Windstream Customer Reviews Summary

Customer Service
3.3
Reliability
3.2
Speed
2.9
Value
2.7

We asked BroadbandNow users to review Windstream based on four core attributes: Customer Service, Reliability, Speed, and Value.

BroadbandNow readers submitted 1521 for Windstream. Windstream earned an average score of 3.06 out of 5.

Check Availability by address:
Ways to order Windstream:

Windstream Internet Customer Reviews

Leave a review for Windstream Internet

Are you a current or former Windstream customer? Tell us what you love about Windstream and offer valuable insights for other users.

*Please note we only publish helpful, relevant, and specific reviews. When writing your review, please support your rating with detailed reasoning.

It was phenomenal

James Truitt on April 10, 2024

Both the guys I talked to helped me out tremendously and were very polite, respectful, and patient

Great service tech

John Basso on May 03, 2023

Add my cable installed Monday, and a service tech came out. He is new to the Windstream company. This fellow was awesome, he took his time and figure out the problem. The state police were being called out on my cable 6 times and we were not even here at camp. He troubleshoot and figure it out, which took some time, and had to even go up to the top of the mountain 4 times to fix it. He replace all that was needed. I have another tech out but nothing like this fellow The company should be thankful they have an employee like him working for them. The cable and speed are great Thank you. 7 yrs customer here.

The internet speed is terrible

Larry S Stacy on May 01, 2023

The internet speed is terrible! It just keeps getting worse and worse. I have been a customer for a few years now, you would think things would get better, NOT. IT'S WORSE! Seriously debating on getting rid of it. I've called and called to have something done about it, all they do is put a BANDAID on it and get working decently for a few days, and then BOOM!! It all goes out the door again!! Very disappointed with this situation!!!

Great Internet, poor customer service

Matthew Reynolds on February 23, 2023

The quality of the internet is great. I rarely have issues with it, I sometimes even get texts ahead of time when there are outages. However, when I do have issues customer service is almost never helpful. One time when I was calling to get my home phone set up, they turned off my internet on accident and claimed there was something wrong with our modem. I had to talk to a supervisor to get them to turn it back on. When the customer service representative does know what they are doing, they are extremely rude for no reason.

Poor customer service

Crystal Metcalf on October 13, 2022

I have been without internet since last night every time I try to call they give me a run around on why so I asked to speak to a supervisor, she told me there is no supervisor available. In my opinion, the worst impact of trying to get up with the internet is always going out. Totally give them a 0 if I knew this now they wouldn’t have gotten any of my money.

These guys got the job done!

Holly Shrader on October 03, 2022

Customer since '83. I was experiencing slow internet. Windstream's customer service over the phone was very helpful. Had to have a work order put in. These two men went above and beyond. They called before arriving, were very respectful, and got the job done very quickly. Thanks, guys you're GREAT!!!

Fiber optics set up

Cindy Fordham on September 06, 2022

This review is for the techs who came to my house to change from the Windstream old WiFi to fiberoptics. They were really nice, did a great job, and made sure we knew how they were to change everything over.

Internet goes out

Troy on September 05, 2022

Internet goes out at least 10 times a day, we’ve called and called, and they haven’t done anything to help our area.

Fast service

Beam on August 29, 2022

Both my phone line and the internet were down from a nasty storm. I called up, and the associate was very pleasant and tried to answer all the questions I had and she sent someone out to fix both things. The young man was so polite and fast, that fixed the phone line on the internet. Thank you so much.

Unreliable service

Mvin on August 18, 2022

The Internet has been down all day. Can't get a hold of customer service and they keep texting me with different projected times to fix the issue. Frustrating!

Good customer service, bad provider.

Joe Ghormley on August 10, 2022

I've never had a bad interaction with customer support while with Windstream. Their techs and support staff are courteous and professional. The issue I've had with Windstream is the sheer number of times I've had to call and experienced issues. I wish I could just get a direct line at this point. The unintuitive and poorly designed app crashes so frequently that it's far easier to call, and in order to talk to a real person you are forced to navigate a gauntlet of automation. I've been steered by the automated system to numbers that just ring forever, or phones that answer and are promptly hung up. Having survived the long process and finally being blessed with a real voice is a relief. Until the call you've been on for 15 minutes, 13 of them spent waiting for a team member to become available, gets dropped because you were on wifi and the poor modem is doing its best to not give up the ghost and it simply can't handle it. Play online video games? Not anymore. At 98 ping and a download speed of 8 Mbps, you're doing to get dunked on and it's going to hurt. Your wife wants to watch Netflix while you have Disney Plus already on to finally bring the Mandalorian? Good luck! Windstream is the only game in my small town and it's sad. Insult to injury is the fiber line they just installed 100 ft from my door. For the houses across the street....yeah.

Excellent Service Tech

Tom Sullivan on August 08, 2022

We had our phone line go down and hadn't noticed. Fantastic service from a tech who came out was extremely pleasant and polite and educated us on every step he was taking to resolve our issue. That's what makes companies like Windstream. Ultimate in customer service and those touchpoints make you decide to keep or cancel service! Great job!

Top Notch Service

Kathleen B Joyce on July 21, 2022

I give Windstream and the tech who came to my home a five-star review. He was knowledgeable and extremely helpful. We have had Windstream for almost eight years and no problems.

Customer service

James Carter on May 25, 2022

Recently had a service tech come to my home and work on my router and fix my downed internet problem. Tech was super friendly and helpful with explaining what had gone wrong with my internet and well knowledgeable on how to fix it. He had my internet back up and running in no time at all. I definitely will be requesting him again for issues in the future.

Really slow upload

Matthew Rodman on April 09, 2022

Times where it will kick on and off or be really slow. Honestly not happy with the service.

I gave five stars for a customer representative!

Lorena Binion on March 29, 2022

After calling them many times, I finally got hold of a young lady who worked at Windstream (I think approximately 5 years or more). She was very nice, very knowledgeable, and I finally got things done. She kept her word and sent me what I needed in order to send back the equipment to Windstream. A great big thank you.

Ok for email, and Streaming video, not any good for Steam server loses signal.

Greg Hyatt on March 11, 2021

Have had Windstream for years. Ok for email and works most of the time on video streaming. Only have dual DSL. Works for streaming sometimes then crashes steam server connection. Upload is very slow, like 1.4mbps. It will download at 20mbps max.

Satisfaction with my internet service

Louis Colburn on January 28, 2021

So far I am satisfied. Will be getting a new updated computer next week.

Not happy with customer service

Joy on January 25, 2021

I dread having to contact Windstream customer service. They don't seem to know what they are doing. Why is it so hard?

Service is adequate

S Kelly on January 16, 2021

Have had Windstream for quite a few years. It is average. I am looking for something else.

About Our Windstream Customer Reviews

Internet service provider Windstream is most popular in rural areas, which it serves with a combination of rural DSL and fixed wireless internet. Fixed wireless, as the name suggests, doesn’t require cable or telephone line infrastructure. Instead, it relies on mobile networks like the ones used for smartphones. That can limit Windstream’s speeds, but it also helps the company reach areas that aren’t served by other ISPs. The reviews that customers have submitted to our impartial Windstream reviews database are percent positive.