April 27, 2017

I only get internet as we stream everything via Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, CW, etc. We have been bumped up several times over the last 5 years from 25mbps to 150mbps as service improved! I have had issues with billing going up and calling to talk them down, but every time I had success getting it lowered, once with the effect of getting my speed doubled from 50 to 100. The 150 bump was due to increased availability of bandwidth when they stopped analog signal. It has been reliable, and even with a problem in summer 2015, it was a difficult issue but they never stopped trying till they found a bizarre issue that was resolved and I was credited multiple times for my patience. And my 150 service is often bumped to over 200 on big files, game updates, etc. No lag or latency problems, even at prime time! The only fault is they have recently instituted a 1TB data limit. For cable cutters, it's an issue.

Waiting for Fiber

4.00 Stars

on September 14, 2016

4/5 until I get Gigablast.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Cox Internet Reviews FAQ

Cox Internet reviews shown on BroadbandNow are based on 37,618 ratings we've collected from current Cox customers. Of those ratings, 45.0% are positive, as compared to the cable industry average of 48.3.

How Are the Cox Internet Reviews Above Sourced?

When visitors land on our site, we’re able to see who their Internet provider is based on the IP address of their browser. IP addresses are associated with specific providers, so it’s easy for any site you interact with to see whose network you are on. For Cox customers, we show a select percent of them a pop-up asking them to leave a review. We also allow customers to leave reviews using the “write a review” button at the top of this page. This method of randomized review gathering allows us to display a mix of positive and negative reviews.

How Are the Cox Internet Reviews Above Validated?

Once we’ve check that a review is coming from a Cox IP address, we check to make sure it includes useful content before publishing it in the featured reviews on this page. Our criteria is simple: reviews must be helpful, specific, and not devolve into “rants.” Unfortunately, most of the reviews we receive do not meet this criteria, although we include all star ratings regardless of the customer’s ability to represent their opinion in writing.

Are Reviews Filtered or Edited?

In some cases, we will edit reviews to correct small spelling or syntax errors. We do not otherwise edit reviews in any way.

Common Issues Found in Cox Internet Reviews

Overall, the most common issues found in the Cox reviews we’ve read are complaints about inconsistent speeds and data caps.

Inconsistent speeds are normal for cable providers, since the bandwidth is effectively shared within your block or neighborhood. Unlike DSL or fiber, cable Internet is prone to slowdowns when everyone gets home from work and turns on Netflix. “Peak use” speed slowdowns are an unfortunate fact of life for most cable plans.

Data caps are set around 1 Terabyte (1,000 GB) on most Cox plans. Since the average household only uses around 250 GB or so per month, this isn’t an issue for most customers. Home offices or large, Netflix-addicted homes should look into business plans or other “pro” options.

On the plus side, reviews of Cox speeds tend to be favorable, and their customer service gets strong marks compared to other cable providers.