BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Frontier Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Frontier's service. To see if broadband Internet from Frontier Communications is available in your area enter your zip code below.

2.63 Stars  2201 Reviews
2.63 out of 5 stars

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new Frontier Communications internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 242-9654 View Plans & Pricing

Provider Availability:

Want to see if Frontier Communications is available in your area?

CALL TO ORDER INTERNET:

Setup new Frontier Communications internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 242-9654 View Plans & Pricing

Poor internet and information

2.00 Stars

on October 03, 2019

I purchased the frontier internet and phone package for 70 bucks a month. The internet was slow and just trying to connect took a minute or two each time I logged on. That was annoying enough, but when I decided to switch, I still got a full months bill when I only used 2 weeks of service. I got the whole Sorry, to bad so sad. The agent I spoke to when disconnecting me said nothing about having to pay till the end of my billing month. When I called to complain, they acted as if I should have known. Also, I asked about if I had to return my router for wireless. The rep said I don't know. If you get a box, then you will have to return it. Nice job Frontier!

FIOS is top notch

5.00 Stars

on July 28, 2019

Installer was very knowledgeable about how networks work and quickly patched in my line where I needed it. 6 months in and I saw an ad for 500/500 for the same price I had been paying for 200/200. A quick chat with sales and I upgraded for free. Highly recommend Frontier FIOS service.

Great customer service

5.00 Stars

on July 02, 2019

My internet all of a sudden shut down on me last night and I was very upset, trying to do anything to fix the problem. But nothing worked at all, then I decided to call and luckily I had an easy and manageable talk with support. He guided me through everything easily and the process was very quick. Thank you so much for your service.

ON IT!

5.00 Stars

on June 28, 2019

We were in the area hit by tornados in Dayton on Memorial Day. We had no power for 6 days, no water for 3 days, but every single day we had our landline service! Thank goodness because it enabled us to continue to work from home. Thank you Frontier.

Best highspeed internet option in the region

5.00 Stars

on August 01, 2018

I was looking for an alternative to my previous provider and the only other option was Frontier. I was apprehensive because of Frontier's bad reputation, but I decided to give it shot. Reliable service. My other provider's asymmetrical bandwidth is absurd. While it's great for streaming, getting any remote work done, using a VPN, or even just browsing the web can be a real pain. 12 Mbps is just not enough for a medium household. 1000Gbps may seem like a lot, but its surprisingly easy to exceed when you have multiple streaming devices at home. Others charge you $10/mo for their modem/router, Frontier doesn't. You don't even need it; with Frontier, you get Ethernet directly to your own router, no modem required.

Even after you stop service, the charges keep coming every month !!!

2.00 Stars

on October 30, 2019

Really didn't have much issue with the service till I moved, after my final bill came, I continued to be charged a $9.99 "Fee" for providing me with internet service......which I didn't have ! Customer support has never been able to resolve this.

Good Speed, Terrible Reliability.

2.00 Stars

on October 30, 2019

My internet went out for a week, no tickets were resolved. All i was told was there was an outage every single day, and the day they fix the outage they say they don't know why I still have no internet. First time I ever had frontier moving into a new house and it was the most frustrating service I have ever had, I recommend looking elsewhere for your internet provider.

Disappointed and Frustrated

2.00 Stars

on October 30, 2019

We live in Alaska and bought a house there in Muskegon. We had only two choices for internet. One was Comcast - they are very rude. I did not want to get service with them - if they were that rude and I haven't even received service yet......Dish recommended Frontier. Even though I saw these reviews - we went in person and talked to the sales person there. We could not get the $27.99 as advertised - which we wanted since its a second home....but agreed on a $37.99 price. Told there were no set up charges - the monthly bill $37.99 plus tax. Our first bill was $108 we were charged for setup, handling fee, and not only that but a $10 router fee every month on top of the $37.99. Not what was told to us. It was just installed on the 23rd. Our first bill today. I called to try and clear it up -- disconnected 3 times. Customer service was great - they were nice. But when I explained this whole situation about this outrageous bill....not so nice. So for 7 actual days of service - we have to pay $93.55 because yes there is a cancellation fee. The only thing she took off the bill was the $25 installation fee. (the fees that we were told we would not have) They could not get the bill down to the agreed on price of $37.99 - the router should have been included in that price. Disappointed and very frustrated with the options for internet service in Muskegon, MI. They are more people there than Alaska -- yet I am paying less than that for more mpb (I guess that's what they are called) here in Alaska than I would have got there 6 mpb.

Worst company to deal with ever!

1.00 Stars

on October 30, 2019

Frontier is the worst company I have ever dealt with. They do not value their customers. This is the only telephone/internet provider in my area so we have no choice but to put up with them. I am being forced right now to pay for 2 months of services that I was not receiving. It’s ridiculous. I wish we had someone else to switch to.

Late payment fee even though paid and added without approval

1.00 Stars

on October 29, 2019

Received a late payment even though we made a payment and they deposited our payment into their account! Then they added a bundle package onto our account without our approval and said they could not take it off since we requested be added - when we did not- terrible customer service — talked to multiple people - called 3 times within a month about our bill being messed up. Apparently didn’t have any records on file of us calling!? But apparently we changed our package!? WTH!

Soon to be discontinued

1.00 Stars

on October 29, 2019

Technician arrived and gave us true story. Frontier is getting away from DSL. Bit speed here is 3 and will not support downloads or streaming Would NOT recommend installation at this time stating further DSL will soon be obsolete with this company. After reading other reviews and talking with their customer service center, as installation was over three hours late, we will not be a customer of this company. People on the phone are not giving accurate information to new customers

Worst Experience with the staff & the service

1.00 Stars

on October 29, 2019

Worse Customer Service I've ever experienced to work with. It takes forever with their staff to fix a problem , however 99% of the times it doesn't get fixed. I'm planning to switch to a different company as soon as I get the credit back for the extra charges they billed me for. even 1 star is too much for this company

Very Disappointed with Frontier Service

1.00 Stars

on October 28, 2019

Not only has customer service been unreliable in its support, we’ve experienced multiple outages with zero help, promises of credits to our account that never occurred on multiple occasions, and a broken system where one hand doesn’t seem to be talking to the other. Every time we call Frontier, it seems we have to start over again with regard to the explaining the same issue. We’ve been a customer for 10 years now and we are done with the poor customer service and on reliable support. This is the company that needs to very much reconsider how they’re doing business in supporting their customers.

No Show for installation

1.00 Stars

on October 28, 2019

waited for all morning no show and asked me why I cancel. "You did not show up"

Worst service ever

1.00 Stars

on October 28, 2019

Frontier has the worst internet service and phone out there. Way overpriced for what you get. Internet is constantly down on a daily basis. Sometimes several times per day. Have been thru more modems than Disney has visitors. Terrible service! Never want to come out to check service in person always want to do "magic" over the phone lines. Never works. Always goes out on the evenings after 8pm. Static on the phone lines. ABSOLUTELY THE WORST INTERNET AND PHONE SERVICE AVAILABLE. PLUS WE'RE PAYING OVER $125 PER MONTH FOR JUNK! Step up your game Frontier.! You can change your name a million times but it still does not fix your problems!

Relentless decline in both Speed and Reliability

1.00 Stars

on October 26, 2019

During the past two weeks, my 5-15 Mbps service fails to provide more than 1.3 Mbps, and Layer 3 link stability has been extremely irregular. I frequently need to abandon the service and switch all my equipment over to one of two 4G LTE WiFi hotspots on my iPhones. It's obscene that I'm paying almost $100 a month for service that is little better than two coconuts shells and a piece of piano wire. One way or another, this won't continue too much longer.

Frontier has been a nightmare

1.00 Stars

on October 25, 2019

The internet NEVER works it's worse then 1992 daily up. You call them and they dont care.. we pay for a service that is crap and they dont care bc tour in a contract.. it's bad when you have to take your kids somewhere to get homework done bc if they did it at home it would take them 2 to 3 hrs to do 30mins of work bc the internet is so slow.. the wind blows no internet it rains no internet there's a cloud in the sky no internet and the phone line is out for a week before they come to fix it... of your thinking about frontier internet and phone save your self the headache and DONT DO IT...

I PRAY that Verizon will come back

2.00 Stars

on October 25, 2019

Verizon had great prices, great customer service and great value for the money. As soon as Verizon dumped me onto Frontier...my rates doubled. Customer service are lying scum. Your monthly bill is unstable and goes up a lot for a month as a surprise and when you call they say you had a special deal you never knew you had that expired. Then they promise you another special rate but you have to pay the super high bill you were sent but they always PROMISE that next month bill will reflect the new lower rate and good for 1 or 2 years (doesn't matter which one since they lied) and then the next bill is just as high or maybe a few dollars less but certainly not the rate you were promised. When you complain you are routed to a used car salesman ...oops retention specialist who pretends to look at your account and says "no one logged any such promotion last month for you and they are so very sorry but I will I promise just pay the very high fee this month and next month you will get this new rate. OR they say the retention specialist didn't know what they were doing and I was never eligible for what the last customer service person promised me but "he will give me a great new rate that will be applied next month...but I have to pay the current high bill today. ROUND AND ROUND it goes. Also with Verizon I had for 10 years I rarely had my cable or internet go out...with Frontier it is a once a month thing or once every 2 months and it is royal pain because their customer service i 800 number takes forever. I've had internet go out but not cable and visa versa. So frustrating. I keep promising myself to cut the cord every year but 2019 will be it.

Most unreliable internet provider

1.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Internet is not working properly for past couple of months. After doing various complaints and tech came and said everything looks good at my home. There should be something at the frontier side and they should resolve it which never happened. Every time when I call, they say they will try to resolve it within 48-72 hours. Unfortunately I am stuck with a 2 year contract with the company.

Horrible

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Frontier does not have reliable internet. We did not have are internet a week and it was of a whole day. Times before it was off 1 week to 2 weeks and It seems to be a normal thing and it's not even cool. I don't recommend this provider. We don't pay for are internet to be off.

Persistent problem for 3 months now with no resolution

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

I rely on the wifi to receive text and calling on my cell phones at my house. After 8 months of usage without a problem, in July the feature stopped working overnight on two cell phones at my house. The wifi text works in other places we frequent that do not have cell service. I have spent hours with ATT and calling India on behalf of Frontier. We tried speed tests, opening ports, a new modem. I am so frustrated. The 5th call to India was 75 minutes and connection was lost. No phone call was returned despite giving the person my land line number. On the 6th call to India, the man would not schedule a technician to visit my house. I use this feature as a first responder for my community and I am beyond frustrated.

INCOMPETENT AMD INCONSISTENT CUSTOMER SERVICE

1.00 Stars

on October 22, 2019

Paid a deposit for installation September 26. Date changed several times with no communication. Filed a BBB complaint and was contacted almost immediately. I was given a satifying resolution but, was quickly disappointed again when I realized I was lied to AGAIN. The customer service is incompetent no one was up to date on anything in my account and inconsistent, constantly changing. Setting up false hope

Horrible

1.00 Stars

on October 22, 2019

Service is horrible in my area. I typically have to reset my router several times a day. Unfortunately we have no other options but satellite internet service and I'm not able to use that for my job.

Read everyone's comments they aren't wrong it's a nightmare!

1.00 Stars

on October 22, 2019

Incorrect billing... customer service just passes you back and forth because they dont know how to fix problems... first bill was fir over 300 dollars when it should have been 150.... if that wasn't enough I was mailed 2 separate bill one physical address one rural route each 300 dollars with half equipment on one and half on the other I've spent 2 years trying to correct this monthy with long customer service calls only to find out the salesman cheated the system to to make a sale causing promised promotions to kick out every month increasing my bill to double agreed amounts.... rude call center managers one actually told me there was nothing she could do to suck it up and pay 600 bucks if I wanted services restore... they lie....they are unhelpful....they speeds are slow .... they are unreliable... and no one will be able to help you.... if you have any other option in your local area support them because 80hrs logged time with customer service with no solutions should be a crime.... who can pay 600 just before Christmas to keep the internet on :( 20 promotional price modem 1 15.99 simply second connect and another 20.00 promotional price 55$ plus taxes fees and what not I never saw my promise I've seen 200....150...130... STAY WAY FROM THIS COMPANY THEY WILL RUIN YOUR LIFE.....it should be a crime to treat customers like this!

It's Great!

5.00 Stars

on September 17, 2019

I highly recommend Frontier. I was skeptical about getting DSL, but I power my smart TV, laptop, printer and 2 cell phones using their 6 Mbps plan and out the door it is about $40 a month, saving me almost $400 per year. This alone paid for my new 65" TV, thank you Frontier!

Great experience

4.00 Stars

on August 14, 2019

I have been suffering with Xfinity's inflated prices. I had the blast service and speed was pretty good. It was with a little dread that I decided to try Frontier. (copper wire in my area.) Customer service was great. The installer was a tremendous help. I only stream so so speed and continuity are paramount. So far I am a satisfied customer and am thrilled I am saving $63.00 a month.

Awesome service by our tech!!

5.00 Stars

on June 19, 2019

First, let me lay the groundwork. I work for Healeon Medical, and we are located in Newbury Park, California (Zip 91320), and recently moved office locations, from a smaller to a larger office space. The new location was recently renovated, so we had to put in and activate phone lines and the internet, which we did. The first tech came in to activate the four phone lines (and internet) and left. Mind you, at this point, we were still housed at the old office. Now to be fair, we upgraded during the transfer of services to the new office: Upgrading internet from FiOS 75/75 Static IP to our FiOS 700/700 Static IP bundled with our Frontier Secure Pro Bundle with 4 unlimited phone lines (our 4 current #'s) which would be our One Voice Nationwide lines that have unlimited local & long distance calling in United States and also includes features included like, Call Forwarding, Call Forward - No Answer, Call Forward - Busy, Hunting, Caller ID, Call Waiting, Three-Way Calling & Voicemail etc. under a 3 year term. Upon discovering that our lines did not have a dial tone, when we moved in one afternoon, we called Frontier Tech Support and they forwarded all calls to a cell phone in the office, and also sent a tech in the very next morning. The tech, Steve Ashton was great, he quickly identified what the issues were, resolved them, and then walked us through the installation of our phones, after asking which specific lines were to be available at which office station. He did this quickly, and efficiently, because, and I quote, "I would feel terrible to leave you folks without working phone lines." After he was finished, he made sure the lines worked at each station, in the configurations we specified, and THEN, made his goodbyes. All in all, we were totally impressed by the service that Mr. Ashton provided to us. Wherever he is, I hope he and his bosses read this, and commend him on his exemplary service to a Frontier account. Well done, Mr. Ashton! Well done, Frontier!!

I LOVE FRONTIER!!

5.00 Stars

on March 29, 2019

I am so happy with my service! Fast speed, and lots to watch. I signed up with a sales representative at the port richey Walmart and he has been very helpful! It feels like I have someone in my corner! Call him your experience will definitely change!!!

Great service

5.00 Stars

on February 10, 2019

We just got Frontier a week ago and everything works great, nice and clean picture. Everything works well so far.

Reginald Gets sSix Stars

2.00 Stars

on September 15, 2018

I had to call Frontier three times to resolve a problem with my auto pay. I had to change my method of payment due to fraud on my present payment method. The first representative told me it would be fine, it wasn't. My bill was not being paid on the new card. I called again and spoke with someone who was not helpful at all. She told me to go online to fix the situation. So I called again got Reginald aka Reggie. Not only did he take my payment over the phone and explain why it all happened, he also improved the speed of my Internet. This man is a valuable employee and I hope he is given the opportunity by Frontier to show this talent

Love love them

4.00 Stars

on August 05, 2018

I've had good and bad experiences with most internet and cable providers. I switch to Frontier in frustration. We had a few glitches in the beginning, but their customer service is far superior to any customer service I've ever experienced. The service is great. My bill is the same every single month which with others it varied $30 a month every month for years. I love Frontier, I've heard they're having trouble in business and this really frightens me keep up the good work Frontier.

Works Great!

5.00 Stars

on August 01, 2018

6 different speed plans, I stream on twitch and play games on pc and Xbox. No speed problems here, consistent 115mb download. Upload could use a little more as it sits at 12-13Mbps. I pay $80/month. no issues at all. Thanks, Frontier!

Frontier Internet Review

3.00 Stars

on June 21, 2018

Overall Frontier DSL is great for the average user and will be enough but for a Poweruser like myself, it will not be enough. When you have 3+ people in your house watching YouTube it really starts to slow down. The upload speed is trash. I have a youtube channel and it takes 6+ hours to upload a 1GB file.

Out-in-the-sticks

4.00 Stars

on April 01, 2018

Decently Fast video loading, alright on upload times, currently hosting 15 devices. Little touch and go if you live in the boonies, but customer service will help anytime

Current Customer

4.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

Customer service has been reliable and easy to work with.

Just Average

3.00 Stars

on June 17, 2017

Thankful for any DSL access but it's average. My location doesn't help. Really wanted to be able to hard-wire my laptop but the one unit modem/router doesn't let me do that and I'm not happy about that at all!

Happy with service

4.00 Stars

on October 15, 2016

We're happy with the service but would like to get Fios.

Frontier is good!

4.00 Stars

on July 29, 2016

I like Frontier and they are fast if you live near the central location, if not, do not get them.

Recommend Frontier Communications

4.00 Stars

on November 28, 2015

I have been happy with my internet services through Frontier Communications. I frequently download from both Hulu and Netflix, for the most part, I do not have an issue with buffering/downloading etc. Customer service was both patient and helpful.

4.00 Stars

on November 27, 2015

There were some small problems but it is a much better deal then Hughes Net. Mostly reliable internet with only a few problems. Though there was some issues with tech support. A long wait to get problems fixed. 3 weeks with out internet.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Frontier Internet Reviews FAQ

Frontier has two core services: Frontier DSL, which is their most common Internet service provided over phone lines, and Frontier Fios, which is a much faster fiber service. Fios is currently only available in select areas. The Frontier Communications reviews above include reviews for both Frontier DSL and Frontier Fios.

How BroadbandNow Sources Frontier Internet Reviews

We currently source reviews from Frontier customers by showing them prompts and pop-ups on the BroadbandNow site. We use IP-verification to ensure that only current Frontier users can leave reviews, and that each customer can only leave one review. This system also helps us balance out the negative and positive reviews, avoiding the “Yelp effect” of endless rants.

Frontier Fios vs Frontier DSL Internet Reviews

As mentioned above, Frontier Fios is a different service from Frontier’s DSL service. Fios is several times faster, and tends to get much better reviews than Frontier DSL service. In both cases, Frontier’s customer service tends to get low reviews, even when the speed and network performance is ranked highly.

Frontier Review Criteria: How We Filter Reviews

In some cases, we will remove reviews that fail to meet our basic criteria. Those criteria are: be helpful, relevant, and specific. Reviews that “rant” in all-caps or make violent threats cannot be posted for legal reasons. We only approve reviews that include detailed, helpful context about the customer’s experience. Approved reviews can have any star rating, and as you can see in the star rating distribution map above, we do not judge reviews based on their opinion of Frontier Fios — we only judge them on their merit as a piece of information for potential customers.

Common Issues in Frontier Internet Reivews

Why is Frontier Internet so bad? Frontier’s Internet service suffers from poorly-rated customer service and inconsistent speed, but it’s often the fastest choice in their service area. Frontier has been growing rapidly in recent years, and those growing pains have led to a hit-or-miss experience when calling customer service, and speeds don’t alway live up to the promise on the box. However, customers who live the Frontier Fios service area are almost always better off with Fios than with other, slower providers.