Frontier Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Frontier's service. To see if broadband Internet from Frontier Communications is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Frontier Service

Frontier Communications

1.56 Stars  571 Reviews
1.56 out of 5 stars

5 Star
1.3%
4 Star
1.7%
3 Star
5.9%
2 Star
33.5%
1 Star
57.5%

Leave a Review For Frontier Communications

Are you a current or former Frontier Communications customer? Share your experience to help other users.

If you're upgrading from dial-up, it might seem good enough

1.00 Stars

on January 15, 2018

Unfortunately, I don't have too many good things to say about Frontier DSL. The download speeds are abysmal: I average maybe 1Mbps, and I may get up to 3 or 4 if I'm lucky. I will say that most of the time a connection is available, so I guess there's that in the positive column, but often it doesn't feel worth it to even try doing anything more intensive than checking your email. In order for me to download a sizable update (3GB or so) to some devices or programs, I have to leave said device running for upwards of 10 hours, and during that time it is impossible to use any other devices, as the network becomes completely unusable. I've been told by technicians who have come to the house that we should be getting much higher speeds than what they measure at the house and blame it on the modem they provided, so a new modem gets installed and things are moderately better for maybe a week or two. The most recent new modem gave me an average speed of about 3-4 Mbps, but a short time later it was back to download speeds measured in Kb instead of Mb. If you're just looking to check emails and maybe read a news article once in a while (as long as it's light on video/images), then Frontier might be okay for you. If you're looking to do anything more intensive than that, choose a different provider.

They know it's slow in my area, but refuse to replace old lines (uses old telephone line)

2.00 Stars

on March 05, 2018

Very slow. Goes out pretty often. Can handle streaming when it's doing well, but the slightest weather messes up speeds. Rain, wind, snow. Frustrating.

Sooooooo sloooooowwww

2.00 Stars

on January 04, 2018

Moved here from San Diego, CA where we had 120 Mbps up and down. The only other option in our area besides Frontier is satellite internet but you can’t game on satellite due to delay. Turns out you can barely game with 3.7 Mbps from Frontier either. We are paying for the 6 Mbps plan but can only get 3.7 Mbps down and 450 kbps up. Terrible value. Somebody PLEASE set up a real ISP here.

Intermittent service

1.00 Stars

on February 02, 2016

Low 4Mbps up & down when working, less than 2Mbps when not, packets dropping consistently. Difficult to get business done, Frontier says they're within limits.

Do not buy Frontier phone or internet service.

1.00 Stars

on October 10, 2015

Extremely slow service and we are only offered 1 speed in our area based on how far we are out. Lots of downtime and when you call in, expect to wait at least 7 days for service to be restored. Phone service is just as unreliable. Would not recommend this company to anyone.

2.00 Stars

on September 09, 2016

Frontier service is fine but prices rise frequently without notice. Communication with Frontier is a nightmare. Long waits on telephone, no response to snail mail or registered mail. Charges for services not actually provided, such as installation of TV connection which isn't even available in the area, appear on the bill and are difficult to get rid of. Late charges associated with errant charges appear and you cannot get them to go away. In summary, The connection itself it good, the company is a disaster with whom to do business. Hours of frustration every two months. Avoid Frontier.

Terrible. Always dropping. No reliability.

1.00 Stars

on September 07, 2017

Service is always dropping. Modem/ WiFi has to be constantly reset. Wish there were other options here in this area.

No reliable internet, any time.

1.00 Stars

on November 26, 2017

It doesn't matter what time of day or night, if the wind blows wrong, or a leaf falls off the wrong tree, our internet goes out. Minutes or hours at a time. I've spent hours on the phone with pleasant but unknowing CS reps in another state who don't know how to help. The problem is that the lines are ancient and desperately need updating. If anyone in the neighborhood is on the internet at the same time, the speed drops to a crawl. It's nearly as bad as dial-up once was. And by the looks of it, not only will nothing be changing any time soon, but also Frontier is the only company that services this area.

Not the best

2.00 Stars

on March 31, 2017

I am getting 15 Mbps download and 5 Mbps upload for $40.00 and am resetting router about every other day. Not happy.

Unbelievably slow.

1.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

Expensive for poor product and service. Lack of choices until recently. Service calls frequently involve long hold period and non-domestic operators. Polite but generally unable to help. Super slow service, sometimes tests at under 1 Mbps! Frontier's response to my speed problems was that there are just too many people using the internet. Nothing they could do!

Always goes out

Carol L Price on January 08, 2018

Frontier internet isn't very good. It's all the time going out, kicking you off. If you have a iPhone, then its always kicking you off and having you to re-enter password.

Extremely low speed

1.00 Stars

on July 16, 2017

Our connection has gone extremely downhill over the past few years and it's only getting worse. They've checked our lines and say they are fine. We've had routers changed 3 times. Now our connection to the internet randomly shuts completely down leaving us without Internet on our TV. No Netflix or any other programming of its type can be connected. In addition, we have to pay for way more data on our cell phones due to Frontier's Internet WiFi failure. We have been told by the HONEST people in Frontier's Customer Service and the HONEST Service Technicians it's because their equipment is outdated and cannot carry the load placed on it by the increase of subscribers. They have told us Frontier has no intention of upgrading due to financial reasons.

Monthly bill

2.00 Stars

on October 24, 2017

The fees and taxes portion of my bill comes out to over one-third of my entire bill. Sure, the base price for phone and internet is competitive, but they stack on tons of fees and taxes - on $50 worth of service, I have fees and taxes of $27 on top of the base price.

Reliable but expensive for existing customers

2.00 Stars

on April 20, 2018

New customers get an insane deal while existing customers spend over $140 for 150Mbps symmetrical speeds. They offer "gigabit" for ~300 but its only 100Mbps upload. Not a very good deal. Customer service is bad.

Not great!

3.00 Stars

on March 18, 2016

It's better than my previous provider, but still not what I'd like in the way of speed and reliability.

Unstable connection.

3.00 Stars

on May 16, 2016

Honestly not that bad, just annoying when your connection randomly cuts out and you need to reset your modem.

Started out great

2.00 Stars

on December 25, 2014

I started out with great service. Now the quality of the Internet declines every week. We were at 6 Mbps, now we are less than 3Mbps.

Awful

2.00 Stars

on December 11, 2017

Things worked for many years as being a senior, I don't use much internet but do use Roku and Skype but then in the last few weeks, all stopped working and I couldn't get answers from their help line which I was hung up on many times before I did find someone to speak with. Email gets cut off, YouTube gets cut off many times, Roku just won't work and so forth.

Frontier Internet Review

3.00 Stars

on June 21, 2018

Overall Frontier DSL is great for the average user and will be enough but for a Poweruser like myself, it will not be enough. When you have 3+ people in your house watching YouTube it really starts to slow down. The upload speed is trash. I have a youtube channel and it takes 6+ hours to upload a 1GB file.

Their Fastest Is Too Slow

3.00 Stars

on August 10, 2016

I have DirecTV and it has a feature that If I turn on the TV and it's in the middle of a program I might be able to "rewind" it to the beginning. When I try to use this feature, I get the message that my internet speed isn't fast enough! I downloaded a 2GB game the other day and it took over 8 hours! Frontier's connection has been very reliable and I haven't had to deal with customer service but I can get a faster speed from others for practically the same money!

I wouldn't used frontier

2.00 Stars

on July 11, 2018

They don't have good speeds, always have some type of issues with service. Service always dropping premium high. Should only be worth $9.99 month. Customer service is ok but could be better. Especially technically suppose.

Just Don't

1.00 Stars

on August 20, 2018

I switched to Frontier 8 months ago and have had multiple outages since, the best plan they could offer in my area was 24Mbps, but it averages around 10Mbps. The first time I lost service they didn't fix it for over a week, and the most recent time took 4 days. Both times I lost service because of errors on their part.

Recommend Frontier Communications

4.00 Stars

on November 28, 2015

I have been happy with my internet services through Frontier Communications. I frequently download from both Hulu and Netflix, for the most part, I do not have an issue with buffering/downloading etc. Customer service was both patient and helpful.

Works Great!

5.00 Stars

on August 01, 2018

6 different speed plans, I stream on twitch and play games on pc and Xbox. No speed problems here, consistent 115mb download. Upload could use a little more as it sits at 12-13Mbps. I pay $80/month. no issues at all. Thanks, Frontier!

Old lines and equipment

1.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

I pay for up to 6 Mbps service, with a bonded service I get up to 4 Mbps on good days. Had an outage couple weeks ago, lost bonded service and now speeds at best 2 Mbps. Customer service confused, unorganized and no answers. Have been waiting for 3 weeks for a service call. Unfortunately only game in town, I'm stuck.

1Mbps on a good day

2.00 Stars

on August 02, 2018

Barely usable, and definitely not possible to stream or watch anything over 480p. Goes out for around 10 minutes 3 times a day mainly during the evening between 6 and 11 pm.

Slow, Slow, Slow - Max. 1Mbps

2.00 Stars

on July 31, 2018

Frontier provides service via DSL over the phone line. They offered internet service over the same lines. The installer for Frontier advised us that they had not improved the phone lines and that we would not get anywhere close to the 5 Mbps advertised, probably closer to 1 Mbps. He was correct. We are disappointed that it is not faster, but it is faster and more dependable than what we were getting via a wireless service prior to that.

Loss of speed

2.00 Stars

on April 25, 2016

Frontier Internet is OK during the weekday but the capacity is not sufficient for all their customers in the evening, weekends, or anytime during the summer when school is not in session. It can go from 5Mbps+ in the day to less than 56K in the evening.

Frontier Telephone provides the worst internet service in Georgia, and is the most unresponsive public utility company I've ever had the misfortune to have to use.

1.00 Stars

on June 25, 2017

Local service technicians are competent and sincere, but are overworked, and very limited in what they can do with the antiquated equipment Frontier uses. When calling the published toll free number, the technicians typically rely on scripted questions and procedures rather than technical knowledge and troubleshooting skills. Service management is almost completely unresponsive. The community where I live is served via a DSLAM, which basically means that we share the bandwidth with other subscribers. Sharing the bandwidth with three or four other subscribers might be acceptable, but sharing with 16 or more, as we do, reduces the available bandwidth to 0.2 Mbps or less during evening high usage times. For more than two years, Frontier management has made promises to resolve this extremely frustrating issue, but has yet to provide any relief. Frontier guarantees available bandwidth between 1.5 Mbps - 3.0 Mbps, but has failed to do so for the seven years that I have been a subscriber. However, they still charge the full price for a service that they do not deliver. I personally was promised three month's free service (what a deal getting three months of unusable internet free), but after one month, my bill went back to full price. I have become so frustrated with the no service I've received (even after filing a PUC complaint), that I've just given up, and hope some competition becomes available soon.

Frontier is not the way to go

2.00 Stars

on June 09, 2016

Poor quality. Shuts down constantly. When calling customer service, they make it more and more difficult to fix problem unless you are the actual person on the bill. Service tech (home visit) is excellent. Mike and Ken are great.

Love love them

4.00 Stars

on August 05, 2018

I've had good and bad experiences with most internet and cable providers. I switch to Frontier in frustration. We had a few glitches in the beginning, but their customer service is far superior to any customer service I've ever experienced. The service is great. My bill is the same every single month which with others it varied $30 a month every month for years. I love Frontier, I've heard they're having trouble in business and this really frightens me keep up the good work Frontier.

Frontier is good!

4.00 Stars

on July 29, 2016

I like Frontier and they are fast if you live near the central location, if not, do not get them.

Slow... may as well be dial up

2.00 Stars

on October 24, 2017

Very basic internet usage is OK but forget it if you plan to stream videos. This service is extremely slow. Seems to be worse in evenings and weekends - presumably due to competing internet traffic from other users but this is just my hunch. If I had another option, I'd jump on it but this is the only game in town for me. Disappointing.

Just Average

3.00 Stars

on June 17, 2017

Thankful for any DSL access but it's average. My location doesn't help. Really wanted to be able to hard-wire my laptop but the one unit modem/router doesn't let me do that and I'm not happy about that at all!

Happy with service

4.00 Stars

on October 15, 2016

We're happy with the service but would like to get Fios.

Best highspeed internet option in the region

5.00 Stars

on August 01, 2018

I was looking for an alternative to my previous provider and the only other option was Frontier. I was apprehensive because of Frontier's bad reputation, but I decided to give it shot. Reliable service. My other provider's asymmetrical bandwidth is absurd. While it's great for streaming, getting any remote work done, using a VPN, or even just browsing the web can be a real pain. 12 Mbps is just not enough for a medium household. 1000Gbps may seem like a lot, but its surprisingly easy to exceed when you have multiple streaming devices at home. Others charge you $10/mo for their modem/router, Frontier doesn't. You don't even need it; with Frontier, you get Ethernet directly to your own router, no modem required.

Current Customer

4.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

Customer service has been reliable and easy to work with.

Unbearably slow

1.00 Stars

on August 21, 2018

Frontier is honestly horrible. I play games a lot and unless you have ethernet * I got an ethernet after about a year and a half* because if you don't, expect to get kicked out in the middle of a game or whatever you are doing. downloading games is horrible too. Even with ethernet, it goes .5 - to 2 Mbps if you're lucky but its usually in the middle. and also even with ethernet it still cuts out very commonly. I have had it for 2 and a half years and I'm changing soon.

Internet spotty at best.

2.00 Stars

on August 05, 2018

Our internet runs on/off. Speeds to be 6Mbps and we are lucky to get 1Mbps.

Eh... blah blah blah

3.00 Stars

on April 18, 2017

They released a software update in late 2016, for their "set top boxes". Which caused all kinds of issues with on demand and various other television options. The Internet was always good. But apparently their cable boxes have to talk to the modem/router combo (WiFi) that they offer (for an additional monthly fee) in order to function properly. The WiFi device which you have to rent, as far as I understand the service, is outdated, must be reset daily, and not capable of the faster speeds that new devices are capable of. I already owned a newer modem and router, but was told by customer service that I could not use my own modem, which is true, but is so only because that is the way Frontier chose to set up their system. So I've been forced to use their combo unit which my router then piggy backs off of. However I've done plenty of torrenting and not received one notice of warning. Yesterday, April 17th, internet was down for approx. 5 hours around noon. But that is the first time I've seen that happen.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Frontier Internet Reviews FAQ

Frontier has two core services: Frontier DSL, which is their most common Internet service provided over phone lines, and Frontier Fios, which is a much faster fiber service. Fios is currently only available in select areas. The Frontier Communications reviews above include reviews for both Frontier DSL and Frontier Fios.

How BroadbandNow Sources Frontier Internet Reviews

We currently source reviews from Frontier customers by showing them prompts and pop-ups on the BroadbandNow site. We use IP-verification to ensure that only current Frontier users can leave reviews, and that each customer can only leave one review. This system also helps us balance out the negative and positive reviews, avoiding the “Yelp effect” of endless rants.

Frontier Fios vs Frontier DSL Internet Reviews

As mentioned above, Frontier Fios is a different service from Frontier’s DSL service. Fios is several times faster, and tends to get much better reviews than Frontier DSL service. In both cases, Frontier’s customer service tends to get low reviews, even when the speed and network performance is ranked highly.

Frontier Review Criteria: How We Filter Reviews

In some cases, we will remove reviews that fail to meet our basic criteria. Those criteria are: be helpful, relevant, and specific. Reviews that “rant” in all-caps or make violent threats cannot be posted for legal reasons. We only approve reviews that include detailed, helpful context about the customer’s experience. Approved reviews can have any star rating, and as you can see in the star rating distribution map above, we do not judge reviews based on their opinion of Frontier Fios — we only judge them on their merit as a piece of information for potential customers.

Common Issues in Frontier Internet Reivews

Why is Frontier Internet so bad? Frontier’s Internet service suffers from poorly-rated customer service and inconsistent speed, but it’s often the fastest choice in their service area. Frontier has been growing rapidly in recent years, and those growing pains have led to a hit-or-miss experience when calling customer service, and speeds don’t alway live up to the promise on the box. However, customers who live the Frontier Fios service area are almost always better off with Fios than with other, slower providers.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC