BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Frontier Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Frontier's service. To see if broadband Internet from Frontier Communications is available in your area enter your zip code below.

3.07 Stars  2595  Reviews
3.07 out of 5 stars

Call to Order Internet:

Setup new Frontier Communications internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 915-4111 View Plans & Pricing

Provider Availability:

Want to see if Frontier Communications is available in your area?

Call to Order Internet:

Setup new Frontier Communications internet service or view available internet plans

(855) 915-4111 View Plans & Pricing

FIOS is top notch

5.00 Stars

on July 28, 2019

Installer was very knowledgeable about how networks work and quickly patched in my line where I needed it. 6 months in and I saw an ad for 500/500 for the same price I had been paying for 200/200. A quick chat with sales and I upgraded for free. Highly recommend Frontier FIOS service.

Great customer service

5.00 Stars

on July 02, 2019

My internet all of a sudden shut down on me last night and I was very upset, trying to do anything to fix the problem. But nothing worked at all, then I decided to call and luckily I had an easy and manageable talk with support. He guided me through everything easily and the process was very quick. Thank you so much for your service.

ON IT!

5.00 Stars

on June 28, 2019

We were in the area hit by tornados in Dayton on Memorial Day. We had no power for 6 days, no water for 3 days, but every single day we had our landline service! Thank goodness because it enabled us to continue to work from home. Thank you Frontier.

Best highspeed internet option in the region

5.00 Stars

on August 01, 2018

I was looking for an alternative to my previous provider and the only other option was Frontier. I was apprehensive because of Frontier's bad reputation, but I decided to give it shot. Reliable service. My other provider's asymmetrical bandwidth is absurd. While it's great for streaming, getting any remote work done, using a VPN, or even just browsing the web can be a real pain. 12 Mbps is just not enough for a medium household. 1000Gbps may seem like a lot, but its surprisingly easy to exceed when you have multiple streaming devices at home. Others charge you $10/mo for their modem/router, Frontier doesn't. You don't even need it; with Frontier, you get Ethernet directly to your own router, no modem required.

Outstanding Field Technician Service After 4 Months of Terrible Customer Service

3.00 Stars

on July 23, 2020

We have been trying to add Internet to our account since March. We have seen 5 field technicians, all of whom said they could not find the telephone box and then told us they would have a signals specialist sent out and provide a quote for a new dropped line. The last tech who assisted us was a problem solver and did not give up until he found the phone box at the house when all the others gave up. He was polite, informative, and efficient and got our Internet up and running. He should be your standard for all technicians. He saved the company from losing our service.

FRONTIER HAS GOOD SERVICE

4.00 Stars

on April 10, 2020

I use Frontier for my internet and although they have a phone menu, the customer service reps are polite and helpful. It takes a little patience to come out but they do come out quickly and their repair reps are great. They fix it right away and are very helpful and courteous. I would give them 4 out of 5 stars. I would give them 5 if they got rid of their phone menu. I am very satisfied with their service.

I really want to like this company

3.00 Stars

on March 07, 2020

The price is great. The speed is awesome. Customer service is always open but, I hope you don’t need a technician. It takes around a week for someone to come out. That’s the only weakness of this company. I’m currently home because of surgery. The service went out on Friday and they can’t come until Thursday. I just wish they’d respond sooner.

Poor customer service

2.00 Stars

on January 29, 2020

Frontier service is decent and at times you get faster than advertised speeds. Their customer service is poor and inconsistent.

Installed yesterday and stopped working 20 minutes after.

2.00 Stars

on December 21, 2019

We had FiOS Internet installed by Frontier yesterday afternoon and 20 minutes after it was installed, it went down and nobody has come back to fix it. Apparently the closest appointment available is on the 24th, today is the 21st. Now we are without internet or television because our television goes through the internet. Absolutely unacceptable!

Worst customer service I’ve ever had

2.00 Stars

on December 17, 2019

Just spent half an hour explaining to 3 different people about the credit I was supposed to receive after cancelling my account. No one can help with anything. Bill was supposed to be taken care of after 3 weeks of no internet service. Two days after they fixed it was down again. They couldn’t come out for close to a month and they want to charge me for it. Not worth the hassle.

Best service in years

4.00 Stars

on December 12, 2019

I usually HATE to call customer service as they are frequently not helpful and sometimes even insulting. However, today when I had to call, Anthony was EXTREMELY helpful and polite. I really appreciated the speed and courtesy in which he handled my problem and got me back online and back in business in record time. Thank You!

Good Speed, Terrible Reliability.

2.00 Stars

on October 30, 2019

My internet went out for a week, no tickets were resolved. All i was told was there was an outage every single day, and the day they fix the outage they say they don't know why I still have no internet. First time I ever had frontier moving into a new house and it was the most frustrating service I have ever had, I recommend looking elsewhere for your internet provider.

Very Disappointed with Frontier Service

1.00 Stars

on October 28, 2019

Not only has customer service been unreliable in its support, we’ve experienced multiple outages with zero help, promises of credits to our account that never occurred on multiple occasions, and a broken system where one hand doesn’t seem to be talking to the other. Every time we call Frontier, it seems we have to start over again with regard to the explaining the same issue. We’ve been a customer for 10 years now and we are done with the poor customer service and on reliable support. This is the company that needs to very much reconsider how they’re doing business in supporting their customers.

Relentless decline in both Speed and Reliability

1.00 Stars

on October 26, 2019

During the past two weeks, my 5-15 Mbps service fails to provide more than 1.3 Mbps, and Layer 3 link stability has been extremely irregular. I frequently need to abandon the service and switch all my equipment over to one of two 4G LTE WiFi hotspots on my iPhones. It's obscene that I'm paying almost $100 a month for service that is little better than two coconuts shells and a piece of piano wire. One way or another, this won't continue too much longer.

Most unreliable internet provider

1.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Internet is not working properly for past couple of months. After doing various complaints and tech came and said everything looks good at my home. There should be something at the frontier side and they should resolve it which never happened. Every time when I call, they say they will try to resolve it within 48-72 hours. Unfortunately I am stuck with a 2 year contract with the company.

Horrible

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

Frontier does not have reliable internet. We did not have are internet a week and it was of a whole day. Times before it was off 1 week to 2 weeks and It seems to be a normal thing and it's not even cool. I don't recommend this provider. We don't pay for are internet to be off.

Persistent problem for 3 months now with no resolution

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2019

I rely on the wifi to receive text and calling on my cell phones at my house. After 8 months of usage without a problem, in July the feature stopped working overnight on two cell phones at my house. The wifi text works in other places we frequent that do not have cell service. I have spent hours with ATT and calling India on behalf of Frontier. We tried speed tests, opening ports, a new modem. I am so frustrated. The 5th call to India was 75 minutes and connection was lost. No phone call was returned despite giving the person my land line number. On the 6th call to India, the man would not schedule a technician to visit my house. I use this feature as a first responder for my community and I am beyond frustrated.

It's Great!

5.00 Stars

on September 17, 2019

I highly recommend Frontier. I was skeptical about getting DSL, but I power my smart TV, laptop, printer and 2 cell phones using their 6 Mbps plan and out the door it is about $40 a month, saving me almost $400 per year. This alone paid for my new 65" TV, thank you Frontier!

Great Service

5.00 Stars

on August 28, 2019

Have had trouble off and on and finally this very nice and confident tech figured it out. Good job.

Great experience

4.00 Stars

on August 14, 2019

I have been suffering with Xfinity's inflated prices. I had the blast service and speed was pretty good. It was with a little dread that I decided to try Frontier. (copper wire in my area.) Customer service was great. The installer was a tremendous help. I only stream so so speed and continuity are paramount. So far I am a satisfied customer and am thrilled I am saving $63.00 a month.

Awesome service by our tech!!

5.00 Stars

on June 19, 2019

First, let me lay the groundwork. I work for Healeon Medical, and we are located in Newbury Park, California (Zip 91320), and recently moved office locations, from a smaller to a larger office space. The new location was recently renovated, so we had to put in and activate phone lines and the internet, which we did. The first tech came in to activate the four phone lines (and internet) and left. Mind you, at this point, we were still housed at the old office. Now to be fair, we upgraded during the transfer of services to the new office: Upgrading internet from FiOS 75/75 Static IP to our FiOS 700/700 Static IP bundled with our Frontier Secure Pro Bundle with 4 unlimited phone lines (our 4 current #'s) which would be our One Voice Nationwide lines that have unlimited local & long distance calling in United States and also includes features included like, Call Forwarding, Call Forward - No Answer, Call Forward - Busy, Hunting, Caller ID, Call Waiting, Three-Way Calling & Voicemail etc. under a 3 year term. Upon discovering that our lines did not have a dial tone, when we moved in one afternoon, we called Frontier Tech Support and they forwarded all calls to a cell phone in the office, and also sent a tech in the very next morning. The tech, Steve Ashton was great, he quickly identified what the issues were, resolved them, and then walked us through the installation of our phones, after asking which specific lines were to be available at which office station. He did this quickly, and efficiently, because, and I quote, "I would feel terrible to leave you folks without working phone lines." After he was finished, he made sure the lines worked at each station, in the configurations we specified, and THEN, made his goodbyes. All in all, we were totally impressed by the service that Mr. Ashton provided to us. Wherever he is, I hope he and his bosses read this, and commend him on his exemplary service to a Frontier account. Well done, Mr. Ashton! Well done, Frontier!!

I LOVE FRONTIER!!

5.00 Stars

on March 29, 2019

I am so happy with my service! Fast speed, and lots to watch. I signed up with a sales representative at the port richey Walmart and he has been very helpful! It feels like I have someone in my corner! Call him your experience will definitely change!!!

Great service

5.00 Stars

on February 10, 2019

We just got Frontier a week ago and everything works great, nice and clean picture. Everything works well so far.

Great product, service is lacking

2.00 Stars

on January 09, 2019

I chose Frontier because of their FIOS internet and TV package. Granted, it’s fast, fastest internet I’ve ever had at home. But that's where the positive news ends. Their TV interface (menu, scrolling, going to different sub menu’s) is painfully slow. Then, after only one week of installing their equipment - their power supply box mounted on the outside of my house fails. I call their tech support and the earliest repair availability is in 10 days. Ten days without internet or TV. Finally fixed but just now, they had my billing info wrong. It was connected to the previous resident of my apartment. So without being able to login to pay my bill, my service is disconnected. I call customer service and pay it over the phone. But now, get this, it takes 5 days to restore connection and there is a $10 restore charge. I really like FIOS, but their customer support is way lacking. I’m definitely looking at other options.

Glaciers are faster than Frontier's DSL!

2.00 Stars

on January 02, 2019

DSL is less than 33% of the speed I should be getting. The DSL randomly goes out and reconnects. Contacting customer service does no good. They say they are aware of congestion, but do not have anything scheduled as to fixing problem. Paying $30 for less than 1Mbps of speed (0n a good day). The only good thing I can say is it is better than dial-up, and that's all!

Reginald Gets sSix Stars

5.00 Stars

on September 15, 2018

I had to call Frontier three times to resolve a problem with my auto pay. I had to change my method of payment due to fraud on my present payment method. The first representative told me it would be fine, it wasn't. My bill was not being paid on the new card. I called again and spoke with someone who was not helpful at all. She told me to go online to fix the situation. So I called again got Reginald aka Reggie. Not only did he take my payment over the phone and explain why it all happened, he also improved the speed of my Internet. This man is a valuable employee and I hope he is given the opportunity by Frontier to show this talent

Love love them

4.00 Stars

on August 05, 2018

I've had good and bad experiences with most internet and cable providers. I switch to Frontier in frustration. We had a few glitches in the beginning, but their customer service is far superior to any customer service I've ever experienced. The service is great. My bill is the same every single month which with others it varied $30 a month every month for years. I love Frontier, I've heard they're having trouble in business and this really frightens me keep up the good work Frontier.

Works Great!

5.00 Stars

on August 01, 2018

6 different speed plans, I stream on twitch and play games on pc and Xbox. No speed problems here, consistent 115mb download. Upload could use a little more as it sits at 12-13Mbps. I pay $80/month. no issues at all. Thanks, Frontier!

Frontier Internet Review

3.00 Stars

on June 21, 2018

Overall Frontier DSL is great for the average user and will be enough but for a Poweruser like myself, it will not be enough. When you have 3+ people in your house watching YouTube it really starts to slow down. The upload speed is trash. I have a youtube channel and it takes 6+ hours to upload a 1GB file.

Out-in-the-sticks

4.00 Stars

on April 01, 2018

Decently Fast video loading, alright on upload times, currently hosting 15 devices. Little touch and go if you live in the boonies, but customer service will help anytime

Current Customer

4.00 Stars

on December 04, 2017

Customer service has been reliable and easy to work with.

Just Average

3.00 Stars

on June 17, 2017

Thankful for any DSL access but it's average. My location doesn't help. Really wanted to be able to hard-wire my laptop but the one unit modem/router doesn't let me do that and I'm not happy about that at all!

Happy with service

4.00 Stars

on October 15, 2016

We're happy with the service but would like to get Fios.

Frontier is good!

4.00 Stars

on July 29, 2016

I like Frontier and they are fast if you live near the central location, if not, do not get them.

Recommend Frontier Communications

4.00 Stars

on November 28, 2015

I have been happy with my internet services through Frontier Communications. I frequently download from both Hulu and Netflix, for the most part, I do not have an issue with buffering/downloading etc. Customer service was both patient and helpful.

4.00 Stars

on November 27, 2015

There were some small problems but it is a much better deal then Hughes Net. Mostly reliable internet with only a few problems. Though there was some issues with tech support. A long wait to get problems fixed. 3 weeks with out internet.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Frontier Internet Reviews FAQ

Frontier has two core services: Frontier DSL, which is their most common Internet service provided over phone lines, and Frontier Fios, which is a much faster fiber service. Fios is currently only available in select areas. The Frontier Communications reviews above include reviews for both Frontier DSL and Frontier Fios.

How BroadbandNow Sources Frontier Internet Reviews

We currently source reviews from Frontier customers by showing them prompts and pop-ups on the BroadbandNow site. We use IP-verification to ensure that only current Frontier users can leave reviews, and that each customer can only leave one review. This system also helps us balance out the negative and positive reviews, avoiding the “Yelp effect” of endless rants.

Frontier Fios vs Frontier DSL Internet Reviews

As mentioned above, Frontier Fios is a different service from Frontier’s DSL service. Fios is several times faster, and tends to get much better reviews than Frontier DSL service. In both cases, Frontier’s customer service tends to get low reviews, even when the speed and network performance is ranked highly.

Frontier Review Criteria: How We Filter Reviews

In some cases, we will remove reviews that fail to meet our basic criteria. Those criteria are: be helpful, relevant, and specific. Reviews that “rant” in all-caps or make violent threats cannot be posted for legal reasons. We only approve reviews that include detailed, helpful context about the customer’s experience. Approved reviews can have any star rating, and as you can see in the star rating distribution map above, we do not judge reviews based on their opinion of Frontier Fios — we only judge them on their merit as a piece of information for potential customers.

Common Issues in Frontier Internet Reivews

Why is Frontier Internet so bad? Frontier’s Internet service suffers from poorly-rated customer service and inconsistent speed, but it’s often the fastest choice in their service area. Frontier has been growing rapidly in recent years, and those growing pains have led to a hit-or-miss experience when calling customer service, and speeds don’t alway live up to the promise on the box. However, customers who live the Frontier Fios service area are almost always better off with Fios than with other, slower providers.