Windstream Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Windstream's service. To see if broadband Internet from Windstream is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Windstream Service

Windstream

1.69 Stars  268 Reviews
1.69 out of 5 stars

5 Star
1.1%
4 Star
0.4%
3 Star
11.2%
2 Star
34.0%
1 Star
42.9%

Leave a Review For Windstream

Are you a current or former Windstream customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Worked great for 10 years plus. But then down hill

2.00 Stars

on March 29, 2015

Windstream had worked great for approx 14 years, but this year has been nothing but trouble. Service department has done everything they can and has been very helpful, but the internet is in and out all the time now and slow. Got a new router but still cuts out, has trouble streaming Netflix.

Really good service!

4.00 Stars

on May 24, 2017

Windstream has really fast and reliable service. It is much better than the junky service that we had from our previous ISP. The fastest speeds in our area are 50 Mbps, but in some areas, they go up to 75. The router/modem box is of high quality and the Wifi is really fast. Price is reasonable. Overall will recommend.

Slow speeds, crappy wire.

3.00 Stars

on July 16, 2017

One of the fastest providers in my area, however, it does not feel like it. I have a 25 Mbps plan but It feels like I have 10-15. I have tested the download and upload speeds and I'm only getting 5 Mbps download and 2 Mbps upload most of the time. I am connected via Ethernet cable to my modem since the WiFi doesn't work properly. My internet connection also suddenly gets cut-off once in a while, I suspect that this is because of bad wires.

Look elsewhere

2.00 Stars

on December 21, 2017

Internet is very unpredictable. I have to reset the modem almost daily, maximum speed is 2.5 Mbps and it never stays consistent. I use for personal as well as business and would not recommend if you have another choice.

So-so

3.00 Stars

on July 12, 2015

Windstream acquired our DSL provider, Cavalier. Service is slow, particularly for uploads, but it is relatively cheap.

Pathetic Customer Service.

2.00 Stars

on September 26, 2015

There is no other way to put it. I have had drops three times a day for over a month and those are the ones that we know of ourselves. I have had to contact the BBB because Windstream will not even acknowledge that we are having these problems. They swear that they can't see the drops on our line yet we have a weak signal. We had no problems at all with our DSL until we had a storm and ever since it has been horrible and their customer support just shows how terrible of a company they really are.

Only DSL/Fiber option in our area

2.00 Stars

on December 11, 2015

Has gotten better over time but it's been years of complaints and service calls to get to this point. Started with dial-up and forced to progress from 3 to 6 to 12 to finally 24 MB with more than a dozen different DSL modems to get reasonably good internet and still have streaming buffers and lost connections. It's at a level that is tolerable but far from what I feel that I am paying for.

Amazing

5.00 Stars

on March 27, 2016

I've had Windstream for exactly 1 year today and it has just been amazing. Super fast. Amazing value for the money.

Not the best, but it works

3.00 Stars

on September 15, 2016

I can't really complain much about Windstream. Whenever the internet goes down, they try to fix it as soon as they can, though it leaves much to be desired. For starters, it's expensive, for our home, it's $95 per month, for 6Mbps download speed, with unlimited phone and long distance. That's expensive, but all we can get here besides dial-up and satellite, which Windstream's the best choice of those options. One good thing though, no download caps, so if you can handle the slow speeds, you can download all you want. Basically, if it's this, or dial-up/satellite, get Windstream, but definitely, use them as a last resort if you have loads of options available in your area. Though always, be aware of the terms and conditions of your ISP, some will screw you over.

Stone Age speed with third world country service

1.00 Stars

on November 14, 2016

I'm not sure which has the slower speed, Windstream or Dial up. It's close. And on top of that, you'll be paying the same price as you would for cable which is probably 50 times faster. They don't really care either. As soon as another provider comes near, people will run from this company like Moses' people ran from the Egyptians. This service is not competitive and designed to give the absolute bare minimum to be considered as high speed internet- at it's best moment in time.

Windstream bad service big time.

1.00 Stars

on March 09, 2018

Have had Windstream since 2012 and service have gotten worse over last six years and I don't think they really care. I pay for 6 Mbps and anytime day or night 3 or 4 times a week it drops to 1 or less Mbps for 5 minutes or 5 hours you never know. I reboot router a lot and sometimes helps. If you're streaming a movie through dish it can become a frustrating event. Yes, I call but have given up on that. Becomes a hassle to go through everything with them. Have been told they will contact service and have it checked out. Got message later saying all fixed and that works for a while. The phone line has so much static sometimes you can't talk. Mostly when it rains. Love to see another company get into the area but they would have so many customers jump at them it would take 2 years to get hooked up.

Windstream service and value

3.00 Stars

on January 21, 2018

The service is good and fairly reliable but expensive as there is a hidden cost of having to rent their equipment to use it.

Slower Than Dial-Up

1.00 Stars

on November 21, 2017

I pay for 24-7 "high-speed" internet, and Windstream does not deliver it. My download speed today is 0.17Mbps. There are often days when I cannot get online at all.

not dependable

2.00 Stars

on March 16, 2016

This company has consistently excellent customer service and consistently unreliable/weak signal. Unfortunately, it has been the only real option available were we are. We desperately need a good service provider.

Not for gamers

2.00 Stars

on December 01, 2015

It's alright if you just use it for casual computer use, but if you stream lots of movies be ready for frequent buffering. The range is ridiculously small, and the internet is depressingly slow even in the strongest area. Even using a LAN cable. Say goodbye to multiplayer if you game a lot. If the lag doesn't make you quit, you'll eventually be kicked anyways.

Gamers avoid

2.00 Stars

on November 02, 2015

Although Windstream connections are stable they are to slow for gaming. Always running into lag issues! For regular streaming and surfing, it works great and stable.

Very Slow Internet

1.00 Stars

on October 25, 2015

You can not watch a movie or play a game. It buffers for extended periods of time. Unless all you use your internet for is e-mail and Facebook. Windstream Internet is very slow. If there was a -10 star, that is what I will choose for the speed choice.

Great.

5.00 Stars

on August 08, 2015

Great service at a good price.

Poor service and slow speeds since 2011

1.00 Stars

on July 23, 2015

I have had Windstream since 2011. They have been feeding me the same line for 4 years now. I pay for 6 Mbps and rarely have 1. Service drops constantly during peak times.

The DSL that doesn't guarantee full speed.

3.00 Stars

on January 03, 2015

For the last 6 months, I no longer get the 1.5 Mbps I am supposed to be getting during peak use. DSL should always be the same speed but it isn't in Grandview, IA. it's painfully slow and would like at least 4 times faster download speeds than max but I usually see as little as 1/3 of 1.5 Mbps, plus I pay the same as others that get 24 Mbps. I'm not happy.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC