BroadbandNow is supported by commissions from some of the providers listed on our site. Learn More

Spectrum Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Spectrum's service. To see if broadband Internet from Charter Spectrum is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Check Availability

Get in touch with a sales agent or view all available internet plans

Check Availability

(844) 247-4132 View Plans

1.70 Stars  4196 Reviews
1.70 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.3%
4 Star
2.7%
3 Star
10.7%
2 Star
31.2%
1 Star
53.0%

Leave a Review For Charter Spectrum

Are you a current or former Charter Spectrum customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Prices go up and quality goes down.

2.00 Stars

on February 16, 2018

The price keeps going up, but the speed has gone down since Spectrum bought BrightHouse. We have to reboot our cable box several times a week, the phone and cable modem need rebooting almost weekly. We've had multiple service calls, but nothing changes. Every guy who comes out has a new idea and is going to 'fix things', but it never gets better. We pay for 100 Mbps, and are lucky to get 30 - 50. Unfortunately, no other company provides internet service in our neighborhood or Spectrum would be history!

Don't waste your time & money

1.00 Stars

on January 25, 2018

I work from home quite a bit which requires me to download/upload files on a regular basis. There is nothing more frustrating than being in the middle of an upload/download and your computer looses internet connection. I get to restart the process all over again. What should take a few minutes to complete, becomes a laborious/arduous task with the "service" that Spectrum provides. Save your money/time/heartache.

Only option in town... And they know it!

2.00 Stars

on February 01, 2017

Faster than DSL, but more available. More reliable than Dish, but more expensive. Generally works as it should but never lived up to the high speeds they advertise. When things go wrong (and it will), you are at their mercy because there's really no better option and no competition in our area.

Up, up, and away

2.00 Stars

on January 02, 2018

Since TWC changed to Spectrum, the bill goes up, the service goes down, and the Internet speed is 1/3 what it was before ...

Not getting what we're paying for.

1.00 Stars

on December 31, 2017

We can't use the cable or the phone for some reason, but we're paying $110. Customer service won't help whatsoever, And we only get 50 mbps in the best scenario despite paying for 100 mbps. Overall horrible service, not to mention it goes down constantly.

Too Much For Too Little

2.00 Stars

on January 14, 2018

If you got to keep the promotional price, then this service would be worth what you get, however; spotty service, and throttling VPN protected traffic, along with a monthly service charge of $66 a month is just too much. When it was $36 dollars cheaper I felt like I was getting what I paid for. Of course, when the promotion runs out, you're screwed. These days, there is no negotiation with Charter on price.

Terrible speeds, constant interruption in service and a waste of money

2.00 Stars

on June 25, 2018

I only have the internet service with Spectrum. And it is frustrating to see how their service is getting worse every day. For a 100 Mbps service plan, I get about 25 Mbps on an average. In the recent past, it has gone down further and I see speeds of 3 to 4 Mbps. There were days I had no internet service for the entire day and I had to use a 4G LTE device to do my work. If you have a choice in internet service, just avoid Spectrum.

Not impressed.

Beverly on March 12, 2018

It is touch and go some days it will work great others not as well. I work from home so I have issues with my VPN cutting out every time the internet 'blips'. It is also a pain when trying to stream shows or movies and it starts to lag or shuts off. Like I said though some days it works great. For comparison I say it is working well tonight and my speed is at 5.4 Mbps download and upload and this is a good night! If you have another option for the area I would suggest taking it, unfortunately though most people will not have any other real options.

Do not get this service.

1.00 Stars

on January 06, 2018

I was promised 100 Mbps download speed. I cant even get 5 Mbps download speed. Their DSL is so unreliable that my Roku device keeps sending me messages that the connection is too slow. Spectrum has been out here multiple times and has never corrected the problem. They are charging me $58/month for service that breaks more than 15 times a day.

No other option

1.00 Stars

on August 25, 2018

The price keeps going up, but the speed has gone down since Spectrum bought BrightHouse. We have to reboot our cable box several times a week, the phone and cable modem need rebooting almost weekly. We've had multiple service calls, but nothing changes. Every guy who comes out has a new idea and is going to 'fix things', but it never gets better. We pay for 100 Mbps and are lucky to get 30 - 50. Unfortunately, no other company provides internet service in our neighborhood or Spectrum would be history!

What's the point?

1.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Our internet speed is poor and there are constant interruptions. I had to call every evening for a week to get any kind of assistance. After 3 replacement modems still slow speed and interruptions. Poor service and customer care. Not worth the money. You have a better chance of drawing a flip book and watching a movie than getting through a movie based on their internet.

Intentional Rip Off

2.00 Stars

on June 24, 2018

We’ve had the 150Mbps and 100Mbps plans. I test the speed regularly, and Spectrum delivers about 1/2 of the promised “up to” speeds. Sure, they don’t guarantee 100Mbps or whatever the number is. But getting consistently nowhere near those numbers.

Problems

1.00 Stars

on July 26, 2018

The speed goes up and down I can't remember when I had constant fast internet. I always have to unplug everything and wait then plug everything back in to get the speed up, I even bought a new modem and router had it programmed by spectrum then I had ok speed for a while and back to slow buffering speeds again I gave up after I talk with the last support tech and for $64.99 for internet only I'm getting the short end of the stick.

Too Expensive

3.00 Stars

on February 13, 2018

Spectrum is too expensive for the services offered. They need more of an ala carte service so customers do not pay for services they never use.

Constant Drops

3.00 Stars

on December 30, 2017

Service drops often, often more than a dozen times a day. Speed is not even close to what I'm paying for, usually under 19 Mbps on a 100 Mbps plan.

Least worst option

3.00 Stars

on December 05, 2017

I and numerous other customers have not had a great history with Charter / Spectrum's Customer Service. Where their downfall is to me, as I live in a town close to a major metropolitan area, Charter's cost and minimal speed options. Other areas nearby get 1 Gbps for similar cost from Charter. The fact that I get faster speeds over the air from my mobile provider absolutely is insulting to see what I'm paying for the speed I don't receive. If a data plan existed for unlimited home service from my mobile provider, Charter Spectrum would be left behind.

Expen$ive

2.00 Stars

on June 12, 2018

Rate keeps going up and service goes down. This evening my DVR box suddenly rebooted and when came back up lost most of my channels, lost my recording capability & shows I’d already recorded, lost the detailed guide. Sat on hold for service over an hour, no one ever answered. Internet is undependable and often get a “tech” when call that has no idea how to fix.

Fine while the promotional price lasted.

3.00 Stars

on January 02, 2019

My internet connection was reliable and fast enough for my needs. Spectrum gave me a used modem at first, and it wore out, but they replaced it cheerfully with a new one. My main gripe is with their pricing. I didn't realize that I was receiving a promotional price that would suddenly go up from around $45/month, which was reasonable, to around $66/month, which is a big jump with no value added. When I rang about it, the customer service rep said I could have the old price if I paid for a TV subscription as well, which would have brought my total bill to around $90/month. But I don't want TV, and I certainly don't want to pay $90/month. The other problem with Spectrum is that you get lots of calls and mail from people trying to sell you additional services (like phone and TV), which is really tedious. I was happy with the service I was getting at the price I was paying, so I suppose I'll look for another provider.

No noticeable difference

3.00 Stars

on December 21, 2017

Switched from Tidewater-Lincolnville because Spectrum offered higher speed at a promo rate. I have not noticed much of a difference. Streaming YouTube still has the occasional buffering/delay. I shall most likely switch back to Tidewater after year promo expires just to have my prior phone bundle + internet package + local hometown customer service.

Major headaches for ok cable/internet.

3.00 Stars

on February 23, 2018

When setting up service, everything had to be done twice as equipment orders, automated activation, and service dates and we're all lost in the system at multiple points. It took over two weeks and countless hours on the phone to fully establish service. When a job loss required us to reduce services, the staff we're unwilling to work with us in any way to retain us as customers even though we had been with then for over 10 years. Cable and internet are decent but the headaches of working with this company should make you think twice about using them.

Time Warner - not happy

Jim Hilgefort on December 07, 2017

Every single time that I come to my house in Hilton Head, I have to call Time Warner for service. I constantly have to reboot the router. Internet continually drops and runs slower. Their billing changes monthly. Other than that, they're a great company.

Worst Internet ever!!!

2.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Charter Spectrum internet is so bad I can't even finish my school work online using their internet, I have to use my phone's hotspot. Unfortunately, we live in an area that only offers Spectrum. I can't wait to move back to an area with a better option.

10 year summed up

1.00 Stars

on August 27, 2018

Very brief: A rip-off if you want the details: We pay for the best service available for our household. We also have it bundled with other services that are okay at best. However, over the years we've had nothing but constant internet struggles. Wireless devices disconnect pretty frequently even when in the same room as the router. For the 2 devices, we have hardwired the connection is stable but mediocre at best. It seems like every 2 weeks we have days where the internet refuses to work entirely. They come out and ix it in about 45 mins and leave. About half the time it works. Can't wait for others to get to Chapel hill!

My experience

1.00 Stars

on November 14, 2018

I do not get the speed that I am supposed to. I get a maximum of 30Mbps and I should get 300 Mbps. I often lose internet completely. Maybe I have to unplug my modem more often than I do.

Spectrum falls short on service, long on charges

2.00 Stars

on February 03, 2018

Our service has been horrible as we have constant wifi drops, we don't get even close to the speeds we are paying for, and for two years I've been rebooting my router or whole house DVR as my Xbox Live won't stay connected if I watch TV and vice versa. I had my own router and modem which Spectrum took out trying to convince me my equipment was the problem. It wasn't the problem and now I'm paying for equipment I never needed. To say I don't like this company would be an understatement as they have no integrity and don't care that the customers don't get the service that they are paying for. I came here to this site today researching other companies with good WiFi. I'm cutting the cord and shutting off the home phone and changing over to a streaming service like most of my friends and family are doing. People are getting educated and there are options now. When Spectrum continues to lose customers they have nobody to blame but themselves. It's a simple concept to treat customers well, give them what they are paying for, and at a fair and reasonable price!

Overpriced and underserved.

2.00 Stars

on June 27, 2018

The cheap cable boxes require rebooting at least 3 times a month, and even then sometimes it takes an hr to resume service. Internet crashes and requires me rebooting my cable modem and wifi router 2 to 3 times. I expect continuous uninterrupted service for the $95 / mo. they are charging me.

Terrible Internet Service for Gaming

2.00 Stars

on July 30, 2018

Although they promise 100 Mbps, the highest I am currently able to go to is 20 Mbps. My router/internet needs to be reset daily for it to even get to peak performance. I play video games a lot and the constant network disconnection is super frustrating after the few hours of peak performance I get are gone. I go through dozens of disconnections throughout my time of playing and all I can do is sit and wait for roughly 30 seconds for the connection to reestablish. Even after it disconnects for a few seconds I only have 5-15 minutes before it happens again, and it's completely random for when it happens so I usually end up being kicked off at a bad time (like when I'm about to win a game or finish something important). I probably just need an upgrade to a better package where the services will be the exact same, but with a higher price and more promises that can't be kept.

REALLY BAD RELIABILITY, SPEED IS NOT AS ADVERTISED!

2.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

An internet outage is pretty much guaranteed to occur EVERY DAY for me. From reading other reviews, other people have the same problem too. The Internet is really important for us and it going out random times every day is really frustrating! We bought the 80 Mbps plan and when the internet actually works, it gives us 30 Mbps. 30 Mbps speed is fine however it going out every day is unacceptable! This is the first time something like this is happening and happened ONLY when we switched to spectrum.

Overall review

2.00 Stars

on October 23, 2018

I have had Spectrum for a while now. I would say the price is pretty comparable to other services, but the reliability sucks!! The app goes down at least once a day and the internet will go offline at least 1x a day and runs slow even though we have their highest package. Sometimes the WiFi won't even reach the next room.

Very unreliable using smart tv

1.00 Stars

on January 03, 2018

Roku TV loses programs every night. Stops in the middle of programs to load, then does NOT re-start the program. Calling them for help is a total waste of time. Nobody answers the help phone numbers without a 5 + minute wait.

Speed is the worst and wireless is unreliable

2.00 Stars

on October 15, 2018

I have had Spectrum for many years and have nothing but problems with the wireless. I have had to go in and change my modem so many times, it's just ridiculous. If I'm not changing the modem, I'm calling them to change my wireless connection. Now for the last few days, the speed is just extremely slow. Wireless I get 12.4 downloads and 6.5 uploads. Wired I get 22.3 downloads and 4.5 upload - wired upload is worse than the wireless. I'm going to call now and can already hear....." you need to change out your modem...", which by the way I rent from them.

Decent speed but crap customer service

2.00 Stars

on September 14, 2018

So my speed and reliability has ranged from fine to good. My issue is how they setup their online pay system to try and milk late payment fees from customers. This is the only service that I have dealt with where it says it takes 30 days to set up auto pay. They also have their automated system wait to call you when your payment does not come on time until they can charge you a late fee.

Poor internet

2.00 Stars

on July 06, 2018

Our internet is spotty at best. We cannot stream Netflix on our tv. The signal says it’s strong and it should be with the router right next to it. I’ve bought a new router and still doesn’t work. My other devices sometimes work. We use our mobile hotspot for internet and it’s way more reliable. Spectrum is not willing to figure out the problem. My guess is they either throttle the service or the modem is bad. But they claim the modem is fine. Definitely won’t be staying with them. It costs way too much for the little service we get.

Not getting 200Mbps as stated by Spectrum.

2.00 Stars

on August 04, 2018

Spectrum has told me time and time again that I am in an area that gets 200Mbps...not true! My test consistently gives me 95Mbps, not even getting 100!! 95 isn't bad, but I should not be paying the full price of $74 per month, it should be prorated based on the speed that I am actually getting.

Spectrum is poor and doesn't provide the service they charge for.

1.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

I am paying a bill to Spectrum of 200 dollars a month plus taxes. My phone is grainy at best, my TV stutters and blacks out routinely. My internet connection is supposed to be 100Mbps down 10Mbps up. 60% of that between 4 am and 7 am, then it drops. On a good day I get 4-5 down and 6 up. I have called Spectrum so many times I have lost count. I have had techs come out so many times I know them by name. Nothing fixes the problem. It has been horrible now for weeks. It's not my house, I have a new modem and a new router. The signal and down/up suck directly from the street as well. I actually walked my modem out to the street with my laptop...the speeds there were just as atrocious. I hate talking to tech support over the phone. If you can't get anything else, then I am sorry. If you have a choice, avoid at all cost.

Reliability issues, abysmal customer service

2.00 Stars

on October 21, 2018

Several days ago, I started experiencing extremely high latencies on network connections. I have made no changes to my router, and if I take a laptop to another location such as work or a coffee shop, it works fine. I opened a chat session with support this morning to try and diagnose the problem. The "latency test error" on Spectrum's own speed test page was ignored and told me that my connection is fine, based on results from speedtest.net and the session was abruptly closed because I took more than a minute to respond while I was gathering more info. Since then, I traced the problem on my own to one of Spectrum's DNS servers (one provided by their own DHCP server). I configured my router to manually override the DNS servers and my connection is working normally now. Unbelievable... Unfortunately, there is no other game in my area.

Mediocore Internet Service

3.00 Stars

on April 09, 2016

The internet speeds that are advertised are seldom realized. The service seems stable most of the time but the bandwidth is most definitely lacking.

frequent timeouts during peak (business) hours

3.00 Stars

on May 12, 2016

I have frequent timeouts which disrupts my streaming music and also websites that require 5-sec refreshes (i.e. streaming stock charts). The music simply cuts out on our Sonos system for about 5-20 seconds and then comes back on. With respect to my web timeouts, during peak times this can happen up to 5-10 times per hour (happens on multiple computers, some of which are hard-wired, others are wireless), which is completely not acceptable. So i'm looking to move to a more reliable network provider...

Ok but expensive

3.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

Service is ok but when they have issues on their end they don't tell you. I spent a lot of time trouble shooting my equipment just to find out later (from the repair tech they sent out) that they had a problem and had to run a temporary cable across the road untill they fixed it permanently . It would be nice if the tech help (on phone) would just admit that there may be some interruptions due to repairs. That would save me a lot of wasted time troubleshooting.

So many short outages, so overpriced

3.00 Stars

on July 22, 2018

Speed is ok for the most part, but every 3 to 4 nights there are micro outages. The worst part is for equivalent speed, they are the only choice.

Spectrum is Great!

5.00 Stars

on September 15, 2019

We just bought a vacation house in Maine and there are two ISP’s available in our area, Obviously we got Spectrum because Cable internet is faster than DSL internet in most cases. We opted for the 100Mbps plan with our own modem (ARRIS Surfboard SB6183) and we get download speeds consistently at 117Mbps and upload speeds around 11Mbps. It is great for 4K streaming and watching YouTube, the only problem is the upload speeds when sending large files or sometimes when on FaceTime. If you want faster speeds you could always opt for the 400Mbps plan. To end, we are very happy Spectrum customers and we highly recommend their services!

Good customer service, so so quality.

3.00 Stars

on September 08, 2019

My router disconnects several times a week and the download speed is always less than half of what was advertised. That being said, the issues that require me to call customer service to are handled professionally. Every customer service rep talks to me in a professional manner, clear on how they fix my issue, and easy to understand.

Thank you

5.00 Stars

on September 05, 2019

I gave 5 stars to the tech from Matthews Spectrum store. I would like to give only one star to online Spectrum customer support. I don’t have service with Spectrum but unfortunately, my 83-year-old mom has. I kept calling Spectrum customer service to solve the problem my mom had, and customer service representatives kept transferring me from one department to another. Yesterday I decided to stop at Matthews Spectrum store and asked personally the same question I had for weeks. Tech paid attention to what I was talking about. He listened! Problem was solved in 5 minutes but on the phone, I spent hours! I greatly appreciate your help. Spectrum! You need to hire more people like him.

Works Fine for me

4.00 Stars

on August 31, 2019

Internet speed is great, much better than DSL...When I have a problem, customer service is really good, most time I just need to reboot the box (the digital world we live in). Every year, I go down and see what promotion they have and I have been able to pretty much pick my channels instead of paying for a lot that I don't even watch. By doing this, I have been able to keep my bill for the last four years pretty much the same price, even got it to lower this time. Most IMPORTANT to me is that if it looks like it's going to rain or is raining, I don't get that annoying message saying *SEARCHING FOR SIGNAL! I can actually curl up and watch TV.

THANKS! to Spectrum Store, Southlake, TX

5.00 Stars

on August 28, 2019

My experience at Spectrum Store, Southlake, TX, required patience and assistance from store personnel as I was both changing my phone company and also bringing my 94-yr-old mom (who lives in a different city) onto my account and into the world of smartphones. So... I was busy shuttling back and forth by travel and phone to coordinate services with my mom. It was really great to be welcomed by store personnel who were ready and willing to work me through all the process! Many thanks to your staff. AND my mom and I love the new phones and lower prices!! Thanks, Spectrum!!

Very good speed and service overall

4.00 Stars

on August 26, 2019

I don’t understand the negative reviews. We get consistently excellent speeds, often higher than the 100Mbps we pay for. Outages are infrequent. It is expensive but their internet service is worth it IMO.

So far so great

5.00 Stars

on August 22, 2019

So far the tech arrived at 8:05 am, he called before showing up and that was great. Very professional. The scheduled time was 8-9 and his tone was awesome. He seems very knowledgeable. I will update as soon as he is done. So far so great

Fast dependable internet service

5.00 Stars

on August 15, 2019

We held on to our phone company dsl way too long based mainly on the not so good Spectrum reviews I would read here. So I feel it's important that I put in my 2 cents. After 4 months of very sketchy internet and many hours of worthless tech support I decided I had nothing to lose by trying Spectrum which was my only other option. I am now 2 weeks in and I couldn't be more satisfied. Installation was on time and very professional. Speeds up and down are as advertised. WiFi coverage area is much larger than with the phone company. If you are looking for fast, dependable, affordable internet, I would recommend you try Spectrum. Very satisfied so far.

Wonderful Technician

1.00 Stars

on August 01, 2019

I had a technician come out to my new home to install my TV and Internet. I can not praise this technician enough!! He was on time and hooked everything up and was very accommodating and also stayed to help with my internet.

Customer Service

4.00 Stars

on July 27, 2019

I was having an issue with my internet connection and spoke to three different workers. Each one was so nice and treated my problem as if it were there own. It did take a long time for my problem to be fixed (about 2 hours), however, I was calling late on a Saturday night and I understand it can be hard to fix things via telephone call. I trust this company cares for their customers.

Spectrum Internet

5.00 Stars

on July 27, 2019

In comparison to all of the available networks in my area, Spectrum is the best by far most especially when considering all factors such as internet speed, quality and price.

Good product but very pricey

2.00 Stars

on July 25, 2019

Switched to Spectrum because they offered free DVR services. After a year, prices went up. I tried calling customer service and they aren’t willing to change it because it was a promotional thing.

Great Service

Marie B on July 25, 2019

Visited local to discuss an unexpected price increase. My husband and I met with one of the Store Specialist. He was wonderful - listened to our concerns and addressed each of them. He spent some time explaining some of Spectrum's plans which made it easier to choose which one is the best for our entertainment interest. This was the first time I've been in a cable store and left not feeling frustrated.

Good service but too expensive

4.00 Stars

on July 19, 2019

I've always gotten good service--I've never had to schedule customer service-- with Charter, but it's just too damn expensive. $190.00 for a phone/T.V./Internet bundle. I can't afford it anymore. It's just too much.

Reliable Internet

4.00 Stars

on July 09, 2019

It's not the cheapest option but it's been incredibly reliable and fast. I always get the advertised speeds and there's no data cap.

Awesome!

Jennasi on July 03, 2019

I've been reading reviews and the main complaint is the price hike. Of course, prices go up after the first 6 months. It's the pros vs cons of not having a contract. Our rose to $75 a month, cheaper than anyone around...again with no contract. We've been with them for over a year and they are awesome!!!!

Best internet speeds and prices I've ever had the pleasure to experience!!

4.00 Stars

on June 27, 2019

Well, there's really not much to say other than the fact that Charter Spectrum's WiFi is hands down the absolute best internet provider! And I have zero doubt that their phone and cable provisions are nothing short of fantastic as well. They truly provide a swift, easy and caring customer service with very kind and knowledgeable customer service representatives. But most importantly, I get 27-35 Mbps of download speed and 5-7 Mbps of upload speed. And my family gets all this great service for an amazingly low price of only $14.99/month + $4.99/month wireless router fee which comes to an awesome total price after taxes of only $20.25/month. I just want to say on behalf of my entire family, thank you Charter Spectrum and I also want to make sure that they receive the gratitude they're due. Keep up the astoundingly great service that you provide my family with. I will never change my internet provider. Thanks, Charter Spectrum.

Unbelievable great deal

5.00 Stars

on June 13, 2019

I have been a user of Charter Spectrum internet wifi plan for over 2 years and it is hands down the greatest deal I have ever got in my life. The price is unbelievable, the service is reliable, the employees and service techs are the best I've ever dealt with. I haven't had one loss of service in the 2+ years I've had the service. I am a demanding type customer, meaning I want to get my money's worth when I spend it and I almost feel like I'm not paying Charter Spectrum enough for what I get. I'm not one of those easy to please people but I have nothing but praise for this service.

Great Internet/ bundle deal

4.00 Stars

on June 10, 2019

I pay 120$ a month for 100 Mbps internet cable with like 200 channels and home phone. My internet is always working, only once has it went down and that was at 3 AM for them to do maintenance. I always heard people complaining about connections but that's odd, it always works for me and I'm guessing it's user error. Sure when I first turn on the cable box for the day, it takes a while to update which is a little annoying but gives me time to do some other things I need to do. Overall I'm pretty satisfied. Maybe the price could be a little better, not sure what it is costing them but I do know they're always updating networks and laying new lines so I'm sure it's costly for them.

Great Followup Customer Service

5.00 Stars

on June 10, 2019

After our initial hookup, the sound didn't quite match the speaker and our internet coverage wasn't good all the time in certain locations: patio and upstairs. When we called to have this fixed, the people on the phone were great: cheerful, clear speaking, and helpful. The man sent to do the work could not have been better. He went way over and above what we expected. All the cables to our house had pulled loose due to a tree branch sagging on them and they even pulled a board loose from the house where they were connected. He, without us asking, repaired the damage and reconnected all the cables over the sagging branch, not just his company's. He also fixed the voice sync and wifi in a very cheerful and professional manner and gave us tips on how to keep everything tops. I don't usually review companies, but I had to find out how to do this so he could get credit for a great job. I rated customer service only 4 stars because the original installer could have been this good.

Free modem

2.00 Stars

on June 05, 2019

I'm a new customer with Spectrum and signed with a contract that promised a free modem. Was happy with the tech's installation. He was very professional. The gripe I have is that I assumed the free modem would be new and not one that looks to have seen better days. I hope customer service will be understanding and helpful when the modem crashes.

Continuous problems

2.00 Stars

on June 02, 2019

We have numerous outages in my area. Although customer service is fairly good, the actual services are spotty. I can't even stream a movie without losing my internet connectivity. We've had techs come out and have been given reasons for spotty service that offer no real explanation or solution. We've been longtime customers but we're definitely a long way from satisfied.

Alright speed but unreliable

2.00 Stars

on May 30, 2019

I have very good networking equipment and yet about once a month there will be an entire week or so where I get terribly slow and inconsistent speeds which have their highs and lows throughout the day.

Unstable Internet

1.00 Stars

on May 15, 2019

Charter is just way too unstable, during the late night when I do a lot of uploading, Charter likes to disconnect for no reason, during the day it's great, but at night when I need to upload a lot of data, it wants to just disconnect for hours at a time. Not worth the hassle if you want to have a successful life working on the internet.

The guide doesn’t work

2.00 Stars

on May 12, 2019

Just moved to this area last week and signed up with their service. So far, the internet is ok. I’m am upset that my channel guide isn’t probably working and I went with the gold package and most of my channels are locked. They set up an appointment for a tech to come out the tech never came. They are saying an appointment was never scheduled. I just signed up for cable and I’m already having a bad experience. I’ve seen nothing but bad reviews about this company but I wanted to give it a chance. Now I want to just cancel cable and just keep the internet.

Charter Spectrum System is Not Reliable

1.00 Stars

on May 09, 2019

Troubleshooting technicians are quick to respond but the Charter Spectrum internet system drops every 30 mins to 2 hours and you need to reset your new modem/router every time or 3 to 4X a day. I have no choice in my area. Our package costs $70 a month.

Reasonable Service - everyone needs to chill

4.00 Stars

on May 04, 2019

I sure do hear a lot of whining about Spectrum. I don't know if it's location or what, but I literally have no issues with my 200/10 cable internet service. My download and upload speed are always higher than that, and I never have to restart my router or modem. I had a few poor customer calls to begin my service, but other than that, service has worked just as it needs to!

Awesome Support

5.00 Stars

on April 29, 2019

I called because my OnDemand channels were inoperable. I was fortunate enough to get help from their customer service representative. Service was efficient, incredibly polite and made sure all of my concerns were resolved before allowing the phone call to end. Thank you, Charter!

Great Customer Service

5.00 Stars

on April 27, 2019

Today I contacted Spectrum customer service pertaining my cable billing. I was later transferred to a supervisor and she worked with me for over an hour to ensure I understood my bill. Eventhough I seemed a little aggravated at times, her professionalism never changed. She went above and beyond to ensure I understood my bill and not once did she show any signs of a negative attitude. The kind of professionalism I received from this agent is a lost art in today's world. I can go on and on about her, but I'm going to leave it as associate like her is hard to find. Thanks again.

Not getting good service

2.00 Stars

on April 23, 2019

Spectrum Internet is good when it doesn’t go down. And the cable box constantly buffers and is very slow, plus had to replace cable box several times and still experiencing same issues. On a positive note, Spectrum does give you a great time allowance to pay your bill before they disconnect your service.

Internet outages on a weekly basis.

1.00 Stars

on April 10, 2019

I like the speeds and somehow the pricing but we get outages 4-5 times a month and they last all day most of the time. For someone that works from home, this service is truly frustrating.

Constant packet loss

1.00 Stars

on April 01, 2019

I've had Charter Spectrum for about 6 months and have packet loss problems almost daily. My speed is decent, but it is horribly unreliable. Good luck streaming or playing games without worrying about disconnecting for 10-15 minutes at a time. It is intermittent and seems to occur at random times. I've replaced just about everything and had technicians out but nothing will fix the issue.

Almost daily dropouts! It wasn't good; now it is no longer worth the aggravation.

2.00 Stars

on March 31, 2019

No matter which device I'm on, linked with the most recent 802.11ac router straight from the very nice and helpful cable office, I will experience 'Crickets' within any given session that lasts an hour or two. It just stops dead in its tracks. There is no correlated trigger; it is entirely random, day or night, computer, iPad, iPhone, TV, streaming apps. Reliability is as bad as I have ever even heard of. There seems to be no explanation, no fix, no refunds for 'outage periods. It might be an upgrade. Seriously, there are a lot of good employees trying their best, but the network is a total kludge.

Great, affordable service

4.00 Stars

on March 16, 2019

Great speeds, upgrades, and reliability.

Bad download speed, intermittent service

2.00 Stars

on March 12, 2019

Beginning with the start of 2019 I have experienced bad service regarding the download speed. My subscription is for 50 Mbps but most of the time I have 5-10 Mbps, with a 5 Mbps upload speed. Repeated Speed tests revealed this situation. Also, the service gets interrupted every night, sometimes during the day. I speed test the service every day and keep a log in order to document the situation. All in all, I pay for a service that does not deliver its promise. Should Spectrum reimburse me or give credit to my bill?

Great internet.

4.00 Stars

on March 06, 2019

I have had very positive interactions with customer service. Internet is very reliable, but the TV gives me trouble almost daily. It needs much work still. I have to unplug the DVR almost daily due to freezing.

Unacceptable upload speed

2.00 Stars

on March 03, 2019

We paid extra for higher internet speed. Download speed is fine. But their assumption that we don't need more than the bare minimum for upload is ridiculous. Every time I try to list on eBay or do just about anything, it times out. Requests for page times out. It happens on every computer we've tried. We even brought in a computer geek to troubleshoot. It's our upload rate. Stop assuming people only stream. Some of us actually work!

Outstanding service at Hubbard’s Lane store

5.00 Stars

on February 24, 2019

I came into the store today ( Sunday) to turn in a cable box that we are no longer using. They waited on me and was extremely kind, professional and accommodating. They took time to take care of me with a great attitude and when another customer walked in behind me, tech kindly told him that they would help him in just a minute. Great customer service!

The best!

5.00 Stars

on February 02, 2019

Spectrum has been absolutely fantastic. Amazing customer service, getting speeds above the advertised speeds, and 100% reliable thus far. No downtime at all. We’re getting at least 4.5x faster speeds than our previous provider for less than what we were paying before. Wish we made the change sooner.

No Issues Really

4.00 Stars

on January 19, 2019

I see a lot of gloom and doom here, but I personally have been with them for over 2 years with more or less no issues. Customer service is fine (They do call you a lot until you tell them to stop), reliability is fine, I get 461Mbps download and 26Mbps upload with the 400/20 package, and I only pay $70 (was around $50 during the 1 year promotional period) bucks a month for it. I'm just going to say it, a lot of the people here complaining about slow speeds likely use a modem or router that can't output the speeds they are paying for. It happened to me with my previous provider. If you don't have a gigabit capable router and a gigabit capable modem in 2019, you're wrong, Simple as that.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Charter Spectrum Reviews FAQ

Charter Spectrum Internet reviews are gathered on BroadbandNow from current Spectrum Internet customers. Reviews are subjected to a vetting process to ensure that we only show reviews that include useful input from current, IP-verified Spectrum customers.

How We Verify Spectrum Internet Reviews

Spectrum Internet and cable TV reviews shown here are confirmed using IP-verification. What this means is, the IP address of the visitor submitting a review must match IPs known to originate from Spectrum service. IP addresses are assigned to residential customers dynamically by Internet providers, making it relatively straightforward to determine which provider a given visitor is using.

In addition to collecting reviews from visitors on this page using the “submit review” button above, we also randomly select visitors from Spectrum Internet IP addresses and request that they review Spectrum while they are visiting other parts of the BroadbandNow website.

Time Warner Cable Reviews

As of 2016, Time Warner Cable (TMC) has merged with Charter Communications. All areas that used to have TMC Internet now are “Charter Spectrum” Internet service areas.

Reviews shown here have mostly been collected since 2016. Reviews collected for Time Warner Cable have been removed since while the network is the same, Spectrum’s pricing and customer service is completely different.

That said, customers will still see the name “Time Warner Cable” on their bills in some areas, or even pay their bill online through Time Warner Cable websites. This is expected to be phased out by the end of 2019.

How we Evaluate Charter Spectrum Reviews

We look for three qualities in reviews submitted for Charter Spectrum (and all ISPs): to put it simply, reviews must be helpful, relevant, and specific. The vast majority of the reviews we receive are from customers who are confused about which service they have, or who want to submit an extremely high or low rating with no reasoning.

With both positive and negative Charter Spectrum reviews, we look for those that describe the service fairly and back up any criticisms or praise with specific examples from their customer experience with Spectrum.

Where Can I Find Spectrum Cable TV Reviews?

Spectrum is currently promoting their cable TV service aggressively, and they are one of the top cable TV subscription programs in the US in terms of number of subscriber count.

In our experience, customers who submit Spectrum Internet reviews tend to be focused on the Internet-only service, which is a popular service option for younger users and “cord cutters.”

Charter Reviews about Slow Internet Service

In our experience, many customers can resolve the issues with their Spectrum service by simply resetting the router, or upgrading to a newer router if they are using an old third-party model. Before assuming your Internet connection is faulty and leaving a negative review, please ensure that you’ve checked for basic, common home networking issues.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2019 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC