Check Availability
by address:
Ways to order Windstream:

Leave a review for Windstream Internet

Are you a current or former Windstream customer in a Windstream service area like Lexington, Lincoln or New York? Share your experience to help other users.

*Please note we only publish reviews that are: helpful, relevant, and specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning. If you are experiencing issues with your router, call Windstream customer service directly for assistance

Upload speed too slow.

Marc Kradolfer on September 15, 2019

I have been using Windstream for years. It works ok for basic internet use, like surfing, Facebook, Amazon, eBay, etc. But I had ADT alarm company out here the other day to supposedly install a 6 camera surveillance system that I had already given a down payment on. Well, when the guys showed up to install the system and asked what company provided my internet service and I told them Windstream. They proceeded to test my speed and yes I do get 24Mbps of download speed which is what I pay for, but I only have 1.6 Mbps. of upload speed. Well, they said that would barely be enough to install 1 camera at the best, anything over that would freeze up and uploading to the cloud or live remote streaming would be impossible. So here I thought that I had a great internet service with good speed, and it turns out that it isn't even capable of running a surveillance system. Hope some other company steps into this town to improve service.

Speed is so much better now!

Cw on August 30, 2018

5 years ago, we struggled with connecting to the internet with Windstream. 3 years ago, Windstream ran fiber to Mount Vernon and upgraded to bonded DSL and we immediately jumped to 25Mbps. They are now running fiber closer to our home which will result in speeds jumping to 50Mbps.

Excellent Service from beginning to end.

Tom Fileccia on May 15, 2018

I guess the negative reviews are not in my area. Couldn't be happier. Installation was top notch, professional, and timely.

Really good service!

Sam C on May 24, 2017

Windstream has really fast and reliable service. It is much better than the junky service that we had from our previous ISP. The fastest speeds in our area are 50 Mbps, but in some areas, they go up to 75. The router/modem box is of high quality and the Wifi is really fast. Price is reasonable. Overall will recommend.

Amazing

on March 27, 2016

I've had Windstream for exactly 1 year today and it has just been amazing. Super fast. Amazing value for the money.

Ok for email, and Streaming video, not any good for Steam server loses signal.

Greg Hyatt on March 11, 2021

Have had Windstream for years. Ok for email and works most of the time on video streaming. Only have dual DSL. Works for streaming sometimes then crashes steam server connection. Upload is very slow, like 1.4mbps. It will download at 20mbps max.

Satisfaction with my internet service

Louis Colburn on January 28, 2021

So far I am satisfied. Will be getting a new updated computer next week.

Not happy with customer service

Joy on January 25, 2021

I dread having to contact Windstream customer service. They don't seem to know what they are doing. Why is it so hard?

Service is adequate

S Kelly on January 16, 2021

Have had Windstream for quite a few years. It is average. I am looking for something else.

If you're new to Windstream, please read

Dave Miedl on November 05, 2020

We don't have a lot of choices for the internet where we live. I read some past reviews and took a chance with Windstream. They came out and lay down the new wire from the street on the grass, pinned and marked the wires, hooked up the equipment and it worked great. They said they would come out to bury the wires in a few weeks and they did. Internet is fast and I have no issue. I can't tell you if my service was the best I have ever had and everybody was so nice. It was just everything I was promised and I have no complaints and I thought it was worth writing a review with my experience. I have multiple devices streaming at once with no lagging or any other issues. This was installed around December of 2019

Only getting 12.5 should be 25mbps

David on October 19, 2020

Works great sometimes.

Awesome!

Emily on September 17, 2020

They’re awesome all around. They’re the only internet company out here (in north FL near Starke & Waldo), besides satellite. & they’re pretty decent! It’s only $10 more a month for 100mbps.. not so bad. Would recommend! Had them a few years now. Very nice people. Love them!

Great Service

Rick on April 01, 2020

Their field techs are awesome. I'm very happy with their service.

We’re Happy

Aimee Torres on March 25, 2020

We were very hesitant about ordering Internet but we live out in the country and there aren’t many options. We got great service and pricing. It’s been almost a year and we don’t have any complaints. My husband is an avid gamer and we get the speeds we pay for. Minimum 50mbps and compared to other companies, our bill isn’t bad at all.

Winning Value Internet

David Sparks on February 26, 2020

We have had Windstream for around 6-8 years. Their speed is fine for our needs including streaming. The price is excellent and ours is locked in. Excellent customer service always. The only issue now is that it can take a week to get a repair specialist to your home.

Nick, service tech

Nancy Witko on February 13, 2020

Great job. Very friendly and professional.

Works great when it works

Christi Bruce on January 28, 2020

We have poor signal to the house. It works great when you call them to come out and they do something to their service station? It works maybe a week then we are back to taking all devices off WIFI mode. I wish they'd discount our bill since it works efficiently less than 75% of the time.

Overall poor service

Andres on December 21, 2019

Internet speed and connection reliability were very poor. 50% of the time my download speed was < 1MB/sec and at times it was < 0.1 MB/sec. I was promised 3MB/sec. I finally cancelled my service in September and I am still waiting for my refund. It has been 3 months and I am getting the same runaround. I am very disappointed in their service.

Not worth it

Jonathan Perry on November 21, 2019

i have been with Windstream for years. At first, they were fine and did as they said they would. After the first two years, the internet slowed and response lacked. Now after almost 5 -6 years of service, they are horrible. Customer service hangs up constantly, states they fixed the problem just to have it happen 5 mins later. They never attempt to fix the problems now. Constant slow and loss of connection and many other problems. This has gone downhill with no change in how much they take from me. i have grown tired of dealing with them due to this.

Outstanding Customer Service but average speeds

Corey Anderson on October 23, 2019

Windstream is my family's only option for cable internet; we live in the mountains. Contrary to what I read online about Windstream, they actually have great technicians who really care about the customers. Every technician whos worked on my internet has really gone above and beyond. I had some issues with low internet speeds about one year, the tech that arrived ended up completely rewiring my house, replacing the routers too. I got a call two days later from that same technician. He called to tell me he wanted to come back to service (whatever that large metal box usually located off the road is called? Router?). I haven't had a single issue since. My only gripe is that their fastest plan in my area is 25 Mbps, understandable if you knew the terrain though.

Good customer service but prices go up the longer you stay

Kim on August 27, 2019

I like Windstream's customer service, but I soon realized after a year of service that your bill goes up slightly the longer you are with them. The promotional prices are just for new Windstream customers. My bill is much higher than when I first started with Windstream a year ago. I will say that most of their customer service reps are really nice and it doesn't take too long to reach someone there. I wish they would keep their prices low for customers that have been with them for a while.

Too high

James Jackson on July 15, 2019

Seems like the cost goes up and up. Service becomes very slow with changes of weather. Excellent service from repair personnel. Started out good but now too expensive.

WOW! just WOW!

Mitz on May 27, 2019

i have never seen such fast speeds! OH MY i just took 3 days to play the video wind stream da best

Good News, Bad News

Ruth Reppert on March 07, 2019

We moved to a rural area and had to switch to Windstream. We now have 25Mbps speed which I discovered is faster than the higher speed we got from our previous ISP, amazing! And, Windstream is always reliable for internet surfing and e-mail. That's all the GOOD news. The BAD news is their inferior website that allows no way to download and save our monthly detailed bill to our computer files as other sites easily provide. When I click on "See Bill Details," the message that appears is "Details unavailable" or "system error." Their customer service reps and the web technicians politely announce that they can't solve the problem. When I ask to speak to a supervisor, I'm told none is available, and they advise me to "Wait a while and try again." I finally gave up to save my blood pressure and applied for paper bills. I believe Windstream needs a webmaster who will bring their website up to standard and that their reps should refer to "unsolvable problems" for further follow up by qualified staff. When that has been done, I will be a much happier Windstream customer.

Great internet

William Lowry on February 19, 2019

I love Windstream. It's so nice to get away from our previous ISP. Neither of these companies worked perfectly but Windstream is $24 less for the same service. Others were raising my rate every 6 months. I would call them up and complain about the increase. Well, the last time this happened they said all they could do was raise my bill even more with better service. So I switched to Windstream. Really satisfied.

Their real human beings are terrific

Rose Park on January 21, 2019

We have been with Windstream for almost 20 years. No complaints about their phone service. The techs that get sent to our house when we call for service are excellent problem solvers, courteous, genial and seem very knowledgeable. The offshore phone support people work very hard to answer your questions but they are not given the tools they need to communicate effectively with the customer or the tech service at your house. They have been advertising and claiming on our bill to be providing us with 12 Mbps when we are actually getting less than 3. We split the bandwidth with several other customers and heaven help you if you need to get online on a holiday, Friday night or any other time when all our neighbors also want to be on. My bill is over $100 a month (it was skyrocketed $12 in the last 12 months. Except for their real human beings, I would have given them 1 star across the board. They do seem to be able to attract and keep excellent people, which does say something for them. Tech worked with us for most of the day this past Saturday, trying to get us the speeds they claim. He tested us out at nearly 10. While we enjoyed having him here, it would have been nice if the speed was sufficient for me to complete my school projects today.

Get what I pay for

Dan on December 19, 2018

Where I live I am only able to receive 6 mbps because I live far away from town. I live in a small rural area. I can get up to 12 mbps if I chose to have 2 phone lines ran to my house. Im satisfied with my speed and can stream multiple devices at once on just 6 meg. I have found that if I use a jail broken firestick my speeds are slow. I also had a new iPhone that was killing my ping times. I asked my provider to look at it. They did something with the carrier settings and now it works great. Also, most web based Speedtest are crap. Find a good one and make sure you are hardwired in or have your wireless device right by the modem to get an accurate test.

Not a completely satisfactory experience.

Constantin Poindexter on September 23, 2018

Most professional services businesses count on "24/7" reliable internet and VOIP connections to be competitive and provide an appropriate level of responsiveness. This company is reliable MOST of the time, however, if you have an outage you can count on being down for a day or two. Tens of thousands of dollars can be lost in one day so it matters. Further, the company consistently offers slower speeds than sales representatives offer. If you must increase bandwidth and need new equipment to accommodate it, you may be waiting for weeks.

Value is key

Fred on June 17, 2018

Worth the Money

Windstream Service in my area.

Carmen Miniard on May 23, 2018

I have so many dropped calls with Windstream. Much of the time my phone shows no service. I pay over $80.00 a month for a lot of frustration.

Review

Ed on May 21, 2018

I have had Windstream for as long as it has been in Georgia. Starting out is was awfully slow but now days it is getting better.

Windstream service and value

Dennis on January 21, 2018

The service is good and fairly reliable but expensive as there is a hidden cost of having to rent their equipment to use it.

Not the best, but it works

Bt on September 15, 2016

I can't really complain much about Windstream. Whenever the internet goes down, they try to fix it as soon as they can, though it leaves much to be desired. For starters, it's expensive, for our home, it's $95 per month for 6Mbps download speed, with unlimited phone and long-distance. That's expensive, but all we can get here besides dial-up and satellite, which Windstream's the best choice of those options. One good thing though, no download caps, so if you can handle the slow speeds, you can download all you want. Basically, if it's this or dial-up/satellite, get Windstream, but definitely, use them as a last resort if you have loads of options available in your area. Though always, be aware of the terms and conditions of your ISP, some will screw you over.

Only DSL/Fiber option in our area

Darryl on December 11, 2015

Has gotten better over time but it's been years of complaints and service calls to get to this point. Started with dial-up and forced to progress from 3 to 6 to 12 to finally 24 Mbps with more than a dozen different DSL modems to get reasonably good internet and still have streaming buffers and lost connections. It's at a level that is tolerable but far from what I feel that I am paying for.

Gamers avoid

on November 02, 2015

Although Windstream connections are stable, they are too slow for gaming. Always running into lag issues! For regular streaming and surfing, it works great and stable.

Great.

Richard B on August 08, 2015

Great service at a good price.

So-so

on July 12, 2015

Windstream acquired our DSL provider. Service is slow, particularly for uploads, but it is relatively cheap.

Worked great for 10 years plus. But went down hill

Terri on March 29, 2015

Windstream had worked great for approx 14 years, but this year has been nothing but trouble. Service department has done everything they can and has been very helpful, but the internet is in and out all the time now and slow. Got a new router but still cuts out, has trouble streaming Netflix.