Spectrum Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Spectrum's service. To see if broadband Internet from Charter Spectrum is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Spectrum Service

Charter Spectrum

1.89 Stars  1804 Reviews
1.89 out of 5 stars

5 Star
3.1%
4 Star
4.6%
3 Star
14.5%
2 Star
33.6%
1 Star
44.3%

Leave a Review For Charter Spectrum

Are you a current or former Charter Spectrum customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Prices go up and quality goes down.

2.00 Stars

on February 16, 2018

The price keeps going up, but the speed has gone down since Spectrum bought BrightHouse. We have to reboot our cable box several times a week, the phone and cable modem need rebooting almost weekly. We've had multiple service calls, but nothing changes. Every guy who comes out has a new idea and is going to 'fix things', but it never gets better. We pay for 100 Mbps, and are lucky to get 30 - 50. Unfortunately, no other company provides internet service in our neighborhood or Spectrum would be history!

Not getting what we're paying for.

1.00 Stars

on December 31, 2017

We can't use the cable or the phone for some reason, but we're paying $110. Customer service won't help whatsoever, And we only get 50 mbps in the best scenario despite paying for 100 mbps. Overall horrible service, not to mention it goes down constantly.

Up, up, and away

2.00 Stars

on January 02, 2018

Since TWC changed to Spectrum, the bill goes up, the service goes down, and the Internet speed is 1/3 what it was before ...

Terrible speeds, constant interruption in service and a waste of money

2.00 Stars

on June 25, 2018

I only have the internet service with Spectrum. And it is frustrating to see how their service is getting worse every day. For a 100 Mbps service plan, I get about 25 Mbps on an average. In the recent past, it has gone down further and I see speeds of 3 to 4 Mbps. There were days I had no internet service for the entire day and I had to use a 4G LTE device to do my work. If you have a choice in internet service, just avoid Spectrum.

Not impressed.

Beverly on March 12, 2018

It is touch and go some days it will work great others not as well. I work from home so I have issues with my VPN cutting out every time the internet 'blips'. It is also a pain when trying to stream shows or movies and it starts to lag or shuts off. Like I said though some days it works great. For comparison I say it is working well tonight and my speed is at 5.4 Mbps download and upload and this is a good night! If you have another option for the area I would suggest taking it, unfortunately though most people will not have any other real options.

Don't waste your time & money

1.00 Stars

on January 25, 2018

I work from home quite a bit which requires me to download/upload files on a regular basis. There is nothing more frustrating than being in the middle of an upload/download and your computer looses internet connection. I get to restart the process all over again. What should take a few minutes to complete, becomes a laborious/arduous task with the "service" that Spectrum provides. Save your money/time/heartache.

Do not get this service.

1.00 Stars

on January 06, 2018

I was promised 100 Mbps download speed. I cant even get 5 Mbps download speed. Their DSL is so unreliable that my Roku device keeps sending me messages that the connection is too slow. Spectrum has been out here multiple times and has never corrected the problem. They are charging me $58/month for service that breaks more than 15 times a day.

Too Much For Too Little

2.00 Stars

on January 14, 2018

If you got to keep the promotional price, then this service would be worth what you get, however; spotty service, and throttling VPN protected traffic, along with a monthly service charge of $66 a month is just too much. When it was $36 dollars cheaper I felt like I was getting what I paid for. Of course, when the promotion runs out, you're screwed. These days, there is no negotiation with Charter on price.

Only option in town... And they know it!

2.00 Stars

on February 01, 2017

Faster than DSL, but more available. More reliable than Dish, but more expensive. Generally works as it should but never lived up to the high speeds they advertise. When things go wrong (and it will), you are at their mercy because there's really no better option and no competition in our area.

Constant Drops

3.00 Stars

on December 30, 2017

Service drops often, often more than a dozen times a day. Speed is not even close to what I'm paying for, usually under 19 Mbps on a 100 Mbps plan.

Too Expensive

3.00 Stars

on February 13, 2018

Spectrum is too expensive for the services offered. They need more of an ala carte service so customers do not pay for services they never use.

Problems

1.00 Stars

on July 26, 2018

The speed goes up and down I can't remember when I had constant fast internet. I always have to unplug everything and wait then plug everything back in to get the speed up, I even bought a new modem and router had it programmed by spectrum then I had ok speed for a while and back to slow buffering speeds again I gave up after I talk with the last support tech and for $64.99 for internet only I'm getting the short end of the stick.

Intentional Rip Off

2.00 Stars

on June 24, 2018

We’ve had the 150Mbps and 100Mbps plans. I test the speed regularly, and Spectrum delivers about 1/2 of the promised “up to” speeds. Sure, they don’t guarantee 100Mbps or whatever the number is. But getting consistently nowhere near those numbers.

Major headaches for ok cable/internet.

3.00 Stars

on February 23, 2018

When setting up service, everything had to be done twice as equipment orders, automated activation, and service dates and we're all lost in the system at multiple points. It took over two weeks and countless hours on the phone to fully establish service. When a job loss required us to reduce services, the staff we're unwilling to work with us in any way to retain us as customers even though we had been with then for over 10 years. Cable and internet are decent but the headaches of working with this company should make you think twice about using them.

Least worst option

3.00 Stars

on December 05, 2017

I and numerous other customers have not had a great history with Charter / Spectrum's Customer Service. Where their downfall is to me, as I live in a town close to a major metropolitan area, Charter's cost and minimal speed options. Other areas nearby get 1 Gbps for similar cost from Charter. The fact that I get faster speeds over the air from my mobile provider absolutely is insulting to see what I'm paying for the speed I don't receive. If a data plan existed for unlimited home service from my mobile provider, Charter Spectrum would be left behind.

Time Warner - not happy

Jim Hilgefort on December 07, 2017

Every single time that I come to my house in Hilton Head, I have to call Time Warner for service. I constantly have to reboot the router. Internet continually drops and runs slower. Their billing changes monthly. Other than that, they're a great company.

Expen$ive

2.00 Stars

on June 12, 2018

Rate keeps going up and service goes down. This evening my DVR box suddenly rebooted and when came back up lost most of my channels, lost my recording capability & shows I’d already recorded, lost the detailed guide. Sat on hold for service over an hour, no one ever answered. Internet is undependable and often get a “tech” when call that has no idea how to fix.

No noticeable difference

3.00 Stars

on December 21, 2017

Switched from Tidewater-Lincolnville because Spectrum offered higher speed at a promo rate. I have not noticed much of a difference. Streaming YouTube still has the occasional buffering/delay. I shall most likely switch back to Tidewater after year promo expires just to have my prior phone bundle + internet package + local hometown customer service.

So many short outages, so overpriced

3.00 Stars

on July 22, 2018

Speed is ok for the most part, but every 3 to 4 nights there are micro outages. The worst part is for equivalent speed, they are the only choice.

Ok but expensive

3.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

Service is ok but when they have issues on their end they don't tell you. I spent a lot of time trouble shooting my equipment just to find out later (from the repair tech they sent out) that they had a problem and had to run a temporary cable across the road untill they fixed it permanently . It would be nice if the tech help (on phone) would just admit that there may be some interruptions due to repairs. That would save me a lot of wasted time troubleshooting.

Good, but expensive.

2.00 Stars

on March 04, 2017

The product & service is great, but for a social security recipient on a $650 monthly income, it is just too expensive.

Terrible Internet Service for Gaming

2.00 Stars

on July 30, 2018

Although they promise 100 Mbps, the highest I am currently able to go to is 20 Mbps. My router/internet needs to be reset daily for it to even get to peak performance. I play video games a lot and the constant network disconnection is super frustrating after the few hours of peak performance I get are gone. I go through dozens of disconnections throughout my time of playing and all I can do is sit and wait for roughly 30 seconds for the connection to reestablish. Even after it disconnects for a few seconds I only have 5-15 minutes before it happens again, and it's completely random for when it happens so I usually end up being kicked off at a bad time (like when I'm about to win a game or finish something important). I probably just need an upgrade to a better package where the services will be the exact same, but with a higher price and more promises that can't be kept.

Spectrum falls short on service, long on charges

2.00 Stars

on February 03, 2018

Our service has been horrible as we have constant wifi drops, we don't get even close to the speeds we are paying for, and for two years I've been rebooting my router or whole house DVR as my Xbox Live won't stay connected if I watch TV and vice versa. I had my own router and modem which Spectrum took out trying to convince me my equipment was the problem. It wasn't the problem and now I'm paying for equipment I never needed. To say I don't like this company would be an understatement as they have no integrity and don't care that the customers don't get the service that they are paying for. I came here to this site today researching other companies with good WiFi. I'm cutting the cord and shutting off the home phone and changing over to a streaming service like most of my friends and family are doing. People are getting educated and there are options now. When Spectrum continues to lose customers they have nobody to blame but themselves. It's a simple concept to treat customers well, give them what they are paying for, and at a fair and reasonable price!

Mediocore Internet Service

3.00 Stars

on April 09, 2016

The internet speeds that are advertised are seldom realized. The service seems stable most of the time but the bandwidth is most definitely lacking.

Very unreliable using smart tv

1.00 Stars

on January 03, 2018

Roku TV loses programs every night. Stops in the middle of programs to load, then does NOT re-start the program. Calling them for help is a total waste of time. Nobody answers the help phone numbers without a 5 + minute wait.

Not getting 200Mbps as stated by Spectrum.

2.00 Stars

on August 04, 2018

Spectrum has told me time and time again that I am in an area that gets 200Mbps...not true! My test consistently gives me 95Mbps, not even getting 100!! 95 isn't bad, but I should not be paying the full price of $74 per month, it should be prorated based on the speed that I am actually getting.

Expensive

4.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

No trouble with internet service, just the cost of it. My plan jumped over time from $29.95 for Basic to a notice that next month it will be $59.99-$69.00, up from $44.95 presently paying. Spectrum since taking over is getting to expensive.

Good service becomes iffy?

4.00 Stars

on May 18, 2017

We've had Charter Spectrum internet service for a year and a half. It started out perfectly, including the installation. We bought our own router from Best Buy because we get an employee discount there. When our first year of service was up and the monthly price did the automatic price hike, I looked around for another provider since money was tight. In doing so I talked to Charter about looking for a different provider and they offered to keep me at the same original price of $39.99 for the rest of the second year of service. Awesome! And a financial and internet access relief! But after a few months the monthly bill was increased by $5. No explanation of why. Also, the internet service has become spotty - some things won't load, streaming options disappear, and occasionally the service cuts out completely for a little while. Now I don't know whether this is to blame on the service or the year-and-a-half-old router. I will have to call Charter to see if they can shed any light on these issues because they are annoying enough to make me tepid on the whole product.

What's the point?

1.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Our internet speed is poor and there are constant interruptions. I had to call every evening for a week to get any kind of assistance. After 3 replacement modems still slow speed and interruptions. Poor service and customer care. Not worth the money. You have a better chance of drawing a flip book and watching a movie than getting through a movie based on their internet.

Spectrum is poor and doesn't provide the service they charge for.

1.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

I am paying a bill to Spectrum of 200 dollars a month plus taxes. My phone is grainy at best, my TV stutters and blacks out routinely. My internet connection is supposed to be 100Mbps down 10Mbps up. 60% of that between 4 am and 7 am, then it drops. On a good day I get 4-5 down and 6 up. I have called Spectrum so many times I have lost count. I have had techs come out so many times I know them by name. Nothing fixes the problem. It has been horrible now for weeks. It's not my house, I have a new modem and a new router. The signal and down/up suck directly from the street as well. I actually walked my modem out to the street with my laptop...the speeds there were just as atrocious. I hate talking to tech support over the phone. If you can't get anything else, then I am sorry. If you have a choice, avoid at all cost.

frequent timeouts during peak (business) hours

3.00 Stars

on May 12, 2016

I have frequent timeouts which disrupts my streaming music and also websites that require 5-sec refreshes (i.e. streaming stock charts). The music simply cuts out on our Sonos system for about 5-20 seconds and then comes back on. With respect to my web timeouts, during peak times this can happen up to 5-10 times per hour (happens on multiple computers, some of which are hard-wired, others are wireless), which is completely not acceptable. So i'm looking to move to a more reliable network provider...

Overpriced and underserved.

2.00 Stars

on June 27, 2018

The cheap cable boxes require rebooting at least 3 times a month, and even then sometimes it takes an hr to resume service. Internet crashes and requires me rebooting my cable modem and wifi router 2 to 3 times. I expect continuous uninterrupted service for the $95 / mo. they are charging me.

Worst Internet ever!!!

2.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Charter Spectrum internet is so bad I can't even finish my school work online using their internet, I have to use my phone's hotspot. Unfortunately, we live in an area that only offers Spectrum. I can't wait to move back to an area with a better option.

10 year summed up

1.00 Stars

on August 27, 2018

Very brief: A rip-off if you want the details: We pay for the best service available for our household. We also have it bundled with other services that are okay at best. However, over the years we've had nothing but constant internet struggles. Wireless devices disconnect pretty frequently even when in the same room as the router. For the 2 devices, we have hardwired the connection is stable but mediocre at best. It seems like every 2 weeks we have days where the internet refuses to work entirely. They come out and ix it in about 45 mins and leave. About half the time it works. Can't wait for others to get to Chapel hill!

Decent speed but crap customer service

2.00 Stars

on September 14, 2018

So my speed and reliability has ranged from fine to good. My issue is how they setup their online pay system to try and milk late payment fees from customers. This is the only service that I have dealt with where it says it takes 30 days to set up auto pay. They also have their automated system wait to call you when your payment does not come on time until they can charge you a late fee.

Reliability issues, abysmal customer service

2.00 Stars

on October 21, 2018

Several days ago, I started experiencing extremely high latencies on network connections. I have made no changes to my router, and if I take a laptop to another location such as work or a coffee shop, it works fine. I opened a chat session with support this morning to try and diagnose the problem. The "latency test error" on Spectrum's own speed test page was ignored and told me that my connection is fine, based on results from speedtest.net and the session was abruptly closed because I took more than a minute to respond while I was gathering more info. Since then, I traced the problem on my own to one of Spectrum's DNS servers (one provided by their own DHCP server). I configured my router to manually override the DNS servers and my connection is working normally now. Unbelievable... Unfortunately, there is no other game in my area.

Speed is the worst and wireless is unreliable

2.00 Stars

on October 15, 2018

I have had Spectrum for many years and have nothing but problems with the wireless. I have had to go in and change my modem so many times, it's just ridiculous. If I'm not changing the modem, I'm calling them to change my wireless connection. Now for the last few days, the speed is just extremely slow. Wireless I get 12.4 downloads and 6.5 uploads. Wired I get 22.3 downloads and 4.5 upload - wired upload is worse than the wireless. I'm going to call now and can already hear....." you need to change out your modem...", which by the way I rent from them.

Very slow

2.00 Stars

on September 22, 2018

Can’t have more than two devices connected without everything having so much lag.

Billed for a service I never signed up for.

2.00 Stars

on September 25, 2018

I was happy with the monthly fee I was paying for internet only in my first year of service. Speeds were never as advertised, but I didn't complain. However, I did receive multiple offers on the phone and in the mail for a TV streaming service that I never have any interest in. I verbally declined all of these calls and ignored all the mail offers only to find that I was signed up for the streaming service without my consent. Furthermore, the process of arguing for a refund for these charges that I never asked for has proven difficult. I imagine this is what is to be expected of internet service providers these days but it is none the less unacceptable.

No other option

1.00 Stars

on August 25, 2018

The price keeps going up, but the speed has gone down since Spectrum bought BrightHouse. We have to reboot our cable box several times a week, the phone and cable modem need rebooting almost weekly. We've had multiple service calls, but nothing changes. Every guy who comes out has a new idea and is going to 'fix things', but it never gets better. We pay for 100 Mbps and are lucky to get 30 - 50. Unfortunately, no other company provides internet service in our neighborhood or Spectrum would be history!

Don't go with Spectrum

2.00 Stars

on November 17, 2018

I would not recommend Spectrum to anyone that is looking for residential internet. I’ve had to use a gigabit ethernet switch just to get 150 down and 20 up, even though I pay for 400 Mbps down. The customer service is decent but the reliability is trash. We can never watch a Netflix show without it cutting out or having to restart it, or any online video for that matter. Don’t go with Spectrum unless they’re your only choice.

Internet

2.00 Stars

on November 16, 2018

Signal is more often off especially during busy hours (from 4 pm to 9 pm) internet speed of 300Mbps is not being felt or is not true. Has to troubleshoot internet connection almost daily to get a good connection.

My experience

1.00 Stars

on November 14, 2018

I do not get the speed that I am supposed to. I get a maximum of 30Mbps and I should get 300 Mbps. I often lose internet completely. Maybe I have to unplug my modem more often than I do.

Spectrum internet is ok

3.00 Stars

on November 13, 2018

Currently subbed to 200Mbps. And I always reset my modem and router once a month out of good habits. But the speed always seems to go lower and lower. When I first got the service, I would see speeds of 200-210 with different testing tools, but now it seems to be around 78-85Mbps. Pretty crappy feeling. I know that the speeds "may" go up to 290 but still.

The best of what is available.

3.00 Stars

on November 10, 2018

Until other providers goes from just offering DSL to offering Fios or there is any other broadband in town, Spectrum is clearly the way to go. Spectrum has better modems and offers better speeds than other providers ever did so that is a big plus especially with the upload. Sadly, Spectrum has done nothing to eliminate the problems other providers had. Random and semi-frequent outages of both internet and cable, issues with cable boxes, on demand is arguably worse. But if you need upload speed for anything, there currently isn't another option. If you just want to check Facebook and watch Netflix you could probably get away with DSL but for gaming, working from home online, sharing videos etc. you will most likely want the broadband.

Freezes all the time

2.00 Stars

on November 07, 2018

I've had nothing but problems from bills going up constantly to my internet going out constantly. They replaced the outside line and still not much better TVs still freeze and the internet goes on and off everyday couple times a day.

It is great

4.00 Stars

on November 01, 2018

Installers did a great job. Very fast, very clean. The equipment works perfectly. The speed is as advertised. My last Wi-Fi provider was very slow and expensive. I would recommend this company.

All Services

5.00 Stars

on October 29, 2018

I have had great customer service and services through Spectrum. I now have cellular as well. Whenever I have had issues with my service they are quick to resolve. Their agents, for the most part, are experienced and knowledgeable but most of all helpful. I would highly recommend.

Overall review

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

I have had Spectrum for a while now. I would say the price is pretty comparable to other services, but the reliability sucks!! The app goes down at least once a day and the internet will go offline at least 1x a day and runs slow even though we have their highest package. Sometimes the WiFi won't even reach the next room.

Internet Reliable and Fast

5.00 Stars

on October 12, 2018

We’ve had Charter internet for 15+ years. Early years were painful I admit, but over the past 7 years (2011-2018), the service, reliability, and speed are excellent. We upgraded from 60 to 100 to 200 Mbps over the past 2.5 years. Also replaced Asus WIFI router with Netgear ORBI system and we get a full 200+ down and 15 up, with 25 various IP addresses. We are happy with Spectrum now. But wanting to hear from anyone using the new Spectrum Mobile offering.

Not awful but not good either

3.00 Stars

on October 08, 2018

Where I live, Spectrum is the only option. The high-speed internet is ok. Not lightning fast but that could also be an equipment/device thing. The cable interface is garbage and hard to maneuver. If you’re going to run the gamut on cable/internet in the area, at least make the interface look like it’s from 2018 instead of 2008. On Demand options are trash too. I get more out of the streaming app than I do from the actual cable box.

Worst Ever

1.00 Stars

on October 02, 2018

Paid extra for "high speed" and can't even watch Netflix. I get on average about 2Mbps (yes, 2 ) download speeds for $120/month with cable. Right now I'm halfway through an Amazon movie I paid for and it shut off because of low bandwidth. This happens often enough that I felt the need to let other people know.

Amazing Customer Serivce!

4.00 Stars

on October 01, 2018

Had the patience to go through the process with me. Although it took a long time, the tech was calm and thorough with his instructions. Thank you.

Constantly lagging.

1.00 Stars

on September 28, 2018

I constantly lose service, I stream and the speed, which they claim they just increased, is not sufficient to play a TV show or movie without constantly lagging. That's only part of the problem.

Intermittent internet

2.00 Stars

on September 26, 2018

My internet has worked intermittently for months. It quit altogether 4 days ago when they said they'd have someone out the next day. He rebooted the modem and left despite me telling him that doesn't work for long. Called back a few hours later for another appointment. Long story short, they didn't call before coming, didn't show up, claimed nobody answered the door, emailed me confirmations (I have no internet to get email!), and had me waiting for days for someone to show up. Nice CS people, very pleasant and sound caring, but zero delivery on promises.

Very slow internet

1.00 Stars

on September 25, 2018

Internet is very slow, I'm 10 feet away from my router and have a 300 Mbps plan and I can't do pretty much anything it's lagging constantly, sometimes the wifi just shuts off and also not worth the price you pay.

Charter Spectrum Internet IS available in Ghent, NY

5.00 Stars

on September 25, 2018

It’s been two months since the launch of Spectrum Internet and despite what New York State and some friends of mine might say, it is a great service. I remain cautiously optimistic since I’ve had it for only two months, but so far so good. Customer service lacks in knowledge of my specific area and so that is a problem. Otherwise, I’ve had yet to encounter any rudeness whatsoever. Overall, the service is reliable, fast, and so far it’s been worth the money.

Love, love, love it!

5.00 Stars

on September 24, 2018

Great service, speeds, customer support, and channels. No problems whatsoever. I've been a customer for 6 years.

Not getting what I was told I would

2.00 Stars

on September 22, 2018

I have been paying for 60 Mbps internet and I received a letter from Charter last week stating they increased my internet speed to 100 Mbps and I just went to the Charter website and checked my internet speed using their own speed test, and I am only getting 11.7 Mbps!

Tech install was great

4.00 Stars

on September 18, 2018

I'm in the Inland Empire (Riverside) and the technician who fixes my wifi was great and went out of the way to fix more than just the wifi, gave us a new modem and activated the TV button of our remote. Thank you.

100mbps turned into 2800kbps

1.00 Stars

on September 17, 2018

I’m a nurse working from home and rely on the internet to do my job. I’m ethernet cabled up and can’t get anything done because the internet is so slow. On a good day, I have 56Mbps. Today I have 28Mbps. I’ve had Spectrum techs come out so many times it’s crazy. Horrible service! Try anywhere else first!

Slow and Unreliable

1.00 Stars

on September 16, 2018

Internet is advertised at "starting at 200 Mbps", yet I've never had speeds over 50Mbps. It often sits around 10 Mbps or less. Internet also goes out very frequently. I've tried contacting Spectrum and they've sent technicians out, but the service did not get any better. I absolutely would not recommend Spectrum to anyone. Pay more for better service somewhere else. You may be getting internet for a cheaper price here, but you get for what you pay for.

Unreliable and spotty service

1.00 Stars

on September 14, 2018

The only good thing I have to say about Charter is, no contract. Charter has not proven in a year that they are reliable with cable or internet. I work from home and rely on solid internet connections and it is very spotty with Charter. Customer service is awful on the phone. The techs that come to my home have all been great so I guess Charter has 1 more point there. But if Charter's product was reliable I would not need customer service and techs so often. Get it together Charter.

WiFi Speeds finally working properly

3.00 Stars

on September 12, 2018

I have had Spectrum internet for years. I have always had issues with hitting the speeds I was paying for. For example, I have 100Mbps service but was only getting 10-15Mbps downloads over WiFi. Tech guy came out today and it took him 7 hours but finally fixed my issue. First time in years, I’m actually getting the speed I pay for. Current WiFi speed test resulted @ 115Mbps download. Let me repeat that it is wireless. Not hardwired into the modem. Spectrum customer service has always told me I will never get top speed over WiFi which is obviously false. Thank God for the tech that came out today!! Woohoo. The Internet is flying now!

Worst Provider!

1.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

We pay for 100Mbps and continuously get between 5-15Mbps. We call customer service EVERY month and they reset it on their end and it will go up to 85Mbps and as soon as we hang up the call it goes right back down to where it started. We had someone come out and redo the wiring and for 1 day it was at 50. For the past 3 days, it's been at 5Mbps. FIVE!!! Why do I pay for 100Mbps if I'm only getting 5? And now I'm on hold with customer service for the past 20 minutes. Again!

Spectrum

5.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

Wonderful. It’s the fastest. I love it. I have been using it for many years without problems. We're using it now. I use the new features and watch it on my cell, my laptop, as well as my TV. If it comes to our country and finds them, that would be a wonderful blessing. It’s like cars, you would rather drive a great running car than a slow beat up car. Check your speed numbers, we all should have an option to choose what we want. We are free to choose.

Slow intenet speeds

2.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

Download speeds are horrible, I get 25 Mbps at best and as low as 4 or 5 at times.

Honestly, Stay Away from Spectrum

Wtf!!! on September 10, 2018

I have TV, Internet, and Phone bundled, and honestly, not one of them works. They advertise up to 100 Mbps and that should mean at least 50 - 70 Mbps because it should be high but all I get is about 18 - 19 Mbps. The Router and Modem have to be restarted daily for the internet to work. The TV connects to the internet for it to work but when trying to watch TV, you can't even open the guide because it will freeze up the TV and take about 5-10 minutes to load. When surfing through the guide it stutters a lot and freezes every time you press the up or down button. The phone can't even take incoming calls, I tried calling it from my cell phone but the home phone didn't even ring. I also tried calling my cell phone but the call wouldn't go through. So I ended up paying 120 dollars for my internet, phone, and TV to not work. I basically gave Spectrum money for free. Great marketing strategy Spectrum.

Good service bad prices

4.00 Stars

on September 10, 2018

Great internet but prices are outrageous once the initial 12-month offer ends.

Switched to Spectrum and get NO internet!

1.00 Stars

on September 08, 2018

Switched to Spectrum a week ago, paying for 100Mbps but that's not even close to what we get. It works if we reset the router and so far we've had to do that every single day - and even then we only get reliable wi-fi for a few minutes. If I want to actually get work done I have to use the LTE network. Incredibly frustrating and not worth the price. I'm furious.

Better than statellite, but pretty basic

3.00 Stars

on September 07, 2018

The changeover was painful at times. Customer service was awful but, in the past year+ they are getting a lot better. Reliability and Internet speeds are OK, but in rural Maine, I'm thankful to have an option that is not satellite. Also, once you are a customer, it's very hard to do anything except upgrade via self-service. Their website is only sell and up-sell oriented. Slightly cheaper than others.

I love Spectrum!

4.00 Stars

on September 06, 2018

By far the BEST cable company! Anytime I’ve ever had an issue, 24/7 customer service has always helped me out. Spectrum has more channels than most companies. Awesome features as well. Prior to Spectrum, I had a satellite TV provider that always “disconnected” during a storm or if it got a little windy outside. I no longer have to worry about my connection. Thank you Spectrum for being so amazing !

Not that Bad.

4.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

We have had Spectrum for a little over a year and the service and customer satisfaction I feel and have is pretty good. We get the speed we pay for which is 100Mbps and even at peak hours, we still get speeds of 85 to 90. The TV is good, really can't complain there. For the service offered, I feel the company is trying its best to make me happy.

Great Service

1.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

Spoke with a customer service representative in Carrolton, very nice and very helpful.

Love-hate relationship with Spectrum

1.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

I have a love-hate relationship with Spectrum. The speeds go up and down and sometimes never come back up. For the prices offered I believe this to be silly. You pay for internet that you don't get and that's just atrocious.

Lacks Infrastructure to Maintain Demand

3.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

When it works, it's good. The infrastructure (product and service quality) is not sufficient to maintain the number of customers and the demand on services. The internet has gone out every weekend for the past five weeks. The weekend is most likely when the internet is in peak demand. I believe it is not coincidental. Their equipment or entire system is faulty and apparently cannot meet the demands of customer use. I doubt it will change anytime soon. I would not recommend them.

REALLY BAD RELIABILITY, SPEED IS NOT AS ADVERTISED!

2.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

An internet outage is pretty much guaranteed to occur EVERY DAY for me. From reading other reviews, other people have the same problem too. The Internet is really important for us and it going out random times every day is really frustrating! We bought the 80 Mbps plan and when the internet actually works, it gives us 30 Mbps. 30 Mbps speed is fine however it going out every day is unacceptable! This is the first time something like this is happening and happened ONLY when we switched to spectrum.

Way Too Expensive

2.00 Stars

on August 30, 2018

Spectrum's internet, TV, and the phone have been fine for the most part... but when it comes to the price... Ridiculous! I have a decent bundle including all three services that are coming to an end, but when I try to get a downgrade to simply cut the phone service(Seeing as how the new post-bundle price with all three is too much for me) the price gets even higher. Are you kidding me!? And even if I were to cut my service and try to shoot for another lower priced bundle I would be denied the service because I would have to wait for 30 days before signing up again. It isn't even stated on their website that those bundles (all of them) are only for new members. Thanks, Spectrum. And on top of that, I am literally stuck with this company because no one else offers their services here. It is complete crap and unacceptable. It's just 2 college level individuals in this household. How much do you really expect us to pay for some basic needs!? Yes, internet is a basic need nowadays especially for college courses online.

Good when it works

2.00 Stars

on August 21, 2018

We have high-speed internet, 100 Mbps. Every weekend our cable will go out and the internet is spotty. Our neighbors have the same issues. Past month our internet has not worked on any weekend. Customer service is barely adequate, at one point they could only get my internet to work if they reset from their end and was good for a few hours. They have sent many technicians and only to change boxes and splitters. One actually added an amplifier to boost the signal on a house that has one cable box and one modem. The wiring in the house is 2 years old, and have been told the wire on the street is really old, but will not get replaced due to how few homes are on the street. Way to go, guys. Spend 200 a month for internet and TV that only works during business hours.

Paying for 100 Mbps...

1.00 Stars

on August 17, 2018

I wanted the best and fastest internet Spectrum offered and I'm paying so much for 100M bps. Which is not really what they give you. My internet can be really great at times and really bad at times. SO INCONSISTENT. Why is it like this? No clue. Spectrum's best deal still has me lagging in games and I'm literally unable to play games. 100 Mbps is not really 100 Mbps. More like 5 Mbps. What do I do to get better internet? I play video games every day and this is causing me to stop playing because of my terrible internet.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Charter Spectrum Reviews FAQ

Charter Spectrum Internet reviews are gathered on BroadbandNow from current Spectrum Internet customers. Reviews are subjected to a vetting process to ensure that we only show reviews that include useful input from current, IP-verified Spectrum customers.

How We Verify Spectrum Internet Reviews

Spectrum Internet and cable TV reviews shown here are confirmed using IP-verification. What this means is, the IP address of the visitor submitting a review must match IPs known to originate from Spectrum service. IP addresses are assigned to residential customers dynamically by Internet providers, making it relatively straightforward to determine which provider a given visitor is using.

In addition to collecting reviews from visitors on this page using the “submit review” button above, we also randomly select visitors from Spectrum Internet IP addresses and request that they review Spectrum while they are visiting other parts of the BroadbandNow website.

Time Warner Cable Reviews

As of 2016, Time Warner Cable (TMC) has merged with Charter Communications. All areas that used to have TMC Internet now are “Charter Spectrum” Internet service areas.

Reviews shown here have mostly been collected since 2016. Reviews collected for Time Warner Cable have been removed since while the network is the same, Spectrum’s pricing and customer service is completely different.

That said, customers will still see the name “Time Warner Cable” on their bills in some areas, or even pay their bill online through Time Warner Cable websites. This is expected to be phased out by the end of 2019.

How we Evaluate Charter Spectrum Reviews

We look for three qualities in reviews submitted for Charter Spectrum (and all ISPs): to put it simply, reviews must be helpful, relevant, and specific. The vast majority of the reviews we receive are from customers who are confused about which service they have, or who want to submit an extremely high or low rating with no reasoning.

With both positive and negative Charter Spectrum reviews, we look for those that describe the service fairly and back up any criticisms or praise with specific examples from their customer experience with Spectrum.

Where Can I Find Spectrum Cable TV Reviews?

Spectrum is currently promoting their cable TV service aggressively, and they are one of the top cable TV subscription programs in the US in terms of number of subscriber count.

In our experience, customers who submit Spectrum Internet reviews tend to be focused on the Internet-only service, which is a popular service option for younger users and “cord cutters.”

Charter Reviews about Slow Internet Service

In our experience, many customers can resolve the issues with their Spectrum service by simply resetting the router, or upgrading to a newer router if they are using an old third-party model. Before assuming your Internet connection is faulty and leaving a negative review, please ensure that you’ve checked for basic, common home networking issues.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC