Frontier Customer Reviews Summary

Reliability
3.6
Speed
3.5
Equipment
3.8
Support
3.3
Interaction
3.1
Value
3.5

As of February 2021, BroadBandNow’s editorial team has surveyed 39 Frontier Communications customers and asked them to rate Frontier on 6 different criteria - Reliability, Speed, Equipment, Support, Interaction, and Value.

Overall Frontier customers rated them a 3.5 out of 5, which is ranked 7th of the 10 internet provider customers we surveyed in our study.

Check Availability
by address:
Ways to order Frontier Communications:

Leave a review for Frontier Communications Internet

Are you a current or former Frontier Communications customer in a Frontier Communications service area like Tampa, Rochester or Saint Petersburg? Share your experience to help other users.

*Please note we only publish reviews that are: helpful, relevant, and specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning. If you are experiencing issues with your router, call Frontier Communications customer service directly for assistance

FiberOptic is top notch

Damon St. Julien on July 28, 2019

Installer was very knowledgeable about how networks work and quickly patched in my line where I needed it. 6 months in and I saw an ad for 500/500 for the same price I had been paying for 200/200. A quick chat with sales and I upgraded for free. Highly recommend Frontier FiberOptic service.

Great customer service

Nina on July 02, 2019

My internet all of a sudden shut down on me last night and I was very upset, trying to do anything to fix the problem. But nothing worked at all, then I decided to call and luckily I had an easy and manageable talk with support. He guided me through everything easily and the process was very quick. Thank you so much for your service.

ON IT!

Cynthia Comchoc on June 28, 2019

We were in the area hit by tornados in Dayton on Memorial Day. We had no power for 6 days, no water for 3 days, but every single day we had our landline service! Thank goodness because it enabled us to continue to work from home. Thank you Frontier.

Best highspeed internet option in the region

Phoenix on August 01, 2018

I was looking for an alternative to my previous provider and the only other option was Frontier. I was apprehensive because of Frontier's bad reputation, but I decided to give it shot. Reliable service. My other provider's asymmetrical bandwidth is absurd. While it's great for streaming, getting any remote work done, using a VPN, or even just browsing the web can be a real pain. 12 Mbps is just not enough for a medium household. 1000Gbps may seem like a lot, but its surprisingly easy to exceed when you have multiple streaming devices at home. Others charge you $10/mo for their modem/router, Frontier doesn't. You don't even need it; with Frontier, you get Ethernet directly to your own router, no modem required.

Great Service

Terri on April 21, 2021

Great customer service!! My service technician, went above and beyond to make sure everything with our power box was working correctly after it broke due to a power outage. He even checked out our router, even though I didn't call about it because I mentioned we lose connection a few times a month. My router was a piece of original and old equipment so he gave us a new one which should help with the disconnection we experience and WOW, our internet speed is much faster now. After hearing everyone's nightmare with Frontier's terrible customer service and them not showing up, I was expecting the worst, but they have stepped up their game and I was very happy and can't say enough positive things about the service I received. Thank you!!!

Going the extra mile

Rob Dyson on March 07, 2021

During the winter storm in Texas that caused the entire state to lose power, I also found that the constant cycling of power caused the ONT (fiber optics converter) for my house to break. At least this is what the technician said. Anyway, I did the troubleshooting over the phone and they identified the problem. But then a ticket had to be opened and I was in the queue with lots of others. Unfortunately, my original ticket was closed by their system because it was associated with the widespread outage. I called when my ticket was closed and they opened a new one a week later. Although somewhat frustrated because I work from home I have to say the Frontier tried to get a technician out to fix my problem almost every day but I was then away from the house. I just want to say that they didn't forget me and really tried to solve my problem. They called me daily but I was away for a wedding. Great job Frontier. Your internet service is great too and it's why I've been a customer for a very long time.

Residential service technician

Robert J. on February 26, 2021

Had a service technician yesterday 2/25/21. He called to let us know he was on his way. Showed up at our front door wearing his required company mask. We spoke a couple of minutes about the service I was requiring. he took some time to access the situation, and went right to work. He set up the internet system on the outside of our home, ran the required cables from the outside service box, and into a less noticeable outlet at the rear of our home. He checked the signal strength throughout the entire home to make sure we had adequate coverage for the 500 over 500 that we had ordered through the customer service representative prior. He took the time to listen, and answer all of my questions. He even took the time to set up my tv., and even showed me the step-by-step way to set up my other tv also. PS. Did I mention that Joe was so responsible? He took the time to clean up any debris leftover from the install. So BIG shout-out goes to the service technician! Thank you, Frontier.

Good Technician, Benny

Nathanson on January 21, 2021

Solved my problem, good job

Great and friendly customer service

Jamie Weglowski on January 13, 2021

Great and friendly customer service

Rock solid and fast internet

Jeremiah on December 26, 2020

Had a great experience with installation and rock solid service. Wouldn't hesitate to recommend them in my area if you have access to their 500/500 plan.

Much Better than others

Richard Rossi on December 22, 2020

Working great. Very fast service and my download speeds increased from 47Mbps to 467Mbps! Nice people, too.

Our Service Tech Brian Is Simply Great!!

Christopher Bradshaw on October 20, 2020

I would like to write my very positive remarks about our local service technician (Brian Lloyd) who services our Sherrard, Illinois area (61281). His service over the years has been exceptional, not only with putting our internet service back on track but also about his conduct on the phone. Very courteous and professional with also a sense of humor (good mix). We hope that his manager(s) and colleagues see this review as a testament to his performance. Thanks Brian! Christopher B.

Quick response

Gerard on October 15, 2020

Our internet quit working, so I went down to our local Frontier office (I refuse to call the 800 number, too long wait time and you're not really dealing with someone that has any technical knowledge) and talked with the nice young lady behind the counter. I told her that it is important that I have internet as it is used for daily medical purposes. She said that she could have a technician at my house the next day between 1300-1700. Next day technician called me 2 hours early and he would be there in 10 minutes. Technician arrived and he assessed the situation. He contacted the technician in the central office and in less than 5 minutes the problem was fixed. Very happy with the speed that Frontier sent out a repair tech and the knowledge of that repair tech.

Outstanding Field Technician Service After 4 Months of Terrible Customer Service

Tom Dickens on July 23, 2020

We have been trying to add Internet to our account since March. We have seen 5 field technicians, all of whom said they could not find the telephone box and then told us they would have a signals specialist sent out and provide a quote for a new dropped line. The last tech who assisted us was a problem solver and did not give up until he found the phone box at the house when all the others gave up. He was polite, informative, and efficient and got our Internet up and running. He should be your standard for all technicians. He saved the company from losing our service.

FRONTIER HAS GOOD SERVICE

Vb on April 10, 2020

I use Frontier for my internet and although they have a phone menu, the customer service reps are polite and helpful. It takes a little patience to come out but they do come out quickly and their repair reps are great. They fix it right away and are very helpful and courteous. I would give them 4 out of 5 stars. I would give them 5 if they got rid of their phone menu. I am very satisfied with their service.

I really want to like this company

P Ibar on March 07, 2020

The price is great. The speed is awesome. Customer service is always open but, I hope you don’t need a technician. It takes around a week for someone to come out. That’s the only weakness of this company. I’m currently home because of surgery. The service went out on Friday and they can’t come until Thursday. I just wish they’d respond sooner.

Poor customer service

Martin on January 29, 2020

Frontier service is decent and at times you get faster than advertised speeds. Their customer service is poor and inconsistent.

Installed yesterday and stopped working 20 minutes after.

Nicole Stanford on December 21, 2019

We had FiberOptic Internet installed by Frontier yesterday afternoon and 20 minutes after it was installed, it went down and nobody has come back to fix it. Apparently the closest appointment available is on the 24th, today is the 21st. Now we are without internet or television because our television goes through the internet. Absolutely unacceptable!

Worst customer service I’ve ever had

Justin Brooks on December 17, 2019

Just spent half an hour explaining to 3 different people about the credit I was supposed to receive after cancelling my account. No one can help with anything. Bill was supposed to be taken care of after 3 weeks of no internet service. Two days after they fixed it was down again. They couldn’t come out for close to a month and they want to charge me for it. Not worth the hassle.

Best service in years

Danette Scott on December 12, 2019

I usually HATE to call customer service as they are frequently not helpful and sometimes even insulting. However, today when I had to call, Anthony was EXTREMELY helpful and polite. I really appreciated the speed and courtesy in which he handled my problem and got me back online and back in business in record time. Thank You!

Good Speed, Terrible Reliability.

Alan on October 30, 2019

My internet went out for a week, no tickets were resolved. All i was told was there was an outage every single day, and the day they fix the outage they say they don't know why I still have no internet. First time I ever had frontier moving into a new house and it was the most frustrating service I have ever had, I recommend looking elsewhere for your internet provider.

Very Disappointed with Frontier Service

Sarah on October 28, 2019

Not only has customer service been unreliable in its support, we’ve experienced multiple outages with zero help, promises of credits to our account that never occurred on multiple occasions, and a broken system where one hand doesn’t seem to be talking to the other. Every time we call Frontier, it seems we have to start over again with regard to the explaining the same issue. We’ve been a customer for 10 years now and we are done with the poor customer service and on reliable support. This is the company that needs to very much reconsider how they’re doing business in supporting their customers.

Relentless decline in both Speed and Reliability

David Klein on October 26, 2019

During the past two weeks, my 5-15 Mbps service fails to provide more than 1.3 Mbps, and Layer 3 link stability has been extremely irregular. I frequently need to abandon the service and switch all my equipment over to one of two 4G LTE WiFi hotspots on my iPhones. It's obscene that I'm paying almost $100 a month for service that is little better than two coconuts shells and a piece of piano wire. One way or another, this won't continue too much longer.

Most unreliable internet provider

Parag on October 23, 2019

Internet is not working properly for past couple of months. After doing various complaints and tech came and said everything looks good at my home. There should be something at the frontier side and they should resolve it which never happened. Every time when I call, they say they will try to resolve it within 48-72 hours. Unfortunately I am stuck with a 2 year contract with the company.

Horrible

Nunya on October 23, 2019

Frontier does not have reliable internet. We did not have are internet a week and it was of a whole day. Times before it was off 1 week to 2 weeks and It seems to be a normal thing and it's not even cool. I don't recommend this provider. We don't pay for are internet to be off.

Persistent problem for 3 months now with no resolution

M on October 23, 2019

I rely on the wifi to receive text and calling on my cell phones at my house. After 8 months of usage without a problem, in July the feature stopped working overnight on two cell phones at my house. The wifi text works in other places we frequent that do not have cell service. I have spent hours with ATT and calling India on behalf of Frontier. We tried speed tests, opening ports, a new modem. I am so frustrated. The 5th call to India was 75 minutes and connection was lost. No phone call was returned despite giving the person my land line number. On the 6th call to India, the man would not schedule a technician to visit my house. I use this feature as a first responder for my community and I am beyond frustrated.

It's Great!

New Customer on September 17, 2019

I highly recommend Frontier. I was skeptical about getting DSL, but I power my smart TV, laptop, printer and 2 cell phones using their 6 Mbps plan and out the door it is about $40 a month, saving me almost $400 per year. This alone paid for my new 65" TV, thank you Frontier!

Great Service

David Coleman on August 28, 2019

Have had trouble off and on and finally this very nice and confident tech figured it out. Good job.

Great experience

David Burns on August 14, 2019

I have been suffering with Xfinity's inflated prices. I had the blast service and speed was pretty good. It was with a little dread that I decided to try Frontier. (copper wire in my area.) Customer service was great. The installer was a tremendous help. I only stream so so speed and continuity are paramount. So far I am a satisfied customer and am thrilled I am saving $63.00 a month.

Awesome service by our tech!!

Erami Tokalau on June 19, 2019

First, let me lay the groundwork. I work for Healeon Medical, and we are located in Newbury Park, California (Zip 91320), and recently moved office locations, from a smaller to a larger office space. The new location was recently renovated, so we had to put in and activate phone lines and the internet, which we did. The first tech came in to activate the four phone lines (and internet) and left. Mind you, at this point, we were still housed at the old office. Now to be fair, we upgraded during the transfer of services to the new office: Upgrading internet from FiberOptic 75/75 Static IP to our FiberOptic 700/700 Static IP bundled with our Frontier Secure Pro Bundle with 4 unlimited phone lines (our 4 current #'s) which would be our One Voice Nationwide lines that have unlimited local & long distance calling in United States and also includes features included like, Call Forwarding, Call Forward - No Answer, Call Forward - Busy, Hunting, Caller ID, Call Waiting, Three-Way Calling & Voicemail etc. under a 3 year term. Upon discovering that our lines did not have a dial tone, when we moved in one afternoon, we called Frontier Tech Support and they forwarded all calls to a cell phone in the office, and also sent a tech in the very next morning. The tech, Steve Ashton was great, he quickly identified what the issues were, resolved them, and then walked us through the installation of our phones, after asking which specific lines were to be available at which office station. He did this quickly, and efficiently, because, and I quote, "I would feel terrible to leave you folks without working phone lines." After he was finished, he made sure the lines worked at each station, in the configurations we specified, and THEN, made his goodbyes. All in all, we were totally impressed by the service that Mr. Ashton provided to us. Wherever he is, I hope he and his bosses read this, and commend him on his exemplary service to a Frontier account. Well done, Mr. Ashton! Well done, Frontier!!

I LOVE FRONTIER!!

Jim Henders on March 29, 2019

I am so happy with my service! Fast speed, and lots to watch. I signed up with a sales representative at the port richey Walmart and he has been very helpful! It feels like I have someone in my corner! Call him your experience will definitely change!!!

Great service

Pete on February 10, 2019

We just got Frontier a week ago and everything works great, nice and clean picture. Everything works well so far.

Great product, service is lacking

Jerry on January 09, 2019

I chose Frontier because of their FiberOptic internet and TV package. Granted, it’s fast, fastest internet I’ve ever had at home. But that's where the positive news ends. Their TV interface (menu, scrolling, going to different sub menu’s) is painfully slow. Then, after only one week of installing their equipment - their power supply box mounted on the outside of my house fails. I call their tech support and the earliest repair availability is in 10 days. Ten days without internet or TV. Finally fixed but just now, they had my billing info wrong. It was connected to the previous resident of my apartment. So without being able to login to pay my bill, my service is disconnected. I call customer service and pay it over the phone. But now, get this, it takes 5 days to restore connection and there is a $10 restore charge. I really like FiberOptic, but their customer support is way lacking. I’m definitely looking at other options.

Glaciers are faster than Frontier's DSL!

Speed, What Speed? on January 02, 2019

DSL is less than 33% of the speed I should be getting. The DSL randomly goes out and reconnects. Contacting customer service does no good. They say they are aware of congestion, but do not have anything scheduled as to fixing problem. Paying $30 for less than 1Mbps of speed (0n a good day). The only good thing I can say is it is better than dial-up, and that's all!

Reginald Gets sSix Stars

Jude Burke on September 15, 2018

I had to call Frontier three times to resolve a problem with my auto pay. I had to change my method of payment due to fraud on my present payment method. The first representative told me it would be fine, it wasn't. My bill was not being paid on the new card. I called again and spoke with someone who was not helpful at all. She told me to go online to fix the situation. So I called again got Reginald aka Reggie. Not only did he take my payment over the phone and explain why it all happened, he also improved the speed of my Internet. This man is a valuable employee and I hope he is given the opportunity by Frontier to show this talent

Love love them

Chili Hyde on August 05, 2018

I've had good and bad experiences with most internet and cable providers. I switch to Frontier in frustration. We had a few glitches in the beginning, but their customer service is far superior to any customer service I've ever experienced. The service is great. My bill is the same every single month which with others it varied $30 a month every month for years. I love Frontier, I've heard they're having trouble in business and this really frightens me keep up the good work Frontier.

Works Great!

Jarrid on August 01, 2018

6 different speed plans, I stream on twitch and play games on pc and Xbox. No speed problems here, consistent 115mb download. Upload could use a little more as it sits at 12-13Mbps. I pay $80/month. no issues at all. Thanks, Frontier!

Frontier Internet Review

Sean Cosay on June 21, 2018

Overall Frontier DSL is great for the average user and will be enough but for a Poweruser like myself, it will not be enough. When you have 3+ people in your house watching YouTube it really starts to slow down. The upload speed is trash. I have a youtube channel and it takes 6+ hours to upload a 1GB file.

Out-in-the-sticks

Reynolds on April 01, 2018

Decently Fast video loading, alright on upload times, currently hosting 15 devices. Little touch and go if you live in the boonies, but customer service will help anytime

Current Customer

Cait on December 04, 2017

Customer service has been reliable and easy to work with.

Just Average

Sharon Wood on June 17, 2017

Thankful for any DSL access but it's average. My location doesn't help. Really wanted to be able to hard-wire my laptop but the one unit modem/router doesn't let me do that and I'm not happy about that at all!

Happy with service

Bruce Caplan on October 15, 2016

We're happy with the service but would like to get FiberOptic.

Frontier is good!

Andrew Misek on July 29, 2016

I like Frontier and they are fast if you live near the central location, if not, do not get them.

Recommend Frontier Communications

on November 28, 2015

I have been happy with my internet services through Frontier Communications. I frequently download from both Hulu and Netflix, for the most part, I do not have an issue with buffering/downloading etc. Customer service was both patient and helpful.

on November 27, 2015

There were some small problems but it is a much better deal then Hughes Net. Mostly reliable internet with only a few problems. Though there was some issues with tech support. A long wait to get problems fixed. 3 weeks with out internet.

Frontier Internet Reviews FAQ

Frontier has two core services: Frontier DSL, which is their most common Internet service provided over phone lines, and Frontier Fios, which is a much faster fiber service. Fios is currently only available in select areas. The Frontier Communications reviews above include reviews for both Frontier DSL and Frontier Fios.

  • How BroadbandNow Sources Frontier Internet Reviews

    We currently source reviews from Frontier customers by showing them prompts and pop-ups on the BroadbandNow site. We use IP-verification to ensure that only current Frontier users can leave reviews, and that each customer can only leave one review. This system also helps us balance out the negative and positive reviews, avoiding the “Yelp effect” of endless rants.

  • Frontier Fios vs Frontier DSL Internet Reviews

    As mentioned above, Frontier Fios is a different service from Frontier’s DSL service. Fios is several times faster, and tends to get much better reviews than Frontier DSL service. In both cases, Frontier’s customer service tends to get low reviews, even when the speed and network performance is ranked highly.

  • Frontier Review Criteria: How We Filter Reviews

    In some cases, we will remove reviews that fail to meet our basic criteria. Those criteria are: be helpful, relevant, and specific. Reviews that “rant” in all-caps or make violent threats cannot be posted for legal reasons. We only approve reviews that include detailed, helpful context about the customer’s experience. Approved reviews can have any star rating, and as you can see in the star rating distribution map above, we do not judge reviews based on their opinion of Frontier Fios — we only judge them on their merit as a piece of information for potential customers.

  • Common Issues in Frontier Internet Reivews

    Why is Frontier Internet so bad? Frontier’s Internet service suffers from poorly-rated customer service and inconsistent speed, but it’s often the fastest choice in their service area. Frontier has been growing rapidly in recent years, and those growing pains have led to a hit-or-miss experience when calling customer service, and speeds don’t alway live up to the promise on the box. However, customers who live the Frontier Fios service area are almost always better off with Fios than with other, slower providers.