Cox Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Cox's service. To see if broadband Internet from Cox Communications is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Cox Service

Cox Communications

2.33 Stars  402  Reviews
2.33 out of 5 stars

5 Star
3.9%
4 Star
10.8%
3 Star
23.5%
2 Star
38.7%
1 Star
23.2%

Leave a Review For Cox Communications

Are you a current or former Cox Communications customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Data caps

3.00 Stars

on August 09, 2017

While expensive, Cox is the only internet provider in North Las Vegas that has 100+ Mbps download speed. I have been a loyal customer since they offered cable internet in my area. However, due to the recent inclusion of data caps and insane overage costs I am going to have to cancel my service with Cox. I can't afford a $400 dollar a month internet bill. This data cap and extreme service fee are directly targeting families that rely on video streaming for the majority of in home entertainment.

Great speed, too much money!

3.00 Stars

on March 19, 2018

I have the average speed plan, not much streaming, no gaming. $88 a month is way too much. Time to look at alternatives.

Unfortunately Cox is now limiting data.

3.00 Stars

on July 01, 2017

Very unhappy because they now limit data. Speed is rarely what we pay for. Constantly needs to be reset. For the $70 a month that I pay, data should be unlimited!

Now charging for data

1.00 Stars

on July 09, 2017

I recently received a notice that COX is now limiting DATA to 1 TB. May seem like a lot but not in this day and age where we are on WiFi 24/7 with one device or another in our homes. This is a backwards moving direction by a supposed tech company moving into the future. Obnoxious and they don't even offer an unlimited plan while rolling out this "New" plan.

Only decent provider, but expensive

4.00 Stars

on October 29, 2017

The service has been good. We have the intermediate priced internet. It just went up $10 a month. I wish we had more options. $91 a month is expensive.

Not Customer Friendly

1.00 Stars

on January 06, 2015

Internet is slow and inconsistent. Can't get through to a Customer service representative without waiting long periods of time. TV is the same. Just not happy since becoming a Cox customer. Waiting for a good alternative, even it costs a little more.

Cox Internet Service

4.00 Stars

on April 16, 2017

I have been a Cox customer since it first came to the East Valley (Gilbert 1990s; now San Tan Valley). Initially, my service was a packaged internet/TV/phone. Early last year, I dumped the TV & phone components. My wife and I are not sports fans, grew weary of commercials and have not used the landline for years. We acquired a internet streaming device (Roku3) and a larger smart TV. Every device in our home uses a wireless connection except the Roku. Now we stream any TV we watch and enjoy relatively fast (38-42 Mbps/7-8 Mbps) internet connection. Cox provides no 1GB service to our community yet. The current cable service to our home has been reasonably consistent and reliable. There are slower days than others and short bursts of no service for 2-3 days out of the month. Our current service (again, internet only) is $60/month which includes no questions asked modem replacement when issues pop up. I have no comment on Cox CSR. I have no need to talk with them - I pay my monthly fee and they provide the service. Finally, I have my eyes and ears open to emerging technologies available in our community. I have 801.11ac capable devices now and will switch to 1GB internet service when it arrives- no matter the provider.

Cox means poor service

1.00 Stars

on March 05, 2018

Internet goes out constantly. When the internet goes out there is not phone service. High speed internet is a joke. You are lucky to get 30 Mbps when you are supposed to get 100 Mbps. The local store in Rogers, Arkansas never returns their calls.

Cox Cable Download Speed Is Bad

2.00 Stars

on June 09, 2016

Even though Cox give you free cloud storage and let you download their free anti-virus software at their website for up to 5 devices if you use them as their ISP, I think their download speed is very poor. Since I play video games I know I want fast internet so I trusted them and got their Cox High Speed Internet Preferred of up to 50 Mbps download 5 Mbps upload that cost $67.99 a month. I did a network speed test on my Xbox One with opened ports using Ethernet and while other devices were off and still only get up to 32 Mbps download 7 Mbps upload. That's not a real good up to speed if you ask me.

Cox service and cost

4.00 Stars

on May 21, 2016

Cox is a great service provider for internet and cable. Friendly and reliable service. However, the cable is more expensive compared to some other providers. Cox does not require a contract, unlike those other providers.

Used to be good... used to

2.00 Stars

on November 24, 2017

The last two weekends I had downtimes with no explanation. Calling into customer service would get an automated message. They now cap their usage, so expect to pay an awful lot more for the crummy service than you previously had. I wish that money would go towards improving their service, but I just don't see how.

Dependable high speeds, few downtime issues

4.00 Stars

on November 11, 2017

Service has always been courteous and fast, especially compared to tales I've heard regarding Verizon and Comcast. Issue: let's its modems age until a failure occurs. Speeds meet my needs fine. Major issue: can't dump my expensive phone landline from the bundle to save money, the cable and internet charges merely increase.

Fast But Expensive

3.00 Stars

on May 20, 2017

Fast internet speeds and good reliability. TV service is good but DVR is slow and not user-friendly. We don't use the phone service but have to get it to reduce the price of the service package, which makes no sense to me.

Really good Internet service, decent customer service.

4.00 Stars

on April 27, 2017

I only get internet as we stream everything via Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, CW, etc. We have been bumped up several times over the last 5 years from 25mbps to 150mbps as service improved! I have had issues with billing going up and calling to talk them down, but every time I had success getting it lowered, once with the effect of getting my speed doubled from 50 to 100. The 150 bump was due to increased availability of bandwidth when they stopped analog signal. It has been reliable, and even with a problem in summer 2015, it was a difficult issue but they never stopped trying till they found a bizarre issue that was resolved and I was credited multiple times for my patience. And my 150 service is often bumped to over 200 on big files, game updates, etc. No lag or latency problems, even at prime time! The only fault is they have recently instituted a 1TB data limit. For cable cutters, it's an issue.

Cox Cable Services Review

2.00 Stars

on October 20, 2017

I've been a Cox customer for 18+ years - things seemed to have deteriorated greatly;Many outages, poor service, poor service responses to problems, customer service reps don't seem to be efficient at internal communication and implementing the discussed resolutions to problems. Right hand doesn't seem to know what the left hand is doing... Our total bill continues to increase (even having the cost for options not authorized by us added to our invoice) while the quality of the service we pay for continues to decline. Cox offers better deals to new subscribers than what we can get, indicating our 18+ year loyalty to them means absolutely nothing. All in all, I would suggest exploring any other options available as opposed to using Cox for any of the cable tv/Internet/land line phone services you may want and or need....

Great Speed- Frustrating Customer Service

4.00 Stars

on October 08, 2017

The speed is blazing, I get over 100mps most days, slows a little in the evening, but not bad. So far pretty reliable, only one outage in 4 years. Customer service was fine for installation, I have not called for Technical Issues, I troubleshoot myself. Calling about billing is, pretty much what Cox is famous for, long waits poor communication.

Good service

4.00 Stars

on July 06, 2017

It's a big company and they can offer great services, overall the service is good but a little bit expensive.

Poor speed and inconsistent service

2.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

The internet speed is slow even when I purchased 50 Mbps service. Along with internet being slow the TV service is inconsistent.

Cost too high, TV has pauses

2.00 Stars

on November 02, 2017

TV has pauses and breaks most of the time. Our neighbor has the same problem but they will not replace the main wiring in the neighborhood. Keep telling us it is our connection but this has been upgraded.

Data cap?!

1.00 Stars

on August 06, 2017

Just found out there is a cap on our data because we went over! I didn't know we had a limit on our data AND I'm being charged an additional $10 in 50 GB blocks. As much as I already pay for subpar speed and reliability, this is ridiculous!!!

Never will be with Cox again

2.00 Stars

on May 07, 2017

Pros: Good Internet Speed for download and upload Cons: Lots of increasing price change, Reps listen to you and accept to do something but it does not happen, lots of charges for nothing, frequently drops the speed from 50mbps to less than 1mbps. Considering the quality of service does not worth for the price but in many areas, there is no other choice.

Consistent

3.00 Stars

on March 05, 2016

Cox has provided reliably consistent service with good speed for my needs. They are the biggest kid on the block here and their customer service is consistently terrible. The other constant is rising rates; bundled phone and internet (no TV) is now over $100/month (including taxes). If I had another option for high-speed internet I would use it, but in this rural area, choices are limited.

Mixed review --- speeds vary, weblinks are buggy, webmail is SLOW

2.00 Stars

on May 11, 2018

Speed varies with number of users online; rush-hours are slower. Tech support quality varies but English is good. Webmail is slow, cox.com web links are buggy and server settings problematic. Deletes emails from server after two months. Be sure you have another secure backup.

Quality Service! Great Value

5.00 Stars

on April 17, 2016

My experience with Cox Communications has been extremely positive. My internet connection is consistent and fast. I know when I turn on my computer that I will be able to do what I need to do for work or leisure. I have no complaints and recommend this service to anyone.

Cox Internet

5.00 Stars

on June 23, 2016

Great service, speed, and reliability! Cox Rocks!

Cox is by far the best company for internet.

5.00 Stars

on October 10, 2016

I have had every provider for internet you could possibly name. Cox is by far the company I have had the least hassle with. Their phone support, even though they use a robot to do much of the work in the beginning of the call, is actually super easy to use and helpful. I've never experienced my internet being slow for more than a minute. I've never been on hold with Cox for an outrageous amount of time like other companies. When I moved to another state and wanted to take Cox with me it was extremely simple and hassle-free. Just one phone call saying I was moving, giving the new address, done. I love Cox and I recommend it.

Good performance, OK customer service

4.00 Stars

on January 27, 2016

Cox has been relatively reliable with consistent speeds and only rare outages but the prices are a bit steep and the technology employed is out of the 90s.

Very Expensive

3.00 Stars

on January 22, 2018

Equipment fails often and the service is very expensive. Just bought an HD antenna. And I am getting 30 channels.

It is a love hate situation.

3.00 Stars

on September 02, 2017

Half of the time I can't get WiFi AT ALL in my house. I am not sure if its just my area? When it works, it is great.

Great repair service and options

4.00 Stars

on March 22, 2015

When internet speeds became really erratic, technician came by and was quickly able to determine multiple problems; one was the age of the wiring in the house (40+ years) the others were a combination of the distance from house to junction and the grade of cable plus the grade of cable UNDER the road to the main switch. Fresh cable was laid for the house to a junction which helped and burial of that cable upgrade on the under road line was promptly scheduled. the tech then explained various options to solve my unique needs for the most cost-effective solution. Two drops were added, 1 to my office and a second to the living room (for video cable). Since then, speeds and service have been great! However, I am paying quite a lot since we have no premium channels.

Only option available

2.00 Stars

on July 19, 2018

I felt like I needed to leave a review because of the constant requests for 'recommendations' here. In that "yes" I would recommend them, but only because they are the only cable providers in this area code, and much of Kansas; so you don't really have a choice. The second part would be service reliability. It's on most of the time, but I'm paying for 50 down and "up to" 5 Up, I actually get 2 down and 0 (200-750 Kbs) up more than 75% of the time. Luckily we're not heavy constant users at this time so it's not a huge deal for us, other than it's a complete rip off in what I'm paying for. It's not like I'm in an out of the way area either. In an affluent area with underground lines and a trunk within a mile of me; with the actual residential split directly behind my house. Not to mention they have data caps on most of their plans, which is absurd for a landline service.

Fastest service I've ever had

4.00 Stars

on March 25, 2015

For it's lack of good technical support and slow response time to problems, when the service is up and running it is just incredibly fast. And reliability is surprisingly high. I very rarely have service outages.

Yes

4.00 Stars

on January 29, 2015

Cox is great! Wonderful customer service and good speeds. A little pricey.

Fairly reliable

4.00 Stars

on June 09, 2016

I've been a customer for a very long time, and I'm still happy.

Dependable Service

4.00 Stars

on April 01, 2017

I rarely have any issues with internet cable access. Great customer service if you get past tier 1 help reps; they have you going through the canned 'turn off your modem'; unplug the cable. Asking for tier 2 will put you in touch with a techie that will listen to your problems, BUT, you must describe what is happening as thoroughly and accurately as you can. Speed is good and consistent. Reliability is great.

Fast

4.00 Stars

on November 11, 2015

It's blazing as a single user for 100Mbps down and relatively cheap for me.

Poor service for the 1st year

5.00 Stars

on January 06, 2016

Our first year with Cox wasn't so great! 2 laptops crashed; and the service for the 6 months was very poor. The 2nd serviceman fixed out the problem for the last 6 mo. Today, I called and shared my concerns with the Customer Service Dept. They were very kind; and extremely helpful. I was ready to cancel with Cox but now we are ready to give them wonderful reviews! Thank you again for being so helpful. We truly appreciate it.!

There is no better internet

5.00 Stars

on March 10, 2018

Gigablast. What is not to like? I fix computers and help people with their electronics. There is nobody better. I've never had Cox swear at me on the phone like I have with others. My home internet speed is 984Mbps up and down. More expensive, yes, but it just plain works.

Sweet

5.00 Stars

on May 19, 2016

Great speed, very reliable, customer support is solid English speakers!

Internet

1.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

None for the price I pay for internet and cable $141.00 a month is worth it. The internet is slow, very slow takes me all day to do 1 thing. Wish we had more cables services like Texas, they have a lot to choose from.

Out of all of them, this one has been the best!

5.00 Stars

on July 07, 2018

I have tried most of the providers for internet and TV in all my years. Cox is by far the best, maybe a little pricey but better than the rest.

Only option

1.00 Stars

on July 02, 2018

Cox doesn’t have very reliable service when you stream or play video games. It’s just the only option.

Cox review

3.00 Stars

on September 11, 2017

With TV internet package, I found rates crept up sometimes every month. Internet is very good and you can get it without the tv. It's hard to find out what is on when. Very few outages.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Cox Internet Reviews FAQ

Cox Internet reviews shown on BroadbandNow are based on 36,085 ratings we've collected from current Cox customers. Of those ratings, 45.0% are positive, as compared to the cable industry average of 48.0.

How Are the Cox Internet Reviews Above Sourced?

When visitors land on our site, we’re able to see who their Internet provider is based on the IP address of their browser. IP addresses are associated with specific providers, so it’s easy for any site you interact with to see whose network you are on. For Cox customers, we show a select percent of them a pop-up asking them to leave a review. We also allow customers to leave reviews using the “write a review” button at the top of this page. This method of randomized review gathering allows us to display a mix of positive and negative reviews.

How Are the Cox Internet Reviews Above Validated?

Once we’ve check that a review is coming from a Cox IP address, we check to make sure it includes useful content before publishing it in the featured reviews on this page. Our criteria is simple: reviews must be helpful, specific, and not devolve into “rants.” Unfortunately, most of the reviews we receive do not meet this criteria, although we include all star ratings regardless of the customer’s ability to represent their opinion in writing.

Are Reviews Filtered or Edited?

In some cases, we will edit reviews to correct small spelling or syntax errors. We do not otherwise edit reviews in any way.

Common Issues Found in Cox Internet Reviews

Overall, the most common issues found in the Cox reviews we’ve read are complaints about inconsistent speeds and data caps.

Inconsistent speeds are normal for cable providers, since the bandwidth is effectively shared within your block or neighborhood. Unlike DSL or fiber, cable Internet is prone to slowdowns when everyone gets home from work and turns on Netflix. “Peak use” speed slowdowns are an unfortunate fact of life for most cable plans.

Data caps are set around 1 Terabyte (1,000 GB) on most Cox plans. Since the average household only uses around 250 GB or so per month, this isn’t an issue for most customers. Home offices or large, Netflix-addicted homes should look into business plans or other “pro” options.

On the plus side, reviews of Cox speeds tend to be favorable, and their customer service gets strong marks compared to other cable providers.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC