Spectrum Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of Spectrum's service. To see if broadband Internet from Charter Spectrum is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup Spectrum Service

Charter Spectrum

2.02 Stars  1268 Reviews
2.02 out of 5 stars

5 Star
3.5%
4 Star
6.0%
3 Star
17.9%
2 Star
34.7%
1 Star
37.9%

Leave a Review For Charter Spectrum

Are you a current or former Charter Spectrum customer? Share your experience to help other users.

Prices go up and quality goes down.

2.00 Stars

on February 16, 2018

The price keeps going up, but the speed has gone down since Spectrum bought BrightHouse. We have to reboot our cable box several times a week, the phone and cable modem need rebooting almost weekly. We've had multiple service calls, but nothing changes. Every guy who comes out has a new idea and is going to 'fix things', but it never gets better. We pay for 100 Mbps, and are lucky to get 30 - 50. Unfortunately, no other company provides internet service in our neighborhood or Spectrum would be history!

Terrible speeds, constant interruption in service and a waste of money

2.00 Stars

on June 25, 2018

I only have the internet service with Spectrum. And it is frustrating to see how their service is getting worse every day. For a 100 Mbps service plan, I get about 25 Mbps on an average. In the recent past, it has gone down further and I see speeds of 3 to 4 Mbps. There were days I had no internet service for the entire day and I had to use a 4G LTE device to do my work. If you have a choice in internet service, just avoid Spectrum.

Up, up, and away

2.00 Stars

on January 02, 2018

Since TWC changed to Spectrum, the bill goes up, the service goes down, and the Internet speed is 1/3 what it was before ...

Not impressed.

Beverly on March 12, 2018

It is touch and go some days it will work great others not as well. I work from home so I have issues with my VPN cutting out every time the internet 'blips'. It is also a pain when trying to stream shows or movies and it starts to lag or shuts off. Like I said though some days it works great. For comparison I say it is working well tonight and my speed is at 5.4 Mbps download and upload and this is a good night! If you have another option for the area I would suggest taking it, unfortunately though most people will not have any other real options.

Not getting what we're paying for.

1.00 Stars

on December 31, 2017

We can't use the cable or the phone for some reason, but we're paying $110. Customer service won't help whatsoever, And we only get 50 mbps in the best scenario despite paying for 100 mbps. Overall horrible service, not to mention it goes down constantly.

Don't waste your time & money

1.00 Stars

on January 25, 2018

I work from home quite a bit which requires me to download/upload files on a regular basis. There is nothing more frustrating than being in the middle of an upload/download and your computer looses internet connection. I get to restart the process all over again. What should take a few minutes to complete, becomes a laborious/arduous task with the "service" that Spectrum provides. Save your money/time/heartache.

Do not get this service.

1.00 Stars

on January 06, 2018

I was promised 100 Mbps download speed. I cant even get 5 Mbps download speed. Their DSL is so unreliable that my Roku device keeps sending me messages that the connection is too slow. Spectrum has been out here multiple times and has never corrected the problem. They are charging me $58/month for service that breaks more than 15 times a day.

Time Warner - not happy

Jim Hilgefort on December 07, 2017

Every single time that I come to my house in Hilton Head, I have to call Time Warner for service. I constantly have to reboot the router. Internet continually drops and runs slower. Their billing changes monthly. Other than that, they're a great company.

Least worst option

3.00 Stars

on December 05, 2017

I and numerous other customers have not had a great history with Charter / Spectrum's Customer Service. Where their downfall is to me, as I live in a town close to a major metropolitan area, Charter's cost and minimal speed options. Other areas nearby get 1 Gbps for similar cost from Charter. The fact that I get faster speeds over the air from my mobile provider absolutely is insulting to see what I'm paying for the speed I don't receive. If a data plan existed for unlimited home service from my mobile provider, Charter Spectrum would be left behind.

Too Much For Too Little

2.00 Stars

on January 14, 2018

If you got to keep the promotional price, then this service would be worth what you get, however; spotty service, and throttling VPN protected traffic, along with a monthly service charge of $66 a month is just too much. When it was $36 dollars cheaper I felt like I was getting what I paid for. Of course, when the promotion runs out, you're screwed. These days, there is no negotiation with Charter on price.

Too Expensive

3.00 Stars

on February 13, 2018

Spectrum is too expensive for the services offered. They need more of an ala carte service so customers do not pay for services they never use.

No noticeable difference

3.00 Stars

on December 21, 2017

Switched from Tidewater-Lincolnville because Spectrum offered higher speed at a promo rate. I have not noticed much of a difference. Streaming YouTube still has the occasional buffering/delay. I shall most likely switch back to Tidewater after year promo expires just to have my prior phone bundle + internet package + local hometown customer service.

Expen$ive

2.00 Stars

on June 12, 2018

Rate keeps going up and service goes down. This evening my DVR box suddenly rebooted and when came back up lost most of my channels, lost my recording capability & shows I’d already recorded, lost the detailed guide. Sat on hold for service over an hour, no one ever answered. Internet is undependable and often get a “tech” when call that has no idea how to fix.

Only option in town... And they know it!

2.00 Stars

on February 01, 2017

Faster than DSL, but more available. More reliable than Dish, but more expensive. Generally works as it should but never lived up to the high speeds they advertise. When things go wrong (and it will), you are at their mercy because there's really no better option and no competition in our area.

Intentional Rip Off

2.00 Stars

on June 24, 2018

We’ve had the 150Mbps and 100Mbps plans. I test the speed regularly, and Spectrum delivers about 1/2 of the promised “up to” speeds. Sure, they don’t guarantee 100Mbps or whatever the number is. But getting consistently nowhere near those numbers.

Constant Drops

3.00 Stars

on December 30, 2017

Service drops often, often more than a dozen times a day. Speed is not even close to what I'm paying for, usually under 19 Mbps on a 100 Mbps plan.

Major headaches for ok cable/internet.

3.00 Stars

on February 23, 2018

When setting up service, everything had to be done twice as equipment orders, automated activation, and service dates and we're all lost in the system at multiple points. It took over two weeks and countless hours on the phone to fully establish service. When a job loss required us to reduce services, the staff we're unwilling to work with us in any way to retain us as customers even though we had been with then for over 10 years. Cable and internet are decent but the headaches of working with this company should make you think twice about using them.

Good, but expensive.

2.00 Stars

on March 04, 2017

The product & service is great, but for a social security recipient on a $650 monthly income, it is just too expensive.

Ok but expensive

3.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

Service is ok but when they have issues on their end they don't tell you. I spent a lot of time trouble shooting my equipment just to find out later (from the repair tech they sent out) that they had a problem and had to run a temporary cable across the road untill they fixed it permanently . It would be nice if the tech help (on phone) would just admit that there may be some interruptions due to repairs. That would save me a lot of wasted time troubleshooting.

Problems

1.00 Stars

on July 26, 2018

The speed goes up and down I can't remember when I had constant fast internet. I always have to unplug everything and wait then plug everything back in to get the speed up, I even bought a new modem and router had it programmed by spectrum then I had ok speed for a while and back to slow buffering speeds again I gave up after I talk with the last support tech and for $64.99 for internet only I'm getting the short end of the stick.

So many short outages, so overpriced

3.00 Stars

on July 22, 2018

Speed is ok for the most part, but every 3 to 4 nights there are micro outages. The worst part is for equivalent speed, they are the only choice.

Expensive

4.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

No trouble with internet service, just the cost of it. My plan jumped over time from $29.95 for Basic to a notice that next month it will be $59.99-$69.00, up from $44.95 presently paying. Spectrum since taking over is getting to expensive.

Good service becomes iffy?

4.00 Stars

on May 18, 2017

We've had Charter Spectrum internet service for a year and a half. It started out perfectly, including the installation. We bought our own router from Best Buy because we get an employee discount there. When our first year of service was up and the monthly price did the automatic price hike, I looked around for another provider since money was tight. In doing so I talked to Charter about looking for a different provider and they offered to keep me at the same original price of $39.99 for the rest of the second year of service. Awesome! And a financial and internet access relief! But after a few months the monthly bill was increased by $5. No explanation of why. Also, the internet service has become spotty - some things won't load, streaming options disappear, and occasionally the service cuts out completely for a little while. Now I don't know whether this is to blame on the service or the year-and-a-half-old router. I will have to call Charter to see if they can shed any light on these issues because they are annoying enough to make me tepid on the whole product.

Spectrum falls short on service, long on charges

2.00 Stars

on February 03, 2018

Our service has been horrible as we have constant wifi drops, we don't get even close to the speeds we are paying for, and for two years I've been rebooting my router or whole house DVR as my Xbox Live won't stay connected if I watch TV and vice versa. I had my own router and modem which Spectrum took out trying to convince me my equipment was the problem. It wasn't the problem and now I'm paying for equipment I never needed. To say I don't like this company would be an understatement as they have no integrity and don't care that the customers don't get the service that they are paying for. I came here to this site today researching other companies with good WiFi. I'm cutting the cord and shutting off the home phone and changing over to a streaming service like most of my friends and family are doing. People are getting educated and there are options now. When Spectrum continues to lose customers they have nobody to blame but themselves. It's a simple concept to treat customers well, give them what they are paying for, and at a fair and reasonable price!

I had them all, Spectrum is hands down the best!!!

5.00 Stars

on July 06, 2018

I started my service with Charter Spectrum, 6 months ago, I'd never had it before and was not used to the name and forgot my bill for some reason for 4 months, they NEVER once cut my service off and when I finally have seen my bill it was $120 for 4 months of service, my home runs 3 desktops, 3 Xbox ones, 3 Tablets, 4 phones, and 4 televisions usually streaming all at once of Hulu, Netflix and Youtube all at once and service has been EXCELLENT!!! I hope to NEVER have to change my service when we called customer service to say we apologize for forgetting the bill, they were AWESOME, and I have NEVER had that with any other provider, I'd of been shut off immediately, without hesitation!!! GO SPECTRUM>>> I LOVE YOU GUYS!!! Thanks for the awesome service and low price!!!

Terrible Internet Service for Gaming

2.00 Stars

on July 30, 2018

Although they promise 100 Mbps, the highest I am currently able to go to is 20 Mbps. My router/internet needs to be reset daily for it to even get to peak performance. I play video games a lot and the constant network disconnection is super frustrating after the few hours of peak performance I get are gone. I go through dozens of disconnections throughout my time of playing and all I can do is sit and wait for roughly 30 seconds for the connection to reestablish. Even after it disconnects for a few seconds I only have 5-15 minutes before it happens again, and it's completely random for when it happens so I usually end up being kicked off at a bad time (like when I'm about to win a game or finish something important). I probably just need an upgrade to a better package where the services will be the exact same, but with a higher price and more promises that can't be kept.

Overpriced and underserved.

2.00 Stars

on June 27, 2018

The cheap cable boxes require rebooting at least 3 times a month, and even then sometimes it takes an hr to resume service. Internet crashes and requires me rebooting my cable modem and wifi router 2 to 3 times. I expect continuous uninterrupted service for the $95 / mo. they are charging me.

Spectrum downloads 70 to 100 Mbps

Chris Koumoullos on December 29, 2017

My previous provider kept raising fees and would have me buy my own battery and a very old modem. Spectrum provided a new modern modem. The WiFi is very strong and covers my whole three family home with terrific signal - 40 Mbps. I have the same channels as I had before for 70 dollars less a month. I am so happy. Just do it. Switch to Spectrum.

Best bang for your buck in Point/Plover WI

4.00 Stars

on February 29, 2016

Stable internet service, sometimes I see speeds 15-30% faster than what I pay for.

Not getting 200Mbps as stated by Spectrum.

2.00 Stars

on August 04, 2018

Spectrum has told me time and time again that I am in an area that gets 200Mbps...not true! My test consistently gives me 95Mbps, not even getting 100!! 95 isn't bad, but I should not be paying the full price of $74 per month, it should be prorated based on the speed that I am actually getting.

Mediocore Internet Service

3.00 Stars

on April 09, 2016

The internet speeds that are advertised are seldom realized. The service seems stable most of the time but the bandwidth is most definitely lacking.

Pretty Good Service, too Expensive

3.00 Stars

on August 27, 2017

Service is pretty good. Service will intermittently drop completely requiring a reboot of the modem and router. Also, periodically will choke down to 5-10 Mbps and eventually recover or can be reset sometimes by a modem and router reboot. The speed is great but it costs too much and is not consistently reliable enough for my needs.

Absolutely the worst provider there is

1.00 Stars

on July 12, 2018

I absolutely hate the service provided. 98% of the time, I could not stay connected at all. When I was connected, any kind of streaming was choppy at best. Gaming was almost impossible due to getting disconnected all the time. Any time I called, they told me nothing was wrong with it on their end and were generally no help. I was basically paying $63 a month to have a box sit in my house and occasionally send out signals.

Very unreliable using smart tv

1.00 Stars

on January 03, 2018

Roku TV loses programs every night. Stops in the middle of programs to load, then does NOT re-start the program. Calling them for help is a total waste of time. Nobody answers the help phone numbers without a 5 + minute wait.

Great, if you can afford it.

4.00 Stars

on April 23, 2017

I only have the internet and the only time there were issues with the connection, they sent someone out within a few hours and got it fixed just fine. The one thing I really don't like about this service is the price. Once the 40 a month deal was up, it went up to 60, and now recently it's gone up to 65 and supposedly "service rates went up across the board"? At this point, I would actually be fine paying for lower speeds if it meant a cheaper bill. Unfortunately, this service is all that's available where I am.

Pros and Cons

5.00 Stars

on February 21, 2016

The good: High-speed service outages are rare, speeds are higher than competitors, the prices are fair, maintenance/repair technicians show up during scheduled times and call before arriving, the customer service reps (via phone) are courteous and helpful. The bad: Customers can no longer use their own modems on Charter's network (though there aren't modem leasing fees now), service calls are minimum $50, online support reps seem clueless.

The Best Broadband in Oregon

Michael T Douglas on November 06, 2017

This is what I get in Broadband Speed... $45 with Charter WiFi Router($5 extra for WiFi Router). 62 Mbps on WiFi, 67 Mbps on Ethernet. Downstairs - 50 Mbps and the router is upstairs. Awesome!

Expand Charter

Renee on November 01, 2016

I have Charter at my shop and I love it. To me, Charter is the only way to go. I love the speed of the net. My only problem with Charter is that their services aren't available at my home in Collettesville, NC 28611.

Charter Business Fiber

3.00 Stars

on April 28, 2015

We've had Charter Business Fiber for about a year and so far we've been pretty happy with the service. No outages in that time so haven't really had the opportunity to rate the customer service.

frequent timeouts during peak (business) hours

3.00 Stars

on May 12, 2016

I have frequent timeouts which disrupts my streaming music and also websites that require 5-sec refreshes (i.e. streaming stock charts). The music simply cuts out on our Sonos system for about 5-20 seconds and then comes back on. With respect to my web timeouts, during peak times this can happen up to 5-10 times per hour (happens on multiple computers, some of which are hard-wired, others are wireless), which is completely not acceptable. So i'm looking to move to a more reliable network provider...

Tech install was great

4.00 Stars

on September 18, 2018

I'm in the Inland Empire (Riverside) and the technician who fixes my wifi was great and went out of the way to fix more than just the wifi, gave us a new modem and activated the TV button of our remote. Thank you.

100mbps turned into 2800kbps

1.00 Stars

on September 17, 2018

I’m a nurse working from home and rely on the internet to do my job. I’m ethernet cabled up and can’t get anything done because the internet is so slow. On a good day, I have 56Mbps. Today I have 28Mbps. I’ve had Spectrum techs come out so many times it’s crazy. Horrible service! Try anywhere else first!

Slow and Unreliable

1.00 Stars

on September 16, 2018

Internet is advertised at "starting at 200 Mbps", yet I've never had speeds over 50Mbps. It often sits around 10 Mbps or less. Internet also goes out very frequently. I've tried contacting Spectrum and they've sent technicians out, but the service did not get any better. I absolutely would not recommend Spectrum to anyone. Pay more for better service somewhere else. You may be getting internet for a cheaper price here, but you get for what you pay for.

Unreliable and spotty service

1.00 Stars

on September 14, 2018

The only good thing I have to say about Charter is, no contract. Charter has not proven in a year that they are reliable with cable or internet. I work from home and rely on solid internet connections and it is very spotty with Charter. Customer service is awful on the phone. The techs that come to my home have all been great so I guess Charter has 1 more point there. But if Charter's product was reliable I would not need customer service and techs so often. Get it together Charter.

Decent speed but crap customer service

2.00 Stars

on September 14, 2018

So my speed and reliability has ranged from fine to good. My issue is how they setup their online pay system to try and milk late payment fees from customers. This is the only service that I have dealt with where it says it takes 30 days to set up auto pay. They also have their automated system wait to call you when your payment does not come on time until they can charge you a late fee.

WiFi Speeds finally working properly

3.00 Stars

on September 12, 2018

I have had Spectrum internet for years. I have always had issues with hitting the speeds I was paying for. For example, I have 100Mbps service but was only getting 10-15Mbps downloads over WiFi. Tech guy came out today and it took him 7 hours but finally fixed my issue. First time in years, I’m actually getting the speed I pay for. Current WiFi speed test resulted @ 115Mbps download. Let me repeat that it is wireless. Not hardwired into the modem. Spectrum customer service has always told me I will never get top speed over WiFi which is obviously false. Thank God for the tech that came out today!! Woohoo. The Internet is flying now!

Worst Provider!

1.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

We pay for 100Mbps and continuously get between 5-15Mbps. We call customer service EVERY month and they reset it on their end and it will go up to 85Mbps and as soon as we hang up the call it goes right back down to where it started. We had someone come out and redo the wiring and for 1 day it was at 50. For the past 3 days, it's been at 5Mbps. FIVE!!! Why do I pay for 100Mbps if I'm only getting 5? And now I'm on hold with customer service for the past 20 minutes. Again!

Spectrum

5.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

Wonderful. It’s the fastest. I love it. I have been using it for many years without problems. We're using it now. I use the new features and watch it on my cell, my laptop, as well as my TV. If it comes to our country and finds them, that would be a wonderful blessing. It’s like cars, you would rather drive a great running car than a slow beat up car. Check your speed numbers, we all should have an option to choose what we want. We are free to choose.

Slow intenet speeds

2.00 Stars

on September 11, 2018

Download speeds are horrible, I get 25 Mbps at best and as low as 4 or 5 at times.

Honestly, Stay Away from Spectrum

Wtf!!! on September 10, 2018

I have TV, Internet, and Phone bundled, and honestly, not one of them works. They advertise up to 100 Mbps and that should mean at least 50 - 70 Mbps because it should be high but all I get is about 18 - 19 Mbps. The Router and Modem have to be restarted daily for the internet to work. The TV connects to the internet for it to work but when trying to watch TV, you can't even open the guide because it will freeze up the TV and take about 5-10 minutes to load. When surfing through the guide it stutters a lot and freezes every time you press the up or down button. The phone can't even take incoming calls, I tried calling it from my cell phone but the home phone didn't even ring. I also tried calling my cell phone but the call wouldn't go through. So I ended up paying 120 dollars for my internet, phone, and TV to not work. I basically gave Spectrum money for free. Great marketing strategy Spectrum.

Good service bad prices

4.00 Stars

on September 10, 2018

Great internet but prices are outrageous once the initial 12-month offer ends.

Switched to Spectrum and get NO internet!

1.00 Stars

on September 08, 2018

Switched to Spectrum a week ago, paying for 100Mbps but that's not even close to what we get. It works if we reset the router and so far we've had to do that every single day - and even then we only get reliable wi-fi for a few minutes. If I want to actually get work done I have to use the LTE network. Incredibly frustrating and not worth the price. I'm furious.

Better than statellite, but pretty basic

3.00 Stars

on September 07, 2018

The changeover was painful at times. Customer service was awful but, in the past year+ they are getting a lot better. Reliability and Internet speeds are OK, but in rural Maine, I'm thankful to have an option that is not satellite. Also, once you are a customer, it's very hard to do anything except upgrade via self-service. Their website is only sell and up-sell oriented. Slightly cheaper than others.

Not that Bad.

4.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

We have had Spectrum for a little over a year and the service and customer satisfaction I feel and have is pretty good. We get the speed we pay for which is 100Mbps and even at peak hours, we still get speeds of 85 to 90. The TV is good, really can't complain there. For the service offered, I feel the company is trying its best to make me happy.

Great Service

1.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

Spoke with a customer service representative in Carrolton, very nice and very helpful.

Love-hate relationship with Spectrum

1.00 Stars

on September 04, 2018

I have a love-hate relationship with Spectrum. The speeds go up and down and sometimes never come back up. For the prices offered I believe this to be silly. You pay for internet that you don't get and that's just atrocious.

What's the point?

1.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Our internet speed is poor and there are constant interruptions. I had to call every evening for a week to get any kind of assistance. After 3 replacement modems still slow speed and interruptions. Poor service and customer care. Not worth the money. You have a better chance of drawing a flip book and watching a movie than getting through a movie based on their internet.

Lacks Infrastructure to Maintain Demand

3.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

When it works, it's good. The infrastructure (product and service quality) is not sufficient to maintain the number of customers and the demand on services. The internet has gone out every weekend for the past five weeks. The weekend is most likely when the internet is in peak demand. I believe it is not coincidental. Their equipment or entire system is faulty and apparently cannot meet the demands of customer use. I doubt it will change anytime soon. I would not recommend them.

Worst Internet ever!!!

2.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Charter Spectrum internet is so bad I can't even finish my school work online using their internet, I have to use my phone's hotspot. Unfortunately, we live in an area that only offers Spectrum. I can't wait to move back to an area with a better option.

Spectrum is poor and doesn't provide the service they charge for.

1.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

I am paying a bill to Spectrum of 200 dollars a month plus taxes. My phone is grainy at best, my TV stutters and blacks out routinely. My internet connection is supposed to be 100Mbps down 10Mbps up. 60% of that between 4 am and 7 am, then it drops. On a good day I get 4-5 down and 6 up. I have called Spectrum so many times I have lost count. I have had techs come out so many times I know them by name. Nothing fixes the problem. It has been horrible now for weeks. It's not my house, I have a new modem and a new router. The signal and down/up suck directly from the street as well. I actually walked my modem out to the street with my laptop...the speeds there were just as atrocious. I hate talking to tech support over the phone. If you can't get anything else, then I am sorry. If you have a choice, avoid at all cost.

REALLY BAD RELIABILITY, SPEED IS NOT AS ADVERTISED!

2.00 Stars

on September 02, 2018

An internet outage is pretty much guaranteed to occur EVERY DAY for me. From reading other reviews, other people have the same problem too. The Internet is really important for us and it going out random times every day is really frustrating! We bought the 80 Mbps plan and when the internet actually works, it gives us 30 Mbps. 30 Mbps speed is fine however it going out every day is unacceptable! This is the first time something like this is happening and happened ONLY when we switched to spectrum.

Way Too Expensive

2.00 Stars

on August 30, 2018

Spectrum's internet, TV, and the phone have been fine for the most part... but when it comes to the price... Ridiculous! I have a decent bundle including all three services that are coming to an end, but when I try to get a downgrade to simply cut the phone service(Seeing as how the new post-bundle price with all three is too much for me) the price gets even higher. Are you kidding me!? And even if I were to cut my service and try to shoot for another lower priced bundle I would be denied the service because I would have to wait for 30 days before signing up again. It isn't even stated on their website that those bundles (all of them) are only for new members. Thanks, Spectrum. And on top of that, I am literally stuck with this company because no one else offers their services here. It is complete crap and unacceptable. It's just 2 college level individuals in this household. How much do you really expect us to pay for some basic needs!? Yes, internet is a basic need nowadays especially for college courses online.

10 year summed up

1.00 Stars

on August 27, 2018

Very brief: A rip-off if you want the details: We pay for the best service available for our household. We also have it bundled with other services that are okay at best. However, over the years we've had nothing but constant internet struggles. Wireless devices disconnect pretty frequently even when in the same room as the router. For the 2 devices, we have hardwired the connection is stable but mediocre at best. It seems like every 2 weeks we have days where the internet refuses to work entirely. They come out and ix it in about 45 mins and leave. About half the time it works. Can't wait for others to get to Chapel hill!

No other option

1.00 Stars

on August 25, 2018

The price keeps going up, but the speed has gone down since Spectrum bought BrightHouse. We have to reboot our cable box several times a week, the phone and cable modem need rebooting almost weekly. We've had multiple service calls, but nothing changes. Every guy who comes out has a new idea and is going to 'fix things', but it never gets better. We pay for 100 Mbps and are lucky to get 30 - 50. Unfortunately, no other company provides internet service in our neighborhood or Spectrum would be history!

Good when it works

2.00 Stars

on August 21, 2018

We have high-speed internet, 100 Mbps. Every weekend our cable will go out and the internet is spotty. Our neighbors have the same issues. Past month our internet has not worked on any weekend. Customer service is barely adequate, at one point they could only get my internet to work if they reset from their end and was good for a few hours. They have sent many technicians and only to change boxes and splitters. One actually added an amplifier to boost the signal on a house that has one cable box and one modem. The wiring in the house is 2 years old, and have been told the wire on the street is really old, but will not get replaced due to how few homes are on the street. Way to go, guys. Spend 200 a month for internet and TV that only works during business hours.

Paying for 100 Mbps...

1.00 Stars

on August 17, 2018

I wanted the best and fastest internet Spectrum offered and I'm paying so much for 100M bps. Which is not really what they give you. My internet can be really great at times and really bad at times. SO INCONSISTENT. Why is it like this? No clue. Spectrum's best deal still has me lagging in games and I'm literally unable to play games. 100 Mbps is not really 100 Mbps. More like 5 Mbps. What do I do to get better internet? I play video games every day and this is causing me to stop playing because of my terrible internet.

Upload Speeds Poor

3.00 Stars

on August 16, 2018

If you use cloud services Charter Spectrum is not for you. I have been waiting for a cloud database to update for about 45 minutes while previously when I had fiber service, it was almost instantaneously since fiber is synchronous where both upload and download is the same. So, when Charter upped our download speed to 200Mbps, nothing happened to the upload speed, it is still tested just under 10Mbps. While the low speed is sufficient for streaming it is not for productive work and gaming.

THIS INTERNET IS TERRIBLE!

1.00 Stars

on August 15, 2018

I am a 15 year old kid so many of you will probably disregard everything I say from now on. But, I usually live in Massachusetts but in the summer we come up to York. I don't get to see my friends for most of the summer so I play games online with them. I can't even enjoy the games though because even with only two other people on the internet my ping and download + upload speeds spike through the roof so I can't even have an enjoyable experience with my friends throughout the whole summer. This really stinks and everytime we try to call spectrum they just remote check our router and say it's "working fine". If that's "working fine" then I can't even imagine what it's like when it's "working fine".

Internet service kicks out regularly causing problems.

3.00 Stars

on August 14, 2018

Once Spectrum went from 60 Mbps to 100 Mbps speeds, the internet and phone service has been spotty at best. I have people tell me they called and that the recorded message says the line is no longer in service. Many times my Roku says the wireless is working, but there is no internet. This has been happening since June 2017. I have called and talked to online reps. They have sent atleast 6 technicians to our home and the problem is still occurring. They either cannot fix the issue or do not know how to fix it. Because we live in a very small town we have our hands tied as far as internet speed. When it works it is good, but it doesn't work well at all. Very dissatisfied!

I am stuck with Spectrum

1.00 Stars

on August 01, 2018

My experience with Spectrum 35 minute hold time, the price goes up and service issues go up. Average internet speed is 17 Mbps or less some days cannot get on the internet at all. They're my only provider so I am stuck with them, live in Florida so the dish is out as is streaming, need reliable internet to stream. New customer pays half of what I do for the same services.

Good just for internet!!!!

3.00 Stars

on July 30, 2018

I have internet for 50$ a month. It's fast, reliable, and it's simple. But if you live with more than 3 people, it's garbage, and you have to get faster internet. The customer service is so annoying You tell them you're not interested, but they keep talking, saying it's free for 7 days. I simply wouldn't get Spectrum just because of this fact. Constant spam mail and spam calls.

Good service for the $$

5.00 Stars

on July 29, 2018

Customer service: Good, had a tech who was late for the install, Charter advertises on time or $20 credit.. which they gave me- without much hassle. Reliability: Fairly decent, although they are doing some upgrades around here to get ready for the 1 Gb / 940 Mb service. It usually is working without much issue. Any outages are usually due to the upgrades. The CEO said that they were going for 1 Gig for most areas this year, with a free upgrade to 200 Mbps for those on the 100 Mbps service. Speed: Signed up when it was 60 Mbps, they upgraded it for FREE to 100 Mbps... cannot complain about that. :) Overall Value: for the price, not bad, have 100 Mbps for $39.99 per month.

Wonderful Business

4.00 Stars

on July 26, 2018

I must first say, when I first applied with the 3 package deal, I was not too satisfied with the bill. But after speaking with Spectrum on maybe 2 different occasions, they now have a satisfied customer. The package deal is at a reasonable price, not all the time will the app work but it's an app - so I'm satisfied and great service is provided whenever I call. My internet speed is a little slow, but no complaints because my bill is a little low. You get what you pay for, so I say great service!

Great Experience All Around

5.00 Stars

on July 26, 2018

Fast service at their store, great customer support, fast installation and ridiculously fast internet connection! A really good deal for the money! One of the highlights is a 30-day money-back guarantee, absolutely no charges! Had to call customer service 3 times and every time it was a very quick and easy experience. Didn't have to be on hold for hours like some other companies! Every time got connected right away and the representatives very extremely polite and knowledgeable. Haven't had this level of experience with some other companies.

Are We Being Throttled?

2.00 Stars

on July 22, 2018

For the past 2 months, I have experienced nothing but horrible quality internet. Before that, my internet would go out occasionally, but it was overall pretty good, and I chalked up disturbances to my being out in the country where signals are not that great. But for the past 2 months, I have noticed a DRAMATIC decrease in the quality of our internet. Here is what I have noticed: - Youtube has suffered the most. The videos constantly desync, fail to load or load slowly. I can no longer watch youtube on my phone because it immediately desyncs. (I did not have a problem with this before.) - My internet will go out for several minutes for 5-10 times per day. Some days, it will go out every ten minutes for about a minute. I am beginning to wonder if my service is being throttled just because I'm a little late paying it. I ALWAYS pay for it, but sometimes I'm a little late. That, or it's that whole net neutrality thing. For whatever reason, my internet is at the worst it has ever been. I am considering looking into other internet options.

Terrible *Spectrum

1.00 Stars

on July 20, 2018

Upload speed of 6.7 download speed of 7.1 via Spectrum's own speed test. Reliability/consistency of connection is almost nonexistent. 100 Mbps my foot. During a period of less than stellar reliability I actually got a .1 up and .5 down. This is just completely unacceptable.

Too expensive!

3.00 Stars

on July 11, 2018

They raised our rates for 300 Mbps internet ONLY from $169 to $189 per month. We rarely have downtime, but that is just too much money for internet only.

Poor internet

2.00 Stars

on July 06, 2018

Our internet is spotty at best. We cannot stream Netflix on our tv. The signal says it’s strong and it should be with the router right next to it. I’ve bought a new router and still doesn’t work. My other devices sometimes work. We use our mobile hotspot for internet and it’s way more reliable. Spectrum is not willing to figure out the problem. My guess is they either throttle the service or the modem is bad. But they claim the modem is fine. Definitely won’t be staying with them. It costs way too much for the little service we get.

Better than others but not by much

2.00 Stars

on July 02, 2018

The internet is always down! I have had Spectrum for a little over a year and I have spent more time calling customer service or tech support, trying to get up and running. When I do have internet it is great, but it is very rare I am running 100%. I don't even know what I am paying for, it must be for all of the "outages".

Wi-Fi is awful

1.00 Stars

on July 01, 2018

When plugged in directly I don't have any problems, But trying to do anything on wifi is terrible. Cant even open google half the time. when I do speed tests I get on avg 3 downloads and .2 upload. Called to see if they had different modems that do better wifi and the rep told me wifi is not guaranteed to work ever and be happy it works at all. Nothing they can do. They only support direct connections even though they sell wifi.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

Charter Spectrum Reviews FAQ

Charter Spectrum Internet reviews are gathered on BroadbandNow from current Spectrum Internet customers. Reviews are subjected to a vetting process to ensure that we only show reviews that include useful input from current, IP-verified Spectrum customers.

How We Verify Spectrum Internet Reviews

Spectrum Internet and cable TV reviews shown here are confirmed using IP-verification. What this means is, the IP address of the visitor submitting a review must match IPs known to originate from Spectrum service. IP addresses are assigned to residential customers dynamically by Internet providers, making it relatively straightforward to determine which provider a given visitor is using.

In addition to collecting reviews from visitors on this page using the “submit review” button above, we also randomly select visitors from Spectrum Internet IP addresses and request that they review Spectrum while they are visiting other parts of the BroadbandNow website.

Time Warner Cable Reviews

As of 2016, Time Warner Cable (TMC) has merged with Charter Communications. All areas that used to have TMC Internet now are “Charter Spectrum” Internet service areas.

Reviews shown here have mostly been collected since 2016. Reviews collected for Time Warner Cable have been removed since while the network is the same, Spectrum’s pricing and customer service is completely different.

That said, customers will still see the name “Time Warner Cable” on their bills in some areas, or even pay their bill online through Time Warner Cable websites. This is expected to be phased out by the end of 2019.

How we Evaluate Charter Spectrum Reviews

We look for three qualities in reviews submitted for Charter Spectrum (and all ISPs): to put it simply, reviews must be helpful, relevant, and specific. The vast majority of the reviews we receive are from customers who are confused about which service they have, or who want to submit an extremely high or low rating with no reasoning.

With both positive and negative Charter Spectrum reviews, we look for those that describe the service fairly and back up any criticisms or praise with specific examples from their customer experience with Spectrum.

Where Can I Find Spectrum Cable TV Reviews?

Spectrum is currently promoting their cable TV service aggressively, and they are one of the top cable TV subscription programs in the US in terms of number of subscriber count.

In our experience, customers who submit Spectrum Internet reviews tend to be focused on the Internet-only service, which is a popular service option for younger users and “cord cutters.”

Charter Reviews about Slow Internet Service

In our experience, many customers can resolve the issues with their Spectrum service by simply resetting the router, or upgrading to a newer router if they are using an old third-party model. Before assuming your Internet connection is faulty and leaving a negative review, please ensure that you’ve checked for basic, common home networking issues.

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Microbrand Media LLC