AT&T Internet Customer Reviews

Read customer reviews and ratings of AT&T Internet's service. To see if broadband Internet from AT&T Internet is available in your area enter your zip code below.

Setup AT&T Internet Service

AT&T Internet

1.88 Stars  1489 Reviews
1.88 out of 5 stars

5 Star
2.4%
4 Star
3.6%
3 Star
14.8%
2 Star
37.7%
1 Star
41.5%

Leave a Review For AT&T Internet

Are you a current or former AT&T Internet customer? Share your experience to help other users.

AT&T is unreliable on all services they offer.

1.00 Stars

on August 12, 2015

I have been an AT&T customer for many years. I now own a business in town offering free WiFi. The service is intermittent and speeds are not as advertised. My WiFi router loses internet connection frequently which takes my entire network down, my computer, the WiFi service, the camera system, along with my credit card system. Puts my business at a stand still until I can reset it, if I'm there. The cell phone service has declined drastically over the past year. None of my customers or employees get cell phone service while visiting my establishment. When I call customer service, they say they have "a ticket on it" and it never gets resolved. It seems to just get worse. My customers have to go outside and out on the sidewalk or street to get service on their phone. Needless to say, I am very dissatisfied with AT&T.

Absolute Disappointment

1.00 Stars

on May 30, 2017

AT&T should be embarrassed by the service they provide in Columbus, OH! Starting with the installation process: the electrician sent to my home set up the connection in the worst room possible, the back bedroom, after complaining telling him I wanted the modem to be setup in a more centralized area of my house, he simply said he can't do that. So, not only must all my primary devices sit around 2-3 bars of connectivity because the modem is literally in the farthest corner of my house, but I also get the satisfaction of several green blinking lights staring at me while I sleep at night. After the installation issue comes the connection speed issue. I told the operator over the phone I wanted the fastest speed available... the fastest speed I was set up with is 18 Mbps. That would be sufficient, if it was reliable, but realistically we're talking 10 Mbps on a good day, and frequently suffering as low as 2-5 Mbps on a normal day. The internet here is so slow, I've actually disconnected my smart phones and iPad from the home network because I was unable to watch even Netflix on my TV without literally pausing every minute to buffer. Worst of all, I'm not even the only person living in this home, I have to fight for internet access with my girlfriend. If I want to do some online banking or research, then she can't watch Netflix. If she wants to play an online game (and lose repeatedly from lag), I can't watch YouTube or even surf the web. After I make my final payment next month, I'm cancelling service and switching to another provider to try a better service. I like AT&T as a company and I hope they get their act together, but this service they've provided has been a bad joke at my expense and I cannot afford to waste my money on them.

AT&T

1.00 Stars

on February 17, 2018

Slow speeds, unreliable, poor customer service, the only reason I have them is because they have zero competition in my area unless I get satellite internet which lags when gaming and has a data cap.

Does not live up to promise

1.00 Stars

on December 25, 2017

AT&T promised high speed internet at a low price, after sign up it informed us that high speed is not available in our area. The signal constantly drops and reception is fair on a good day. Modem is so weak had to buy a booster to use ROKU. Bottom line, if all you do is check your email and you only have one device, it is ok, though be aware the price goes up every year.

AT&T No-Verse

1.00 Stars

on November 28, 2017

AT&T has grossly oversold the U-Verse product and is unable or unwilling to commit to their contract and agreement. The only thing worse than the product is the customer service. More than a dozen service calls and no improvement or resolution to the outages which occur several time a day at Keys Gate.

Never ending broken internet connections with page recovery required.

2.00 Stars

on May 23, 2017

For years, I have had successful DSL performance from DSL Extreme provided by AT&T. Upgraded last year for fiber service, but the router/modem was an ancient technology and provided slow and unreliable WiFi, so I terminated this service and downgraded to the previous DSL service. Lousy performance due to constant internet broken connections requiring never ending "Restore Page" delays. I guess AT&T is punishing me for cancelling their fiber service. Landline phone service is fine and the only thing I will ever use from AT&T in the future.

Below Average

1.00 Stars

on July 13, 2016

Told me I was going to get 28mbps download speed and all I am getting is 11-12 Mbps on a good day. Customer Service is no help. I had my modem replaced twice already and still same problem, low download Mbps (as little as 3.2 Mbps).

Not happy.

2.00 Stars

on October 25, 2017

Their customer service is bad. The telephone centers seem to be in India even when you call during the day. They have not given me one correct bill since I got into this two-year contract. The people on the phone often have no authority to be of any assistance with billing matters, and there are no supervisors available. The tech help for the frequent interruptions is ok. But if they can get you back on from the office, why did the thing go off in the first place. In one year, I have gotten three modems which they do not carry in the store down the road. I'm fed up!

Unreliable service

3.00 Stars

on March 17, 2018

Fast speeds, but consistently unreliable service over the past 2 years. I upgraded to the business grade when told it would improve consistency. It did not. Only increased our price.

Only option.

2.00 Stars

on February 24, 2018

I have been an AT&T customer for over 5 years and I can only say one this; Compared to other providers their speeds are slow, their plans are restrictive or non-existent, the fact they have a data cap shows they are punishing their users for using streaming services, and their customer service is disgusting. The only reason anyone is my area stays with them is that their are no other viable options exception Satellite, which is the only other provider with a more stringent data cap.

Small Businesses

3.00 Stars

on June 04, 2015

We're a small office of 10 employees, 6 of which use remote desktop. We're experiencing significant data loss. The speeds look amazing using speedtest.net, but the packet loss and signal consistency is poor.

Slow and WiFi very weak

2.00 Stars

on January 28, 2018

Too slow. I cannot watch videos without skips and cannot download videos from Netflix at all.

Expensive, poor service, empty promises

2.00 Stars

on February 15, 2018

Very limited infrastructure with slow speed when working and failure whenever there is a sustained rain. I’ve been waiting literally decades for AT&T to upgrade their capability, but finally I gave up on them and am ending service contract.

Review

2.00 Stars

on March 12, 2016

Speed: slow Customer service: average Reliability: average Value: expensive

AT&T doesn't always work

1.00 Stars

on November 16, 2017

When it rains, we have no internet. And we are a business. This has happened about 12 times for us. AT&T refuses to fix the problem at the connection.

Bare minimum

1.00 Stars

on January 22, 2018

They say the maximum speed is 3.0 Mbps. It's typically much slower than this, down below 1.5 Mbps. This is too slow to stream anything without continually stopping to load.

Sometimes

3.00 Stars

on January 05, 2018

We have AT&T DSL and sometimes we don't get a connection and most of the time we have a hard time getting the connection. The internet skips and cuts on and off and you can't get a consistent connection from it. It makes everything really frustrating and I've been on the phone many times about this problem. I have to unplug the modem and plug it back in. I have to do this a lot.

Impressed

5.00 Stars

on January 12, 2018

The service has been reliably fast and smooth. My only complaint is that the internet isn't unlimited, unless you choose the package to have TV service which is not desired for myself.

Good customer service but so slow.

3.00 Stars

on November 28, 2017

Can't stream videos without them freezing up every few seconds. Sometimes have to go get a snack just while waiting to open an email. We live at the edge of a service area or something. I sure miss having clear internet - wish there was real choice here!

Consistency is a problem

2.00 Stars

on October 27, 2015

Customer service is just ok. I can't think of a single major ISP that actually has great customer service and anything is better than Comcast. The biggest problem with AT&T is consistent speeds. You pay for the 18 Mbps connection but during peak times you usually get 4 Mbps or less. This is problematic when you are streaming TV and your signal cuts out because everyone else is doing the same thing. Streaming television is the future and ISP companies, although they are equipped to handle it, love to strangle only the highest paying customers.

Helpful

3.00 Stars

on August 11, 2017

Speed works well for my needs but down times over 12 hours = 3 this year.

Latency is awful

4.00 Stars

on May 31, 2016

Upload and download speeds are as advertised, but the latency in the ping is awful. Plus you're tethered to their POS router and cannot use your own equipment unless you bury it behind their router.

AT&T's Wireless Hot Spot Box is Expensive!!!

4.00 Stars

on August 10, 2018

We live in a semi-rural area and our only option for internet was AT&T's wireless 'hotspot' box. We opted for the 50GB a month plan as we were told it would be more than we would ever need. The first month we blew through the 50 GB in two weeks. The second month we did not stream anything and the 50 GB lasted three weeks. Our monthly bill should be $70.00 a month but is $125.00. BTW, it is only my wife and me in the house. We do not play games and only occasionally stream a movie...maybe a few hours a week. We do use the internet and email regularly. Unless you only use the internet for emergencies and occasional internet searches and such beware. This is not a viable product for today's lifestyle...unless you are one of those rich and famous lifestyle types.

Picture Perfect - with an install glitch

4.00 Stars

on September 21, 2017

Never lost internet during Irma in Jacksonville, FL. We weren't hit like others further south and on the coast but many friends without a connection while we were up. Getting 125Mbps for $60 per month. Can go to 900Mbps for $80. May need to because we may pass 1TB accumulated per month at which point we have to go to $80. Nearly the first quarter mile from our house is a single fiber. That helps with speed and reliability. Our AT&T gateway does the wireless and on the other side of the house, my Nexus 6P phone can do 125Mbps - checking against speedtest.net (ookla). That is a vast improvement over my old service connection.

AT&T WiFi

1.00 Stars

on January 15, 2018

You never know when the WiFi will work. It comes and goes. We call. They eventually come. It works better for a day or two. I have NETFLIX and most of the time it buffers and buffers. It's not easy to watch a complete program. But at this time, AT&T seems to be the best we've got in our rural area.

Internet speeds slow down

2.00 Stars

on January 08, 2018

Internet speed tends to slow down at times causing buffering while viewing movies on Netflix.

Gigabit Fiber Not Delivering

3.00 Stars

on January 09, 2018

I was extremely excited signing up for AT&T's GB fiber Internet service. I'm an architect level IT engineer at a highly recognizable corporation - so I'm like a kid with a new toy when it comes to bigger band. Problem is AT&T advertises Gig speeds, but doesn't deliver. At peak use time 8-11 PM nightly, I'm getting between 220-280 Mbps download. Outside the heavy use times I get 350-425 Mbps and on rare occasions I'm seeing 500-650 Mbps download during the lowest traffic point of the daily/weekly sinusoidal usage pattern. Upload speeds are consistently pushing 900+ no matter what time of day it is. AT&T uses what's called "Passive Optical" fiber technology - they call it GPON (Gigabit Passive Optical Network). Although there is a single individual link coming to my house, my bandwidth is still shared with other users and is subject to a bottleneck effect, limiting speeds, during peak traffic times. These connections are all full duplex. This is why you see expected performance during upload (where there is little shared traffic) and not download (where there is heavy shared traffic). I did raise this issue to AT&T and they did send a technician out - on a Sunday mid morning no less. I was impressed by that, but what I wasn't impressed with was the technician seeing a speed test come back from Ookla at 500 Mbps (probably at the most off-peak usage time of the week) and look at me and say "Hey man, looks good to me" and then give me a dozen reasons why speeds can get nerfed on my side of the demarcation point. Come on... If I'm uploading at 1.02 Gbps then the issue isn't janky hardware and wiring on my side. The capability is displayed. AT&T you need to own the fact that your Gig fiber drops below 300 Mbps during peak hours. If your infrastructure isn't scaling well enough to address growth - that's an issue. I can't quibble if I'm still getting 400-500 Mbps download during peak, but that's the best I'm getting at off peak. Throttling customers who want (and pay for) the Cadillac down to a Hyundai is bad business. You can't market at one position and deliver at another.

Shorty service. Horribly slow DSL

1.00 Stars

on March 05, 2018

With time it gets worse and worse with AT&T. There are no other options available and they take advantage of that. I can hardly stream Netflix. I have constant interruptions in service. Not reliable at all. God forbid your computer needs to update. Then you are pretty much screwed for a while because then they funnel down your speed, even more, making it unusable. The service is very bad. Now I also have DirecTV. At&t now owns them. I have been told I cannot get HD because it comes from a different satellite. I am being told the satellite SD channels come off of is going to be obsolete in a year and I won’t be able to have satellite tv. I can barely stream a movie now. Unless major upgrades are made in my area, I will not have anything. AT&T does not care.

Could be faster and more reliable

2.00 Stars

on June 14, 2017

Frequent service interruptions makes it necessary to call AT&T for assistance. When I am successful in getting someone to help, they are usually knowledgeable and helpful. Their fee structure is hard to understand, and seems quite expensive.

##1## The internet speed is not good

Alan Laws on December 13, 2017

While our service does stay on most of time, it is as slow as dial up used to be. Trying to stream video is hard on AT&T's best day. The show is always breaking up because of slow internet. If you have another choice for internet take it. I would but we have no other option for now.

AT&T DSL

1.00 Stars

on December 19, 2017

AT&T DSL is unreliable. It's OK much of the time but slows to a crawl every afternoon/evening.

Not bad, but Internet speeds slow with multiple users

2.00 Stars

on April 16, 2017

I like the Uverse TV interface and enjoy the TV programming. The phone has never given me problems, but the main issue I've had is with internet speeds. I've upgraded to the highest speeds, they've changed out all of my equipment, but I continue to have very poor performance. Part of the reason I am told is that the TVs when on or recording takes about half of the internet speed away. That means 45 Mbps turns into 25 Mbps and with all of the various devices, we connect it is not fast enough.

AT&T Uverse is Expensive and Provides Subpar Service!

2.00 Stars

on August 20, 2016

I have had AT&T Uverse since November 2008. If I had any option other than Comcast, I'd drop AT&T just as my TV service goes off any time there's a thunderstorm in Miami which, in the summer, is pretty much every afternoon. If my electricity takes a hit for a millisecond, I lose my TV, have to go through an arduous and lengthy process to restore it, and lose portions of anything being recorded during that time. I spend more time talking to AT&T U-verse technical support on the phone than I spend talking to friends and family. I've had months of problems with my DVR service and have had 5 technicians out to my house to fix the problems and replace faulty equipment. I'm a retiree living on a fixed income. Each time I call customer service to reduce my bill, I'm always assured I'm getting a fabulous deal with lots of discounts. However, the bill always seems to remain the same or slightly higher. In order to get most of the decent channels, not even including the premium channels it'll cost you dearly. Everything appears to be optional unless you're willing to pay $63 or more. With the internet and TV that comes to a minimum of $113 a month. Then, there's the additional $10 charge for receivers for more than one TV, surcharges for accessing the channels, governmental taxes and charges, and those little hidden gems whose purpose I cannot fathom. My bill runs approximately $170+ every month. I'm glad I'm moving out of Miami soon. Perhaps I can get something more inclusive at a better price.

Good value and priced just right

4.00 Stars

on August 30, 2018

I use the internet along with my Roku TV and 2 smartphones. My service is great and streaming is very good.

Slow glitchy internet

3.00 Stars

on July 14, 2018

At first, the service is great but it starts to slow down and become very glitchy. You get to a point where you don’t want to keep calling and complaining I pay my 184 and change each month I just want my cable to work normal 95% of the time and I would like the internet to stay as fast as it was when I signed up. I don’t mind paying a little more to have better internet but they (customer service) said I already have the best they offer.

Communications Company Fails to Communicate

2.00 Stars

on July 27, 2018

AT&T service is reliable, quick enough for most customers, and is a fair value. However, AT&T Customer Service is sadly lacking. Their automated system is not customer friendly. You get shifted from one department to another, and quite often your call does not connect and you are looped back to the beginning of the cycle. It should not take hours to deal with a simple issue, yet that is the norm when dealing with At&T Customer Service.

29420 Zip=Lousy service!

2.00 Stars

on January 14, 2018

I've used AT&T service for years, but since I've moved to the 29420 zip code, I have the lousiest service ever even though I'm paying the most I've ever paid for "higher" speed. Continuously get bumped off the network, and if there is more than one device in the household using the network, all bets are off. It's really getting frustrating.

Not for gamers

4.00 Stars

on October 26, 2015

It's ok for browsing but laggy for gaming.

AT&T DSL

2.00 Stars

on August 26, 2017

I have had DSL from AT&T for many years in Rancho Santa Fe, Ca. I pay $54 per month for a very slow service. I have to replace their router every three years. The only positives are that it is reliable and customer service tries hard. If there was some competition I would use another server.

AT&T Internet is good, but I wish there was a fast WiFi community broadband too.

4.00 Stars

on March 23, 2018

Good experience. Installation was hassle free and install guy was great. There has been no down time, so it's very reliable. The problem is their lack of speed. 13 Mbps down and 2 Mbps up; that's it. The throttle on the upload is what makes this kind of frustrating. I work with high resolution images so it's a pain for me. Otherwise, if it were symmetric up and down it'd be pretty good for what I'm paying. I wish there was a community broadband wireless option in Jacksonville.

1990s Speeds, 2018 Prices, Unreliable For Working From Home

1.00 Stars

on September 06, 2018

My community only has one ISP, ATT U-Verse, and it's slow. The highest speeds they offer are 18Mbps down, but I hardly ever come close to that. Reboot the modem most days to try and speed it up. Apparently, it's old DSL infrastructure and I'm sure upgrading it would hurt some compensation packages so it's going to stay terrible for the foreseeable future.

Basic DSL is my only option here.

2.00 Stars

on September 06, 2018

AT&T internet service in this rural area is poor. Extremely slow speeds interrupted frequently by ‘no service.’ AT&T cell phones have poor-to-no signal. Customer service reps are cheerful but helpless. Service techs that come to my home conclude that this is normal for my area. Basic DSL is the only option available here. Terrible!

Terrible service.

1.00 Stars

on September 03, 2018

Internet service is in and out all day long. More times unavailable than available. Service techs have been out numerous times, but never solve the issues.

Constant interruption

2.00 Stars

on August 27, 2018

Ever since we have moved, we have had internet interruptions. Our service cuts out at least 2 times a day and as much as 8 times a day. We can be watching a movie and it will say "No wifi connection" and "Please wait". We have called several times and they have sent out several different workers who have changed out everything inside and some outside but they still haven't found the problem. This has been going on for more than 6 months. I do not recommend AT&T.

Worst Reliability

2.00 Stars

on August 19, 2018

I relocated to my area at the end of June and as of the middle of August I’ve had to call AT&T twice due to the internet being down. Unfortunately, my apartment complex has a contract with them and you don’t have a choice for service. Don’t choose the fiber optic service. Definitely not reliable. I am home-based for my job and need reliable internet service. Will have to see what other package options are available. It’s fast but goes down a lot it seems.

Okay results, not the best customer service.

2.00 Stars

on July 20, 2018

I've had to have two modems since being here, 2016. I downsized my plan, hoping to eliminate TV completely, but was told I would pay more if I got rid of it. So I have BASIC TV and internet service. I am moving and was told to either pay a $199 install fee, mind you I've been a customer for over two years now or move to a higher TV plan paying $15+ more a month. Neither of which I agree with, and it's sad that my alternative company, isn't any better.

Gig speeds!

5.00 Stars

on July 13, 2018

Switched to AT&T fiber so much better. When att fiber was available, I ordered and never been happier. I got Gig speeds for $80/mo. The gateway provided from AT&T was adequate for home user, but I use my own security gateway and access points. The provided gateway of bgw210 would get wifi speeds of 300-400 range and 900 on ethernet. My 3rd party access point would get wifi speeds in the 300-500 range, probably more if I had something that can handle the faster wifi.

Great

5.00 Stars

on June 27, 2018

Very nice service and welcoming employees.

Great internet speeds but horrible tech response!

2.00 Stars

on June 17, 2018

I had AT&T Fiber installed in my home and was actually impressed with the speed. Everything seemed great until recently. I had an issue which required a tech to come out and troubleshoot and was told it would take 5 days for him/her to arrive. Really! 5 days! I depend heavily on internet as I work from home and was sold on fiber due to its reliability and speed. I expressed my feelings to AT&T and was told there was nothing they can do.

Slow-w-w-w-w-w.....

2.00 Stars

on June 17, 2018

The fastest speed AT&T has in this area is 3.7Mbps when it's working correctly but it's not uncommon for the speed to drop to 1Mbps or come to a complete stop for short intervals. Outages are common and it usually takes around 5 days to get a repair technician to come out to fix the problems. If you call AT&T about a problem you will be holding the phone for an average of 1 1/2 hours before you can speak to an actual human being.

My review

4.00 Stars

on June 02, 2018

I had switched over 2.5 years ago. AT&T is cheaper and I can think of only one time when it went down. It's pretty fast but sometimes when 4 people are using it, then it can slow down.

Dependable

4.00 Stars

on March 12, 2018

Although I've often had to call to have them correct my bill because added charges would show up with no explanation, I have been able to keep them to their promises and I have found their service dependable.

Not worth it

2.00 Stars

on March 09, 2018

Unreliable signal.. streaming freezes.. limited data.

Expensive

4.00 Stars

on March 03, 2018

Internet service is very good but if your a long standing customer don’t expect customer loyalty. Both my sons just ordered service with AT& , the 50 Mbps for $40/month. I have been with AT&T since 2008 and they are charging me $80/month for the exact same service. I am currently getting bids from other providers.

Poor internet speed

2.00 Stars

on February 04, 2018

Their service only provides us with 5 Mbps download speed. They said with their current technology that is available on our street, that is all they can supply. They said they have no idea when it will be upgraded. Our neighbor only gets 1 Mbps down and he is told the same message, very unhappy.

Bad AT&T internet

2.00 Stars

on January 19, 2018

Because of where I am located at AT&T says this is as good as it gets. It takes 4 hours or so to download a movie, my phone works very very slowly and it even takes a few minutes to delete something off the TV.

Too Slow For Anything

2.00 Stars

on January 15, 2018

I pay for the most expensive, highest speed packs and yet I get stalled streaming at least a dozen times a day. The equipment is old and does not reflect current technologies that are available. I added a high-speed extender and the installed WAP device can't keep up, making the Internet even slower. Poor value for what I am paying for. Customer Service is very good though.

Best ISP In North Olmsted!

5.00 Stars

on January 14, 2018

AT&T Fiber has never gone down or slowed down since the day of installation. Extremely happy customer!

Internet service has been rock solid.

4.00 Stars

on January 10, 2018

Internet has been quite reliable, and it's easy to contact customer service via a chat portal.

Constant WiFi Adapter Resetting

2.00 Stars

on January 07, 2018

Slow speed, then shuts down. Have to repeated reset. I cannot use my VPN. Amazon Prime gives notifications about not having enough bandwidth. Added 2 security cameras, now the service is worse than ever. I have 4 more cameras to install, but the DSL won't handle them. Sadly, I'm an AT&T stockholder!

Inconsistent internet service - terrible customer service

Don Hite on December 23, 2017

We have had AT&T internet for years. We've had periods of good service, and periods of bad service. For the past month, our service has been switching on and off every few minutes constantly. We've had two technicians come out and each claims to know the answer to our problems, but neither has been able to make a difference. When we call the customer service number to report a problem, we end up waiting up to an hour to speak to a person. When we get a person, they ask us to do all sorts of diagnostics for them. We tell them we are not technicians and we're not equipped to troubleshoot the problems. After up to an hour on the phone with customer service, they finally schedule a technician. We've lost confidence in them and are now looking for another internet provider.

Not much choice

2.00 Stars

on November 24, 2017

The service is slow, undependable, subject to outages and very expensive.

Extremely reliable, fast and consistent speeds, really great price if you bundle with other AT&T servicers

Sean Placker on November 08, 2017

I've had AT&T internet for over a year now. My service is not fiber to the home but VDSL2. Thankfully I live quite close to the VRAD in my area so I qualify for the fastest speed they offer on VDSL2 which is 100 Mbps download 20 Mbps upload. The price is only $50 dollars a month and guaranteed for the next 2 years. Best of all I get completely unlimited data because we bundled DirecTV together on the same bill. In the entire time I've had AT&T I have had only 2 issues. Both times AT&T had a tech out at my house early the next morning to fix the issues. Other than that I have had zero outages and the service is extremely consistent. If you live somewhere in Hot Springs / Garland County where AT&T offers service and your address is close enough to the node in your area to get their higher speeds ( you can check on AT&T's websites what speeds you can get) I highly recommend it,

Cheap for a reason

3.00 Stars

on November 01, 2017

Very bad for gaming ,service frequently goes out for a few seconds at a time couple times per hour. Some days service will go out for hours at a time and support staff blames it on your devices like you’re an idiot.

Slow internet service

2.00 Stars

on October 29, 2017

AT&T U-Verse, in DeRidder, is very slow and unreliable. Watching a movie can be a challenge. At times, you can watch a complete movie without interruption. At other times, there are constant "reloads." Aggravating that a provider is allowed such broad coverage within a community without an apparent sense of urgency to improve its product.

Good quality service

5.00 Stars

on October 12, 2017

I have no complaints, We have had good service for quite a while now. The price is right!

AT&T Internet + DirectTV = great!

5.00 Stars

on October 06, 2017

Initial and ongoing customer service has been excellent. Internet is reliable and fast enough (no fiber in my area yet). Love the DirectTV features/capabilities, very intuitive too. Value for the price much better than others. While a variety of "music" is selectable on TV, I do miss the opportunity to specifically select individual, local radio stations (via TV). Otherwise, all good. Call me grateful.

This service stinks on ice

1.00 Stars

on August 24, 2017

ATT has replaced modem 4 times, run new cable, and rewired everything outside the house. Service still blinks on and off all day and all night long after 5-6 technicians and years with this company.

Read "Review"

3.00 Stars

on August 22, 2017

Cons - Terrible speeds (Upload and Download), Can be inconsistent (mostly during the wee hours 1am-7am) Pros - Great price. Great customer service, no Data caps

Would not recommend.

2.00 Stars

on August 18, 2017

Speed is abysmal (less than 5% of the max advertised for this plan) and service unreliable. Frequently unavailable. Customer service has been decent.

Unreliable

1.00 Stars

on August 06, 2017

I paid for service of 18Mbps and though I did typically receive more around 22-25, I would also have the service drop to a drizzle of just 3Mbps. This is not acceptable for streaming TV, working from home, nor gaming in any capacity. Also in the 3 years that we have had service with AT&T we have gone through 4 or 5 of their modems, and 3 DVRs. We dropped the cable/DVR service 2 years ago if that helps tell you anything.

Speed too slow

2.00 Stars

on June 21, 2017

Our service is minimal at best due to the distance from AT&T. If AT&T would upgrade the equipment in our area, our service would improve. At this point, in order to stay connected to the service, we have to take the slowest service, which won't even keep a Fitbit connected. Sure would like to see them make the improvements.

Long Time AT&T Customer

3.00 Stars

on May 27, 2017

My DSL Broadband connection is great. Fast, reliable, never had an outage. If wired internet is all that I was reviewing I'd give AT&T 5 stars in every category. So if all you want is broadband I'd highly recommend them. My problem with them and where I lose them in the ratings is Wireless coverage. I set up my U-verse modem to broadcast to my TV's router and I have not had reliable TV service ever with this modem. They already had to replace it once. The irony is that they MADE me switch to U-verse insisting it was better. I NEVER had a problem with broadcasting from my old DSL Gateway that I got from them before the days of U-verse. They told me when I moved here that I could no longer have that service. But once I got on Uverse and looked for available networks, I saw several people still on the old DSL service. My wireless is always kicking me off and I have not had reliable TV since moving here. Customer service people do not understand what I am talking about when I call them. I need them to come out and change my channel and run an interference test because I cannot change channels myself even though they told me I could change my channel on the set up page any time. Front line customer service answer to EVERYTHING is to try to send a tech to my apartment at MY expense. When I tried for the 3rd or 4th time to tell the customer service agent that it does not matter if I am home because the problem is outside he refused to schedule a technician. My number 1 frustration with AT&T is that I have no TV service because of constant interference. They know, and will not correct their set up. Half the time my network does not even show up on the list of available. And to call them to get it fixed is a frustrating waste of time. Needless to say, I hope to make a change.

San Diego vs. Borrego Springs

2.00 Stars

on May 12, 2017

I have the same (basic) DSL service from AT&T in both San Diego and Borrego Springs. The service in BS seems faster than in SD. In SD, local connections (such as to UCSD) are significantly faster than to my email provider in Atlanta.

Slow yet reliable

3.00 Stars

on May 05, 2017

At least it doesn't go down... Best speed in my area is 12mb down and 1mb up, which is not good for running local servers or anything remotely serious.

For the only option, works ok I guess

1.00 Stars

on April 27, 2017

Fastest available is 6 Mbps. I'm lucky to see 3 most days with frequent outages and abysmal upload speeds.

love my AT&T UVERSE

5.00 Stars

on March 30, 2017

I was using a card for a wireless personal wifi and had limited internet access. I now have AT&T UVERSE which is cheaper than the card I was getting and I have more data than I ever use. Love it!

Average in BG

4.00 Stars

on January 23, 2017

Pretty good overall.

Pretty awesome service

4.00 Stars

on January 20, 2017

Love the service, I have their 75 Mbps line. The only gripe i have is cost. I'm paying the same for 75 Mbps with ATT that I paid with another company for 250 Mbps at my old residence.

Just got AT&T Fiber in our neighbor hood and it smokes.

5.00 Stars

on January 14, 2017

Just got AT&T Fiber to my home and have U-verse and Internet over 100% Fiber. I had another provider for the past 10 years and always had problems. The U-verse picture is better than I had with my previous provider and the Internet is really fast. I have the 1000 Mbps internet and speeds run between 600-900 Mbps in each direction depending on test node.

Customer reviews are an essential part of our mission to make choosing a broadband provider easy.

Our review policy is simple: be helpful, be relevant, and be specific. When writing your review, please support your rating with specific, detailed reasoning.

Before publishing, we closely cross-examine reviews for red flags associated with biased sources. Reviews featuring irrelevant statements or all-caps “rants” are removed, since they are not helpful to consumers looking for fact-based insights.

Reviews that have been considered useful, but contained bad language or content that could lead to legal issues, have been edited to display only relevant information.

More information is available on our Customer Review Policy page.

AT&T Internet Reviews FAQ

To date, we’ve polled 99,838 AT&T Internet customers for reviews and ratings of their service quality. 41.1% of those ratings were positive as of 2018. AT&T Internet reviews and ratings have been improving as they have begun to roll out high-speed fiber service in some areas.

AT&T U-verse Reviews

AT&T’s Internet service used to be branded as “U-Verse,” and many customers still know the company by this name. Currently, only TV services are sold under the U-Verse brand name, which is being phased out in favor of the brand name “AT&T Internet.” Reviews included on this page cover both AT&T Internet and the older AT&T U-Verse services.

AT&T Gigapower Reviews

AT&T has been rolling out fiber in some parts of their service area. Their fiber Internet is sometimes branded as “Gigapower,” referring to the symmetrical gigabit (1,000 Mbps) Internet speeds it supplies. AT&T Gigapower is not considered a separate company from U-Verse, and reviews on this page cover AT&T Gigapower as well as U-Verse, AT&T Internet, and etc.

AT&T Fiber Reviews

AT&T Fiber services are also branded as “AT&T Fiber” in some areas, and the reviews above include reviews for AT&T Fiber service. Fiber to the Home (FTTH) service like AT&T Fiber and Gigapower are an good choice for streamers and home offices, as well as large families. AT&T Fiber providers symmetrical service, meaning that the upload speeds are not reduced as they are with AT&T DSL or cable from other providers.

AT&T and DirecTV Bundle Reviews

AT&T offers DSL Internet in rural areas across the US, and often bundles DirecTV’s satellite Internet service into plans. Customers can often save money with these plans. DirecTV is owned by AT&T, and they will sometimes allow customers to stream DirecTV mobile television services without impacting the data cap on AT&T’s mobile LTE service. However, AT&T mobile services are not commonly sold as a bundle with their Internet plans.

Common Complaints and Issues in AT&T Customer Reviews

The most common complaint we’ve received in AT&T U-Verse reviews is about the speed in their rural DSL service areas. While AT&T has been running network upgrades incrementally over the years, the service in rural areas is still many times slower than in urban areas.

How We Collect and Validate Reviews

Disclaimer: All trademarks remain the property of their respective owners, and are used by BROADBANDNOW only to describe products and services offered by each respective trademark holder. The use of any third party trademarks on this site in no way indicates any relationship, connection, association, sponsorship, or affiliation between BROADBANDNOW and the holders of said trademarks. BROADBANDNOW is a comparison and research website that does not offer internet, TV, or home phone service.

© 2014 – 2018 BROADBANDNOW

BroadbandNow is a registered trademark of Centerfield BBN LLC